DETAILED ACTION
Claims 9 and 19 are cancelled.
Claims 21 – 22 are added new.
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 6, 11 – 18 and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 18 and 20 – 22 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7, 10 – 17 and 20 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0303088 to Yuan and in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0193404 to Danziger et al. (hereinafter Danziger).
Regarding Claim 1, Yuan discloses (¶34) transferring a current run status of an application interface from one device to another device, which further includes:
device collaboration method (Yuan discloses (Fig. 2 and ¶39) transferring the interface of a positioning and navigation application from first device to second device), comprising:
establishing, by a first electronic device (202 – fig. 2), a collaboration connection to a second electronic device (216 – fig. 2) (Yuan discloses (fig. 2, ¶39) user trigger interface transfer through one of a set of preset input modes with respect to the first device. The first device then sends the interface data to the second device);
obtaining, by the first electronic device, a first instance attribute of a first data object (Yuan discloses (fig. 3, ¶52) the interface data (i.e. first instance attribute) associated with the navigation application (i.e. first data object) obtained locally by the first device that includes markup language and/or computer code e.g., scripts) and a second instance attribute of a second data object (Yuan discloses (fig. 3, ¶53) the current run status data (i.e., second instance attribute) of positioning (i.e., second data object) is associated with the user input (e.g., user input values, user selections, user made adjustments of settings) and includes a user input start location, a user input destination location, and a desired form of transportation e.g., taking buses, walking, or driving)
sending, by the first electronic device (Yuan discloses (fig. 2, ¶45) a first device may send interface data to one or more second devices), the first instance attribute to the second electronic device through a first session, wherein the first instance attribute is used by the second electronic device to generate the first data object (Yuan discloses (306 - fig. 3, ¶54) the obtained interface data (i.e., first instance attribute) includes language and/or computer code (e.g., script(s)) to be executed at the second device to generate application interface (i.e., first data object) per the shape and size of the display screen 216)
wherein the second instance attribute is used by the second electronic device to generate the second data object (Yuan discloses (306 – fig. 3, ¶43) using current run status data (i.e., second instance attribute) to generate positioning data at the second device display screen (watch 216) that is associated with the user's/watch's current location and a portion of the route)
Yuan does not explicitly disclose wherein the first data object on the first electronic device and the first data object on the second electronic device are associated with a first session identifier of the first session, and sending, by the first electronic device, the second instance attribute to the second electronic device through a second session, wherein the second data object on the first electronic device and the second data object on the second electronic device are associated with a second session identifier of the second session. However, in an analogous art, Danziger teaches:
wherein the first data object on the first electronic device and the first data object on the second electronic device are associated with a first session identifier of the first session (Danziger teaches (Figs. 2-3, ¶6) first request is received at an OT proxy (i.e. second device) from the thin client (i.e. first device) to make a first change to a first version of the electronic document (i.e. first data object). The first version includes a copy of the electronic document on the thin client and the list of mutations received from thin client in the first session identifier (i.e. 0x00002000) of the first thin client session ID 1 i.e. Fig. 2: 202)
sending, by the first electronic device, the second instance attribute to the second electronic device through a second session (Danziger teaches (in Figs. 2-5) first electronic device (i.e. thin client 126) establishing a second thin client session ID 2 (Fig. 2: 202) with the second session identifier i.e. 0x00002100) and sending the second instance attributes (i.e. list of mutations (Fig. 3, 310) representing model state or list of thin client commands (Fig. 4: 10, 12) representing pending requests 414 from thin client) to the second electronic device i.e. OT proxy 130)
wherein the second data object on the first electronic device and the second data object on the second electronic device are associated with a second session identifier of the second session (Danziger teaches (¶6, ¶32 and ¶37) storing state data of collaborative electronic document 104. There may be a unique thin client session ID 202 per thin client 126 for each electronic document similar to the collaborative electronic document 104. The second change of a second version of the electronic document are associated with the second session identifier (i.e. 0x00002100) of the second thin client session ID 2 i.e. Fig. 2: 202)
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine a device collaboration method, comprising: establishing, by a first electronic device, a collaboration connection to a second electronic device, obtaining, by the first electronic device, a first instance attribute of a first data object and a second instance attribute of a second data object, sending, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute to the second electronic device through a first session, wherein the first instance attribute is used by the second electronic device to generate the first data object, wherein the second instance attribute is used by the second electronic device to generate the second data object, as disclosed by Yuan, sending, by the first electronic device, the second instance attribute to the second electronic device through a second session, wherein the first data object on the first electronic device and the first data object on the second electronic device are associated with a first session identifier of the first session, wherein the second data object on the first electronic device and the second data object on the second electronic device are associated with a second session identifier of the second session, sending, by the first electronic device, the instance attribute to the second electronic device through a second session, as taught by Danziger, for the purpose of implementing (¶1) collaborative editing of electronic objects such as electronic documents for thin clients.
