CTNF 18/822,506 CTNF 82662 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: IMAGE FORMING APPARATUS, IMAGE FORMING SYSTEM, IMAGE FORMING METHOD, AND NON-TRANSITORY RECORDING MEDIUM COMPRISING SETTING A NUMBER OF TIMES OF PRINTING BASED ON THE COLOR OF THE RECORDING MEDIUM . 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: image forming device, first conveying mechanism and second conveying mechanism, medium detector in claims 1-10. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1 and/or a2) as being anticipated by Tsukamura (US Pub 20200133187) . Re claim 1: Tsukamura discloses an image forming apparatus, comprising: an image forming device (interpretation: The image forming device 30 includes an intermediate transfer belt 35, multiple drum-shaped photoconductors 34K, 34C, 34M, 34Y, and 34S facing the intermediate transfer belt 35, and a transfer unit 32. In the image forming apparatus 100, the image forming device 30 forms a full-color image on a recording medium supplied from the sheet feeding device 10A or 10B and the first conveyance mechanism 20, the first conveyance mechanism 20 conveys the recording medium bearing the full-color image and ejects the recording medium to the sheet ejection device 40, which is taught on page 4. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the office action. ) to form an image on a recording medium (e.g. a printer is used to form images on a sheet, which is taught in ¶ [36].); [0036] The printer 10 forms an image(s) on a sheet P as a recording material on the basis of image data. The printer 10 includes image formers of four regular colors (process colors) 1Y, 1M, 1C, and 1K, an image former of a spot color 1W, an intermediate transfer belt 7, a secondary transfer roller 8, a fixing unit 9, etc. a first conveyance mechanism (interpretation: The first conveyance mechanism 20 is a conveyance mechanism that supplies the recording media 2 held in the sheet feeding devices 10A and 10B to the transfer unit 32. The first conveyance mechanism 20 includes a conveyance mechanism that conveys the recording medium 2 having passed the transfer unit 32 of the image forming device 30. The recording medium 2 having passed the transfer unit 32 is sent to the sheet ejection device 40 or the second conveyance mechanism 50 in a subsequent stage. The first conveyance mechanism 20 includes conveyance roller pairs 22 that convey the recording medium 2. The first conveyance mechanism 20 includes a guide that guides the conveyance of the recording medium 2, which is taught on page 5. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the office action.. ) to convey the recording medium to the image forming device (e.g. the resistance roller (23) is on the image formation path R1 to be conveyed to the transfer nip part of the printer for printing, which is taught in ¶ [50] and [51].); [0050] The sheet P is successively conveyed to run on the image formation path R1. The timing to convey the sheet P to the transfer nip part is adjusted at the position where the upstream edge of the sheet P hits the resistance roller 23. [0051] When the resistance roller 23 starts to rotate in synchronization with the toner image retained by the intermediate transfer belt 7 at the predetermined timing, the sheet P is conveyed to the transfer nip part of the printer 10, and then conveyed to the fixing unit 9. The sheet P which has been undergone the fixation process at the fixing unit 9 is conveyed to the switching gate G. a second conveyance mechanism (interpretation: The second conveyance mechanism 50 is a conveyance mechanism that supplies the recording medium 2 having passed through the image forming device 30 to the image forming device 30 again. The second conveyance mechanism 50 includes a conveyance passage to return the recording medium 2 that is not ejected to the image forming device 30 again. The second conveyance mechanism 50 includes a switchback portion 51, a shortcut portion 52, and a return portion 53. The switchback portion 51 reverses the direction of conveyance of the recording medium 2 to convey the recording medium 2 backward. The reversed recording medium 2 passes through the return portion 53 and is supplied to the transfer unit 32 through the first conveyance mechanism 20. For example, to form an image on the back side 2b after forming another image on the front side 2a, the recording medium 2 is introduced into the switchback portion 51 where the direction of conveyance of the recording medium 2 is reversed and is supplied to the transfer unit 32 through the return portion 53, which is taught on page 6. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the office action .) to convey the recording medium having passed through the image forming device to the image forming device again (e.g. the switching gate G allows for the sheet to be conveyed through the loop path R2 by the reversing roller to be conveyed back to the image formation path R1, which is taught in ¶ [52]-[55].); and [0052] The switching gate G is disposed on the downstream side relative to the fixing unit 9 in the sheet conveyance direction and switches the conveyance destination of the sheet P conveyed on the image formation path R1. Specifically, in a case where the sheet P, after passing through the fixing unit 9, is conveyed to the sheet ejection path R2, the switching gate G guides the sheet P straight. In a case where the sheet P, after passing through the fixing unit 9, is conveyed to the loop path R3 or the overturn path R4, the switching gate G guides the sheet P downward. [0053] The sheet ejection path R2 is a conveyance path for ejection of the sheet P that has undergone the fixing process by the fixing unit 9 to a sheet ejection tray 24 attached on the lateral side of the exterior of the casing. [0054] The loop path R3 is a conveyance path for return of the sheet P that has undergone the fixing process by the fixing unit 9 without changing the surface on which the image is formed (that is, without turning upside down) to the image formation path R1. [0055] The loop path R 3 is branched from the image formation path R 1 on the downstream side relative to the printer 10 in the sheet conveyance path (at the position of the switching gate G) to reach the meeting point 25 disposed halfway on the image formation path R 1 . The sheet P fed on the loop path R 3 passes through the reversing roller 26 disposed halfway on the loop path R 3 and reaches the meeting point 25 . The sheet P is sent to the image formation path R 1 again after reaching the meeting point 25 . circuitry configured to control multiple times of printing operations of the image forming device (e.g. the processor is used to perform printing multiple times based on the printing mode, which is taught in ¶ [22].), [0022] a hardware processor that, when images are formed on both surfaces of the recording material, causes the spot color image and the color image to be transferred and fixed such that the number of times of image transfer and fixation onto a first surface of the recording material is two or more predetermined times, and that the number of times of image transfer and fixation onto a second surface of the recording material is less than the predetermined times. wherein the image forming device performs multiple times of printing on a same side of the recording medium, the multiple times of printing include first printing and second printing, the first printing is printing on the recording medium based on first print data, and the second printing is printing on the recording medium subjected to the first printing based on second print data different from the first print data (e.g. the system discloses multiple printing on the same surface of the sheet. If the system discloses two-pass sheet run mode, the sheet prints on the first side with a spot color or color image and prints on a second pass on the same side with the other color image not performed on the first pass. This is taught in ¶ [80]-[85].). [0080] The controller 11 selects either the first mode or the second mode depending on whether the type of the sheet P and the amount of toner attached on the sheet P satisfy a predetermined condition. In the first mode, the number of times of transfer and fixation onto the identical surface is two or more predetermined times. In the second mode, the number of times of transfer and fixation onto the identical surface is less than the two or more predetermined times. In this embodiment, the “predetermined times” is twice and the “number of times less than the predetermined times” is once, for example. [0081] The predetermined condition is different between one surface and the other when the image is formed on both surfaces of the sheet P. [0082] One of the two surfaces of the sheet P is defined as a surface onto which transfer and fixation is done first (the first surface) and the other surface of the sheet P is defined as a surface onto which transfer and fixation is done later (second surface). [0083] The controller 11 selects the 2-pass sheet run mode (the first mode) in a case where the amount of toner attached is greater than a predetermined value, and selects the 1-pass sheet run mode (the second mode) in a case where the amount of toner attached is equal to or less than a predetermined value. The 2-pass sheet run mode is a method of running a sheet where transfer and fixation is done twice on the identical surface of the sheet P. The 1-pass pass sheet run mode is a method of running a sheet where transfer and fixation is done once on the identical surface of the sheet P. The predetermined value (X1) concerning the one surface (the first surface) is less than the predetermined value (X2) concerning the other surface (the second surface). [0084] The controller 11 selects the 2-pass sheet run mode in a case where the basis weight is greater than a predetermined value even with the amount of toner attached being less than the predetermined value. The predetermined value (Y1) concerning the one surface (the first surface) is less than the predetermined value (Y2) concerning the other surface (the second surface). [0085] When the controller 11 selects the 2-pass sheet run mode (the first mode), the spot color image and the color image are separately transferred and fixed onto the identical surface of the sheet P, and when the controller 11 selects the 1-pass sheet run mode (the second mode), the spot color image and the color image are transferred and fixed onto the identical surface of the sheet P at once. Re claim 2. Tsukamura discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second conveyance mechanism conveys the recording medium subjected to