Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 13-14, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong (US 2024/0168265).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches an image capturing lens (the imaging lens system 100/200/400 in Fig. 1-11 and 14-15, [0049-0113, 0127-0139], Tables 1-4, 7-8 and 13-15), wherein, sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 1, 10 and 14), the image capturing lens comprises:
a first lens element (the lens element corresponding to 110/210/410 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14), having a refracting power (Fig. 1, 10 and 14, [0077-0079, 0104-0106, 0130-0132]);
a second lens element (the lens element corresponding to 120/220/420 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14), having a refracting power (Fig. 1, 10 and 14, [0077-0079, 0104-0106, 0130-0132]);
a third lens element (the lens element corresponding to 130/230/430 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14), having a refracting power (Fig. 1, 10 and 14, [0077-0079, 0104-0106, 0130-0132]); and
a light turning component (the component including P1, P2 and P3 in Fig. 1, or the component including P1 and P3 in Fig. 10 and 14), wherein along the optical axis (Fig. 1, 10 and 14), the light turning component comprises:
a first prism (P1 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14), comprising a first light incident surface (the top surface of P1 facing 140/240/430 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14), a first reflective surface (the lower inclined reflecting surface of P1 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14), and a first light exit surface (the vertical side surface of P1 facing P3 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14); and
a second prism (P3 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14), comprising a second light incident surface (the vertical side surface of P3 facing P1 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14), a second reflective surface (the upper inclined reflecting surface of P3 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14), and a second light exit surface (the bottom surface of P3 facing IF/IP in Fig. 1, 10 and 14),
wherein the first light exit surface (the vertical side surface of P1 facing P3 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14) and the second light incident surface (the vertical side surface of P3 facing P1 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14) are parallel to each other (Fig. 1, 10 and 14), and
the optical axis (Fig. 1, 10 and 14) bends (Fig. 1, 10 and 14) at the first reflective surface (the lower inclined reflecting surface of P1 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14) and the second reflective surface (the upper inclined reflecting surface of P3 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14).
Regarding claims 4-8, 13-14, 17 and 19, Jeong also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 4) the first reflective surface (the lower inclined reflecting surface of P1 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14) and the second reflective surface (the upper inclined reflecting surface of P3 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14) are planar and parallel to each other (Fig. 1, 10 and 14).
(Claim 5) the first light incident surface (the top surface of P1 facing 140/240/430 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14) and the second light exit surface (the bottom surface of P3 facing IF/IP in Fig. 1, 10 and 14) are planar (Fig. 1, 10 and 14)
(Claim 6) the first lens element (the lens element corresponding to 110/210/410 in Fig. 1, 10 and 14) has the positive refracting power ([0079, 0106, 0132]).
(Claim 7) the second lens element (120 in Fig. 1) has the negative refracting power ([0079]).
(Claim 8) the third lens element (130 in Fig. 1) has the positive refracting power ([0079]).
(Claim 13) a focal length of the image capturing lens ranges from 15 mm to 20 mm (Fig. 1, Table 1, the focal length of the image capturing lens of first embodiment is 18 mm).
(Claim 14) an image height of the image capturing lens ranges from 1.5 mm to 4.0 mm (Fig. 1, Table 1, the image height of first embodiment is 2.1 mm).
(Claim 17) the second lens element (120 in Fig. 1) is a negative meniscus lens element with a concave surface facing the image side ([0079], The second lens 120 may have negative refractive power, and may have a convex object-side surface and a concave image-side surface).
(Claim 19) the first lens element (110 in Fig. 1) is a positive meniscus lens element with a concave surface facing the image side ([0079], the first lens 110 may have positive refractive power, and may have a convex object-side surface and a concave image-side surface).
Claims 1, 6-8, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2021/0103124, 1st interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an image capturing lens (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A-1B, [0043, 0098, 0113-0151], Tables 1-2), wherein, sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A), the image capturing lens comprises:
a first lens element (110 in Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098, 0114]), having a refracting power (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098, 0114-0115]);
a second lens element (120 in Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098, 0114]), having a refracting power (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098, 0114, 0116]);
a third lens element (130 in Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098, 0114]), having a refracting power (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098, 0114, 0117]); and
a light turning component (the component including IR20 and IR30 in Fig. 15, [0098]), wherein along the optical axis (Fig. 15D), the light turning component comprises:
a first prism (IR20 in Fig. 15, [0098]), comprising a first light incident surface (the surface of IR20 facing 130 in Fig. 5), a first reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of IR20 in Fig. 15D), and a first light exit surface (the surface of IR20 facing IR30 in Fig. 15D); and
a second prism (IR30 in Fig. 15, [0098]), comprising a second light incident surface (the surface of IR30 facing IR20 in Fig. 15D), a second reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of IR30 in Fig. 15D), and a second light exit surface (the vertical light existing surface of IR30 in Fig. 15D),
wherein the first light exit surface (the surface of IR20 facing IR30 in Fig. 15D) and the second light incident surface (the surface of IR30 facing IR20 in Fig. 15D) are parallel to each other (Fig. 15D), and
the optical axis (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098]) bends (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098]) at the first reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of IR20 in Fig. 15D) and the second reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of IR30 in Fig. 15D).