Claim 2, Yuan in view of Danziger discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, they disclose:
obtaining, by the first electronic device, a third instance attribute of the first data object (Yuan discloses (¶45) the attribute data (third instance attribute) is obtained by the first device)
sending, by the first electronic device, the third instance attribute to the second electronic device through the first session object (Yuan discloses (¶45) the attribute data is transferred from the first device and adapted to the attributes of the receiving i.e., second device, for e.g., the display screen size, shape and resolution)
wherein the first instance attribute and the third instance attribute are jointly used by the second electronic device to generate the first data object (Yuan discloses (¶45) using the third instance attribute data (i.e. display screen size, shape and resolution) and the first instance attribute data (¶52) regarding the application markup language and/or computer code e.g., to generate the modified positioning and navigation interface (¶43) on the navigation map that is associated with user's/watch's current location and a portion of the route)
Yuan does not explicitly disclose wherein the first instance attribute is an attribute of a first instance of the first data object, the third instance attribute is an attribute of a third instance of the first data object, and the first instance and the third instance are associated with the first session identifier of the first session. However, in an analogous art, Danziger teaches:
wherein the first instance attribute is an attribute of a first instance of the first data object, the third instance attribute is an attribute of a third instance of the first data object (Danziger teaches (¶6) the first instance attribute (i.e. first changes/mutations representing model state 308 in Fig. 3) corresponds to the first instance (i.e. first session identifier 0x00002000 for Thin Client Session ID 1) and the third instance attribute (i.e. first changes/mutations representing model state 308 in Fig. 3) corresponds to the third instance (i.e. first session identifier 0x00002200 for Thin Client Session ID 3) for the first data object (i.e. copy of the electronic document), and the first instance and the third instance are associated with the first session identifier of the first session; Danziger teaches (¶71) in response to generating the third mutation #3 (i.e. third instance) based on the first mutation (i.e. first instance) the OT proxy 1204 transmits a first response 1218 (i.e. revision 2, sequence 1) which is associated with first session identifier 0x00002000 in (Figs. 6 and 7).
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claim 3, Yuan in view of Danziger discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, they disclose:
the method further comprising:
obtaining, by the first electronic device, a third instance attribute of the first data object (Yuan discloses (¶45) the attribute data (third instance attribute) is obtained by the first device. The attribute data is transferred from the first device and adapted to the attributes of the receiving i.e., second device, for e.g., the display screen size, shape and resolution)
wherein the first instance attribute and the third instance attribute are jointly used by the second electronic device to generate the first data object (Yuan discloses (¶45) using the third instance attribute data (i.e. display screen size, shape and resolution) and the first instance attribute data (¶52) regarding the interface data (e.g., application markup language and/or computer code) to generate the arrow object 226 (¶43) on the navigation map that is associated with user's/watch's current location and a portion of the route)
Yuan does not explicitly disclose sending, by the first electronic device, the third instance attribute to the second electronic device through a third session, wherein the first instance attribute is an attribute of a first instance of the first data object, the third instance attribute is an attribute of a third instance of the first data object, and the first instance and the third instance of the first data object are associated with the first session identifier of the first session, and a third session identifier of the third session, respectively. However, in an analogous art, Danziger teaches:
sending, by the first electronic device, the third instance attribute to the second electronic device through a third session (Danziger teaches (Fig. 3) third instance attribute 308 (i.e. list of mutations representing model state) derived from the first instance attribute (i.e. first mutation) and sent to the second electronic device (i.e. OT proxy) through a third session (i.e. 0x00002200).
