DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 11-17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 11-17 recites “The heating, ventilation, and air conditioning” and should recite - - The heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system - - .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 10, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20240085035).
Claim 1 recites similar limitations as claim 10 and is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim 6 recites similar limitations as claim 15 and is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim 7 recites similar limitations as claim 16 and is rejected in a similar manner.
Per claim 10, Wang teaches a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system comprising:
a closed conduit circuit (inherent in “air conditioner outdoor unit”, para. 0071) for moving a refrigerant;
a compressor (inherent to an “outdoor unit”) fluidly coupled to the closed conduit circuit;
a condenser (inherent to an “outdoor unit”) fluidly coupled to the closed conduit circuit;
an expansion valve (inherent to an “outdoor unit”) fluidly coupled to the closed conduit circuit;
an evaporator (inherent to an “outdoor unit”) fluidly coupled to the closed conduit circuit; and
a compressor-condenser unit (200) comprising the compressor and the condenser (inherent to an “outdoor unit”),
the compressor-condenser unit further comprising:
a cabinet having
a plurality of walls (see figure 6 showing walls of the cabinet of the “outdoor unit”) including a top panel (plurality of 2),
a fan motor (inherent to the fan) coupled to the cabinet,
one or more fan blades (“The air guide ring 1 can be fitted with a fan, and fan blades of the fan can extend into the air guide channel 10 of the air guide ring 1”, para. 0037) coupled to the fan motor,
an orifice opening (space between 2 in figures 2 and 4) formed in the top panel (plurality of 2),
a condenser orifice ring (1) disposed within the orifice opening,
wherein the condenser orifice ring (1) is sized to receive the one or more fan blades (“The air guide ring 1 can be fitted with a fan, and fan blades of the fan can extend into the air guide channel 10 of the air guide ring 1”, para. 0037), and
the condenser orifice ring comprising:
an annular member (body of 1)having a height extending between an upstream edge and a downstream edge,
the annular member comprising
a wall (body of 2) having an interior surface (inner surface of 1) and an exterior surface (outer surface of 1),
wherein the wall flares outward at the upstream edge (see annotated figure below) and flares outward at the downstream edge (see annotated figure below),
wherein the flare of the wall at the upstream edge is between 5 and 20 degrees an first angle from a vertical (α1; “The included angle α1 between the tangent plane M1 at the point P1 on the inner wall surface of the first inlet end and the first plane M0 is 70° to 90°.”, para. 0105) (to clarify, α1 at an angle of 85 degrees would correspond an angle of 5 degrees from the reference frame of the instant application), and
wherein the flare of the wall at the downstream edge is between 15 and 30 degrees a second angle from the vertical (α6; “For example, α6 may be 95°, 100°, 110°, 120°, 130°, 140°, 150°, 160°, 170°, 180°, etc”, para. 0118) (to clarify, an angle of 110 would correspond to an angle of 20 degrees from the reference frame of the instant application).
Per claim 15, Wang meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 10. Further, Wang teaches a plurality of strengthening ribs formed on the exterior surface of the annular member (see figure 1), the plurality of strengthening ribs facing outward (see figure 1).
Per claim 16, Wang meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 10. Further, Wang teaches wherein the upstream edge of the wall has a curled initial portion (see annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240085035) in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 20180224135).
Claim 2 recites similar limitations as claim 11 and is rejected in a similar manner.
Per claim 11, Wang meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 10. Further, Wang teaches wherein the wall of the annular member has a middle-portion (2’) that comprises a height of the annular member (see figure 2) and wherein the middle-portion (2’) substantially parallels the vertical (see figure 2) but fails to explicitly teach the middle-portion that comprises between 2-5 percent of the height of the annular member.
However, Yamamoto teaches that a middle-portion of a wall of an annular member (4A; see various middle portion lengths in figures 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 8A, 8B, 11, 12) has a determinative effect on the performance of a fan (“low draft resistance and low noise”, para. 0007). Therefore the percentage of the height that the middle-portion of the annular member encompasses is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that as the percentage of the annular portion that the middle-portion comprises is adjusted the performance of the fan will be adjusted. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the wall of the annular member having a middle-portion that comprises a height of the annular member was disclosed in the prior art by Nakashima, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the percentage of the height of the annular member encompassed by the middle portion by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide middle-portion of the wall of the annular member disclosed by Wang, as between 2-5 percent of the height of the annular member.
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240085035) in view of Kim et al. (US 20170343016).
Claim 3 recites similar limitations as claim 12 and is rejected in a similar manner.
