Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-6 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "6" and "8" have both been used to designate the same hole (reference character 8 in Figure 2 and reference character 6 in Figure 3, Figure 5, are referring to the same structure).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “8” has been used to designate three different structures in Figure 5 (see the two occurrences of “8” in Figure 5, pointing to different structures, and see “8” in figure 2, referring to a third distinct structure).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (2026/0000574) in view of Nazarian et al. (2019/0015294).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a split sliding rod structure (piston 20 and connecting body 101, Figs. 1-2, Fig. 6, are a split sliding rod structure because they are two structures and they perform a reciprocating) applied to a massage head (massaging portion 100, Fig. 2, Fig. 6), comprising a sliding rod support (the piston 20, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 6) and a sliding cylinder (see “1. Sliding Cylinder” in annotated Figure A below, this substantially cylindrical structure houses the piston 20 and thus permits the sliding motion of the piston), wherein the sliding rod support (20) abuts against and is connected to an end of the sliding cylinder (see Fig. A below), a connecting column (connecting body 101, Fig. 2, Fig. 6) is arranged at an end of the sliding rod support (connecting body 101 is arranged at the distal end of the sliding rod support 20, see Fig. 6), the connecting column (101) is provided with an external thread (screwing thread 103a, Fig. 6).
Annotated Figure A (from Fig. 6 of Zhang): Zhang has a sliding cylinder (1, the front portion of housing 70, where it abuts sealing ring 104 and piston 20) and the sliding rod support (20) abuts against and is connected to an end of the sliding cylinder (see above). The sliding support rod (20) also has a pin hole (2).
Zhang is silent regarding the massage head (100) provided with an internal thread, and the connecting column (101) is in threaded connection with the massage head. However, it has been held that that constructing a formerly integral structure (i.e., 100, 101) to be separable would be obvious “if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to [the removed part].” See MPEP 2144.04(V)(C).
Furthermore, Nazarian teaches a related reciprocating massage tool (Fig. 1) with a massage head (i.e., treatment member 16, Figs. 3-4; differently shaped treatment member 50, Figs. 5-7) provided with an internal thread (internal threads 30, Figs. 3-4; Figs. 6-7) and a separate connecting column (male attachment member 14, Figs. 3-4; Figs. 6-7) has an external thread (external threads 32, Figs. 3-4; Figs. 6-7) in threaded connection with the massage head (see Figs. 3-4, Figs. 6-7). This allows a variety of massage heads to be interchanged to by simply screwing the massage head onto the connecting column (i.e., Figs. 3-4, Figs. 6-7), to provide a different type of massage effect (with a different shape, and which may provide a softer material, see the last sentence of [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the massage head and connecting column (100, 101) of Zhang to be made separate components that are threadedly engaged as taught by Nazarian because this allows a variety of different massage effects to be provided through the different massage heads attachable to the connecting column.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Zhang/Nazarian device discloses wherein the sliding rod support (20, Zhang) is of a hollow design (see Fig. 3, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Zhang/Nazarian device discloses wherein the massage head (100, Zhang as modified by Nazarian) is provided with a sealing rubber ring (silicone fixing ring 104, Fig. 2, Fig. 6 of Zhang)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Zhang/Nazarian device discloses wherein a pin hole (see “2. Pin Hole” in annotated Figure A above) is provided at an end of the sliding rod support (20, Zhang) away from the connecting column (at the proximal end, see Fig. A above), in a direction perpendicular to the connecting column (see Fig. A).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Zhang/Nazarian device discloses wherein a sealing member (silicone fixing ring 104, Fig. 2, Fig. 6 of Zhang) is sleeved at a position where the massage head (100, Zhang, as modified by Nazarian) abuts against the sliding cylinder (the silicone fixing ring 104 is at the position where the massage head 100 abuts against the sliding cylinder 1 in annotated Figure A above).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Zhang/Nazarian device discloses wherein the sliding rod support (20, Zhang) is further provided with a through hole (see the open space between 101 and the pin hole 2, in annotated Figure A above), and the through hole penetrates to the connecting column (the through hole penetrates up “to” the connecting column 101, see Fig. A above. The claim does not require penetrating “through” the connecting column).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wersland (2016/0367425) discloses a related reciprocating massage device with a connecting column having external threads to mate with internal threads of a massage head. Williams et al. (2023/0329965) discloses a related reciprocating massage device with a sliding rod support and a sliding cylinder. Lee et al. (2021/0322257) discloses a related massage head with a connecting column having external threads to mate with internal threads of the massage head. Wersland et al. (2019/0017528) discloses a related reciprocating massage device with a connecting column having external threads to mate with internal threads of a massage head. Rogozinski et al. (2022/0202645) discloses a related massage head with a connecting column having external threads that mate to the massage head. Marton (2023/0048861) discloses a related massage head adapter for reciprocating massager, having a sealing ring. Dijkstra et al. (2024/0390220) discloses a related reciprocating massager with a sliding cylinder and a sliding rod support, with a plurality of sealing rings. Hu et al. (2022/0031554) discloses a related reciprocating massager with massage heads that are removably inserted into sliding cylinders. Williams et al. (11,672,728) discloses a related reciprocating massager with a sliding rod support, sliding cylinder, and massage head. Pivaroff (6,682,496) discloses a related reciprocating massager with a massage head having a threaded connection to a connecting column. Wei et al. (CN 213588999 U) discloses a related massage head coupling. Li et al. (CN 213191076 U) discloses a related massage head coupling with a sliding rod support, a sliding cylinder, and detachable connection to the massage head. Ni (CN 213157596 U) discloses a related massage head with a detachable threaded connection between the massage head internal threads and a connecting column external threads.
/CHRISTOPHER E MILLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785