Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-15, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ni et al. (US 2024/0431150) [Hereinafter Ni].
Regarding claim 1, Ni teaches A display panel, comprising:
a driving substrate [fig. 11,base plate 10, para 37];
a pixel definition layer [fig. 11, pixel definition 11, para 37] arranged on the driving substrate (fig. 11, 10) and protruding from the driving substrate to form pixel accommodation areas [annotated fig. 11];
conductive isolation structures [fig. 11, isolation structure 20, para 49], arranged on the pixel definition layer [fig. 11, pixel definition layer 11, para 37] and each surrounding one of the pixel accommodation areas [annotated fig. 11];
wherein each of the conductive isolation structures (fig. 11, 20) comprises a main structure [fig. 10, first isolation portion 21, para 40] and a top structure [fig.10, second isolation portion 22, para 40] located on an upper surface of the main structure (fig. 10, 21) and shielding the main structure (fig. 10, 21),
a portion of the top structure (fig. 10, 22) extending beyond the upper surface of the main structure (fig. 10, 21) is defined as an overhanging part (fig. 10);
sub-pixels [fig. 10, sub-pixels 112, para 86], arranged in the pixel accommodation areas [annotated fig. 11] and located between the conductive isolation structures (fig. 11, 20);
and an encapsulating layer [fig. 11, encapsulation sub-layer 50, para 86], covering the sub-pixels (fig. 11, 112) and extending along sidewalls of the conductive isolation structures (fig. 11, 20) to form grooves surrounded by the encapsulating layer (fig. 11, 50);
wherein an area directly below the overhanging part (fig. 11) and located in one of the grooves is defined as a shielding area [annotated fig. 11];
the display panel comprises
a plurality of insulating spherical structures [annotated fig. 11],
at least partial insulating spherical structures are arranged in the groove (fig. 11), and
the plurality of insulating spherical structures [annotated fig. 11] at least fill the shielding area [annotated fig. 11] to support the overhanging part.
ANNOTATED FIG. 11
Regarding claim 7, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the diameter of each of the insulating spherical structures is smaller than a minimum depth of the groove and smaller than the width of a notch of the groove [annotated fig. 11].
Regarding claim 8, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 7,
wherein the minimum depth of the groove is a distance between a part of the encapsulating layer covering a lower surface of the overhanging part and a part of the encapsulating layer directly opposite the part of the encapsulating layer covering the lower surface of the overhanging part [annotated fig. 11].
Regarding claim 9, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the shielding area accommodates at least one insulating spherical structure [annotated fig. 11].
Regarding claim 10, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the main structure (fig. 10, 21) comprises
a conductive structure (fig. 10, 21, para 110),
a side wall of the conductive structure is obliquely arranged [fig. 10, sidewall of main structure 21; wherein the sidewall of main structure 21 is slanted] with the overhanging part [fig. 10; overhanging part of layer 22], and
an inclination angle between the side wall of the conductive structure and a lower surface of the overhanging part is less than 90 degrees [fig. 10; wherein the inclination angle between the sidewall of the main structure 21 and the overhang of layer 22 meet at an angle less than 90 degrees.];
or the main structure comprises a conductive structure and an intermediate structure located between the conductive structure and the top structure;
a side wall of the intermediate structure is obliquely arranged with the overhanging part, and
an inclination angle between the side wall of the intermediate structure and
a lower surface of the overhanging part is less than 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 11, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 10,
wherein each of the sub-pixels (fig. 10, 112) comprises an anode [fig. 10, electrode 12, para 94],
a light-emitting layer [fig. 10, light emitting material layer 30, para 93], and
a cathode [fig. 10, electrode 40, para 94];
the anode (fig. 10, 12), the light-emitting layer (fig. 10, 30), and the cathode (fig. 10, 40) are arranged in a stack,
the cathode (fig. 10, 40) is arranged between the light-emitting layer (fig. 10, 30) and the encapsulating layer (fig. 11, 50), and is arranged in contact with and conductive to the conductive structure (fig. 11, 20; wherein the cathode and conductive structure is in contact].
Regarding claim 12, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 1,
wherein each of the pixel accommodation areas [annotated fig. 11] accommodates at least one sub-pixel (fig. 11, 112).
Regarding claim 13, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the top structure (fig. 11, 22) is in contact with the main structure (fig. 11, 21), and
an orthographic projection of the top structure (fig. 11, 22) on the driving substrate completely covers an orthographic projection of the main structure (fig. 11, 21) on the driving substrate (fig. 11, underlying layer under layer 11).
Regarding claim 14, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the conductive isolation structures (fig. 11, 21/22) are arranged in an array (fig. 11).
