DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This is in response to the amendments filed 4/20/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the previous rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejections of the prior action have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawing objections would have been accepted, however upon further consideration, the assembly for numeral 116 in Figure 5 is different than in figure 7, as well as numerals 146 and 148. The numerals in Figure 7 should be changed to 116’,146’ and 148’, as an example, to distinguish the difference between these components, with additional changes in the specification, as required.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “116”, 146, and 148 has been used to designate both different components in Figures 5 and 7.
The drawings remain objected to because; the lines and numbers have poor quality, see 37CFR 1.84. (l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines, however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning. (p)(3) Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. They should not be placed in the drawing so as to interfere with its comprehension. Therefore, they should not cross or mingle with the lines. They should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces. When necessary, such as indicating a surface or cross section, a reference character may be underlined and a blank space may be left in the hatching or shading where the character occurs so that it appears distinct.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment overcome the prior objection, and the amendment to the specification has been entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “internal drive mechanism”, “control module” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments and arguments overcome the prior rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. (US 11041748) in view of Fujiwara (US 3632925).
Regarding claim 1, Koch et al. disclose a dump valve system (100, see Fig. 1) for controlling the level of a liquid inside a vessel (106) that includes a liquid discharge (col.3, lns. 60-61), the dump valve system comprising:
an automatic dump valve (116) connected to the upstream liquid line and configured to adjust the flow rate of the liquid through the liquid inlet;
a float assembly (108,202), wherein the float assembly comprises: a float (108) inside the vessel (106); and a float arm (214) connected to the float;
a level controller (104,222), wherein the level controller comprises:
a linear position sensor assembly (312) configured to output an electric signal; and an internal drive mechanism (302) between the float arm (214) and the linear position sensor assembly (312), wherein the internal drive mechanism translates a rotational movement of the float arm into a linear movement of the linear position sensor assembly (col.5, lns. 29-31); and a control module (111,112,600,602,610) configured to adjust the operation of the automatic dump valve based on the output from the position sensor assembly.
Koch et al. disclose an automatic dump valve (116) connected to the liquid inlet and configured to adjust the flow rate of the liquid through the liquid inlet, but is silent that the automatic dump valve is connected downstream from the liquid discharge and configured to adjust the flow rate of the liquid through the liquid discharge.
Fujiwara teaches the use of an automatic dump valve (27, see Fig. 8) is connected downstream from the liquid discharge (at the outlet of the line 26 connected to tank 25) and configured to adjust the flow rate of the liquid through the liquid discharge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a valve as taught by Fujiwara into the device of Koch et al. to have the automatic dump valve is connected downstream from the liquid discharge and configured to adjust the flow rate of the liquid through the liquid discharge, in order to have less danger of repeated breakdowns for ease of maintenance and repairs (Fujiwara, col. 1,lns. 27-30).
Regarding claim 4, Koch et al. when combined with Fujiwara disclose the control module is configured to adjust the automatic dump valve to change a dump rate of fluids passing through the automatic dump valve based on the output from the linear position sensor assembly (para. .0042).
Regarding claim 5, Koch et al. disclose a housing (218) attached to the vessel, wherein the float arm extends through the vessel into the housing (see Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 2,3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. 748 and Fujiwara 925 and further in view of Pesek et al. (US 20130032217).
Regarding claims 2,3 and 12, Koch et al. and Fujiwara disclose, all of the features of the claimed invention although are silent to having;
a flow meter configured to measure the flow rate of liquids discharged from the automatic dump valve and output a signal representative of the measured flow rate, wherein the control module is also configured to adjust the operation of the automatic dump valve based on the output from the flow meter.
Pesek et al. teach a flow meter (136, in Fig. 1) configured to measure the flow rate of liquids discharged from the automatic dump valve and output a signal representative of the measured flow rate, wherein the control module is also configured to adjust the operation of the automatic dump valve based on the output from the flow meter(para.0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a flowmeter as taught by Pesek et al. into the combined device of Koch et al. and Fujiwara to have a flow meter configured to measure the flow rate of liquids discharged from the automatic dump valve and output a signal representative of the measured flow rate, wherein the control module is also configured to adjust the operation of the automatic dump valve based on the output from the flow meter, in order to act as a backup device to measure flow coming out of the vessel and to determine when to control the valve based on the amount of liquid released (para.0035, Pesek et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 -11 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
None of the prior art of record disclose or renders as obvious, “a flapper bar in contact with the plunger of the linear position sensor assembly; and a sensitivity fulcrum positioned between the flapper bar and the torque bar” in combination with the rest of the limitations in claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753