Per claim 12, Wang meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 10. Further, Nakashima, as modified, teaches the downstream edge of the wall and the annular member on the top panel but fails to explicitly teach a plurality of positioning tabs coupled to the downstream edge of the wall for securing the annular member to the top panel with the annular member in a desired position.
However, Kim teaches a blower system of an air conditioner including a plurality of positioning tabs (see annotated figure below) coupled to a downstream edge of a wall (body of 70) for securing an annular member (70) to a panel with the annular member in a desired position (see figures 7 and 8) for securing rigidity for stably supporting a blower fan and a motor (para. 0009). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a plurality of positioning tabs coupled to a downstream edge of a wall for securing an annular member to a panel with the annular member in a desired position, as taught by Kim in the invention of Wang, in order to advantageously secure rigidity for stably supporting a blower fan and a motor (para. 0009).
When the plurality of positioning tabs coupled to the downstream edge of the wall for securing the annular member to the panel is combined with the top panel of Wang, the result is a plurality of positioning tabs coupled to the downstream edge of the wall for securing the annular member to the top panel with the annular member in a desired position, as claimed.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240085035) in view of Ishijima (CN 1768237).
Claim 4 recites similar limitations as claim 13 and is rejected in a similar manner.
Per claim 13, Wang meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 10. Further, Wang teaches wherein the fan blade (“The air guide ring 1 can be fitted with a fan, and fan blades of the fan can extend into the air guide channel 10 of the air guide ring 1”, para. 0037) are coupled to the fan motor (inherent) such that the fan blade is suspended within an interior of the condenser orifice right from the downstream edge (“The air guide ring 1 can be fitted with a fan, and fan blades of the fan can extend into the air guide channel 10 of the air guide ring 1”, para. 0037) but fails to explicitly teach the fan blade being suspended between 70 and 80 percent of the height of the annular member from the downstream edge.
However, Ishijima teaches the position of the fan blade within the condenser orifice ring has a determinative effect on the performance of a fan (“axial position relationship between the edge part and the bell mouth of optimized blade to adjust the blade rear edge and, thus, can reduce the blower noise”, pg. 2 of translation). Therefore the percentage of the height the fan blade is suspended of the annular member from the downstream edge is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that as the percentage of the fan blade suspended within an interior of the condenser orifice from the downstream edge is adjusted the performance of the fan will be adjusted. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the fan blade being suspended within the interior of the condenser orifice from the downstream edge was disclosed in the prior art by Nakashima, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the percentage of the fan blade suspended within an interior of the condenser orifice from the downstream edge by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the fan blade suspended within the interior of the condenser orifice from the downstream edge disclosed by Wang, as between 70 and 80 percent of the height of the annular member from the downstream edge.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240085035) in view of Li et al. (CN 116358056).
Claim 5 recites similar limitations as claim 14 and is rejected in a similar manner.
Per claim 14, Wang meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 10. Further, Nakashima, as modified, Nakashima, as modified, fails to explicitly teach a fan-connectivity notch formed in the downstream edge of the annular member and a lip extending from the annular member on the downstream edge.
However, Li teaches a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system including a fan-connectivity notch (153) formed in a downstream edge (region of 112 that 153 is formed in) of an annular member (112) and a lip (see annotated figure below) extending from the annular member (112) on the downstream edge (region of 112 that 153 is formed in) for preventing damage to a fan cable (pg. 5 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a fan-connectivity notch formed in a downstream edge of an annular member and a lip extending from the annular member on the downstream edge, as taught by Li in the invention of Wang, in order to advantageously prevent damage to a fan cable (pg. 5 of translation).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240085035).
Claim 8 recites similar limitations as claim 17 and is rejected in a similar manner.
Per claim 17, Wang meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 10. Further, Wang teaches wherein a predetermined gap is formed between the annular member and a distal end of the fan blades (inherent) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the predetermined gap is at least 0.2 inches.
However, it has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” Therefore it would have been obvious to having a predetermined gap of at least 0.2 inches in order to advantageously provide ample clearance to prevent interferences between the fan blade and the condenser orifice ring.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240085035) in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 20180224135), Kim et al. (US 20170343016), Ishijima (CN 1768237), and Li et al. (CN 116358056).
Claim 9 recites similar limitations as claim 11-17 and is rejected in a similar manner
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Muramatsu et al. (US 20190360705) teaches a condenser orifice ring.
Nakashima et al. (US 20190010960) teaches a condenser orifice ring.
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763