Regarding claims 6-8, 11 and 15, Chen also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 6) the first lens element (110 in Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098, 0114]) has the positive refracting power ([0115]).
(Claim 7) the second lens element (120 in Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098, 0114]) has the negative refracting power ([0116]).
(Claim 8) the third lens element (130 in Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098, 0114]) has the positive refracting power ([0117]).
(Claim 11) a field of view of the image capturing lens ranges from 10 degrees to 25 degrees (Table 1, since HFOV is 5.1 degree, the field of view of the image capturing lens is 10.2 degree)
(Claim 15) the image capturing lens comprises a total of three lens elements having the refracting power (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A).
Claims 1, 6-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim (US 2023/0314775).
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches an image capturing lens (Fig. 3-5, [0093-0133], Table 5), wherein, sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 3-4), the image capturing lens comprises:
a first lens element (210 in Fig. 3), having a refracting power (Fig. 3, [0099]);
a second lens element (220 in Fig. 3), having a refracting power (Fig. 3, [0100]);
a third lens element (230 in Fig. 3), having a refracting power (Fig. 3, [0101]); and
a light turning component (400 in Fig. 3-5), wherein along the optical axis (Fig. 3-5), the light turning component comprises:
a first prism (410 in Fig. 4-5), comprising a first light incident surface (S1 in Fig. 5), a first reflective surface (S3 in Fig. 5), and a first light exit surface (S2 in Fig. 5); and
a second prism (430 in Fig. 4-5), comprising a second light incident surface (S4 in Fig. 5), a second reflective surface (S5 in Fig. 5), and a second light exit surface (S6 in Fig. 5),
wherein the first light exit surface (S2 in Fig. 5) and the second light incident surface (S4 in Fig. 5) are parallel to each other (Fig. 4-5), and
the optical axis (Fig. 3-5) bends (Fig. 5) at the first reflective surface (S2 in Fig. 5) and the second reflective surface (S5 in Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 16, Chen also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 6) the first lens element (210 in Fig. 3) has the positive refracting power ([0099]).
(Claim 7) the second lens element (220 in Fig. 3) has the negative refracting power ([0100]).
(Claim 8) the third lens element (230 in Fig. 3) has the positive refracting power ([0101]).
(Claim 16) The image capturing lens further comprising a fourth lens element (240 in Fig. 2), wherein the first lens element, the second lens element, the third lens element, and the fourth lens element are sequentially configured along the optical axis from the object side to the image side (Fig. 3-4), and the fourth lens element (240 in Fig. 2) has a positive refracting power ([0102]), such that the image capturing lens comprises a total of four lens elements having the refracting power (Fig. 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2021/0103124, 1st interpretation).
Regarding claim 12, Chen also teaches that an aperture and a f-number can be controlled/changed/adjusted ([0109]), and the f-number is between 2.0 and 5.5 ([0074]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to try and recognize that in the system of Chen, a stop value of the image capturing lens ranges from 2.0 to 3.0. The motivation is that balances can be obtained between illuminances and the depth of field and angles of view can be favorably adjusted (Chen, [0074], MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
Claims 1, 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2021/0103124, 2nd interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, the embodiment of Fig. 3A-3B of Chen teaches an image capturing lens (Fig. 3A-3B, [0161-0169], Tables 6-8), wherein, sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 3A), the image capturing lens comprises:
a first lens element (310 in Fig. 3A), having a refracting power (Fig. 3A, [0162-0165]);
a second lens element (320 in Fig. 3A), having a refracting power (Fig. 3A, [0162-0165]);
a third lens element (330 in Fig. 3A), having a refracting power (Fig. 3A, [0162-0165]); and
a light turning component (340 in Fig. 3A).
The embodiment of Fig. 3A-3B of Chen does not teach the combined limitations that along the optical axis, the light turning component comprises: a first prism, comprising a first light incident surface, a first reflective surface, and a first light exit surface; and a second prism, comprising a second light incident surface, a second reflective surface, and a second light exit surface, wherein the first light exit surface and the second light incident surface are parallel to each other, and the optical axis bends at the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface.
