DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (received 09/05/2024).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/05/2025 and 12/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 8 should read “which
Line 7 should read “and after being incident on the radiation layer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite the limitation “so that the electromagnetic wave forms one of a single-beam reflection and a dual-beam reflection after being incident on the radiation layer, or is absorbed by the radiation layer”. This limitation is unclear. From the instant Specification (¶32), it appears as though the multi-functional RRA structure can operate in three modes: single-beam reflection, dual-beam reflection or absorption. It is therefore not clear how the electromagnetic wave can form a single-beam reflection and a dual-beam reflection after being incident on the radiation layer. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, claims 1 and 11 are interpreted as best understood.
Claims 2 and 13 recite the limitation “in response to determining that the radiation layer operates in the reflection mode ….., each of the first input signal and the second input signal is 0”. Claims 2 and 13 recite additional “in response to determining” steps. However, it is not apparent which part(s) of the RRA structure is being used to carry out the “determining step”. Clarification is required.
There should be a clear recitation of interrelated structure to provide a complete and operable device.
Claims 3 and 14 recite the limitation “after incident on the radiation layer, the electromagnetic wave determines which the one of the single-beam reflection and the dual-beam reflection is formed according to the incident angle, the reflection angle and a number of the reflection angle”.
Firstly, the term “the number of the reflection angle” is not clear. Does the Applicant mean “the number of reflections”? Or does this term have another meaning?
Secondly, is not clear how the electromagnetic wave itself determines which one of the single-beam reflection and the dual-beam reflection is formed. It appears as though this determination is made according to the states of the first and second diodes, which are controlled by signals from the control module.
Thirdly, it is not clear how the incident angle, the reflection angle, and a number of the reflection angle are used to determine which of the single-beam reflection and the dual-beam reflection is formed. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, claims 3 and 14 are interpreted as best understood.
Claims 6 and 17 recite the limitation “wherein in response to determining that each of the first working state and the second working state is an on state”. However, it is not apparent which part(s) of the RRA structure is being used to carry out the “determining step”. Clarification is required.
There should be a clear recitation of interrelated structure to provide a complete and operable device.
Claims 4-5, 7-10, 12, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (CN 114267957A).
Claim 1: As best understood, Zhu discloses (annotated fig. 2 below) “A multifunctional reconfigurable reflectarray (RRA) structure (title, “multifunctional active absorber and reflector”), comprising:
a radiation layer (¶10, “top resonant layer”) configured to receive an electromagnetic wave from an electromagnetic wave source, and comprising:
a first metal member (¶14, “the top resonant layer includes a first metal patch”; P1);
a second metal member (¶14, “the top resonant layer includes a second metal patch”; P2) symmetrically disposed with the first metal member (P1);
a first diode (D1) connected between the first metal member (P1) and the second metal member (P2) (¶14, “the top resonant layer includes a first PIN diode, a second PIN diode”); and a second diode (D2) coupled to the second metal member (P2); and
a direct current bias layer (fig. 3, bias circuit; ¶75, “each unit includes a top resonant layer, a first dielectric layer, a ground plane, a second dielectric layer, and a first bias circuit, which are stacked sequentially from top to bottom”) comprising:
a first voltage input end electrically connected to the first diode (D1) and providing a first input signal; and a second voltage input end electrically connected to the second diode (D2) and providing a second input signal (¶¶66-67, “the bias circuit includes a first metal microstrip line s1, a second metal microstrip line s2, a third metal microstrip line s3, a fourth metal microstrip line s4”, “The first metal microstrip line s1, the second metal microstrip line s2, the third metal microstrip line s3, and the fourth metal microstrip line s4 are loaded with bias voltages”);
wherein a first working state of the first diode (D1) and a second working state of the second diode (D2) are respectively controlled by the first input signal and the second input signal, and the radiation layer is modulated according to the first working state and the second working state (¶67, “The magnitude of the bias voltages is used to control the on/off state of the first PIN diode D1, the second PIN diode D2, the third PIN diode D3, and the fourth PIN diode D4”), so that the electromagnetic wave forms one of a single-beam reflection and a dual-beam reflection after being incident on the radiation layer, or is absorbed by the radiation layer (¶68, “the top resonant layer achieves four independently switchable combinations of absorption and reflection by switching the PIN diodes on and off”. The Zhu device achieves a single-beam reflection of the em wave OR the em wave is absorbed by the radiation layer)”.