wherein the first instance attribute is an attribute of a first instance of the first data object, the third instance attribute is an attribute of a third instance of the first data object (Danziger teaches (¶6) the first mutation (i.e. first instance attribute) corresponds to the first version (i.e. first instance) includes a copy of the electronic document (i.e. first data object) on the thin client. The second mutation of the electronic document is converted into a third mutation (i.e. third instance attribute) of the electronic document based on the first mutation i.e. first data object)
and the first instance and the third instance of the first data object are associated with the first session identifier of the first session (Danziger teaches (¶71) in response to generating the third mutation #3 (i.e. third instance) based on the first mutation (i.e. first instance) the OT proxy 1204 transmits a first response 1218 (i.e. revision 2, sequence 1) which is associated with first session identifier 0x00002000, taught in Figs. 6 and 7) and a third session identifier of the third session, respectively (Danziger teaches (Fig. 3 and ¶6) generating the third mutation #3 (i.e. third instance) and sent to the second electronic device (i.e. OT proxy) through a third session i.e. 0x00002200)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claim 4, Yuan in view of Danziger discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, they disclose:
wherein after the sending, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute to the second electronic device through the first session (Yuan discloses ¶43 phone 202 is configured to send interface data 218 that includes the current run status of the first interface associated with the positioning and navigation application at phone 202 to watch 216) the method further comprises:
detecting, by the electronic device, that the first instance attribute changes, and sending a changed first instance attribute to the second electronic device through the first session, wherein the changed first instance attribute is used by the second electronic device to update the first data object (Yuan discloses ¶100 in the case of a positioning and navigation application interface, the current position of the first device, the start location of the route, and a destination location of the route may be saved to a file. The updated interface data is then sent from the first device to the second device)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claim 5, Yuan in view of Danziger discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, they disclose:
wherein the establishing, by the first electronic device, the collaboration connection to the second electronic device comprises (Yuan discloses (Fig. 2 and ¶39) exchanging the positioning and navigation data application from first device to second device)
wherein the sending, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute to the second electronic device through the first session comprises: sending, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute and the first session identifier of the first session to the second electronic device (Danziger teaches sending by the first electronic device (i.e. Thin Client 126), the first instance attribute (i.e. Fig. 3, 308: list of mutations representing model state) to the second electronic device (i.e. OT proxy 130) through the first session (i.e. Fig. 2, Thin Client Session ID 1) using the first session identifier (i.e. Fig. 3: 0x00002000)
sending, by the first electronic device, a collaboration message to the second electronic device (Danziger teaches ¶29 The OT proxy 130 may send and receive changes from the thin client 126 of the collaborative electronic document 104)
wherein the collaboration message comprises a first instance identifier of a first instance of the first data object and the first session identifier of the first session, and the first session identifier of the first session is associated with the first instance (Danziger teaches sending by the first electronic device (i.e. Thin Client 126), the first instance attribute (i.e. Fig. 3, 308: list of mutations representing model state) of the first version of the electronic document (i.e. first data object) to the second electronic device (i.e. OT proxy 130) through the first session (i.e. Fig. 2, Thin Client Session ID 1) using the first session identifier i.e. Fig. 3: 0x00002000).
