Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of third opening grooves” of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the “plurality of third opening grooves” of claim 10 are not discussed in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first opening grooves" in the final limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, claim 1 does not recite the limitation "the first opening grooves".
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the grinding wheel… unlocks the fixing pins, separates… rotates and moves… and locks…”. It is unclear how the grinding wheel performs any of these functions as there is no structure linking the claimed capabilities to the grinding wheel performing them and thus it is indefinite. Examiner notes that although it is claimed the grinding wheel performs the functions via the replacement equipment, the link between structure and function is still unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagami (US 20230158640).
Regarding claim 1, Nagami discloses a semiconductor wafer polishing apparatus comprising:
a grinding wheel including a plurality of grinding tip units, wherein the grinding tip units are stacked in a recessed inner area of the grinding wheel (grinding wheel 2 includes a plurality of grinding tip units defined as first grindstones 8 and second grindstones 10 of each grindstone set 6 and base 4 which the grindstones are connected to, the sets 6 are circumferentially stacked in a recessed inner area of the grinding wheel, defined as the recess of 4b, as shown in Figs 1B and 1C below, [0028][0030] Figs 1A-2 shown below); and
a chuck table disposed below the grinding wheel and having a semiconductor wafer that is loaded on its top surface (chuck table 14 disposed below the grinding wheel 2 and is configured to hold a semiconductor wafer on its top surface 14a, [0039][0040] Fig 2),
wherein the grinding wheel sequentially uses the plurality of grinding tip units, starting from a lowermost grinding tip unit disposed adjacent to a bottom surface of the grinding wheel (the grinding wheel 2 is capable of using the tip units sequentially starting from a lowermost grinding tip unit disposed adjacent to a bottom surface, defined as annular base 4, of the wheel; the lowermost grinding tip unit defined as the closest tip unit relative to the workpiece when grinding begins, note that because the grinding tip units are at relatively the same height any of them could be the lowermost tip unit [0030], and then followed by the successive tip units depending on the rotational direction of the grinding wheel [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Nagami discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses a top surface of the grinding wheel and each of the plurality of grinding tip units includes a plurality of first opening grooves at corresponding positions (as shown in the figures above, a top surface of the grinding wheel, 28, and each of the grinding tip units, which each include and are connected to base 4, include a plurality of first opening grooves at corresponding positions; defined as the holes in 28 in which the bolts 30 reside [0046], and defined as 4c in base 4 of the grinding tip units [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Nagami discloses the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and further discloses the plurality of grinding tip units are fixed to the grinding wheel via fixing pins, which are disposed in the first opening grooves (fixing pins defined as bolts 30 which fix the grinding tips to the grinding wheel via holes 4c in base 4 [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Nagami discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the grinding wheel further includes second opening grooves, into which body fixing screws for fixing the grinding wheel to a fixing body of the semiconductor wafer polishing apparatus (second opening grooves defined as the top 3 holes 4c and the corresponding holes in 28 as shown in annotated Fig 1A below and Fig 2, body fixing screws defined as bolts 30 which fix the grinding wheel to a fixing body of the apparatus defined as spindle 26 [0046]), and
the first opening grooves and the second opening grooves are disposed at different locations from one another on a top surface of the grinding wheel (first opening grooves defined the bottom 3 holes 4c and the corresponding holes in 28 as shown in annotated Fig 1A below and Fig 2, which are disposed at different locations from the second opening grooves on a top surface of the grinding wheel).
