DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are amended. No claim is cancelled or newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly added limitation is found in Lancaster et al. (US 6229546 B1US 6229546 B1). For details see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9, 10, 11-12, 14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le et al. (US 20210272352 A1, hereinafter Le) in view of Gain et al. (US 20180122135 A1) and further in view of Lancaster et al. (US 6229546 B1, hereinafter Lancaster).
Regarding claim 1, Le discloses a system for translating 3D visualization to a n-D title, abstract, ¶0002, ¶0019, fig. 1), comprising:
a database (15, 23, 24, fig. 1) configured to store data for a 3D visualization of a real world or virtual world, wherein the 3D visualization comprises layers of voxels (The databases 15, 23, 24 also each store a generic canvas object 20 and layer constraints 21. The generic canvas object 20 is a mutable generic object that each layer generator operates on during generation, ¶0022
A voxel is an atomic unit used in the layer generation process that is stored and managed by the Nixel World, ¶0041.
The voxels and voxel assemblies are manipulated during processing of each layer. Each layer generator has a reference to the Nixel World that allows a generator to manipulate the voxels and reason about a current world state that can inform a procedural content generation process during its generation, ¶0043. Also see claims 3, 13); and
a server (14, 22, 25, fig. 1) comprising a central processing unit, memory, an input port to receive the 3D visualization from the database, and an output port (…at least one server comprising a central processing unit, memory, an input port to receive at least one of the virtual objects from the database, and an output port … clam 1), wherein the central processing unit is configured to:
process the voxels of each layer to determine a type of terrain (In one example, the value attribute can be moisture level with respect to how close a terrain voxel is to a water source and the type attribute can include a type of the terrain voxel, such as rainforest, desert, field, or other terrain type, ¶0041. Also see ¶0040-0044) and a color associated with that that terrain type (Once completed, results of the environment generated are packed in a series of PNG height map images with three channels of colors encoding a voxel's elevation, type, and value. However, other formats of the results and other channels of colors are possible for coding the voxel's different characteristics, ¶0047);
transform each voxel in a base layer of the m-D visualization into a tile n-D visualization (Based on the data layers described above with respect to FIG. 4, the data layers 61-65 for an elevated map artifact can include a base terrain layer 65, a water layer 64 stacked on top of the terrain layer 65, a terrain type layer 63 that defines a type of terrain, such as desert, rain forest, or other type of terrain, built on top of the water layer 64, a tree layer 62 built over the terrain type layer 63, and a road and building layer 61 built over the tree layer 62. Once stacked, the data layers form the elevated map artifact 66, ¶0029
Once completed, results of the environment generated are packed in a series of PNG height map images with three channels of colors encoding a voxel's elevation, type, and value, ¶0047
The environment simulation can include a terrain layer generator utilizing Simplex Noise and Voronoi tessellations to generate a basic landscape with mountains and hills that rise in elevation the closer the elevated areas are to a Voronoi cell center. The basic landscape can be defined as a base terrain data layer of the artifact, ¶0048.
Landscape generated through Voronoi tessellations is understood as tiles.
Artifact: content, including one or more of 3D models, images, text, and realistic environments, generated via layers, ¶0014.
See 2D visualization in base layer 65 and also other enhancement layers thereon, fig. 4);
assign the color associated with the layers to the tiles, comprising:
for each such layer, identify a marker for each voxel that indicates In this example, there can be four basic voxel types, including water, object, assembly, and terrain, ¶0041.
Returning to the discussion with respect to FIG. 3, the generation manager 42 can add, remove, or reorder the different data layers of the artifact, which requires checking of all the other data layers to ensure that the constraints and parameters of each layer are met, ¶0030
A specific example of generating an environment artifact can use Nixel Worlds as the generic canvas object, which includes and manages voxels, as well as assemblies of voxels. Nixel Worlds has a 3D array that includes voxels and empty positions, and has methods for adding, removing, and editing the voxels. Other functions for counting and accessing specific voxels and their positions can also be included in Nixel Worlds. Similarly, functions for adding, removing, editing, counting, and accessing specific assemblies of voxels are also available, ¶0040
Each type of voxel is associated with unique attributes and can expand the space of the artifact generated, ¶0041.