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claim 6, Yuan in view of Danziger disclose all the elements of claim 1. Further, they disclose:
method further comprising: establishing, by the first electronic device, a collaboration connection to a third electronic device (Yuan teaches a third device (¶Fig. 3: Car Nav System 224). Yuan further discloses (¶39) user trigger interface transfer through one of a set of preset input modes with respect to the first device. The first device then sends the interface data to the second device)
sending, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute to the third electronic device through a fourth session, wherein the first instance attribute is used by the third electronic device to generate the first data object (Yuan discloses (¶45) a first device may send interface data to one or more second devices, such as car nav 224. Yuan discloses (¶54) the obtained interface data includes language and/or computer code (e.g., script(s)) to be executed at the second device to generate resume status information to be used by the second device to generate the application interface)
and sending, by the first electronic device, the second instance attribute to the third electronic device through a fifth session, wherein the second instance attribute is used by the third electronic device to generate the second data object (Yuan discloses (¶53) the current run status data associated with the user input (e.g., user input values, user selections, user made adjustments of settings) (i.e., second instance attribute) and second data object include a user input start location, a user input destination location, and a desired form of transportation e.g., taking buses, walking, or driving. Yuan discloses (¶45) a first device may send interface data to one or more second devices. Yuan discloses (¶54) the obtained interface data includes language and/or computer code (e.g., script(s)) to be executed at the second device to generate resume status information to be used by the second device to generate the second interface. Yuan discloses (¶43) generating an application interface adapted per shape and smaller size of the display screen (car nav 224) and updated with the current run status of the first interface, for example).
Claim 7, Yuan in view of Danziger disclose all the elements of claim 1. Further, they disclose:
method further comprising: establishing, by the first electronic device, a collaboration connection to a third electronic device (Yuan teaches a third device (¶Fig. 3: Car Nav System 224). Yuan further discloses (¶45) a first device may send interface data to one or more second devices e.g., third, fourth)
generating, by the first electronic device, a third data object (Yuan discloses (¶44) showing the arrow 212) obtaining, by the first electronic device, a fourth instance attribute of the third data object (Yuan discloses (¶42) the first electronic device, generating and displaying the current location as arrow 206 (third data object) related with the fourth instance attribute i.e., the current location)
and sending, by the first electronic device, the fourth instance attribute to the device to generate the third data object (Yuan discloses (¶Fig. 2) transferring the fourth instance attribute i.e., current location of the user device to the third device (i.e. vehicle-mounted system 224) and it is being used by the device (¶44) to generate a third data object i.e., arrow 212).
Claim 10, Yuan in view of Danziger discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, they disclose:
wherein the first data object comprises at least one of a text data object, a picture data object, an audio data object, or a video data object (Yuan discloses (¶53) the first data object can be a video playing application, and the current run status may include identifying information associated with the video that is being played, the current volume at which the video is played at, and/or the current elapsed time since the start of the video.)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claim 11, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 12, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 2.
Claim 13, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 3.
Claim 14, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 4. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 4.
Claim 15, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 5.
Claim 16, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 6. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 6.
Claim 17, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 7.
Claim 20, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 21, Yuan in view of Danziger discloses all the elements of claim 20. Further, they disclose:
obtaining a third instance attribute of the first data object (Danziger teaches (¶6) third mutation of the electronic document) and sending the third instance attribute to the second electronic device through a third session (Danziger teaches (Fig. 3) third instance attribute 308 (i.e. list of mutations representing model state) sent to the second electronic device (i.e. OT proxy) through a third session i.e. 0x00002200)
wherein the first instance attribute and the third instance attribute are jointly used by the second electronic device to generate the first data object (Danziger teaches (¶6) electronic document (i.e. first data object) is converted into a third mutation of the electronic document based on the first mutation)
wherein the first instance attribute is an attribute of a first instance of the first data object, the third instance attribute is an attribute of a third instance of the first data object (Danziger teaches (¶6) at the OT proxy, the second mutation of the electronic document is converted into a third mutation (i.e. third instance attribute) of the electronic document based on the first mutation (i.e. first instance attribute)