Claim 2: Zhu discloses the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 1.
Zhu discloses “wherein the radiation layer operates in one of a reflection mode and an absorption mode according to the first working state and the second working state (¶68, “the top resonant layer achieves four independently switchable combinations of absorption and reflection by switching the PIN diodes on and off”);
wherein in response to determining that the radiation layer operates in the reflection mode and the reflection mode is a first reflection phase state, each of the first input signal and the second input signal is 0, so that each of the first working state and the second working state is an off state (¶32, “when the PIN diodes are all disconnected (i.e., the off state), the device can reflect TE and TM polarized incident em waves”);
wherein in response to determining that the radiation layer operates in the reflection mode and the reflection mode is a second reflection phase state, the first input signal is 1, so that the first working state is an on state, and the second input signal is 0, so that the second working state is the off state (¶34, “when the first PIN diode is turned on, the second PIN diode is turned off, the reflector can reflect TM polarized incident em waves”);
wherein in response to determining that the radiation layer operates in the absorption mode, each of the first input signal and the second input signal is 1, so that each of the first working state and the second working state is the on state (¶31, when the first PIN diode, the second PIN diode are turned on, the device can absorb TE polarized incident em waves and TM polarized incident em waves”)”.
Claim 10: Zhu discloses the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 1.
Zhu discloses (¶14) “wherein each of the first diode and the second diode is a P-Intrinsic-N (P-I-N) diode”.
Claim 11: As best understood, Zhu discloses (annotated fig. 2 & fig. 3) “A control circuit having a multifunctional reconfigurable reflectarray (RRA) structure (bias circuit for controlling a multifunctional broadband dual-polarized active absorber and reflector is shown in fig. 3), comprising:
the multifunctional RRA structure (title, “multifunctional active absorber and reflector”), comprising:
a radiation layer (¶10, “top resonant layer”) configured to receive an electromagnetic wave from an electromagnetic wave source, and comprising:
a first metal member (¶14, “the top resonant layer includes a first metal patch”; P1);
a second metal member (¶14, “the top resonant layer includes a second metal patch”; P2) symmetrically disposed with the first metal member (P1);
a first diode (D1) connected between the first metal member (P1) and the second metal member (P2) (¶14, “the top resonant layer includes a first PIN diode, a second PIN diode”); and
a second diode (D2) coupled to the second metal member (P2); and
a direct current bias layer (fig. 3, bias circuit; ¶75, “each unit includes a top resonant layer, a first dielectric layer, a ground plane, a second dielectric layer, and a first bias circuit, which are stacked sequentially from top to bottom”) comprising:
a first voltage input end electrically connected to the first diode (D1); and
a second voltage input end electrically connected to the second diode (D2) (¶66, “the bias circuit includes a first metal microstrip line s1, a second metal microstrip line s2, a third metal microstrip line s3, a fourth metal microstrip line s4”);
and a control module connected to the first voltage input end and the second voltage input end to respectively provide a first input signal and a second input signal (¶29, “The first, second, third, and fourth metal microstrip lines are loaded with bias voltages provided by a voltage control module”);
wherein a first working state of the first diode (D1) and a second working state of the second diode (D2) are respectively controlled by the first input signal and the second input signal, and the radiation layer is modulated according to the first working state and the second working state (¶67, “The magnitude of the bias voltages is used to control the on/off state of the first PIN diode D1, the second PIN diode D2, the third PIN diode D3, and the fourth PIN diode D4”), so that the electromagnetic wave forms one of a single-beam reflection and a dual-beam reflection after being incident on the radiation layer, or is absorbed by the radiation layer (¶68, “the top resonant layer achieves four independently switchable combinations of absorption and reflection by switching the PIN diodes on and off”. The Zhu device achieves a single-beam reflection of the em wave or the em wave is absorbed by the radiation layer)”.
