DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“said curvilinear longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is contained within a plane” in claim 2.
“the plane of said curvilinear longitudinal axis each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is oriented parallel to an axis of rotation of a rotor” in claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
RE claim 2/1, the claim recited: “said curvilinear longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is contained within a plane.”
Claim 20 recited: “the plane of said curvilinear longitudinal axis each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is oriented parallel to an axis of rotation of a rotor comprising said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets”
As best understood, “a plane” can be understood as a flat geometrical surface, two-dimensional continuum of zero curvature or an imaginary flat surface according to Oxford English Dictionary.
According to the instant application specification ¶ 83, the “longitudinal axis” is curvilinear.
[0083] As used herein, "axially magnetized" refers to a permanent magnet that has been magnetized such that the direction of magnetization of the permanent magnet generally, or substantially, follows, i.e. is aligned with, a longitudinal axis of the permanent magnet. The longitudinal axis of the permanent magnet may be linear, curvilinear or any other shape, even three-dimensional. In the case of a curvilinear permanent magnet, the longitudinal axis is curvilinear. The principles discussed relative to curvilinear permanent magnets of the invention also apply to permanent magnets with linear or other shapes.
Therefore, the one possible way for a “the longitudinal axis is curvilinear” to be “within” a plane as claimed in claim 2 is that the plane needs to be at a cross section perpendicular to the axis such that the curvilinear longitudinal axis is on and/or parallel with the plane.
However, claim 20 required that the plane to be parallel to the axis of rotation which appeared to be contradicted to best understood claim 2. Thus, claim 20 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12081076 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 are being anticipated by claims 1-15 of the U.S. Patent No. US 12081076 B2.
Instant Application (18/822,425)
U.S. Patent No. US 12081076 B2
1. A system of permanent magnets for a rotor of an electric machine, comprising:
a plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets that are configured in a rotor; each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets being elongate, having a cross sectional shape, and having a curvilinear longitudinal axis;
wherein each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is disposed such that the resulting magnetic field vector inside each of the plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is substantially aligned with said curvilinear permanent magnet axial magnetization.
2. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 1, wherein the curvilinear longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is further defined as being arcuate in shape, said arcuate shape having an apex, and an open end, and wherein said curvilinear longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is contained within a plane.
3. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 2,
wherein the plane of said curvilinear longitudinal axis each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is oriented orthogonally to an axis of rotation of a rotor comprising said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets.
4. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 3,
Wherein the apex of the arcuate-shaped longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is oriented towards said axis of rotation of said rotor.
5. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 4:
wherein the axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets are arranged into an even number of arrays, each array comprising two or more axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets nested together with their magnetic North ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic North end, and with their magnetic South ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic South end; and wherein each array is oriented so that its array magnetic North pole end is adjacent to an array magnetic North pole end of the adjacent array, and each array oriented so that its array magnetic South pole end is adjacent to an array magnetic South pole end of the opposing adjacent array.
6. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 5, wherein the number of array North pole ends is two, and the number of array South pole ends is two, forming a four-pole permanent magnet rotor.
7. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 5, wherein the number of array North pole ends is three, and the number of array South pole ends is three, forming a six-pole permanent magnet rotor.
8. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 5, wherein the number of array North pole ends is four, and the number of array South pole ends is four, forming an eight-pole permanent magnet rotor.
9. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 5, wherein the number of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets comprising each array is three.
10. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 4: wherein the axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets are arranged into an even number of groups; wherein each group comprises a plurality of stacked arrays; each array comprising two or more axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets nested together with their magnetic North ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic North end, and with their magnetic South ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic South end; and the arrays being stacked such that the array magnetic North ends are stacked one above the other, forming a group North pole end, and the array magnetic South ends are stacked one above the other, forming a group South pole end; wherein, each group is oriented so that its group magnetic North pole end is adjacent to a group magnetic North pole end of the adjacent group, and each group is oriented so that its group magnetic South pole end is adjacent to a group magnetic South pole end of the opposing adjacent array.
11. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 10, wherein the number of group North pole ends is two, and the number of group South pole ends is two, forming a four-pole permanent magnet rotor.
12. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 10, wherein the number of group North pole ends is three, and the number of group South pole ends is three, forming a six-pole permanent magnet rotor.
13. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 10, wherein the number of group North pole ends is four, and the number of group South pole ends is four, forming an eight-pole permanent magnet rotor.
14. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 10, wherein the number of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets comprising each array is three.
15. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 4: wherein the axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets are arranged into an even number of groups; wherein each group comprises a plurality of offset-stacked arrays, wherein each array in each stack of arrays is offset by a predetermined distance from the array immediately below the array directly underneath; each array comprising two or more axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets nested together with their magnetic North ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic North end, and with their magnetic South ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic South end; and the arrays being stacked such that the array magnetic North ends are stacked one above the other, forming a group North pole end, and the array magnetic South ends are stacked one above the other, forming a group South pole end; wherein, each group is oriented so that its group magnetic North pole end is adjacent to a group magnetic North pole end of the adjacent group, and each group is oriented so that its group magnetic South pole end is adjacent to a group magnetic South pole end of the opposing adjacent array.
16. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 15, wherein the number of group North pole ends is two, and the number of group South pole ends is two, forming a four-pole permanent magnet rotor.
17. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 15, wherein the number of group North pole ends is three, and the number of group South pole ends is three, forming a six-pole permanent magnet rotor.
18. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 15, wherein the number of group North pole ends is four, and the number of group South pole ends is four, forming an eight-pole permanent magnet rotor.
19. The system of permanent magnets of Claim 15, wherein the number of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets comprising each array is three.
1. A system of permanent magnets for a rotor of an electric machine, comprising:
a plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets that are configured in a rotor; each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets being elongate, having a cross sectional shape, and having a curvilinear longitudinal axis;
wherein each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is disposed such that the resulting magnetic field vector inside each of the plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is substantially aligned with said curvilinear permanent magnet axial magnetization;
wherein the curvilinear longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is further defined as being arcuate in shape, said arcuate shape having an apex, and an open end, and wherein said curvilinear longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is contained within a plane;
wherein the plane of said curvilinear longitudinal axis each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is oriented orthogonally to an axis of rotation of a rotor comprising said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets;
wherein the apex of the arcuate-shaped longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is oriented towards said axis of rotation of said rotor;
wherein the axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets are arranged into an even number of arrays, each array comprising two or more axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets nested together with their magnetic North ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic North end, and with their magnetic South ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic South end; and wherein each array is oriented so that its array magnetic North pole end is adjacent to an array magnetic North pole end of the adjacent array, and each array oriented so that its array magnetic South pole end is adjacent to an array magnetic South pole end of the opposing adjacent array.
2. The system of permanent magnets of claim 1, wherein the number of array North pole ends is two, and the number of array South pole ends is two, forming a four-pole permanent magnet rotor.
3. The system of permanent magnets of claim 1, wherein the number of array North pole ends is three, and the number of array South pole ends is three, forming a six-pole permanent magnet rotor.
4. The system of permanent magnets of claim 1, wherein the number of array North pole ends is four, and the number of array South pole ends is four, forming an eight-pole permanent magnet rotor.
5. The system of permanent magnets of claim 1, wherein the number of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets comprising each array is three.
6. The system of permanent magnets of claim 1: wherein the axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets are arranged into an even number of groups; wherein each group comprises a plurality of stacked arrays; each array comprising two or more axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets nested together with their magnetic North ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic North end, and with their magnetic South ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic South end; and the arrays being stacked such that the array magnetic North ends are stacked one above the other, forming a group North pole end, and the array magnetic South ends are stacked one above the other, forming a group South pole end; wherein, each group is oriented so that its group magnetic North pole end is adjacent to a group magnetic North pole end of the adjacent group, and each group is oriented so that its group magnetic South pole end is adjacent to a group magnetic South pole end of the opposing adjacent array.
7. The system of permanent magnets of claim 6, wherein the number of group North pole ends is two, and the number of group South pole ends is two, forming a four-pole permanent magnet rotor.
8. The system of permanent magnets of claim 6, wherein the number of group North pole ends is three, and the number of group South pole ends is three, forming a six-pole permanent magnet rotor.
9. The system of permanent magnets of claim 6, wherein the number of group North pole ends is four, and the number of group South pole ends is four, forming an eight-pole permanent magnet rotor.