For example, the base terrain can define a bottom layer and the water layer can be built on top of the base terrain by manipulating the terrain to insert river, ponds, lakes, and other types of water, if applicable for the environment, ¶0028.
For instance, if a surface water layer for rivers, lakes, and other bodies of water were to be placed on a terrain layer, the surface water layer generator would need to remove surface features to accommodate the water representing a river that carves out a river bed, ¶0045); and
apply the color associated with the layer to at least a portion of the tiles based on the markers associated with the voxels (Once completed, results of the environment generated are packed in a series of PNG height map images with three channels of colors encoding a voxel's elevation, type, and value. However, other formats of the results and other channels of colors are possible for coding the voxel's different characteristics, ¶0047.
For example, a water layer formed on top of a base terrain layer may require cutouts within the terrain layer, such as by removal of data units, to create depth of a particular body of water, ¶0037.
In one embodiment, the characteristics can represent a type of terrain or object, such as grass, water, mountains, trees, roads, people, buildings, or other types of terrain and objects. For example, a water layer can be associated with a layer generator that is trained to identify areas of terrain for correct placement of bodies of water. For example, a waterfall would not flow from low terrain to high terrain and a sea would not be placed at high terrain. Training data for the water layer generator can include maps and other related data, ¶0038.
In this example, there can be four basic voxel types, including water, object, assembly, and terrain. However, more or less types of voxels are possible. Each type of voxel is associated with unique attributes and can expand the space of the artifact generated. In one embodiment water and terrain voxel types have “value” and “type” attributes. In one example, the value attribute can be moisture level with respect to how close a terrain voxel is to a water source and the type attribute can include a type of the terrain voxel, such as rainforest, desert, field, or other terrain type, ¶0040.
In this example, one of the implemented layer generators is a biome layer generator that is responsible for assigning terrain types, such as forest, desert, or seabed, as well as other types, by utilizing a Whittaker diagram that is based on elevation generated by a terrain layer generator, a user defined global moisture, ocean level, and global temperature, as well as Simplex Noise. The terrain voxels that represent high elevations, high moisture, and low temperature values are assigned a “snow” type, while terrain voxels at ocean level with high moisture and high temperature values are assigned a “rainforest” type. Other layer generators, such as a tree generator, can reference the values from the terrain voxels through an associated reference to Nixel World to inform their own generation process, ¶0044.
Also see ¶0042-0045);
when multiple colors are applied to one or more of the tiles, select the color associated with the layer furthest from the base layer (Alternatively, when the processes are stacked, the artifact is generated by building the data layers on top of one another, from a bottom to top orientation. For example, the base terrain can define a bottom layer and the water layer can be built on top of the base terrain by manipulating the terrain to insert river, ponds, lakes, and other types of water, if applicable for the environment. In a further embodiment, a top to bottom orientation is also possible, ¶0028.
The layers, whether generated simultaneously or sequentially, are stacked to form the artifact. FIG. 4 is a block diagram 60 showing, by way of example, an artifact 66 generated via the system of FIG. 1 and method of FIG. 2. Based on the data layers described above with respect to FIG. 4, the data layers 61-65 for an elevated map artifact can include a base terrain layer 65, a water layer 64 stacked on top of the terrain layer 65, a terrain type layer 63 that defines a type of terrain, such as desert, rain forest, or other type of terrain, built on top of the water layer 64, a tree layer 62 built over the terrain type layer 63, and a road and building layer 61 built over the tree layer 62. Once stacked, the data layers form the elevated map artifact 66, ¶0029.
For instance, if a surface water layer for rivers, lakes, and other bodies of water were to be placed on a terrain layer, the surface water layer generator would need to remove surface features to accommodate the water representing a river that carves out a river bed, ¶0045.