The embodiment of Fig. 15D of Chen teaches that a light turning component (the component including IR20 and IR30 in Fig. 15, [0098]), wherein along the optical axis (Fig. 15D), the light turning component comprises: a first prism (IR20 in Fig. 15, [0098]), comprising a first light incident surface (the surface of IR20 facing 130 in Fig. 5), a first reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of IR20 in Fig. 15D), and a first light exit surface (the surface of IR20 facing IR30 in Fig. 15D); and a second prism (IR30 in Fig. 15, [0098]), comprising a second light incident surface (the surface of IR30 facing IR20 in Fig. 15D), a second reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of IR30 in Fig. 15D), and a second light exit surface (the vertical light existing surface of IR30 in Fig. 15D), wherein the first light exit surface (the surface of IR20 facing IR30 in Fig. 15D) and the second light incident surface (the surface of IR30 facing IR20 in Fig. 15D) are parallel to each other (Fig. 15D), and the optical axis (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098]) bends (Fig. 15D and Fig. 1A, [0098]) at the first reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of IR20 in Fig. 15D) and the second reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of IR30 in Fig. 15D).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 15D of Chen for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 3A-3B of Chen such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 3A-3B of Chen, a light turning component, wherein along the optical axis, the light turning component comprises: a first prism, comprising a first light incident surface, a first reflective surface, and a first light exit surface; and a second prism, comprising a second light incident surface, a second reflective surface, and a second light exit surface, wherein the first light exit surface and the second light incident surface are parallel to each other, and the optical axis bends at the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface. The motivation is that It is favorable for reducing structural limitations and improving flexibility in space configurations for an even wider range of applications (Chen, [0082]).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 10, Chen also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 6) the first lens element (310 in Fig. 3A) has the positive refracting power ([0163]).
(Claim 7) the second lens element (320 in Fig. 3A) has the negative refracting power ([0164]).
(Claim 8) the third lens element (330 in Fig. 3A) has the positive refracting power ([0162]).
(Claim 10) the third lens element (330 in Fig. 3A) is a biconvex lens element (Fig. 3A, [0165]).
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh (US 2021/0364751, 1st interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, the embodiment of Fig. 5-6 of Huh teaches an image capturing lens (the imaging lens system 200 in Fig. 5, [0107-0112], Tables 3-4 and 11-12), wherein, sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 5), the image capturing lens comprises:
a first lens element (210 in Fig. 5), having a refracting power (Fig. 5, [0109]);
a second lens element (220 in Fig. 5), having a refracting power (Fig. 5, [0109]);
a third lens element (230 in Fig. 5), having a refracting power (Fig. 5, [0109]); and
a light turning component ([0111]).
The embodiment of Fig. 5-6 of Huh does not teach the combined limitations that along the optical axis, the light turning component comprises: a first prism, comprising a first light incident surface, a first reflective surface, and a first light exit surface; and a second prism, comprising a second light incident surface, a second reflective surface, and a second light exit surface, wherein the first light exit surface and the second light incident surface are parallel to each other, and the optical axis bends at the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface.
The embodiment of Fig. 2 of Huh teaches that a light turning component (the component including P2 and P3 in Fig. 2, [0091-0093]), wherein along the optical axis (Fig. 2), the light turning component (the component including P2 in Fig. 2) comprises: a first prism (P2 in Fig. 2), comprising a first light incident surface (the surface of P2 facing 150/100 in Fig. 2), a first reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of P2 in Fig. 2), and a first light exit surface (the surface of P2 facing P3 in Fig. 2); and a second prism (P3 in Fig. 2), comprising a second light incident surface (the surface of P3 facing P2 in Fig. 2), a second reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of P3 in Fig. 2), and a second light exit surface (the surface of P3 facing IF/IP in Fig. 2), wherein the first light exit surface (the surface of P2 facing P3 in Fig. 2) and the second light incident surface (the surface of P3 facing P2 in Fig. 2) are parallel to each other (Fig. 2), and the optical axis (Fig. 2) bends (Fig. 2) at the first reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of P2 in Fig. 2) and the second reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of P3 in Fig. 2).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Huh for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 5-6 of Huh such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 5-6 of Huh, a light turning component, wherein along the optical axis, the light turning component comprises: a first prism, comprising a first light incident surface, a first reflective surface, and a first light exit surface; and a second prism, comprising a second light incident surface, a second reflective surface, and a second light exit surface, wherein the first light exit surface and the second light incident surface are parallel to each other, and the optical axis bends at the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface. The motivation is to convert the optical paths in different directions, and/or the camera module can be mounted on a small terminal while having a long focal length may be implemented (Huh, [0092, 0140]).