Regarding claim 7, Nagami discloses a grinding wheel mounted in a semiconductor wafer polishing apparatus (grinding wheel defined as wheel 2 and mount 28 [0029]), comprising:
an annular-shaped first grinding tip unit including a plurality of first opening grooves and a plurality of grinding tips, which protrude from a bottom surface of the first grinding tip unit (grinding wheel 2 includes an annular-shaped first grinding tip unit defined as first opening grooves defined as the bottom 3 holes 4c as shown in annotated Fig 1A above and base 4 in combination with first grindstones 8, defined as grinding tips, which protrude from the bottom surface of 4 as shown above); and
an annular-shaped second grinding tip unit including a plurality of second opening grooves at positions corresponding to the first opening grooves and a plurality of grinding tips, which protrude from a bottom surface of the second grinding tip unit (grinding wheel 2 includes an annular-shaped second grinding tip unit defined as second opening grooves, defined as the top 3 holes 4c as shown in annotated Fig 1A above which radially correspond to the first opening grooves, and base 4 in combination with second grindstones 10 which protrude from the bottom surface of 4 as shown above),
wherein the first and second grinding tip units are stacked in a lower recess of the grinding wheel (the first and second units are stacked circumferentially in a lower recess of the grinding wheel, the recess defined as the recess of 4b where the grindstones reside, as shown in Fig 1B [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Nagami discloses the limitations of claim 7, as described above, and further discloses a plurality of third opening grooves, which are disposed on a top surface of the grinding wheel at positions corresponding to the first opening grooves and the second opening grooves (third opening grooves defined as the holes in the upper surface of mount 28 which are disposed on a top surface of the grinding wheel, as defined above, at positions corresponding to both the first and second opening grooves as the bolts 30 go through 28 into holes 4c [0029] [0046] Fig 2), and
the grinding wheel includes a plurality of fixing pins, which penetrate the first opening grooves, the second opening grooves, and the third opening grooves (fixing pins defined as bolts 30 which penetrate the first, second and third opening grooves as shown in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 11, Nagami discloses the limitations of claim 10, as described above, and further discloses each of the fixing pins includes a head member, which has a diameter larger than that of the first opening grooves and the second opening grooves (head member defined as the visible head portion of 30 as shown in Fig 2 above, which has a diameter larger than that of the grooves),
a pillar member, which is disposed in first, second, and third opening grooves (pillar member defined as the shaft of the bolt which would have a length disposed in the first, second and third opening grooves as defined above because the bolts 30 go through 28 and 4c), and
a locking protrusion member, which rotates on a bottom surface of the first grinding tip unit and thereby locks the first and second grinding tip units to be fixed to the grinding wheel (locking protrusion member defined as the threads of bolts 30 which rotate on a bottom surface, defined as the underside of the lower threads of the first opening grooves, of the first grinding tip unit and thereby would be capable of locking the tip units to be fixed to the grinding wheel).
Regarding claim 12, Nagami discloses the limitations of claim 11, as described above, and further discloses each of the first opening grooves and second opening grooves includes:
a main circumferential area, which has an opening diameter corresponding to a diameter of the pillar member of a corresponding fixing pin (main circumferential area defined as the top opening circumference of 4c, top defined as facing mount 28 or on side 4a, which has an opening diameter corresponding to the diameter of the pillar member of a corresponding fixing pin);
a first sub-area, which has a shape corresponding to the locking protrusion member of the corresponding fixing pin and is opened toward an opening direction of the main circumferential area to be penetrated by the locking protrusion member of the corresponding fixing pin (first sub area defined as the top surface of the threads of holes 4c, top defined as facing mount 28 or on side 4a, the first sub area having a shape corresponding to the locking protrusion member, the threads, of 30 and is opened toward an opening direction of the main circumferential area, defined as where main circumferential area opens towards mount 28, to be penetrated by the locking protrusion member of the corresponding 30 [0029]); and
a second sub-area, which has a shape corresponding to the locking protrusion member of the corresponding fixing pin and is not opened toward the opening direction of the main circumferential area (second sub area defined as the bottom surface of the threads of holes 4c, bottom defined as facing away from mount 28 or side 4a, which have a shape corresponding to the locking protrusion member of 30 and is not opened toward an opening direction of the main circumferential area because the bottom of the threads are facing, or opening, in the opposite direction).
Regarding claim 13, Nagami discloses the limitations of claim 10, as described above, and further discloses the first grinding tip unit is capable of being separated from the grinding wheel by detaching the fixing pins via replacement equipment (examiner indicates the recitation of removal via replacement equipment is intended use and the replacement equipment is not a positively recited claim element, the wheel is capable of being separated from the grinding tip unit by detaching the fixing pins), and
the second grinding tip unit, mounted in the lower recess, is moved to and placed on a bottom surface of the grinding wheel via the replacement equipment (as above, this recitation is intended use and the device is capable of performing these steps).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 8, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagami (US 20230158640) in view of Gokita (JP 2014161948).
Regarding claim 2, Nagami discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. However, Nagami fails to disclose each of the plurality of grinding tip units includes first threads, which are formed on an outer circumferential surface of a corresponding grinding tip unit.
Gokita is also concerned with grinding wheel polishing apparatus and teaches a grinding tip unit including a thread formed on an outer circumferential surface of the grinding tip unit (grinding tip unit defined as 70 which includes thread 70c, which is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the unit as seen in Figs 2-3 below, [0031]-[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the bolt attachment means of Nagami with the thread attachment means of Gokita to produce the predictable result of a grinding unit in a fixed attachment arrangement.
Regarding claim 3, Nagami, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above. However, Nagami modified fails to disclose the grinding wheel includes second threads, which are formed on an inner circumferential surface of a recessed inner area of the grinding wheel, and
the first threads of each of the plurality of grinding tip units are inserted into a lower recess of the grinding wheel by engaging with and rotating along the second threads.
