DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 5 (line 6), the phrase should recite “the protective plate.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN213471505 to Yamaoka et al. in view of US Patent No. 7,155,832 to Warfel et al.
In re claim 1, Yamaoka teaches a chainsaw (Fig. 1), comprising:
a housing (11), provided with at least one air inlet (117) and one air outlet (116);
a cutter (12,13), mounted on the housing and comprising a saw chain (12) and a guiding bar (13) configured to support the saw chain;
a motor (181), arranged in the housing and configured to drive the cutter to work;
a tensioning assembly (14), mounted on the housing, connected with the guiding bar and configured to adjust a tightness of the saw chain; and
an air guiding cover (181), arranged in the housing, and the motor being arranged in the air guiding cover (as shown in at least Figure 5),
wherein, the housing is (capable of being) provided with a mounting groove configured to mount the tensioning assembly, heat dissipation passages are arranged between the air inlet, the air guiding cover and the air outlet to dissipate hot airflow generated by the motor to an outside (Pg. 6, lines 11-21).
In re claim 14, wherein, the housing comprises a first casing (118), a second casing (119) and an upper cover (battery pack, as shown in at least Figures 1-4), the second casing is connected with the first casing and forms an empty cavity (111,115) with the first casing, the motor (181) is arranged in the empty cavity, and the upper cover (battery pack) is fixed on tops of the first casing and the second casing.
In re claim 15, wherein, a plurality of the air outlets (116) is arranged at a bottom of the first casing and arranged linearly (as shown in at least Figure 2).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaoka teaches a housing capable of being provided with a mounting groove, but does not teach an embedded hole is arranged in a side wall of the mounting groove and the tensioning assembly comprises a fixing part, an adjusting part and a transmitting component, the fixing part is fixedly connected with the bottom wall of the mounting groove through a pin, the adjusting part is slidably connected with the fixing part through the transmitting component, the transmitting component is in a transmission connection with the adjusting part, and one end of the transmitting component extends into the embedded hole.
In the event one may argue, Yamaoka does not teach a housing capable of being provided with a mouting groove, Warfel teaches a chainsaw having a housing (22) with a mounting groove (as shown in at least Figure 5, the groove receives the components of the tensioning mechanism 50) to mount components of the tensioning assembly, an embedded hole (see Annotated Figure 1, below) is arranged in a side wall of the mounting groove and the tensioning assembly (50) comprises a fixing part (58, 66), an adjusting part (62) and a transmitting component (68), the fixing part is fixedly connected with the bottom wall of the mounting groove through a pin (56), the adjusting part (62) is slidably connected with the fixing part through the transmitting component, the transmitting component (68) is in a transmission connection with the adjusting part, and one end of the transmitting component (68) extends into the embedded hole.
Note, the fixing part (58,66) is fixedly connected with a bottom wall (as shown in at least Annotated Figure 1, below) through a pin. The pin connects the fixing part within the mounting groove and with a bottom wall.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the housing of Yamaoka with a mounting groove to mount the tensioning assembly comprising the fixing part, an adjusting part, and a transmitting part as taught by Warfel to maintain improved safety of the device, peak performance, and longer component life.
In re claim 2, modified Yamaoka teaches, wherein a first end of the tensioning assembly (50) is fixedly connected with the bottom wall (see Annotated Figure 1) of the mounting groove, and a second end of the tensioning assembly (50) stretches into the embedded hole and is rotatable in the embedded hole.
In claim 8, modified Yamaoka teaches wherein, a plurality of grooves and a plurality of through holes matched with the transmitting component (68) are opened on the fixing part (58,66, as shown in at least Figures 6 and 7, Warfel)
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al. in view of Warfel et al., as applied to the above claims, and in further view of US Patent No. 5,168,837 to Scholz.