and the first instance and the third instance of the first data object are associated with the first session identifier of the first session and a third session identifier of the third session, respectively (Danziger teaches (¶71) in response to generating the third mutation #3 (i.e. third instance) of an electronic document (i.e. first data object) based on the first mutation (i.e. first instance) the OT proxy 1204 transmits a first response 1218 (i.e. revision 2, sequence 1) which is associated with first session identifier 0x00002000, taught in Figs. 6 and 7. Further, Danziger teaches (Fig. 3 and ¶6) generating the third mutation #3 (i.e. third instance) and sent to the second electronic device (i.e. OT proxy) through a third session identifier i.e. 0x00002200 of the third session (Fig. 2, Thin Client Session ID 3)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claim 22, Yuan in view of Danziger discloses all the elements of claim 20. Further, they disclose:
wherein the establishing, by the first electronic device, the collaboration connection to the second electronic device (Danziger teaches establishing connection by the first electronic device (i.e. Thin Client 126) with the second electronic device i.e. OT proxy 130)
comprises: sending, by the first electronic device, a collaboration message to the second electronic device, wherein the collaboration message comprises a first instance identifier of a first instance of the first data object and the first session identifier of the first session, and the first session identifier of the first session is associated with the first instance (Danziger teaches sending by the first electronic device (i.e. Thin Client 126), the first instance attribute (i.e. Fig. 3, 308: list of mutations representing model state) of the first version of the electronic document (i.e. first data object) to the second electronic device (i.e. OT proxy 130) through the first session (i.e. Fig. 2, Thin Client Session ID 1) using the first session identifier (i.e. Fig. 3: 0x00002000).
wherein the sending, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute to the second electronic device through the first session comprises: sending, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute and the first session identifier of the first session to the second electronic device; Danziger teaches sending by the first electronic device (i.e. Thin Client 126), the first instance attribute (i.e. Fig. 3, 308: list of mutations representing model state) to the second electronic device (i.e. OT proxy 130) through the first session (i.e. Fig. 2, Thin Client Session ID 1) using the first session identifier (i.e. Fig. 3: 0x00002000).
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0303088 to Yuan, in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0193404 to Danziger, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0324756 to Ryu et al. (hereinafter Ryu).
Claim 8, Yuan in view of Danziger discloses all the elements of claim 1. Yuan and Danziger do not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute of the first data object and the second instance attribute of the second data object comprises: obtaining, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute of the first data object and the second instance attribute of the second data object through data interception. However, in an analogous art, Ryu teaches:
obtaining, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute of the first data object and the second instance attribute of the second data object comprises: obtaining, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute of the first data object and the second instance attribute of the second data object through data interception (Ryu teaches monitoring the data analytics (¶365) and the data interception and transmission is done (¶443) using the Application Programming Interface i.e., API)
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine a device collaboration method, comprising: establishing, by a first electronic device, a collaboration connection to a second electronic device, obtaining, by the first electronic device, a first instance attribute of a first data object and a second instance attribute of a second data object, sending, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute to the second electronic device through a first session, wherein the first instance attribute is used by the second electronic device to generate the first data object, wherein the second instance attribute is used by the second electronic device to generate the second data object, sending, by the first electronic device, the second instance attribute to the second electronic device through a second session, wherein the first data object on the first electronic device and the first data object on the second electronic device are associated with a first session identifier of the first session, wherein the second data object on the first electronic device and the second data object on the second electronic device are associated with a second session identifier of the second session, sending, by the first electronic device, the instance attribute to the second electronic device through a second session, as disclosed by Yuan in view of Danziger, and obtaining, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute of the first data object and the second instance attribute of the second data object comprises: obtaining, by the first electronic device, the first instance attribute of the first data object and the second instance attribute of the second data object through data interception, as taught by Ryu, for the purpose of providing (¶2) a notification from an electronic device.
Claim 18, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed on 03/19/2026 with respect to the Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 18 and 20 – 22 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Hence, the 35 USC § 103 rejection is withdrawn. However, based on the claim amendments and the newly introduced limitations, the search is updated and a new reference (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0193404 to Danziger et al.) has been introduced for the 35 USC § 103 rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. A. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2451
/Chris Parry/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2451