Once completed, results of the environment generated are packed in a series of PNG height map images with three channels of colors encoding a voxel's elevation, type, and value. However, other formats of the results and other channels of colors are possible for coding the voxel's different characteristics, ¶0047); and
provide the n-D visualization with the m-D visualization (Artifacts are content generated via interactive layers of data and provide realistic visual displays, such as video games, maps, films and multi-dimensional environment simulations, ¶0026).
Although likely implicit, since the dimensionality is generic in Le (e.g., see n-dimensional data in abstract), an explicit mention is not found wherein a 2D visualization using pixels is generated based on of 3D data. However, since n-dimensional voxels are used for manipulation and voxels are usually understood a 3D pixel that represents volumetric data, the starting point is understood describing a 3D visualization. Furthermore, as described in ¶0030, that artifact can be saved as an image 48, and images are generally understood comprising pixels, the disclosure in Li is understood suffices the apparently missing components. Le is also not found disclosing expressly that marker indicates a presence or absence of the terrain type for that level.
On the other hand, Gain discloses an identifier bit discloses indicates the presence or absence of a terrain type (¶0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to start the collection of artifacts in 3D voxels, and after blending the layers together as shown in fig. 4 to finally generate Voronoi tessellated cells in a 2D visualization expressed using pixels, as well as including a bit in the voxel definition to indicate as a marker to provide the presence indication of a particular terrain type in a particular layer as disclosed by Gain, to obtain 3D to 2D visualizations transformation and marker indicating presence or absence of the terrain type for that level, because, Voxels are 3D elemental construct for volumetric image description and images are build using pixels that provides 2D visualization. Furthermore, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious.
Le in view of Gain is not found disclosing assign texture to the applied color of the portion of tiles via an overlay associated with the terrain type for that layer assign texture to the applied color of the portion of tiles via an overlay associated with the terrain type for that layer.
However, Lancaster discloses a 3d model generation system where, a geographic data-layer-compositing step that merges geographic data layers to create a terrain-skin composite file that is convertible to a color bitmap file for simulating differing surface colors and textures corresponding to soil, rock, water, vegetation and other natural and man-made surfaces (Col. 6, line 64-Col. 7, line 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Le in view of Gain such that terrain voxels of Le that represent different terrain types are assigned with different texture color of the portion of tiles via an overlay associated with the terrain type for that layer using the teaching of Lancaster, to obtain, assign texture to the applied color of the portion of tiles via an overlay associated with the terrain type for that layer assign texture to the applied color of the portion of tiles via an overlay associated with the terrain type for that layer, because combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious (see MPEP §2143.I). Furthermore, such combination would allow users to ascertain various terrain types in a geographic area quickly by merely peeking on the terrain map.
Regarding claim 2, Le in view of Gain and Lancaster discloses a system according to Claim 1, wherein the central processing unit accesses layer expansion templates and applies texture to the 2D visualization based on the accessed layer expansion templates (Another layer generator can cover parts of terrain in ice using a Simplex Noise texture and the elevations generated by the previous terrain layer generator, ¶0048. Terrain layer generator functions as template).
Regarding claim 4, Le in view of Gain and Lancaster discloses a system according to Claim 1, wherein the marker comprises a value of 1 for presence of the terrain type for one of the layers and further comprises a value of 0 for an absence of the terrain type for that layer (Gain: ¶0066).
Regarding claim 9, Le in view of Gain and Lancaster discloses a system according to Claim 1, wherein the central processing unite accesses a template for one or more objects based on the data of the 3D visualization and places the objects in the 2D visualization based on the templates accessed (In this example, there can be four basic voxel types, including water, object, assembly, and terrain. However, more or less types of voxels are possible. Each type of voxel is associated with unique attributes and can expand the space of the artifact generated. In one embodiment water and terrain voxel types have “value” and “type” attributes. In one example, the value attribute can be moisture level with respect to how close a terrain voxel is to a water source and the type attribute can include a type of the terrain voxel, such as rainforest, desert, field, or other terrain type. Assembly type voxels are associated with a reference to an assembly of which the assembly voxel is included. For example, an assembly type voxel can be part of a building assembly and can represent a brick, while other assembly type voxels in the building may represent a door or window. Further, object type voxels can be extended to represent higher complexity single voxel entities, such as an individual performing tasks within a layer, ¶0041).
