DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is in response to the amendment filed on 5/15/26. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 10, 12-14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minster et al. (Minster; US 20170267233 A1), in view of Marsousi et al. (Marsousi; US 20200223429 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Minster discloses a system (Abstract, Fig 1) comprising:
one or more processors ([0039]); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed ([0039], [0084]) , cause the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a rideshare application associated with an autonomous vehicle ([0030] user interface 560 maybe the user interface of a ridesharing platform that affects ridesharing vehicle demand…an autonomous vehicle 510), a request to transport a potential passenger from a starting location to a destination location ([0033] receives one or more pickup or ride requests via a ridesharing platform associated with the autonomous vehicle; [0046] receiving a destination (e.g., from an autonomous vehicle platform or from a passenger));
identifying, based at least in part on a first parameter ([0037] Parking parameters preferably include any information describing the parking needs or desires of an autonomous vehicle), a parking zone from a plurality of parking zones associated with the request ([0037] a parking space must be on a particular street, it is preferable for a parking space to be in a particular neighborhood or area, [0060] autonomous vehicles may continuously or periodically perform parking spaces searches…for one or more geographic areas, [from a neighborhood among neighborhoods or geographic area among other geographical areas]);
causing the autonomous vehicle to navigate to the parking zone ([0073] S130 may include navigating to a space only after verifying that the space meets parking parameters set by the autonomous vehicle);
determining, based at least in part on the autonomous vehicle being within a threshold distance of the parking zone ([0046] once the autonomous vehicle a predetermined proximity or predetermined distance of a destination of the autonomous vehicle, this may automatically trigger the generation of a parking request by the autonomous vehicle and the subsequent transmission to entities in the area of the destination that may assist the autonomous vehicle in acquiring a parking space), a set of parking spaces within the parking zone (Abstract identifying a parking space of the one or more parking spaces for parking the autonomous vehicle; [0016] autonomous vehicle 510 may be able to identify one or more available spaces and locate, at least one, of the spaces for parking);
determining, based at least in part on a second parameter associated with the parking zone, a subset of parking spaces of the set of parking spaces ([0045] identifies an available parking space fitting the parking parameters of the parking request; [see [0037] for the list of different parking parameters]; [0073] S130 may include filtering or otherwise prioritizing parking space data based on parking parameters, responses to parking requests, and/or any other suitable information),
generating a candidate action to navigate to a parking space of the subset of parking spaces ([0073] S130 may include navigating to a space only after verifying that the space meets parking parameters set by the autonomous vehicle; [0079] select a parking space for the autonomous vehicle to park in, generate controls for maneuvering the autonomous vehicle into the parking space, and navigate the vehicle into the parking space based on the controls); and
controlling the autonomous vehicle based at least in part on the candidate action ([0073], [0079]).
Regarding the new limitation, Minster doesn’t specify the second parameter includes an allowed type of parking maneuver, but does teach sensor data may be augmented with one or more generated technical indicators that may assist the autonomous vehicle to determine whether a parking space is suitable, determine whether any specific or unconventional maneuvers are required for positioning the autonomous vehicle within a parking space ([0054]).
In the same field of endeavor, Marsousi discloses a vehicular sensing system including sensors disposed at a vehicle so as to have a combined field of sensing forward, rearward and sideward of the vehicle. Data captured by the sensors is processed at a control to detect objects present in a respective field of sensing. A control designates locations within the fields of sensing. As the vehicle moves along the road, the control increases a value for each designated location when an object is detected at that designated location and decreases the value for each designated location when an object is not detected at that designated location. The control, as the vehicle moves along the road, generates an object map based on values for designated locations.
Marsousi discloses a parking parameter includes an allowed type of parking maneuver ([0005] parking assist system for a vehicle that utilizes one or more sensors (e.g., ultrasonic sensors, radar sensors, etc.), and generates a potential map that is used to determine available parking spaces, including parallel parking spaces (generally parallel to the direction of travel of the vehicle along the road), perpendicular parking spaces (generally perpendicular to the direction of travel of the vehicle along the road), and fish-bone parking spaces (angled relative to the direction of travel of the vehicle along the road).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minster with Marsousi using an allowed type of parking maneuver in order to provide enhanced parking capabilities that can detect parking spots that may have previously gone undetected, as suggested by Marsousi ([0004]).
Regarding Claim 5, 10 and 18, Minster discloses the parking zone includes a first parameter that is at least one of: a type of weather, an environmental restriction , a safety constraint ([0053] parking safety determination module 326 may determine a safety score associated with each of the available parking spaces identified by the parking availability determination module 322), or a time of day.
