DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A-Prong 1
The claims recite:
creates a task that should be accomplished in relation to a use of a device connected;
acquires data related to a user's use of the device;
evaluates a level of task accomplishment of the user using the device; and
communicates with the device to set a function of the device according to the level of task accomplishment.
The claims falls into the abstract idea groupings of (b) Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity ** fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk) commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)** and (c) mental processes—concepts performed in the human mind- (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
The limitations under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than recited, variable units, network and device, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being certain methods of organizing human activity. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A-Prong 2
The recited limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite the following additional elements, variable units, network and device. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that in conjunction with the abstract limitations, they amount to no more than:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f);
- (variable units and device)
iv. Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, -(network)
The claims do not include additional elements individually or in an ordered combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Integration into a practical application requires the additional element(s) to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. This is not the case in the instant application. Further, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than: mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component; generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
MPEP 2106 Step 2B
Eligibility requires that the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. As discussed above, this is where the instant application falls short. The claims do not include additional elements individually or in an ordered combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception
Dependent Claims Step 2A:
The limitations of the dependent claims but for those addressed below merely set forth further refinements of the abstract idea without changing the analysis already
presented (that is, they further limit the organizing of human activities at step 2A —
Prong One without adding any new additional elements other than those already
analyzed above with respect to the independent claims at 2A — Prong Two; While claim 2 describes a device; 3-varied units and device; 4-setting units; 5-device, these additional elements do not remedy the deficiencies.
Dependent Claims Step 2B:
The dependent claims merely use the same general technological environment
and instructions to implement the abstract idea as the independent claims without
adding any new additional elements. Accordingly, they are not directed to significantly
more than the exception itself, and are not eligible subject matter under § 101.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Claims 1-6 describe “units”.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: System and Method for incentivized task completion
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupta U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2010/0241496 A1
As per Claim 1 and 6, Gupta teaches a task creation unit that creates a task that should be accomplished in relation to a use of a device connected to a network (see para. 17-19);
a usage data acquisition unit that acquires data related to a user's use of the device (see para. 21);
an evaluation unit that evaluates a level of task accomplishment of the user using the device (see para. 43); and
a setting unit that communicates with the device to set a function of the device according to the level of task accomplishment (see para. 18).
As per Claim 2, Gupta teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as described above. Gupta further teaches wherein the device is a device provided in an area around a venue of an event, and wherein the user is a participant to the event (see para. 28-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2010/0241496 A1 in view of Marins U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0284090 A1
As per Claim 3, Gupta teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as described above. Gupta does not explicitly teach the limitation taught by Marins a group creation unit that creates a plurality of groups including a plurality of users (see para. 64), wherein the evaluation unit evaluates the level of task accomplishment of each of the plurality of groups based on the group that the user using the device belongs to (see para. 110), and wherein the setting unit sets, in the device, a function determined by the group having a relatively high level of task accomplishment (see para. 122). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Gupta to include the teachings of Marins to reward a user for superior task completion, as suggested by the cited portion of Marins.
As per Claim 4, Gupta in view of Marins teaches the apparatus of claim 3 as described above. Gupta does not explicitly teach the limitation taught by Marins wherein each group includes a plurality of users whose attributes are similar (see para. 25), the setting unit sets, in the device, a function suited to the attribute of the users of the group having a relatively high level of task accomplishment (see para. 25-26). The motivation is the same as opined above.
As per Claim 5, Gupta in view of Marins teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as described above. Gupta teaches the information processing apparatus notifies the user that the function of the device has been set (see para. 18). Gupta does not explicitly teach the limitation taught by Marins, wherein, when the function of the device is set by the setting unit, the information processing apparatus notifies the user that the function of the device has been set (see para. 35). The motivation is the same as opined above.
Conclusion
/TONYA JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628