DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1 (Claims 1-6) in the reply filed on April 22, 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ‘first portion’, ‘the second portion’, and the ‘n or more conductive polymer layers’ of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Further, the ‘continuous or discontinuous layer’ of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Uka et al. (US Publication 2018/0005759).
Figure 2 of Uka with Examiner’s Comments (Figure 2EC)
In re claim 1, Uka discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising at least one capacitor element, the at least one capacitor element including:
an anode body (2 – Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶23) including a porous part in a surface layer (Figure 2);
a dielectric layer (3 – Figure 2, ¶24) covering at least a part of a surface of the anode body (Figure 1, Figure 2); and
a solid electrolyte layer (4a, 4b1, 4b2 – Figure 2EC, ¶24, ¶27) covering at least a part of the dielectric layer (Figure 2EC), wherein:
the anode body includes a first end and a second end opposite to the first end (Figure 1),
the solid electrolyte layer (4 – Figure 1) is disposed in a portion including the second end of the anode body having the dielectric layer (See Figure 1), and includes a first portion (4a within pore of 1 – Figure 2EC) disposed in a void of the porous part and a second portion (4a outside of pore of 2, 4b1, 4b2 – Figure 2EC) disposed outside a principal surface of the anode body having the dielectric layer (3 – Figure 2EC), and
the second portion includes n or more conductive polymer layers (4a outside of pore of 1, 4b1, 4b2 – Figure 2EC; ‘n’ has a value of 3) on the principal surface of the anode body (2 – Figure 1, Figure 2EC) having the dielectric layer (3 – Figure 1, Figure 2EC), and following relational expressions are satisfied:
18.0 μm ≤ Tt ≤ 50.0 μm (¶110, ¶112; The total thickness of the solid electrolyte layer is at most 31 μm.)
9.0 μm ≤ Tt/n ≤ 12.5 μm (¶110, ¶112; With a value of Tt falling between 30 μm and 31 μm and ‘n’ having a value of 3, this inequality is satisfied.)
where, n is an integer of 2 or more (4a outside of pore of 2, 4b1, 4b2 – Figure 2EC), and Tt is a thickness of the second portion on one principal surface of the anode body having the dielectric layer at the second end (¶110, ¶112; The total thickness of the solid electrolyte layer is at most 31 μm.).
In re claim 2, Uka discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, as explained above. Uka further discloses wherein the integer n is 4 or less (4a outside of pore of 2, 4b1, 4b2 shown in Figure 2EC gives an ‘n’ value of 3.).
In re claim 3, Uka discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, as explained above. Uka further discloses wherein a following relational expression is further satisfied, 20.0 μm < Tt (¶57).
In re claim 4, Uka discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, as explained above. Uka further discloses wherein:
the second portion includes a water-soluble polymer (¶85-86), and
a weight-average molecular weight of the water-soluble polymer is 50,000 or more and 800,000 or less (¶92).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Uka et al. (US Publication 2018/005759) in view of Uka ‘510 (US Publication 2017/0098510).
In re claim 6, Uka discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, as explained above. Uka does not disclose wherein:
the second portion includes at least one continuous or discontinuous layer disposed between conductive polymer layers adjacent to each other among the n or more conductive polymer layers, and the at least one continuous or discontinuous layer includes at least a cationic agent.
Uka ‘510 discloses the second portion includes at least one continuous or discontinuous layer (4c – Figure 2, ¶32) disposed between conductive polymer layers (4a outside of pore of 2, 4b – Figure 2, ¶27) adjacent to each other among the n or more conductive polymer layers (Figure 2), and the at least one continuous or discontinuous layer includes at least a cationic agent (¶93).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the intermediary layer as described by Uka ‘510 to provide for an electrolytic capacitor capable of having decreased ESR and restraint from increase in leakage current (¶19: Uka ‘510).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the water-soluble polymer in the second portion is 10mass% or more and 20 mass% or less.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nobuta et al. (US Publication 2013/0236636) Figure 1
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847