Regarding claim 10, Le in view of Gain and Lancaster discloses a system according to Claim 9, wherein the objects are placed in one or more of the tiles of the 2D image randomly or in a designated location (The modifiers allow different users to reproduce the space and characteristics associated with that layer, including a specific instance of a configuration of the layer, using the same or similar generic canvas object, as well as reducing an amount of data storage required, ¶0036. Also see ¶0040).
Regarding claims 11-12, 14, 19-20, although wording is different, the material is substantively similar to the claims 1-2, 4, 9-10 respectively discussed above.
Claim(s) 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Gain and Lancaster and further in view of Penmatsa et al. (US 9737811 B1, hereinafter Penmatsa).
Regarding claim 3, Le in view of Gain and Lancaster discloses a system according to Claim 2, except, wherein the layer expansion templates provide texturing instructions for each terrain type.
However, Penmatsa discloses that texturing instructions are provided based on terrain type (Col. 11, lines 40-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Le with the teaching of Penmatsa of provided texturing instructions based on terrain type, to obtain, wherein the layer expansion templates provide texturing instructions for each terrain type, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious.
Regarding claims 13, although wording is different, the material is substantively similar to the claim 3 discussed above.
Claim(s) 5-8, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Gain and Lancaster and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20170365094 A1, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 5, Le in view of Gain and Lancaster discloses a system according to Claim 1, except, wherein the central processing unit adds contour lines to the 2D image based on changes in altitude represented by the 3D image.
However, Liu discloses generating an elevation contour given a 3D digital elevation model, where each contour line is a closed loop having equal elevation, starting from seed contour having the lowest elevation value (abstract, ¶0009-0010, Claims 1-2 …etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Le in view of Gain to further include the teaching of Liu of adding contour lines in the 2D image based on changes in altitude represented in the 3D image, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious. Furthermore, inclusion of contour line provides users to have cognition of topographical variation in vertical direction, thus enhancing the overall perception of the area map.
Regarding claim 6, Le in view of Gain and Lancaster and Liu discloses a system according to Claim 5, wherein the contour lines are added to the 2D visualization, comprising:
scanning the 2D image in one direction ( …beginning with the lowest elevation seed contour and hierarchically expanding to higher elevation contours until a highest elevation contour is reached, - ¶0009); and
determining placement of the contour lines, comprising: identifying a location where an altitude for the location equals the change in altitude measured from a previous contour line; and marking the location with a further contour line (¶0009-0010, Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Le in view of Gain and Lancaster and Liu discloses a system according to Claim 5, wherein the central processing unit applies shading to the 2D visualization based on the changes in altitude (¶0025, 0030, ¶0039, 0041, 0042, 0047, ¶0104-0105, ¶0112-0113, ¶0129, ¶0148).
Regarding claim 8, Le in view of Gain and Lancaster and Liu discloses a system according to Claim 7, wherein the shaping is applied by:
identifying a drop in altitude within one of the tiles;
comparing the drop in altitude to a predetermined altitude drop; and
adding the shading to the tile when the identified altitude drop satisfies or exceeds the predetermined altitude drop (…methods for detecting and characterizing surface depressions in a topographical landscape…, Abstract
Although a hill has a similar concentric pattern of closed contours, the elevation increases rather than decreases toward the inner contours, ¶0071.
For a simple one-branch contour tree in FIG. 3A, the root node E indicates the outermost closed contour of the single level depression, which is surrounded by either open contours or closed contours with a lower elevation, ¶0081).
Regarding claims 15-18, although wording is different, the material is substantively similar to the claims 5-8 respectively discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NURUN FLORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619