DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the wireless communication antenna assembly”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to examine this application, examiner will assume the limitation is “the wireless communication assembly”.
Claims 2-4 depends on claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,165,132. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,165,132 discloses everything except slight difference in wording. Patent No. 11,165,132 does not teach a housing having a length ranging from 100 to 250 millimeters (mm), a width ranging from 50 to 100mm, and a height ranging from 50 to 90mm, the housing positioned over the component mounting surface, the first heat transfer plate, the second heat transfer plate and the modem. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a housing having a length ranging from 100 to 250 millimeters (mm), a width ranging from 50 to 100mm, and a height ranging from 50 to 90mm, the housing positioned over the component mounting surface, the first heat transfer plate, the second heat transfer plate and the modem in U.S. Patent No. 11,165,132, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, having a housing in order to position over and protect the internal components of the wireless communication assembly for a vehicle is already well-known in the art, and that a particular dimension of the housing depends on the internal components and the vehicle size for aerodynamics, and that particular dimension can be determined through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art without yielding any unpredictable result.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,664,573. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,664,573 discloses everything except slight difference in wording. U.S. Patent No. 11,664,573 does not teach a housing having a length ranging from 100 to 250 millimeters (mm), a width ranging from 50 to 100mm, and a height ranging from 50 to 90mm, the housing positioned over the component mounting surface, the first heat transfer plate, the second heat transfer plate and the modem. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a housing having a length ranging from 100 to 250 millimeters (mm), a width ranging from 50 to 100mm, and a height ranging from 50 to 90mm, the housing positioned over the component mounting surface, the first heat transfer plate, the second heat transfer plate and the modem in U.S. Patent No. 11,664,573, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, having a housing in order to position over and protect the internal components of the wireless communication assembly for a vehicle is already well-known in the art, and that a particular dimension of the housing depends on the internal components and the vehicle size for aerodynamics, and that particular dimension can be determined through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art without yielding any unpredictable result.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,113,267. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 12,113,267 discloses everything except slight difference in wording. U.S. Patent No. 12,113,267 does not teach a housing having a length ranging from 100 to 250 millimeters (mm), a width ranging from 50 to 100mm, and a height ranging from 50 to 90mm, the housing positioned over the component mounting surface, the first heat transfer plate, the second heat transfer plate and the modem. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a housing having a length ranging from 100 to 250 millimeters (mm), a width ranging from 50 to 100mm, and a height ranging from 50 to 90mm, the housing positioned over the component mounting surface, the first heat transfer plate, the second heat transfer plate and the modem in U.S. Patent No. 12,113,267, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, having a housing in order to position over and protect the internal components of the wireless communication assembly for a vehicle is already well-known in the art, and that a particular dimension of the housing depends on the internal components and the vehicle size for aerodynamics, and that particular dimension can be determined through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art without yielding any unpredictable result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barak et al. (US 2009/0231186; hereinafter “Barak”) in view of Alam et al. (US 10,143,030; hereinafter “Alam”) and Panorama (see NPL: Panorama Antennas Ltd., "GPSD Multifunction MiMo Antenna", product datasheet, 23 June 2016. Retrieved from the internet <URL: https://www.co-star.co.uk/_uploads/pdfs/bd6802a7-d3e9-492d-b1bc-cec21acd11af.pdf>).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Barak teaches a heat dissipation system for wireless communication assembly for a vehicle (Figs. 1-4), the wireless communication assembly having a modem (100, Figs. 3, 4) that generates heat during operation and an amplifier (76, Figs. 3, 4), the heat dissipation system comprising:
a base (60+44, Figs. 1, 2) comprising a sidewall (sidewall of 44 or 60 in Fig. 2), a component mounting surface (surface of 44, Figs. 1, 2) and a heat sink (heat sink with fins shown in Fig. 2; [0032]), the heat sink comprising a plurality of heat dissipation elements (plurality of fins as shown in Fig. 2); and