10. The system of permanent magnets of claim 6, wherein the number of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets comprising each array is three.
11. The system of permanent magnets of claim 1: wherein the axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets are arranged into an even number of groups; wherein each group comprises a plurality of offset-stacked arrays, wherein each array in each stack of arrays is offset by a predetermined distance from the array immediately below the array directly underneath; each array comprising two or more axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets nested together with their magnetic North ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic North end, and with their magnetic South ends adjacent to one another, forming an array magnetic South end; and the arrays being stacked such that the array magnetic North ends are stacked one above the other, forming a group North pole end, and the array magnetic South ends are stacked one above the other, forming a group South pole end; wherein, each group is oriented so that its group magnetic North pole end is adjacent to a group magnetic North pole end of the adjacent group, and each group is oriented so that its group magnetic South pole end is adjacent to a group magnetic South pole end of the opposing adjacent array.
12. The system of permanent magnets of claim 11, wherein the number of group North pole ends is two, and the number of group South pole ends is two, forming a four-pole permanent magnet rotor.
13. The system of permanent magnets of claim 11, wherein the number of group North pole ends is three, and the number of group South pole ends is three, forming a six-pole permanent magnet rotor.
14. The system of permanent magnets of claim 11, wherein the number of group North pole ends is four, and the number of group South pole ends is four, forming an eight-pole permanent magnet rotor.
15. The system of permanent magnets of claim 11, wherein the number of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets comprising each array is three.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sidey et al. (US 2004/0222713 A1).
RE claim 1, Sidey teaches a system of permanent magnets (Figs.3, 4) for a rotor of an electric machine (motor/generator, see ¶ 3), comprising: a plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets (214 or 314) that are configured in a rotor; each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets being elongate, having a cross sectional shape, and having a curvilinear longitudinal axis (Fig.3); wherein each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is disposed such that the resulting magnetic field vector inside each of the plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is substantially aligned with said curvilinear permanent magnet axial magnetization (reproduced ¶ 83 of the instant application specification for “axially magnetized” means that the direction of magnetization of magnet is aligned with the longitudinal axis of the magnet and the longitudinal axis of the magnet can be linear or curvilinear. Therefore, see Figs.2-4 for arrow showing the direction of magnetization is substantially linear to the longitudinal axis of the magnet).
The instant specification disclosed the following:
[0083] As used herein, "axially magnetized" refers to a permanent magnet that has been magnetized such that the direction of magnetization of the permanent magnet generally, or substantially, follows, i.e. is aligned with, a longitudinal axis of the permanent magnet. The longitudinal axis of the permanent magnet may be linear, curvilinear or any other shape, even three-dimensional. In the case of a curvilinear permanent magnet, the longitudinal axis is curvilinear. The principles discussed relative to curvilinear permanent magnets of the invention also apply to permanent magnets with linear or other shapes.
RE claim 2/1, Sidey teaches the curvilinear longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is further defined as being arcuate in shape (Figs.3, 4), said arcuate shape having an apex, and an open end, and wherein said curvilinear longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is contained within a plane (a cross sectional plane perpendicular to axis as shown in Figs.3, 4)
RE claim 3/2, Sidey teaches the plane of said curvilinear longitudinal axis each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets (214 or 314) is oriented orthogonally to an axis of rotation of a rotor comprising said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets (Figs.3, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidey in view of Okubo (US 2015/0303749 A1).
RE claim 4/1, Sidey has been discussed above. Sidey does not teach the apex of the arcuate-shaped longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is oriented towards said axis of rotation of said rotor.
Okubo teaches the apex of the arcuate-shaped longitudinal axis of each magnet 26 of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is oriented towards said axis of rotation of said rotor (see Fig.5). Therefore, it is possible to increase the magnet torque caused by the magnets and to obtain sufficient torque. Furthermore, it is also possible to reduce the torque ripple and cogging of the reluctance motor that uses the rotor (¶ 13, 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sidey by having the apex of the arcuate-shaped longitudinal axis of each magnet of said plurality of axially-magnetized curvilinear permanent magnets is oriented towards said axis of rotation of said rotor, as taught by Okubo, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Conclusion
/THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834