DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN207281691U).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a cooling system assembly (see Fig. 1-3), comprising: a water block unit (11 & 12) configured for phase-change of a first cooling fluid, including a water block comprising a first thermal transfer surface and a second thermal transfer surface (top and bottom surfaces thereof), the second thermal transfer surface opposite the first thermal transfer surface, the first thermal transfer surface configured to couple to at least one packaged integrated circuit (CPU – Page 1); and a liquid cooling unit (elements 41,43,51,52,53,54) configured to be flow through by a second cooling fluid, including a liquid plate heat exchanger (41) comprising a liquid cooling water block, the liquid cooling water block coupled to the second thermal transfer surface, wherein the first thermal transfer surface is thermally coupled to the at least one packaged integrated circuit, whereby the water block unit transports heat away from the at least one packaged integrated circuit, and wherein the liquid cooling water block is thermally coupled to the second thermal transfer surface, whereby the liquid cooling unit transports heat away from the water block unit.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang further discloses
the water block unit (11 & 12) further comprises a fin stack (2) and a plurality of heat pipes (21), each plurality of heat pipes respectively coupled to the water block on one end and each plurality of heat pipes respectively coupled to the fin stack on an other end, the other end opposite the one end.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Zhang further discloses
the plurality of heat pipes comprises five plurality of heat pipes (21).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Zhang further discloses
the fin stack (2) is disposed on one side of the water block unit.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Zhang further discloses the water block unit further comprises a fan unit (31 & 32) coupled to the fin stack, the fan unit configured to force air across the fin stack.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Zhang further discloses
the fan unit comprises more than one rotatable fan (31).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang further discloses the liquid cooling unit further comprises a liquid row heat sink (water pipe row 43), an inlet manifold, an outlet manifold (see unlabeled inlet and outlet manifold thereof), an inlet tubing, and an outlet tubing (51 & 53), the liquid plate heat exchanger (41) is in fluid communication with the inlet manifold via the inlet tubing, the liquid plate heat exchanger is in fluid communication with the outlet manifold via the outlet tubing, the liquid row heat sink is configured to lower a flowthrough temperature of ambient airflow flowing through the liquid row heat sink via the second cooling fluid flowing through the liquid row heat sink from the inlet manifold to the outlet manifold.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 12, and Zhang further discloses the liquid cooling unit further comprises a pump unit (52) coupled to the outlet tubing between the liquid plate heat exchanger and the outlet manifold.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 12, and Zhang further discloses the liquid row heat sink is a water-cooled heat sink row (water pipe row 43).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 12, and Zhang further discloses the liquid cooling unit further comprises a liquid cooling fan unit (42) coupled to the liquid row heat sink, the liquid cooling fan unit configured to force air across the liquid row heat sink.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN207281691U) in view of FOR1 (JP61151396U).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Zhang does not teach
a circuit board assembly including a circuit board, and wherein the water block further comprises a plurality of attachment hubs protruding from the water block, and wherein the liquid plate heat exchanger comprises a plurality of counterbores, each plurality of counterbores aligns with and receives each plurality of attachment hubs, the liquid cooling unit configured to couple to the water block unit via a plurality of attachment members, each plurality of attachment members fasten the liquid cooling unit to the water block unit via the plurality of counterbores and the plurality of attachment hubs, the liquid cooling unit and the water block unit are coupled to the circuit board.
FOR1 teaches a circuit board assembly (see Fig. 1 & 2b2) including a circuit board (1), and wherein the water block (20) further comprises a plurality of attachment hubs (20a) protruding from the water block, and wherein the liquid plate heat exchanger (12) comprises a counterbore (bore with 20a therein), the counterbore aligns with and receives the attachment hub (20a), the liquid cooling unit configured to couple to the water block unit via the attachment member, the attachment member fastens the liquid cooling unit to the water block unit via the counterbore and the attachment hub, the liquid cooling unit and the water block unit are coupled to the circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the attachment means of FOR1, in order to reliably press together the heat source and cooling components (Page 1), and to include a plurality of such attachment means, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.)