Regarding Claim 6, Minster discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors ([0084]), wherein the instructions, when executed, cause a system to perform operations comprising:
identifying, based at least in part on a first parameter ([0037] Parking parameters preferably include any information describing the parking needs or desires of an autonomous vehicle), a parking zone from a plurality of parking zones associated with the request ([0037] a parking space must be on a particular street, it is preferable for a parking space to be in a particular neighborhood or area, [0060] autonomous vehicles may continuously or periodically perform parking spaces searches…for one or more geographic areas [from a neighborhood among neighborhoods or geographic area among other geographical areas]);
causing a vehicle to navigate to the parking zone ([0073] S130 may include navigating to a space only after verifying that the space meets parking parameters set by the autonomous vehicle);
receiving a set of parking spaces within the parking zone (Abstract identifying a parking space of the one or more parking spaces for parking the autonomous vehicle; [0016] autonomous vehicle 510 may be able to identify one or more available spaces and locate, at least one, of the spaces for parking);
determining, based at least in part on a second parameter associated with the parking zone, a subset of parking spaces of the set of parking spaces ([0045] identifies an available parking space fitting the parking parameters of the parking request;[see [0037] for the list of different parking parameters]; [0073] S130 may include filtering or otherwise prioritizing parking space data based on parking parameters, responses to parking requests, and/or any other suitable information); and
generating a candidate action to navigate to a parking space of the set of parking spaces ([0073] S130 may include navigating to a space only after verifying that the space meets parking parameters set by the autonomous vehicle; [0079] select a parking space for the autonomous vehicle to park in, generate controls for maneuvering the autonomous vehicle into the parking space, and navigate the vehicle into the parking space based on the controls).
Regarding the new limitation, Minster doesn’t specify the second parameter includes an allowed type of parking maneuver, but does teach sensor data may be augmented with one or more generated technical indicators that may assist the autonomous vehicle to determine whether a parking space is suitable, determine whether any specific or unconventional maneuvers are required for positioning the autonomous vehicle within a parking space ([0054]).
Marsousi discloses a parking parameter includes an allowed type of parking maneuver ([0005] parking assist system for a vehicle that utilizes one or more sensors (e.g., ultrasonic sensors, radar sensors, etc.), and generates a potential map that is used to determine available parking spaces, including parallel parking spaces (generally parallel to the direction of travel of the vehicle along the road), perpendicular parking spaces (generally perpendicular to the direction of travel of the vehicle along the road), and fish-bone parking spaces (angled relative to the direction of travel of the vehicle along the road).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minster with Marsousi using an allowed type of parking maneuver in order to provide enhanced parking capabilities that detect parking spots that may have previously gone undetected, as suggested by Marsousi ([0004]).
Regarding Claims 12 and 20, Minster discloses the second parameter includes at least one of: parking space data may include parking space descriptive data, which may be pre-existing or predetermined data (e.g., the location of a parking space and/or characteristics of the parking space, whether the parking space is occupied). In addition to the fore-mentioned, the parking space descriptive data may also include time constraints or time usage limitations (e.g., minimum or maximum time or parking limits, etc.), vehicle types and sizes allowed in the parking space, and other attributes that describe the functional limits and not only the physical descriptive attributes of a parking space).
Regarding Claim 13, Minster discloses operations further comprising: controlling the vehicle based at least in part on the candidate action ([0073] S130 may include navigating to a space only after verifying that the space meets parking parameters set by the autonomous vehicle; [0079] select a parking space for the autonomous vehicle to park in, generate controls for maneuvering the autonomous vehicle into the parking space, and navigate the vehicle into the parking space based on the controls).
Regarding Claim 14, Minster discloses a method (Abstract) comprising:
identifying, based at least in part on a first parameter ([0037] Parking parameters preferably include any information describing the parking needs or desires of an autonomous vehicle), a parking zone from a plurality of parking zones associated with the request ([0037] a parking space must be on a particular street, it is preferable for a parking space to be in a particular neighborhood or area, [0060] autonomous vehicles may continuously or periodically perform parking spaces searches…for one or more geographic areas, [from a neighborhood among neighborhoods or geographic area among other geographical areas]);
causing a vehicle to navigate to the parking zone ([0073] S130 may include navigating to a space only after verifying that the space meets parking parameters set by the autonomous vehicle);
receiving a set of parking spaces within the parking zone (Abstract identifying a parking space of the one or more parking spaces for parking the autonomous vehicle; [0016] autonomous vehicle 510 may be able to identify one or more available spaces and locate, at least one, of the spaces for parking);
determining, based at least in part on a second parameter associated with the parking zone, a subset of parking spaces of the set of parking spaces ([0045] identifies an available parking space fitting the parking parameters of the parking request, [see [0037] for the list of different parking parameters]; [0073] S130 may include filtering or otherwise prioritizing parking space data based on parking parameters, responses to parking requests, and/or any other suitable information); and
generating a candidate action to navigate to a parking space of the set of parking spaces ([0073] S130 may include navigating to a space only after verifying that the space meets parking parameters set by the autonomous vehicle; [0079] select a parking space for the autonomous vehicle to park in, generate controls for maneuvering the autonomous vehicle into the parking space, and navigate the vehicle into the parking space based on the controls).
Regarding the new limitation, Minster doesn’t specify the second parameter includes an allowed type of parking maneuver, but does teach sensor data may be augmented with one or more generated technical indicators that may assist the autonomous vehicle to determine whether a parking space is suitable, determine whether any specific or unconventional maneuvers are required for positioning the autonomous vehicle within a parking space ([0054]).