In re claim 3, modified Yamaoka teaches wherein, an air inlet, but does not teach a protective part is arranged at a bottom of the air inlet, and the protective part is provided with a strip-shaped protruding rib located at an edge of the heat dissipation passage (Claim 3), wherein, the protective part comprises a protective plate and a connecting plate, and the protective plate and the connecting plate are arranged at an angle; wherein a projection of the air inlet on the protective plate is completely located within the protective plate (Claim 4), wherein, the connecting plate is arranged opposite to the heat dissipation passage, one end of the connecting plate away from the protective plate is fixedly connected with a top of the housing, an edge of the protective plate away from the connecting plate is provided with the protruding rib, and the protruding rib is arranged along an edge of the protective plate and is higher than the protective plate; wherein the protective plate has a J-shaped configuration defined by the connecting plate, the protective plate, and the protruding rib (Claim 5).
Scholz teaches a protective part (see Annotated Figure 2, below) is arranged at a bottom of the air inlet (4), and the protective part is provided with a strip-shaped protruding rib (12, extend in and out of the paper) located at an edge of the heat dissipation passage, wherein, the protective part comprises a protective plate (see Annotated Figure 2, below) and a connecting plate (7), and the protective plate (9) and the connecting plate are arranged at an angle (as shown in at least figure 5); wherein a projection of the air inlet on the protective plate is completely located within the protective plate (as shown in at least Figure 5), wherein, the connecting plate (7) is arranged opposite to the heat dissipation passage (4), one end of the connecting plate away from the protective plate is fixedly connected with a top of the housing (as shown in at least Figure 1), an edge of the protective plate (9) away from the connecting plate is provided with the protruding rib, and the protruding rib is arranged along an edge of the protective plate (9) and is higher than the protective plate (as shown in at least Figure 9, there are a plurality of protective plates arranged “higher” in a vertical direction than the protruding ribs, 12); wherein the protective part has a J-shaped configuration defined by the connecting plate, the protective plate, and protruding rib.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide modified Yamaoka with a protective plate as taught by Scholz to provide a stable connection between the structure of the fan cover and the air conducting wall in the flow direction. The protective plate further aids to stabilize the fan cover against shock, vibrations, and other loads (Col. 3, lines 19-40).
Claim 6, 7, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al. in view of Warfel et al., as applied to the above claims, and in further view of WO 2021254174 to Arnell et al.
In re claim 6, modified Yamaoka teaches wherein, an air guiding opening (Pg. 6, lines 11-21, Yamaoka) is arranged, and the air guiding opening is arranged corresponding to a position and a size of the air outlet (116, Yamaoka).
In re claim 7, wherein, an area of the air guiding opening is equal to an area of the air outlet (116, Pg. 6, lines 11-21, Yamaoka).
Regarding claim 6, modified Yamaoka teaches an air guiding opening to guide the air through the chainsaw, but does not teach an air guiding opening is arranged on the air guiding cover.
Arnell teaches in the art of saws an air guiding cover (116,117,146) having an air guiding opening (147) arranged to corresponding to a position and a size of the air outlet (1121).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide modified Yamaoka with an air guiding cover having an opening as taught by Arnell to maintain proper cooling of the internal components to prevent overheating.
In re claim 11, modified Yamaoka teaches wherein, the air guiding cover (116,117,146) Arnell) comprises a first cover (116,146, Arnell) and a second cover (117, Arnell), the second cover is connected with the first cover, a cavity (113, Arnell) is arranged between the first cover and the second cover, an air guiding tube (see Annotated Figure 3, below) is further connected with one side of the first cover away from the second cover (117, Arnell), the air guiding tube is connected with the motor (21, Arnell), a bottom of the second cover is provided with the air guiding opening (147, Arnell, the air guiding opening is provided on the second cover since it is connected to the first cover), and the air guiding opening is communicated with the cavity (113, Arnell).
In re claim 12, modified Yamaoka teaches, wherein, the air guiding opening (147, Arnell) is (capable of being) arranged opposite to the air outlet (1121, Arnell), and the heat dissipation passages are formed between the air inlet, the cavity, the air guiding opening and the air outlet (Pg. 8, lines 6- 24, Arnell).
In re claim 13, modified Yamaoka teaches, wherein, a blower chamber (143, Arnell) is further (capable of being) formed between the first cover and the second cover, and a blower (813, Arnell) is arranged in the blower chamber (143, Arnell).