a first heat transfer plate (same as one of the plurality of 48, Figs. 1, 2) in thermal contact with the modem (direct or indirect thermal contact, note there are plurality of 48, also see location of modem 100 in relation to 72 in Figs. 2-4);
a second heat transfer plate (another one of the plurality of 48, Figs. 1, 2) mounted on the amplifier (direct or indirect thermal contact, note there are plurality of 48, also see location of amplifier 76 in relation to 72 in Figs. 2-4);
a modem is disposed on the component mounting surface (100 is on the mounting surface of 44);
a communication cable (not shown, but mentioned in [0042, 0043]: “…The down-converted signal is output on connector (see Fig. 1) via a power injector 96. The signal is provided for further processing by a Set-Top Box…cable…”) connected to the modem at one end and configured to connect a vehicle internal device at an opposite end (same as STB mentioned in [0042-0044]) positioned within the vehicle ([0042]: “…typically mounted inside the vehicle.”; Fig. 3);
a housing (64, Fig. 1) positioned over the component mounting surface, the first heat transfer plate, the second heat transfer plate and the modem;
wherein the first heat transfer plate is in thermal contact with a first area of the heat sink (48 thermally contact with an area of 60 closest to 100);
wherein the second heat transfer plate is in thermal contact with a second area of the heat sink (area of heat sink closest to 76);
wherein the first area of the heat sink is located on one side of the base, the second area of the heat sink is located on an opposing side of the base (100 and 76 are located on different side of 44, so the two area of the heat sink are different, can refer to Figs. 1-4), and a third area of the heat sink is located at a rear section of the base (rear of 60+44, Figs. 1, 2).
Barak does not explicitly teach the vehicle internal device has vehicle internal router. However, Alam (Figs. 1, 2) teaches a communication cable (see line from 114 to 126 in Fig. 1) connected to a wireless communication assembly (114, Fig. 1) at one end and configured to connect to a vehicle internal router (204 of 126, Figs. 1, 2) at an opposite end, and the vehicle internal router is located within a vehicle (inside 106, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have vehicle internal router as part of the vehicle internal device in Barak, as taught by Alam, in order to route internet and manage network traffics for various devices.
Barak in view of Alam above does not explicitly teach the housing having a length ranging from 100 to 250 millimeters (mm), a width ranging from 50 to 100mm, and a height ranging from 50 to 90mm. However, Panorama teaches a housing (see shark fin housing in pg. 1) having a length ranging from 100 to 250 millimeters (mm), a width ranging from 50 to 100mm, and a height ranging from 50 to 90mm (see dimension in pgs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the housing having a length ranging from 100 to 250 millimeters (mm), a width ranging from 50 to 100mm, and a height ranging from 50 to 90mm in Barak in view of Alam, as taught by Panorama, in order to provide better aerodynamic on top of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, Barak in view of Alam and Panorama teaches the heat dissipation system according to Claim 1, and Barak further teaches wherein each of the plurality of heat dissipation elements is selected from the group comprising a fin and a pin ([0032]: “”heat sink fins…”; can refer to Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Barak in view of Alam and Panorama teaches the heat dissipation system according to Claim 1. Barak does not explicitly teach the base has a width ranging from 2.5 inches to 5.5 inches, and a length ranging from 6.0 inches to 8.0 inches. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base has a width ranging from 2.5 inches to 5.5 inches, and a length ranging from 6.0 inches to 8.0 inches in Barak in view of Alam, since it has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case, finding the optimal dimension of the base in order to fit the antenna and other network devices and also make it compact enough so as not to interfere with the aerodynamic of the vehicle can be found through routine experimentation to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Barak in view of Alam and Panorama teaches the heat dissipation system according to Claim 1. Barak does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second heat transfer plates are each made of material selected from the list consisting of copper, aluminum, graphite, carbon diamond, magnesium, gold, silver, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, and zinc. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the have first and second heat transfer plates are each made of material selected from the list consisting of copper, aluminum, graphite, carbon diamond, magnesium, gold, silver, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, and zinc in Barak in view of Alam, since it has been held that a selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Selecting a known compound to meet requirements is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (citing Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). In this case, all the material groups are known to have good heat dissipation, and selecting any of these materials yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-4 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841