Claim 13: Zhu discloses the control circuit having the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 11.
Zhu discloses “wherein the radiation layer operates in one of a reflection mode and an absorption mode according to the first working state and the second working state (¶68, “the top resonant layer achieves four independently switchable combinations of absorption and reflection by switching the PIN diodes on and off”);
wherein in response to determining that the radiation layer operates in the reflection mode and the reflection mode is a first reflection phase state, each of the first input signal and the second input signal is 0, so that each of the first working state and the second working state is an off state (¶32, “when the PIN diodes are all disconnected (i.e., the off state), the device can reflect TE and TM polarized incident em waves”);
wherein in response to determining that the radiation layer operates in the reflection mode and the reflection mode is a second reflection phase state, the first input signal is 1, so that the first working state is an on state, and the second input signal is 0, so that the second working state is the off state (¶34, “when the first PIN diode is turned on, the second PIN diode is turned off, the reflector can reflect TM polarized incident em waves”);
wherein in response to determining that the radiation layer operates in the absorption mode, each of the first input signal and the second input signal is 1, so that each of the first working state and the second working state is the on state (¶31, when the first PIN diode, the second PIN diode are turned on, the device can absorb TE polarized incident em waves and TM polarized incident em waves”)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Lu et al. (NPL “A 1-bit 14 x 14 dual-beam electronically reconfigurable reflectarray”, published 2022; “Lu”).
Claim 3: Zhu discloses the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 2.
As best understood, Zhu discloses “wherein there is an incident distance between the electromagnetic wave source and the radiation layer (top resonant layer) (¶2, the Zhu absorber and reflector can be used as a stealth antenna, and therefore there is an incident distance between the em wave source and the radiation layer), the electromagnetic wave is incident on the radiation layer at an incident angle and then reflected at a reflection angle (¶31, “the multifunctional broadband dual-polarized active absorber and reflector can absorb incident em waves”), and after being incident on the radiation layer (top resonant layer), the electromagnetic wave determines which one of the single-beam reflection and the dual-beam reflection is formed according to the incident distance, the incident angle, the reflection angle and a number of the reflection angle (the device of Zhu reflects an incident em wave via a single-beam reflection)”.
Zhu does not explicitly disclose “wherein in the reflection mode, a reflection phase difference between the first reflection phase state and the second reflection phase state is 180 degrees”.
Lu teaches ““wherein in the reflection mode, a reflection phase difference between the first reflection phase state and the second reflection phase state is 180 degrees (abstract, “the 180 degree phase difference can be achieved by tuning the working states of PIN diode”, and graph of fig. 2 which shows the reflected phase of the RRA)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Lu to the multifunctional RRA structure of Zhu, wherein in the reflection mode, a reflection phase difference between the first reflection phase state and the second reflection phase state is 180 degrees. Doing so allows for a dual beam reconfigurable reflectarray antenna which can realize beam scanning with a certain angle range (Introduction, Lu).
Claim 14: Zhu discloses control circuit having the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 13.
As best understood, Zhu discloses “wherein there is an incident distance between the electromagnetic wave source and the radiation layer (top resonant layer) (¶2, the Zhu absorber and reflector can be used as a stealth antenna, and therefore there is an incident distance between the em wave source and the radiation layer), the electromagnetic wave is incident on the radiation layer at an incident angle and then reflected at a reflection angle (¶31, “the multifunctional broadband dual-polarized active absorber and reflector can absorb incident em waves”), and after being incident on the radiation layer (top resonant layer), the electromagnetic wave determines which one of the single-beam reflection and the dual-beam reflection is formed according to the incident distance, the incident angle, the reflection angle and a number of the reflection angle (the device of Zhu reflects an incident em wave via a single-beam reflection)”.