Gokita teaches the grinding wheel includes second threads, which are formed on an inner circumferential surface of a recessed inner area of the grinding wheel (grinding wheel defined as mount 23 which includes second threads 23c formed on an inner circumferential surface of a recessed inner area of 23 as seen above in Figs 2-3, [0030]), and
the first threads of the grinding tip unit is inserted into a lower recess of the grinding wheel by engaging with and rotating along the second threads ([0031] describes inserting the first threads of the grinding tip unit 70 into the grinding wheel 23 by engaging with and rotating along the second threads).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the bolt attachment means of Nagami with the thread attachment means of Gokita to produce the predictable result of a grinding unit in a fixed attachment arrangement. The first threads of each of Nagami’s grinding tip units would be the same and thus the first threads of each of the plurality of grinding tip units are inserted and engage with and rotate along the second threads as described above.
Regarding claim 8, Nagami discloses the limitations of claim 7, as described above. However, Nagami fails to disclose each of the first and second grinding tip units includes first threads, which are formed on an outer circumferential surface of a corresponding grinding tip unit.
Gokita teaches a grinding tip unit including a thread formed on an outer circumferential surface of the grinding tip unit (grinding tip unit defined as 70 which includes thread 70c, which is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the unit as seen in Figs 2-3 below, [0031]-[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the bolt attachment means of Nagami with the thread attachment means of Gokita to produce the predictable result of a grinding unit in a fixed attachment arrangement. Nagami’s first and second grinding tip units would each share the same first threads as described above.
Regarding claim 9, Nagami, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above. However, Nagami modified fails to disclose second threads, which are formed on an inner circumferential surface of the lower recess and engage with the first threads.
Gokita teaches second threads, which are formed on an inner circumferential surface of the lower recess and engage with the first threads (second threads 23c formed on an inner circumferential surface of reinterpreted lower recess 23b and engage with first threads 70c as seen above in Figs 2-3, [0030][0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the bolt attachment means of Nagami with the thread attachment means of Gokita to produce the predictable result of a grinding unit in a fixed attachment arrangement. The reinterpreted lower recess 23b would also still meet the limitation of claim 7 because the first and second grinding tip units would still be stacked (circumferentially as described above) and still be inside of the lower recess, now 23b.
Regarding claim 14, Nagami discloses a semiconductor wafer polishing apparatus comprising:
a grinding wheel including a plurality of grinding tip units disposed in a lower recess of the grinding wheel (grinding wheel 2 includes a plurality of grinding tip units defined as first grindstones 8 and second grindstones 10 of each grindstone set 6 and base 4 which the grindstones are connected to, the grindstone sets of the tip units disposed in a lower recess of the grinding wheel defined as the recess of 4b, as shown above in Fig 1C [0028][0030]); and
a chuck table disposed below the grinding wheel and having a semiconductor wafer loaded on its top surface (chuck table 14 disposed below the grinding wheel 2 and is configured to hold a semiconductor wafer on its top surface 14a, [0039][0040] Fig 2),
wherein each of the plurality of grinding tip units includes a plurality of grinding tips disposed on its bottom surface, which polish the semiconductor wafer (grinding tips defined as first grindstones 8 and second grindstones 10).
However, Nagami fails to disclose each of the plurality of grinding tip units includes first threads on its outer circumferential surface.
Gokita teaches a grinding tip unit including a thread formed on an outer circumferential surface of the grinding tip unit (grinding tip unit defined as 70 which includes thread 70c, which is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the unit as seen in Figs 2-3 below, [0031]-[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the thread attachment means of Gokita to the bolt attachment means of Nagami in order to provide the grinding wheel with redundant means of fastening the tip units to the rest of the assembly.
Regarding claim 15, Nagami, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 14, as described above. However, Nagami fails to disclose the lower recess of the grinding wheel is shaped to be recessed upwardly from a bottom surface of the grinding wheel and includes second threads, which correspond to the first threads of each of the plurality of grinding tip units, on its inner circumferential surface.
Gokita teaches a lower recess of the grinding wheel is shaped to be recessed upwardly from a bottom surface of the grinding wheel and includes second threads which correspond to the first threads of a grinding tip unit, on its inner circumferential side (lower recess defined as recess 23b which is shaped to be recessed upwardly from a bottom surface of the grinding wheel, defined as the bottom of the base 70a, (recessed upwardly defined as recessed and the recess extending in a relatively upwards direction) and includes second threads defined as 23c which correspond to first threads of a grinding tip unit, first threads defined as 70c, the threads 23c disposed on its inner circumferential side as shown in Fig 3 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the thread attachment means of Gokita to the bolt attachment means of Nagami in order to provide the grinding wheel with redundant means of fastening the tip units to the rest of the assembly. With the lower recess of Nagami now mapped to 23b of Gokita, the plurality of grinding tip units are still disposed in a lower recess of the grinding wheel because the grinding tip units would contain geometry, specifically 70b of the base portion, disposed in the lower recess as defined above.