the first printing to the image forming device without reversing a direction of conveyance of the recording medium (e.g. the second conveyance of the medium occurs to the sheet with the first printing operation without reversing the direction of the recording medium for the second pass, which is taught in ¶ [52]-[55] above.). Re claim 5: Tsukamura discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a medium detector to detect a color of the recording medium before printing, wherein the circuitry is configured to: set a color and a density of print data to be printed on the recording medium based on the color of the recording medium detected by the medium detector (e.g. the 2-pass printing is considered a higher basis weight, or density, than 1-pass printing. Based on the color of the sheet, the system performs a 2-pass printing in a certain order, which is taught in ¶ [160]-[162] above, [91] and [198].); and [0091] If the basis weight is equal to or less than Y1 (Step S3; NO), the controller 11 determines whether or not the amount of spot color toner attached is greater than X1 (Step S4). Specifically, the controller 11 calculates the amount of spot color toner attached on the basis of the density of the spot color designated in the job information and the solid density setting predetermined for the image forming apparatus 100 and compares the amount with X1. [0198] The tone of color may be varied between the 2-pass sheet run where the spot color image and the color image are separately formed and the 1-pass sheet run where the spot color image and the color image are formed at once due to color mingling at the time of fixation. Thus, the color varied between the 2-pass sheet run and the 1-pass sheet run may be adjusted with the density of the color image. control an operation of the image forming device to print on the recording medium according to the set color and density of the print data (e.g. the printer is controlled to print on the medium with a 2-pass printing in a specific color order, which is taught in [160]-[162] and [198] above.). Re claim 10: An image forming system, comprising: a first conveyance mechanism to convey a recording medium to an image forming device (e.g. the resistance roller (23) is on the image formation path R1 to be conveyed to the transfer nip part of the printer for printing, which is taught in ¶ [50] and [51] above.); a second conveyance mechanism to convey the recording medium having passed through the image forming device to the image forming device again (e.g. the switching gate G allows for the sheet to be conveyed through the loop path R2 by the reversing roller to be conveyed back to the image formation path R1, which is taught in ¶ [52]-[55].); and circuitry configured to control multiple times of printing operations of the image forming device on a same side of the recording medium (e.g. the processor is used to perform printing multiple times based on the printing mode, which is taught in ¶ [22].), the circuitry being configured to control operations of the first conveyance mechanism, the second conveyance mechanism, and the image forming device to cause the image forming device to perform first printing on the recording medium based on first print data and perform second printing on the recording medium subjected to the first printing based on second print data different from the first print data (e.g. the system discloses multiple printing on the same surface of the sheet. If the system discloses two-pass sheet run mode, the sheet prints on the first side with a spot color or color image and prints on a second pass on the same side with the other color image not performed on the first pass. This is taught in ¶ [80]-[85].). Re claim 11: An image forming method, comprising: first conveying a recording medium to an image forming device (e.g. the resistance roller (23) is on the image formation path R1 to be conveyed to the transfer nip part of the printer for printing, which is taught in ¶ [50] and [51] above.); second conveying the recording medium having passed through the image forming device to the image forming device again (e.g. the switching gate G allows for the sheet to be conveyed through the loop path R2 by the reversing roller to be conveyed back to the image formation path R1, which is taught in ¶ [52]-[55].); and controlling multiple times of printing operations of the image forming device on a same side of the recording medium (e.g. the processor is used to perform printing multiple times based on the printing mode, which is taught in ¶ [22].), the controlling including causing the image forming device to perform first printing on the recording medium based on first print data and perform second printing on the recording medium subjected to the first printing based on second print data different from the first print data (e.g. the system discloses multiple printing on the same surface of the sheet. If the system discloses two-pass sheet run mode, the sheet prints on the first side with a spot color or color image and prints on a second pass on the same side with the other color image not performed on the first pass. This is taught in ¶ [80]-[85].). Re claim 12: Tsukamura discloses a non-transitory recording medium stores a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform the method according to claim 11 (e.g. a computer retable medium can be used to perform the program of the invention, which is taught in ¶ [199].). [0199] In the embodiments disclosed above, a semiconductor memory or an HDD is used as a computer-readable medium storing the programs for executing various kinds of processing, though not limitative. A portable recording/storage medium such as a CD-ROM may be used as an alternative computer-readable medium. Further, as a medium to provide data of the programs via communication network, a carrier wave may be used . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukamura in view of Nakajima (JP Pub 2021-117462) . Re claim 3: Tsukamura discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a medium detector (interpretation: The image forming apparatus 100 further includes the sensor 60 serving as a medium detector that detects the color of the recording medium 2 before printing, which is taught on page 8. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) to detect a color of the recording medium before printing (e.g. an automatic means for detection can be used to detect a colored sheet from a transparent sheet, which is taught in ¶ [160]-[162].), [0160] After Step S43, the controller 11 determines whether or not the sheet P on which the image is formed is a colored sheet or a transparent sheet (Step S44). Specifically, the controller 11 obtains the type of the sheet P included in the job information and determines whether the type of the sheet P obtained is a colored sheet or a transparent sheet. Alternatively, there may be provided a means to automatically assess the type of the sheet P by detection of the type or the transparency of the sheet P. The controller 11 may also obtain the type of the sheet P which is selected by the user via the operation interface 14 and stored in the storage 12. [0161] If the sheet P is a colored sheet (Step S 44 ; colored sheet), the spot color image is transferred and fixed onto the first surface of the sheet P (Step S 45 ), and, after the sheet P is refed on the loop path R 3 , the color image is transferred and fixed onto the first surface (the identical surface) (Step S 46 ), under the control of the controller 11 . [0162] If the sheet P is a transparent sheet at Step S 44 (Step S 44 ; transparent sheet), the color image is transferred and fixed onto the first surface of the sheet P (Step S 47 ), and then the sheet P is refed on the loop path R 3 , the spot color image is transferred and fixed onto the first surface (the identical surface) (Step S 48 ), under the control of the controller 11 . wherein the circuitry is configured to: control operations of the first conveyance mechanism, the second conveyance mechanism, and the image forming device to perform the set number of times of printing on the recording medium (e.g. the system controls the printing operations of the 2-pass printing based on the color of the sheet detected and the order in which to perform the 2-pass printing. This is taught in ¶ [160]-[162] above.). However, Tsukamura fails to specifically teach the features of set a number of times of printing on the recording medium based on the color of the recording medium detected by the medium detector. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Nakajima. Similar to the primary reference, Nakajima discloses multiple print passes (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Nakajima discloses set a number of times of printing on the recording medium based on the color of the recording medium detected by the medium detector (e.g. the number of printing passes is determined based on the color of the sheet detected, which is taught in ¶ [29] and [30].). [0029] The transfer count transfer color determination unit 63 as the transfer count transfer color determination means determines the transfer count and the transfer color based on the print paper color information Cp and the white toner usage range information Rwt input from the print data receiving unit 61. .. [0030] That is, the transfer count transfer color determination unit 63 determines the number of transfers and fixings (hereinafter, referred to as "transfer count") indicating whether to print in the one-time fixing mode or the two-time fixing mode. Here, when the number of transfers is one, the one-time fixing mode is the W layer of a spot color developer such as white (W) and cyan (C), magenta (M), yellow (Y), and black (K). This mode transfers and fixes the CMYK layer of the process color toner at one time. The double fixing mode when the number of transfers is two is a mode in which the W layer and the CMYK layer are transferred and fixed in two steps. Therefore, in view of Nakajima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of set a number of times of printing on the recording medium based on the color of the recording medium detected by the medium detector, incorporated in the device of Tsukamura, in order to determine the number of transfers of toner onto a sheet based onto the sheet color, which aid in determining the appropriate amount of toner to transfer onto a sheet (as stated in Nakajima ¶ [09]). Re claim 9: Tsukamura discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image forming device performs multicolor printing, and the circuitry is configured to control operations of the first conveyance mechanism, the second conveyance mechanism, and the image forming device to print in a single color on the recording medium as the first printing, print in a color other than the single color at a first density as the second printing after the first printing (e.g. the invention discloses printing a first color or spot color at a density and printing in another color that is not used initially as the second printing. This can be based on the color of the sheet, which is taught in ¶ [160]-[162] above.). However, Tsukamura fails to specifically teach the features of print in the color of the second printing at a second density higher than the first density as third printing after the second printing. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Nakajima. Similar to the primary reference, Nakajima discloses multiple print passes (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Nakajima discloses print in the color of the second printing at a second density higher than the first density as third printing after the second printing (e.g. the second printer is used three or mor time as a multi pass printing to be transferred onto a sheet. With multiple time fixing the same color within an enlarged area, the color is at a higher density, which is taught in ¶ [93].). [0093] (Modification example 4) Further, in the above description of the embodiment, the example of the image forming apparatus 1 which is transferred and fixed in two times is described, but the image forming apparatus 1 is transferred and fixed in a plurality of times of three or more times. The present invention can also be applied in some cases. In this case, the second transfer color in the above description of the embodiment is the transfer color to be transferred and fixed at the end of the plurality of transfers, and the last transfer color is a color close to the printing paper color. The image area of the last transferred color is enlarged by a predetermined length ΔLα. Therefore, in view of Nakajima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of print in the color of the second printing at a second density higher than the first density as third printing after the second printing, incorporated in the device of Tsukamura, in order to transfer toner onto a sheet three or more times, which can reduce the impact of misalignments and image streaks (as stated in Nakajima ¶ [88]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukamura in view of Herrmann (US Pub 2024/0253363) . Re claim 4: However, Tsukamura fails to specifically teach the features of the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a printed-side detector to detect a condition of a printed side of the recording medium subjected to the first printing, wherein the circuitry is configured to change a number of times of printing on the recording medium based on the condition of the printed side detected by the printed-side detector. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Herrmann. Similar to the primary reference, Herrmann discloses printing on a side of a sheet multiple times (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Herrmann discloses further comprising a printed-side detector (Interpretation: The image forming apparatus 100 further includes the sensor 60 serving as a medium detector that detects the color of the recording medium 2 before printing, which is taught on page 8. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) to detect a condition of a printed side of the recording medium subjected to the first printing, wherein the circuitry is configured to change a number of times of printing on the recording medium based on the condition of the printed side detected by the printed-side detector (e.g. the system discloses detecting a first side of a sheet printed. It changes the number of printing times from two to one based on the other part of the image to output. Instead of printing several times, the number of times for printing is decreased to a single pass for the other printing material. This is taught in ¶ [28] and [29].). [0028] FIG. 2 depicts a flow diagram for a process 200 that passes media sheets through the print zone twice to print complete ink images on a single side of a media sheet. In the discussion below, a reference to the process 200 performing a function or action refers to the operation of a controller, such as controller 80, to execute stored program instructions to perform the function or action in association with other components in the printer. The process 200 is described as being performed with the printer 10 of FIG. 1 for illustrative purposes. [0029] Prior to process 200 operating the printer 10, the controller determines from the print job parameters require ink images to be printed in two or more passes. For example, some types of inks or media benefit from two pass printing. If a print job is to be printed using a multiple printing pass process, then process 200 begins by detecting the leading edge of a media sheet and its skew using known point sensors or charged coupled devices (block 204). The media sheet is then printed with one or more, but not all, of the color separations for the ink image (block 208). After the partially printed media sheet passes through the dryer, the optical sensor 84 following the print zone in the process direction generates image