Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
2. Claims 1-4 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the following limitation(s) : “a printing unit that print”; “a reading unit that reads”; “an adjustment unit that adjust”; and “a printing control unit that performs”. These features appear to be depicted in figs. 7 and/or 8, and the description thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 1029A)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda et al. (US 11,809,758 B2), hereafter referred as Maeda.
With regard to claim 1, Maeda teaches a printing system (see figs. 1-17) comprising: a printing unit (321) that prints a print image on a recording medium and prints a position adjustment image corresponding to each page of the print image on the recording medium (see p[0167-0169]); a reading unit (543) that reads the position adjustment image printed by the printing unit (reads on p0172]); an adjustment unit (543) that adjusts a printing position of each page of the print image printed by the printing unit on the recording medium on the basis of the position adjustment image read by the reading unit (see p[0166-0169,0210-0211 and/or 0215-0217]; and a printing control unit that performs control to perform printing while providing an interval between a printing timing of a first page and a printing timing of a second page of the print image such that a printing position of the second page of the print image is adjusted by the adjustment unit on the basis of the position adjustment image of the first page of the print image (SEE FIGS. 6A-6B AND 15A-15B, clearly the process is repeated for every page and paper type detected).
With regard to claim 2, the limitation of claim 2 are covered by the limitations of claim 1; and Maeda further teaches a printing control unit that generates an adjustment page of the same image as a first page of the print image and performs printing while providing an interval between the adjustment page and the first page of the print image such that a printing position of the first page of the print image is adjusted by the adjustment unit on the basis of the position adjustment image of the adjustment page (See FIGS. 6A-6B AND 15A-15B, clearly the process is repeated for every page and paper type detected)..
With regard to claim 3, Maeda further teaches wherein the recording medium on which the adjustment page is printed is discharged to a purge tray (reads on fig. 2, which depicts the printer 121 having trays for paper output).
With regard to claim 4, the limitation of claim 4 are covered by the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kikuta (US 2024/0282088) teaches an image processing method for adjusting pixel value of a target image.
Tsukano (US2019/0082080) teaches a color adjuster and method.
Ishikawa et al. (US 2023/0297297 A1) teaches a printed material inspection system.
Toriyabe (US 2020/0183627) teaches a management system having a color adjustment setting.
/Gabriel I Garcia/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682
May 30, 2026