Regarding claim 15, Ni teaches A method for producing a display panel, configured to produce a display panel, comprising:
providing a driving substrate [annotated fig. 11],
wherein a pixel definition layer [fig. 11, pixel definition layer 11, para 37], conductive isolation structures [fig. 11, isolation structure 20, para 39], sub-pixels [fig. 10/11, sub pixel 112, para 86], and an encapsulating layer [fig. 11, encapsulation layer 50, para 86] are arranged on the driving substrate [annotated fig. 11];
the pixel definition layer (fig. 11, 11) protrudes from the driving substrate to form pixel accommodation areas [annotated fig. 11; areas where pixels are located];
the conductive isolation structures (fig. 11, 20) are arranged on the pixel definition layer (fig. 11, 11) and each surrounds one of the pixel accommodation areas [fig. 11; area where sub-pixels are located;
each of the conductive isolation structures (fig. 11, 20) comprises a main structure (fig. 10/11, 21) and a top structure (fig. 10/11, 22) located on an upper surface of the main structure (fig. 10/11, 21) and shielding the main structure;
a portion of the top structure (fig. 10/11, 22) extending beyond the upper surface of the main structure is defined as an overhanging part;
the sub-pixels (fig. 10/11, 112) are arranged in the pixel accommodation areas and are located between the conductive isolation structures (fig. 11, 20);
the encapsulating layer (fig. 11, 50) covers the sub-pixels (fig. 11, 112) and extends along sidewalls of the conductive isolation structures (fig. 11, 20) to form grooves surrounded by the encapsulating layer (fig. 11, 50);
an area directly below the overhanging part and located in one of the grooves is defined as a shielding area [annotated fig. 11]; and
disposing at least partial of a plurality of insulating spherical structures in one of the grooves [annotated fig. 11], and enabling the plurality of insulating spherical structures at least fill the shielding area to support the overhanging part [annotated fig. 11].
Regarding claim 19, Ni teaches The method for producing the display panel according to claim 15,
wherein the diameter of each of the insulating spherical structures is smaller than a minimum depth of the groove and smaller than the width of a notch of the groove[annotated fig. 11].
Regarding claim 20 Ni teaches The method for producing the display panel according to claim 15,
wherein the main structure (fig. 10, 21) comprises
a conductive structure (fig. 10, 21, para 110),
a side wall of the conductive structure is obliquely arranged [fig. 10, sidewall of main structure 21; wherein the sidewall of main structure 21 is slanted] with the overhanging part [fig. 10; overhanging part of layer 22], and
an inclination angle between the side wall of the conductive structure and a lower surface of the overhanging part is less than 90 degrees [fig. 10; wherein the inclination angle between the sidewall of the main structure 21 and the overhang of layer 22 meet at an angle less than 90 degrees.];
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni as applied to claims 1, 7-15, & 19-20 and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2022/0384531).
Regarding claim 6, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 1.
While Ni notes the insulating spherical structures (annotated fig. 11) to be that of an encapsulation layer (fig. 11, 60).
Ni is silent to exemplary materials of the encapsulation layer.
Therefore Ni fails to explicitly disclose wherein the insulating spherical structures comprise alumina-based ceramic particles.
However, Xu teaches aluminum oxide to be a material of choice for an encapsulation layer in a display panel [fig. 5, encapsulation layer 111, para 62].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize alumina as a material of choice for the encapsulation material of the insulating spherical structures to protect the subpixel material from moisture and contamination that could damage the subpixel.
Regarding claim 18 Ni teaches The method for producing the display panel according to claim 15,
While Ni notes the insulating spherical structures (annotated fig. 11) to be that of an encapsulation layer (fig. 11, 60).
Ni is silent to exemplary materials of the encapsulation layer.
Therefore Ni fails to explicitly disclose wherein the insulating spherical structures comprise alumina-based ceramic particles.
However, Xu teaches aluminum oxide to be a material of choice for an encapsulation layer in a display panel [fig. 5, encapsulation layer 111, para 62].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize alumina as a material of choice for the encapsulation material of the insulating spherical structures to protect the subpixel material from moisture and contamination that could damage the subpixel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, & 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Ni teaches The display panel according to claim 1.
wherein the encapsulating layer extends to an upper surface of the top structure;
The prior art fails to explicitly disclose the display panel comprises an organic encapsulating layer filling gaps between the insulating spherical structures and the grooves, and covering the encapsulating layer and the conductive isolation structures.
Thereby claim 2 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Thereby claim 5 contains allowable subject matter at least based upon dependency on claim 2.
Regarding the claim 16 Ni teaches The method for producing the display panel according to claim 15.
wherein the "disposing at least partial of a plurality of insulating spherical structures in one of the grooves, and enabling the plurality of insulating spherical structures at least fill the shielding area to support the overhanging part" comprises:
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose disposing all the plurality of insulating spherical structures in the groove and depositing an organic encapsulating layer,
wherein the organic encapsulating layer fills gaps between the insulating spherical structures and the grooves, and covers the encapsulating layer and the conductive isolation structures; or
filling a mixture of the plurality of insulating spherical structures and an organic material into the grooves, and curing the organic material to form an organic encapsulating layer.
Thereby claim 16 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Thereby claim 17 contains allowable subject matter at least based upon dependency on claim 16.
Conclusion
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812