data of the partially printed sheet and image features are identified using known techniques (block 212). An example of a sheet printed with an ink image consisting of a yellow color separation and a magenta color separation only having identified image features 302 is shown in FIG. 3A. The partially printed sheet is then diverted to the return path 72 and returned to the media transport without inverting the sheet and the non-inverted sheet passes the optical sensor preceding the print zone in the process direction and image data of the partially printed image is generated and analyzed to detect the features previously identified (block 216). FIG. 3B shows the identified image features 302 in the image of FIG. 3A being mapped to the skewed image of FIG. 3B before the sheet passes through the print zone a second time. The differentials in the positions of the identified features in the two scanned images are used to register the remaining color separations of the ink image to the partially printed sheet as it passes through the print zone for the second time (block 220). The sheet is then printed with the remaining color separations (block 224). The resulting composite image that includes the cyan and black color separations is shown in FIG. 4. The sheet can then be imaged for image quality issues after it passes through the dryer or sent to the receptacle for later collection. The process determines if another two pass image is to be printed (block 228) and the process is repeated if there is another image. Otherwise, the process terminates. Thus, both optical sensors 84 are operated to perform multi-pass printing of color separations. The optical sensor 84 that follows the print zone in the process direction cannot be used alone for multi-pass printing since the transportation of the partially printed sheet through the return path and its merger onto the media transport 42 disturbs the orientation of the partially printed sheet sufficiently that registration of the remaining color separations to be printed with the partially printed color separations cannot be accurately obtained without the image data generated by the optical sensor 84 that precedes the print zone in the process direction. Therefore, in view of Herrmann, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of further comprising a printed-side detector to detect a condition of a printed side of the recording medium subjected to the first printing, wherein the circuitry is configured to change a number of times of printing on the recording medium based on the condition of the printed side detected by the printed-side detector, incorporated in the device of Tsukamura, in order to have a sensor to detect a condition of a sheet, which can allow for monitoring the features of the image to improve the multiple pass printing process (as stated in Herrmann ¶ [16] and [29]). Re claim 6: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising to detect a condition of a printed side of the recording medium subjected to the first printing (e.g. the system discloses first printing an initial color and determining that this initial color is printed before switching to another color to print on the same side of the sheet, which is taught in ¶ [160]-[162] above), wherein the circuitry is configured to change a color and a density of print data to be printed on the recording medium based on the condition of the printed side detected (e.g. a color and density is changed based on the system determining that a first color is printed and to re-feed the sheet to print the second color, which is taught in ¶ [160]-[162] above.). However, Tsukamura fails to specifically teach the features of a printed-side detector to detect a condition of a printed side, the condition of the printed side detected by the printed side detector. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Herrmann. Similar to the primary reference, Herrmann discloses printing on a side of a sheet multiple times (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Herrmann discloses a printed-side detector to detect a condition of a printed side, the condition of the printed side detected by the printed side detector (e.g. the invention discloses a sensor that is able to detect a sensor that detects a first image being formed. After the forming of the first image is detected, the system feeds the sheet for the 2-pass image to be formed, which is taught in ¶ [28] and [29]. Incorporating the sensor to detect a first image being passed in order to form a second image in the primary reference, would perform the feature of the claims.). [0028] FIG. 2 depicts a flow diagram for a process 200 that passes media sheets through the print zone twice to print complete ink images on a single side of a media sheet. In the discussion below, a reference to the process 200 performing a function or action refers to the operation of a controller, such as controller 80, to execute stored program instructions to perform the function or action in association with other components in the printer. The process 200 is described as being performed with the printer 10 of FIG. 1 for illustrative purposes. [0029] Prior to process 200 operating the printer 10, the controller determines from the print job parameters require ink images to be printed in two or more passes. For example, some