Zhu does not explicitly disclose “wherein in the reflection mode, a reflection phase difference between the first reflection phase state and the second reflection phase state is 180 degrees”.
Lu teaches ““wherein in the reflection mode, a reflection phase difference between the first reflection phase state and the second reflection phase state is 180 degrees (abstract, “the 180 degree phase difference can be achieved by tuning the working states of PIN diode”, and graph of fig. 2 which shows the reflected phase of the RRA)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Lu to the control circuit having the multifunctional RRA structure of Zhu, wherein in the reflection mode, a reflection phase difference between the first reflection phase state and the second reflection phase state is 180 degrees. Doing so allows for a dual beam reconfigurable reflectarray antenna which can realize beam scanning with a certain angle range (Introduction, Lu).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Ren et al. (CN 117276904A; “Ren”).
Claim 6: Zhu discloses the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 1.
Zhu does not disclose “wherein the radiation layer further comprises: an absorption resistor connected between the second metal member and the second diode; wherein in response to determining that each of the first working state and the second working state is an on state, the absorption resistor absorbs the electromagnetic wave”.
Ren teaches (fig. 1 below) an absorption resistor (resistor 23) connected in series with a PIN diode (16) that is connected to a metal member (4) of the radiation layer. The absorption resistor (23) is connected to the metal member (4) to absorb the current of the metal member (4) in absorption mode (¶34). That is, when each of the first working state and the second working state is an on state.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multifunctional RRA structure of Zhu, to include an absorption resistor connected between the second metal member and the second diode; wherein in response to determining that each of the first working state and the second working state is an on state, the absorption resistor absorbs the electromagnetic wave, as taught by Ren. Using an absorption resistor allows for the absorption bandwidth of the RRA structure to be adjusted by adjusting the resistance value of the absorption resistor (¶44 of Ren).
Claim 17: Zhu discloses the control circuit having the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 11.
Zhu does not disclose “wherein the radiation layer further comprises: an absorption resistor connected between the second metal member and the second diode; wherein in response to determining that each of the first working state and the second working state is an on state, the absorption resistor absorbs the electromagnetic wave”.
Ren teaches (fig. 1) an absorption resistor (resistor 23) connected in series with a PIN diode (16) that is connected to a metal member (4) of the radiation layer. The absorption resistor (23) is connected to the metal member (4) to absorb the current of the metal member (4) in absorption mode (¶34). That is, when each of the first working state and the second working state is an on state.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the control circuit having the multifunctional RRA structure of Zhu, to include an absorption resistor connected between the second metal member and the second diode; wherein in response to determining that each of the first working state and the second working state is an on state, the absorption resistor absorbs the electromagnetic wave, as taught by Ren. Using an absorption resistor allows for the absorption bandwidth of the RRA structure to be adjusted by adjusting the resistance value of the absorption resistor (¶44 of Ren).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Ji (CN115395245A).
Claim 7: Zhu discloses the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 1.
Zhu discloses “further comprising: a dielectric layer, wherein an upper surface of the dielectric layer is connected to the radiation layer (resonant layer);
a first ground layer (ground plane), wherein an upper surface of the first ground layer is connected to a lower surface of the dielectric layer;
a radio frequency suppression layer (second dielectric layer, which attenuates RF waves), wherein an upper surface of the radio frequency suppression layer is connected to a lower surface of the first ground layer (ground plane) (¶75, “Each unit of the frequency selective surface includes a top resonant layer, a first dielectric layer, a ground plane, a second dielectric layer, and a first bias circuit, which are stacked sequentially from top to bottom”)”.