Regarding claim 16, Nagami, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 14, as described above, and further discloses a plurality of first opening grooves are disposed in the grinding wheel and each of the plurality of grinding tip units at corresponding positions, and a plurality of fixing pins penetrate the first opening grooves (first opening grooves defined as the bottom 3 holes 4c as shown in annotated Fig 1A above and the corresponding holes in mount 28 in which fixing pins 30 penetrate both the first opening grooves in 28 and 4 Figs 1A and 2).
Regarding claim 17, Nagami, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and further discloses the grinding wheel, via replacement equipment, unlocks the fixing pins, separates a lowermost grinding tip unit among the plurality of grinding tip units mounted in the grinding wheel , rotates and moves an upper grinding tip unit mounted above the lowermost grinding tip unit, in the grinding wheel, to a bottom surface of the grinding wheel, and locks the fixing pins once the upper grinding tip unit is moved to the bottom surface of the grinding wheel (examiner indicates the recitation of removal via replacement equipment is intended use and the replacement equipment is not a positively recited claim element, and the grinding wheel would be capable of the fixing pins 30 being unlocked, a lowermost grinding tip unit being separated, defined as either of the units as they are at substantially the same height, among the plurality of grinding tip units mounted in the grinding wheel (which as mapped would also remove the other grinding tip units), an upper grinding tip unit being rotated and moved (the grinding tip unit not considered to be the lowermost) and then mounted above the lowermost unit in the grinding wheel (either of the units have geometry located above geometry of the other and therefore have geometry mounted above geometry of the other and are fixed to the base 4 which is defined as both part of the grinding wheel and grinding tip unit) back to the lower surface of the grinding wheel and the fixing pins 30 being reattached to lock it in).
Regarding claim 18, Nagami, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and further discloses the grinding wheel further includes second opening grooves disposed on its top surface, which are for fixing the grinding wheel to a fixing body that is connected to a motor (second opening grooves defined as the holes in mount 28 above the corresponding top 3 holes 4c as shown in annotated Fig 1A above, which are capable of fixing the grinding wheel to a fixing body, defined as spindle 26 which is connected to a driving source such as a motor [0045]), and
the first opening grooves and the second opening grooves are disposed at different locations from one another on the top surface of the grinding wheel (the first and second opening grooves, as defined above, are disposed at different locations from one another on the top surface, 28, of the grinding wheel).
Regarding claim 19, Nagami, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and further discloses each of the fixing pins includes
a head member, which has a diameter larger than that of the first opening grooves (head member defined as the visible head portion of 30 as shown in Fig 2 above, which has a diameter larger than that of the grooves),
a pillar member, which penetrates a corresponding first opening groove (pillar member defined as the shaft of the bolt which would have a length penetrating the first opening grooves as defined above because the bolts 30 go through 28 and 4c), and
a locking protrusion member, which rotates on a bottom surface of a lowermost grinding tip unit among the plurality of grinding tip units and thereby locks the plurality of grinding tip units to be fixed to the grinding wheel (locking protrusion member defined as the threads of bolts 30 which rotate on a bottom surface, defined as the underside of the lower threads of the first opening grooves, of the lowermost grinding tip unit and thereby would be capable of locking the tip units to be fixed to the grinding wheel).
Regarding claim 20, Nagami, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 19, as described above, and further discloses each of the first opening grooves includes
a main circumferential area, which has an opening diameter corresponding to a diameter of the pillar member of a corresponding fixing pin (main circumferential area defined as the top opening circumference of 4c, top defined as facing mount 28 or on side 4a, which has an opening diameter corresponding to the diameter of the pillar member of a corresponding fixing pin),
a first sub-area, which has a shape corresponding to the locking protrusion member of the corresponding fixing pin and is opened toward an opening direction of the main circumferential area to be penetrated by the locking protrusion member of the corresponding fixing pin (first sub area defined as the top surface of the threads of holes 4c, top defined as facing mount 28 or on side 4a, the first sub area having a shape corresponding to the locking protrusion member, the threads, of 30 and is opened toward an opening direction of the main circumferential area, defined as where main circumferential area opens towards mount 28, to be penetrated by the locking protrusion member of the corresponding 30 [0029]), and
a second sub-area, which has a shape corresponding to the locking protrusion member of the corresponding fixing pin and is not opened toward the opening direction of the main circumferential area (second sub area defined as the bottom surface of the threads of holes 4c, bottom defined as facing away from mount 28 or side 4a, which have a shape corresponding to the locking protrusion member of 30 and is not opened toward an opening direction of the main circumferential area because the bottom of the threads are facing, or opening, in the opposite direction).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kimoto (US 20130331015) discloses a configuration of a grinding wheel involving fixing pins and several layers of material with holes that correspond to the fixing pins.
/J.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723