types of inks or media benefit from two pass printing. If a print job is to be printed using a multiple printing pass process, then process 200 begins by detecting the leading edge of a media sheet and its skew using known point sensors or charged coupled devices (block 204). The media sheet is then printed with one or more, but not all, of the color separations for the ink image (block 208). After the partially printed media sheet passes through the dryer, the optical sensor 84 following the print zone in the process direction generates image data of the partially printed sheet and image features are identified using known techniques (block 212). An example of a sheet printed with an ink image consisting of a yellow color separation and a magenta color separation only having identified image features 302 is shown in FIG. 3A. The partially printed sheet is then diverted to the return path 72 and returned to the media transport without inverting the sheet and the non-inverted sheet passes the optical sensor preceding the print zone in the process direction and image data of the partially printed image is generated and analyzed to detect the features previously identified (block 216). FIG. 3B shows the identified image features 302 in the image of FIG. 3A being mapped to the skewed image of FIG. 3B before the sheet passes through the print zone a second time. The differentials in the positions of the identified features in the two scanned images are used to register the remaining color separations of the ink image to the partially printed sheet as it passes through the print zone for the second time (block 220). The sheet is then printed with the remaining color separations (block 224). The resulting composite image that includes the cyan and black color separations is shown in FIG. 4. The sheet can then be imaged for image quality issues after it passes through the dryer or sent to the receptacle for later collection. The process determines if another two pass image is to be printed (block 228) and the process is repeated if there is another image. Otherwise, the process terminates. Thus, both optical sensors 84 are operated to perform multi-pass printing of color separations. The optical sensor 84 that follows the print zone in the process direction cannot be used alone for multi-pass printing since the transportation of the partially printed sheet through the return path and its merger onto the media transport 42 disturbs the orientation of the partially printed sheet sufficiently that registration of the remaining color separations to be printed with the partially printed color separations cannot be accurately obtained without the image data generated by the optical sensor 84 that precedes the print zone in the process direction. Therefore, in view of Herrmann, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of a printed-side detector to detect a condition of a printed side, the condition of the printed side detected by the printed side detector, incorporated in the device of Tsukamura, in order to have a sensor to detect a condition of a sheet, which can allow for monitoring the features of the image to improve the multiple pass printing process (as stated in Herrmann ¶ [16] and [29]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukamura in view of Shiokawa (US Pub 20190018352) . Re claim 7: Tsukamura discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a fixing device (e.g. a fixing unit, which is taught in ¶ [36] above.), wherein the image forming device forms a toner image on the recording medium in each of the first printing and the second printing, and the fixing device heats the recording medium bearing the toner image formed by the image forming device to fix the toner image on the recording medium (e.g. the fixing unit is able to fix a spot color and color image onto a sheet by using heat on a sheet for the image, which is taught in ¶ [44].). [0044] The fixing unit 9 heats and presses the toner image transferred onto the sheet P to fix the toner image onto the sheet P. That is, the fixing unit 9 fixes the color image and the spot color image transferred by the secondary transfer roller 8 onto the recording material. However, Tsukamura fails to specifically teach the features of wherein the circuitry is configured to: cause the fixing device to heat a recording medium without toner; and cause the image forming device to form the toner image on the recording medium heated by the fixing device. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Shiokawa. Similar to the primary reference, Shiokawa discloses heating a sheet (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Shiokawa discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to: cause the fixing device to heat a recording medium without toner; and cause the image forming device to form the toner image on the recording medium heated by the fixing device (e.g. the invention discloses the preheating of a sheet and forming an image on the sheet that is preheated to fix the image onto the sheet, which is taught in ¶ [61] and [64].). [0061] The preheating control is a process to increase the temperature of the paper P before image forming by making the paper P pass through the fixing device 50 , and performs, once or multiple times, operation for conveying the paper P along the circulation