Regarding claims 6-8, 11, 18 and 20, the embodiment of Fig. 5-6 of Huh also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 6) the first lens element (210 in Fig. 5) has the positive refracting power ([0109]).
(Claim 7) the second lens element (220 in Fig. 5) has the negative refracting power ([0109]).
(Claim 8) the third lens element (230 in Fig. 5) has the positive refracting power ([0109]).
(Claim 11) a field of view of the image capturing lens ranges from 10 degrees to 25 degrees (Fig. 5, Table 11, FOV of the second example Fig. 5-6 is 24.61 degree).
(Claim 18) the second lens element (220 in Fig. 5) is a biconcave lens element (Fig. 5, [0109]).
(Claim 20) the first lens element (210 in Fig. 5) is a biconvex lens element (Fig. 5, [0109]).
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh (US 2021/0364751, 2nd interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, the embodiment of Fig. 9-10 of Huh teaches an image capturing lens (the imaging lens system 400in Fig. 9, [0119-0124], Tables 7-8 and 11-12), wherein, sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 9), the image capturing lens comprises:
a first lens element (410 in Fig. 9), having a refracting power (Fig. 9, [0120-0121]);
a second lens element (420 in Fig. 9), having a refracting power (Fig. 9, [0120-0121]);
a third lens element (440 in Fig. 9), having a refracting power (Fig. 9, [0120-0121]); and
a light turning component ([0123]).
The embodiment of Fig. 9-10 of Huh does not teach the combined limitations that along the optical axis, the light turning component comprises: a first prism, comprising a first light incident surface, a first reflective surface, and a first light exit surface; and a second prism, comprising a second light incident surface, a second reflective surface, and a second light exit surface, wherein the first light exit surface and the second light incident surface are parallel to each other, and the optical axis bends at the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface.
The embodiment of Fig. 2 of Huh teaches that a light turning component (the component including P2 and P3 in Fig. 2, [0091-0093]), wherein along the optical axis (Fig. 2), the light turning component (the component including P2 in Fig. 2) comprises: a first prism (P2 in Fig. 2), comprising a first light incident surface (the surface of P2 facing 150/100 in Fig. 2), a first reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of P2 in Fig. 2), and a first light exit surface (the surface of P2 facing P3 in Fig. 2); and a second prism (P3 in Fig. 2), comprising a second light incident surface (the surface of P3 facing P2 in Fig. 2), a second reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of P3 in Fig. 2), and a second light exit surface (the surface of P3 facing IF/IP in Fig. 2), wherein the first light exit surface (the surface of P2 facing P3 in Fig. 2) and the second light incident surface (the surface of P3 facing P2 in Fig. 2) are parallel to each other (Fig. 2), and the optical axis (Fig. 2) bends (Fig. 2) at the first reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of P2 in Fig. 2) and the second reflective surface (the inclined reflecting surface of P3 in Fig. 2).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Huh for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 9-10 of Huh such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 9-10 of Huh, a light turning component, wherein along the optical axis, the light turning component comprises: a first prism, comprising a first light incident surface, a first reflective surface, and a first light exit surface; and a second prism, comprising a second light incident surface, a second reflective surface, and a second light exit surface, wherein the first light exit surface and the second light incident surface are parallel to each other, and the optical axis bends at the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface. The motivation is to convert the optical paths in different directions, and/or the camera module can be mounted on a small terminal while having a long focal length may be implemented (Huh, [0092, 0140]).
Regarding claims 6-9, the embodiment of Fig. 9-10 of Huh also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 6) the first lens element (410 in Fig. 9) has the positive refracting power ([0121]).
(Claim 7) the second lens element (420 in Fig. 9) has the negative refracting power ([0121]).
(Claim 8) the third lens element (440 in Fig. 9) has the positive refracting power ([0121])).
(Claim 9) The image capturing lens further comprising a fourth lens element (430 in Fig. 9) and a fifth lens element (450 in Fig. 9), wherein the first lens element, the second lens element, the fourth lens element, the third lens element, and the fifth lens element are sequentially configured along the optical axis from the object side to the image side (Fig. 9), the fourth lens element (430 in Fig. 9) has a negative refracting power ([0121]), and the fifth lens element (450 in Fig. 9) has a negative refracting power ([0121]), such that the image capturing lens comprises a total of five lens elements having the refracting power (Fig. 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests all the combination of an image capturing lens as set forth in claims 2-3.
Regarding claims 2-3, none of the prior art discloses or suggests an image capturing lens recited in claim 1, wherein “The image capturing lens further comprising a moving mechanism, configured to move the first lens element, the second lens element, the third lens element, and the first prism along a stretching direction, wherein a plurality of gaps between the first lens element, the second lens element, the third lens element, and the first prism remain unchanged” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871