Marsousi discloses a parking parameter includes an allowed type of parking maneuver ([0005] parking assist system for a vehicle that utilizes one or more sensors (e.g., ultrasonic sensors, radar sensors, etc.), and generates a potential map that is used to determine available parking spaces, including parallel parking spaces (generally parallel to the direction of travel of the vehicle along the road), perpendicular parking spaces (generally perpendicular to the direction of travel of the vehicle along the road), and fish-bone parking spaces (angled relative to the direction of travel of the vehicle along the road).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minster with Marsousi using an allowed type of parking maneuver in order to provide enhanced parking capabilities that detect parking spots that may have previously gone undetected, as suggested by Marsousi ([0004]).
Claims 2-4, 7-9, 11 and 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minster and Marsousi, in view of Scofield et al. (Scofield; US 20130265174).
Regarding Claims 2, 7 and 15, Minster discloses the parking zone is stored in a database ([0057] Parking space data may originate from any source…a parking space database) accessible to a fleet of vehicles ( platform ), the operations further comprising: receiving, from a sensor associated with the autonomous vehicle, sensor data ([0072] based on sensor data captured by autonomous vehicles); determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, an event ([0072] based on sensor data captured by autonomous vehicles); and causing, based at least in part on the event, the parking zone to be updated S130 may additionally or alternatively include updating parking space data (e.g., linked to location and stored in an autonomous vehicle platform)), but doesn’t specify that the database is updated.
In the same field of endeavor, Scofield discloses systems for parking based route navigation and/or parking resource management are disclosed to facilitate navigation to parking spots associated with a destination and/or management of respective parking spots. Navigation may be provided to a parking spot based upon parking criteria (e.g., such as distance to a destination and/or costs associated with the parking spot). Additionally, navigation (e.g., instructions, alternate transport, such as public transit) from the parking spot to the destination may be provided. Parking spots may be reserved by a parking management system based upon reservations received through a parking based route navigation system.
Scofield discloses causing, based at least in part on an event, the parking zone to be updated in the database ([0030] parking database may be updated 216 based upon updated parking information and/or feedback (e.g., parking data feed, etc.) indicating a status of a parking spot, for example, Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minster with Scofield so travelers may be routed to a destination in a more efficient manner or a management system may price and allocate parking spots in a desired manner, as suggested by Scofield (Abstract).
2>Regarding Claims 3, 8 and 16, Minster discloses causing the parking zone to be updated S130 may additionally or alternatively include updating parking space data (e.g., linked to location and stored in an autonomous vehicle platform)).
Scofield teaches updating the database ([0030], Fig 2).
2>Regarding Claims 4, 9 and 17, Minster discloses causing the parking zone to be updated comprises: determining, based at least in part on the event, a modified parking zone associated with the parking zone, wherein determining the modified parking zone comprises modifying a dimension of the parking zone ([0061] S130 may additionally include processing parking space data S132. S132 preferably includes analyzing and/or processing parking space data to produce parking space characteristics (e.g., size, shape, location, cost, times of availability, etc.) and/or status (e.g., whether the space is occupied, current cost to park in the space)).
Scofield teaches updating the database ([0030], Fig 2).
Regarding Claims 11 and 19, Minster discloses identifying the parking zone is based at least in part on: receiving, receiving parking space data of one or more parking spaces; [0037] a parking space must be on a particular street, it is preferable for a parking space to be in a particular neighborhood or area,[0060] autonomous vehicles may continuously or periodically perform parking spaces searches…for one or more geographic areas [from neighborhoods or geographic areas]);
and determining that the destination location is at a position within the parking zone of the plurality of parking zones (Abstract identifying a parking space of the one or more parking spaces for parking the autonomous vehicle; [0016] autonomous vehicle 510 may be able to identify one or more available spaces and locate, at least one, of the spaces for parking; [0045] identifies an available parking space fitting the parking parameters of the parking request, [see [0037] for the list of different parking parameters]; [0073] S130 may include filtering or otherwise prioritizing parking space data based on parking parameters, responses to parking requests, and/or any other suitable information).
Scofield teaches receiving parking information from the database ([0025], Fig 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. KIM et al. (Kim; US 20180345955 A1) teaches a parking assistance system for a vehicle includes: an object detection apparatus; and a processor to perform operations that include: generating, through the object detection apparatus, information regarding an object located outside the vehicle; determining, based on the information regarding the object located outside the vehicle, that a parking space available outside the vehicle is a diagonal parking space; and generating a diagonal parking path for the vehicle to enter the parking space available outside the vehicle. In determining whether an area is a parking space, a vehicle may be configured to determine whether the area is a perpendicular parking space or a parallel parking space using various sensors and cameras ([0046]). First, by determining whether a parking space is a diagonal parking space and then determining a parking path to park in the diagonal parking space, the parking assistance system may perform autonomous parking not just in a perpendicular parking space and a parallel parking space, but also in a diagonal parking space ([0051]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689