path 24 , thereby not reversing the paper P, to make the paper P meet the image forming path 22 again without being reversed. [0064] Hence, the image forming apparatus 100 of this embodiment heats the paper P in advance by the preheating control before image forming on the paper P, thereby suppressing decrease in the temperature of the fixing device 50, and accordingly can ensure fixing properties and prevent gloss unevenness or the like. Therefore, in view of Shiokawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the circuitry is configured to: cause the fixing device to heat a recording medium without toner; and cause the image forming device to form the toner image on the recording medium heated by the fixing device, incorporated in the device of Tsukamura, in order to preheat a sheet before fixing an image onto a sheet, which ensures fixing properties and prevents gloss unevenness (as stated in Shiokawa ¶ [64]). Re claim 8: However, Tsukamura fails to specifically teach the features of the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second conveyance mechanism includes a standby mechanism to temporarily stop the recording medium subjected to the first printing and cause the recording medium to stand by, and the circuitry is configured to cause the image forming device to perform the second printing on the recording medium conveyed to the image forming device after controlling an operation of the standby mechanism to stop the recording medium subjected to the first printing. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Shiokawa. Similar to the primary reference, Shiokawa discloses heating a sheet (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Shiokawa discloses wherein the second conveyance mechanism includes a standby mechanism to temporarily stop the recording medium subjected to the first printing and cause the recording medium to stand by, and the circuitry is configured to cause the image forming device to perform the second printing on the recording medium conveyed to the image forming device after controlling an operation of the standby mechanism to stop the recording medium subjected to the first printing (e.g. the invention discloses halting a sheet before the sheet is input into the fixing device. The halting of the sheet can occur to a sheet that has undergone first printing and restarting of the roller can occur to print the second printing. This is taught in ¶ [40] and [41].). [0040] When the top of the paper P conveyed by the loop roller pair 224 and so forth approaches the registration roller pair 225, the paper P abuts the registration roller pair 225 that is in a rotation-suspended state, and a loop (warp) is formed on the paper P by the loop roller pair 224 still rotating for a predetermined period of time. By action of this loop forming, a skew of the top of the paper P is corrected. [0041] When the registration roller pair 225 restarts rotating at a predetermined timing such that the position of the paper P can be proper for the toner image held by the intermediate transfer belt 6, the intermediate conveying roller pairs 221 to 223 and the loop roller pair 224 switch from the press-and-contact state to the separate state. That is, when the loop roller pair 224 switches to the separate state, the paper P is conveyed by the registration roller pair 225 only. The registration roller pair 225 conveys the paper P to the transfer nip part constituted of the intermediate transfer belt 6 as an image holder and the secondary transfer roller pair 9 as a transfer unit. Therefore, in view of Shiokawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the second conveyance mechanism includes a standby mechanism to temporarily stop the recording medium subjected to the first printing and cause the recording medium to stand by, and the circuitry is configured to cause the image forming device to perform the second printing on the recording medium conveyed to the image forming device after controlling an operation of the standby mechanism to stop the recording medium subjected to the first printing, incorporated in the device of Tsukamura, in order to halt a sheet conveyed before printing an image, which can correct a skew of a sheet (as stated in Shiokawa ¶ [40]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Itagaki discloses a sensor used to sense a printed sheet. . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHAD S DICKERSON whose telephone number is (571)270-1351. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM EST.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abderrahim Merouan can be reached at 571-270-5254 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 6 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 10 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 11 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 12 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 13 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 14 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 15 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 16 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 17 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 18 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 19 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/822,506 Page 20 Art Unit: 2683