Claim 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al. in view of Warfel et al., and in further view of Miyaki
In re claim 9, modified Yamaoka teaches wherein, the fixing part comprises a first fixing part and a second fixing part that is vertically fixedly connected with the first fixing part (as shown in at least Figure 7, at least part 66 has a first and second fixing part), the transmitting component comprises a driving gear (74, Warfel) rotatably connected with the first fixing part (66, Warfel), a driven gear (68, Warfel) rotatably connected with the second fixing part, located below the driving gear, and meshed with the driving gear, and a transmission rod (60), a first end of the transmission rod is coaxially fixed with the driven gear (68, Warfel), and is in a transmission connection with the adjusting part, and a second end of the transmission rod extends into the embedded hole (as shown in at least Figure 5).
In re claim 10, modified Yamaoka teaches wherein, the mounting groove (as shown in at least Figure 5) comprises a first mounting groove and a second mounting groove, the first fixing part and the driving gear (74) are arranged in the first mounting groove (as shown in at least Figure 5), the second fixing part, the adjusting part (60), the driven gear (68) and the transmission rod (60) are arranged in the second mounting groove, the second fixing part (bottom of 66) is fixedly connected with a bottom wall of the second mounting groove through a pin (56), and the embedded hole is (capable of being) opened in a side wall of the second mounting groove close to the saw chain.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, modified Yamaoka teaches a driving gear and a driven gear, but does not teach the gears are helical.
Miyaki teaches a transmitting component having a driving gear (68) and a driven gear (71) which may be helical gears (Para 0045).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the gears of the transmitting components of modified Yamaoka with helical gears as taught by Miyaki which are advantageous for high load capacity, being smooth, and quiet.
Response to Arguments
The Specification and drawing objections in the Office Action mailed January 28, 2026 have been obviated by the amendments filed April 17, 2026.
Applicant's arguments filed April 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the bar adjust pin (54) has a portion (56) that extends in an opening of the guide bar and that the bar pin is operatively connected to the guide bar (18) and not the bottom wall of the mounting groove. Applicant further argues the fixing part (58) of Warfel is a moving part, not a fixing part and the part (58) is connected to the bar adjust screw, not connected to the bottom wall of the mounting groove, and the portion (56) of the bar adjust pin (54) is used for adjusting the guide bar, not the pin for connecting a fixing part to a bottom wall of the mounting groove.
The claim recites “the fixing part being fixedly connected with a bottom wall of the mounting groove through a pin.” Per the claim language, the phrase “the fixing part” is a positive recitation and the phrase “being fixedly connected with a bottom wall of the mounting groove through a pin” is an intended use limitation; however, Warfel clearly teaches and suggests this limitation. Warfel teaches the fixing part is fixedly connected with a bottom wall of the mounting groove. The pin is connected to the guide bar, but the tensioning assembly is disposed in the mounting groove as shown in at least Figure 3. This connection permits the fixing part to be fixedly connected with a bottom wall of the mounting groove. In other words, the fixing part is connected with the bottom wall via the pin. There is nothing in the claim precluding movement of the fixing part. Per Merriam Webster Dictionary, the term fixed is defined as “securely placed.” The pin is securely placed with the bottom wall of the mounting groove. It has been interpreted the pin is fixedly connected with the bottom wall, prior to movement of the guide bar and after movement of the guide bar.
Applicant argues the adjust screw (62) of Warfel is not equivalent to the adjusting part (42) of the instant application and that the adjust screw of Warfel is not slidably connected with the fixing part 58 through the gear 68. Applicant further argues the adjust screw cannot slide with the fixing part through the gear.
The claim recites “the adjusting part” which is a positive limitation and further recies “being slidably connected with the fixing part through the transmitting component” is an intended use limitation. Warfel teaches the limitation in its entirety. Warfel teaches that through rotation of the transmitting component the adjusting part (62) slides relative to the fixing part (54).
There are structural differences between the instant application and the applied prior art. For instance, Page 13, Para [0069] sets forth there is a first fixing part (411) and a second fixing part (412) and the second fixing part (412) is fixedly connected with a bottom wall of the second mounting groove (1612) through the pin (436), which provides an additional structural relationship between the fixing part, the mounting groove, and the pin. Pg. 13, Para [0067] sets forth the transmitting component also includes a helical driving gear with an axis that is perpendicular to the driven helical gear and the transmission rod.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724