Zhu does not explicitly disclose “a second ground layer, wherein an upper surface of the second ground layer is connected to a lower surface of the radio frequency suppression layer, and a lower surface of the second ground layer is connected to the direct current bias layer”.
Ji teaches (¶7 & fig. 1 below) a reflective array with two diodes, a first ground layer (metal ground) and a second ground layer (¶27, “the second metal layer serves as both the GND for the signal and the Vcc for providing DC”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multifunctional RRA structure of Zhu with the teachings of Ji, to include a second ground layer such that an upper surface of the second ground layer is connected to a lower surface of the radio frequency suppression layer, and a lower surface of the second ground layer is connected to the direct current bias layer. Doing so allows for the second metal layer to function as a power supply terminal for a more compact device (¶15).
Claim 18: Zhu discloses the control circuit having the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 11.
Zhu discloses “a dielectric layer, wherein an upper surface of the dielectric layer is connected to the radiation layer (resonant layer);
a first ground layer (ground plane), wherein an upper surface of the first ground layer is connected to a lower surface of the dielectric layer;
a radio frequency suppression layer (second dielectric layer, which attenuates RF waves), wherein an upper surface of the radio frequency suppression layer is connected to a lower surface of the first ground layer (ground plane) (¶75, “Each unit of the frequency selective surface includes a top resonant layer, a first dielectric layer, a ground plane, a second dielectric layer, and a first bias circuit, which are stacked sequentially from top to bottom”)”.
Zhu does not explicitly disclose “a second ground layer, wherein an upper surface of the second ground layer is connected to a lower surface of the radio frequency suppression layer, and a lower surface of the second ground layer is connected to the direct current bias layer”.
Ji teaches (¶7) a reflective array with two diodes, a first ground layer (metal ground) and a second ground layer (¶27, “the second metal layer serves as both the GND for the signal and the Vcc for providing DC”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the control circuit having the multifunctional RRA structure of Zhu with the teachings of Ji, to include a second ground layer such that an upper surface of the second ground layer is connected to a lower surface of the radio frequency suppression layer, and a lower surface of the second ground layer is connected to the direct current bias layer. Doing so allows for the second metal layer to function as a power supply terminal for a more compact device (¶15).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Ji, and further in view of IDS document Guo et al. (CN 116387853; “Guo”).
Claim 8: the modified Zhu discloses the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 7.
Zhu does not disclose “wherein the radio frequency suppression layer comprises: two substrates stacked on each other; and two radio frequency choke units disposed between the two substrates, wherein the two radio frequency choke units are configured to suppress a high-frequency signal of the radiation layer from flowing into the direct current bias layer, and each of the two radio frequency choke units has a fan shape”.
Guo teaches (fig. 3b below) two radio frequency choke units (307) disposed between two dielectric substrates (¶¶13-17, “The second layer is the upper dielectric substrate 2; the third layer is a DC bias layer 3 and two symmetrical fan-shaped branches (307); The fourth layer is a semi-cured adhesive sheet 4”; ¶93, “The fourth layer of semi-cured adhesive sheet uses Rogers RO4450F, with a dielectric constant”). According to para. 91, the choke units (307) are used to isolate the AC signal.
Guo therefore teaches “wherein the radio frequency suppression layer comprises: two substrates stacked on each other; and two radio frequency choke units disposed between the two substrates, wherein the two radio frequency choke units are configured to suppress a high-frequency signal of the radiation layer from flowing into the direct current bias layer, and each of the two radio frequency choke units has a fan shape”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multifunctional RRA structure of Zhu in view of Ji with the teachings of Guo, wherein the radio frequency suppression layer comprises: two substrates stacked on each other; and two radio frequency choke units disposed between the two substrates, wherein the two radio frequency choke units are configured to suppress a high-frequency signal of the radiation layer from flowing into the direct current bias layer, and each of the two radio frequency choke units has a fan shape. Doing so allows the AC signal to be isolated so that it does not interfere with DC bias signals.