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN207281691U) in view of FOR1 (JP61151396U) and Barsun (US20050207115A1).
Regarding claims 8-9, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 7, and Zhang does not teach wherein the circuit board further comprises a socket, a plurality of electronic components, and a plurality of leads, the at least one packaged integrated circuit electrically coupled to the circuit board via the socket, the plurality of electronic components electrically coupled to the circuit board via the plurality of leads, wherein the fin stack comprises an elongated fin stack, the elongated fin stack disposed on the plurality of electronic components, the elongated fin stack configured to thermally couple to the plurality of electronic components.
Barsun teaches wherein the circuit board further comprises a socket (¶[0026]), a plurality of electronic components (power circuit 74), and a plurality of leads (76), the at least one packaged integrated circuit electrically coupled to the circuit board via the socket, the plurality of electronic components electrically coupled to the circuit board via the plurality of leads, wherein the fin stack comprises an elongated fin stack (24), the elongated fin stack disposed on the plurality of electronic components, the elongated fin stack configured to thermally couple (via 92) to the plurality of electronic components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include wherein the fins are thermally connected to additional components as taught by Barsun, in order to dissipate heat from power components (¶[0029]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN207281691U) in view of FOR1 (JP61151396U) and Jia (US20140185214A1).
Regarding claims 10, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 8, and Zhang does not teach the plurality of electronic components comprises stacked inductor and transistor electronic components.
Jia teaches the plurality of electronic components comprises stacked inductor and transistor electronic components (108, 110, 206; Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the stacked electronics on the circuit board as taught by Jia, in order to minimize space usage (¶[0004]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN207281691U) in view of Jia (US20140185214A1).
Regarding claims 11, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Zhang does not teach the at least one packaged integrated circuit comprises a graphic processing unit.
Jia teaches the at least one packaged integrated circuit comprises a graphic processing unit (GPU 302).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the GPU as the heat source to be cooled, in order to prevent overheating to a graphics processor (¶[0002-0003]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN207281691U) in view of Suzuki (US20050081534A1).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 15, and Zhang does not teach the liquid cooling fan unit comprises more than one rotatable fan.
Suzuki teaches wherein the liquid cooling fan unit comprises more than one rotatable fan (cooling fans 4, see Fig. 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include a plurality of fans, in order to provide redundancy (¶[0040]).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN207281691U) in view of Shabbir (US20200042052A1).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang does not teach the water block unit further comprises a first fin stack, a second fin stack, and a plurality of heat pipes, each plurality of heat pipes respectively coupled to the first fin stack on one end, each plurality of heat pipes respectively coupled to the second fin stack on an other end, the other end opposite the one end, each plurality of heat pipes respectively coupled to the water block between the first fin stack and the second fin stack.
Shabbir teaches (see Fig. 6) a second fin stack (404b), and a plurality of heat pipes (402b), each plurality of heat pipes respectively coupled to the first fin stack on one end, each plurality of heat pipes respectively coupled to the second fin stack on an other end, the other end opposite the one end, each plurality of heat pipes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water block of Zhang to include two heat pipe fin stacks as taught by Shabbir, in order to provide a low profile, high surface area heat sink configuration (¶[0057-0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 17, and Zhang as modified further teaches the water block unit further comprises a first fan unit coupled to the first fin stack and a second fan unit coupled to the second fin stack, the first fan unit and the second fan unit respectfully configured to force air across the first fin stack and the second fin stack (see 108 of Shabbir).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 17, and Zhang as modified further teaches the plurality of heat pipes comprises five plurality of heat pipes (21).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 17, and Zhang as modified further teaches the first fin stack is disposed on one side of the water block unit and the second fin stack is disposed on an other side of the water block unit, the other side opposite the one side (see 404b of Shabbir).
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763