Claim 19: the modified Zhu discloses the control circuit having the multifunctional RRA structure of claim 11.
Zhu does not disclose “wherein the radio frequency suppression layer comprises: two substrates stacked on each other; and two radio frequency choke units disposed between the two substrates, wherein the two radio frequency choke units are configured to suppress a high-frequency signal of the radiation layer from flowing into the direct current bias layer, and each of the two radio frequency choke units has a fan shape”.
Guo teaches (fig. 3b) two radio frequency choke units (307) disposed between two dielectric substrates (¶¶13-17, “The second layer is the upper dielectric substrate 2; the third layer is a DC bias layer 3 and two symmetrical fan-shaped branches (307); The fourth layer is a semi-cured adhesive sheet 4”; ¶93, “The fourth layer of semi-cured adhesive sheet uses Rogers RO4450F, with a dielectric constant”). According to para. 91, the choke units (307) are used to isolate the AC signal.
Guo therefore teaches “wherein the radio frequency suppression layer comprises: two substrates stacked on each other; and two radio frequency choke units disposed between the two substrates, wherein the two radio frequency choke units are configured to suppress a high-frequency signal of the radiation layer from flowing into the direct current bias layer, and each of the two radio frequency choke units has a fan shape”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the control circuit having the multifunctional RRA structure of Zhu in view of Ji with the teachings of Guo, wherein the radio frequency suppression layer comprises: two substrates stacked on each other; and two radio frequency choke units disposed between the two substrates, wherein the two radio frequency choke units are configured to suppress a high-frequency signal of the radiation layer from flowing into the direct current bias layer, and each of the two radio frequency choke units has a fan shape. Doing so allows the AC signal to be isolated so that it does not interfere with DC bias signals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 9, 12, 15-16 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Zhu teaches (fig. 2) some elements of the claimed invention, including: wherein each of the first metal member (P1) and second metal member (P2) has a rectangular shape (P1 and P2 are both square) and has a feed point.
Zhu does not teach, or suggest, a short side of the first metal member has a first feed point, which is electrically connected to the first voltage input end through two first conductive via holes, and a long side of the second metal member has a second feed point, which is coupled to the second diode and electrically connected to the second voltage input end through two second conductive via holes.
IDS document Guo et al. (CN 116387853; “Guo”) teaches (fig. 3a below) a first metal member (301) and a second metal member (303) having a rectangular shape, and a long side of the second metal member (303) has a second feed point, which is coupled to the second diode (305) and electrically connected to a second voltage input end by a conductive via hole. However, Guo does not teach, or suggest, a short side of the first metal member has a first feed point, which is electrically connected to the first voltage input end through two first conductive via holes, and the second feed point is electrically connected to the second voltage input end through two second conductive via holes.
Claim 5 and 16 are allowable due to their dependency on respective claims 4 and 15.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Lu teaches (col. 1, II. Element Design), that the dielectric layer (F4B) has a thickness of 2.6 mm, and the direct current bias layer has a thickness of 2 mm. Ren also teaches multiple dielectric layers 1, 2 and 3.
However, neither Lu nor Ren teach, or suggest, wherein a total thickness of the radiation layer and the dielectric layer is equal to a thickness of the direct current bias layer. Ren also teaches multiple dielectric layers.
Regarding claim 12, Zhu teaches a control module (¶29). However, Zhu does not teach, or suggest, wherein the control module comprises: a controller; a shift register connected to the controller; a bipolar junction transistor (BJT), wherein a base end of the BJT is connected to the shift register, and an emitter end of the BJT is connected to the first voltage input end and the second voltage input end; and a power supply connected to a collector end of the BJT; wherein the controller controls the shift register to generate the first input signal and the second input signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0337240 – reconfigurable intelligent surface that utilizes shift registers
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845