DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment to claims filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5, 7 and 11 are amended. Claims 6 and 10 are canceled. Currently, claims 1-5, 7-9 and 11 are pending in the application with claims 8-9 being withdrawn from consideration.
Previous claim objection is withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
Previous 112 rejections are withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
Previous 102 rejections are withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
Claims 1-5, 7 and 11 are rejected on a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (Mobile Media Promotes Orientation of 2D/3D Hybrid Lead Halide Perovskite for Efficient Solar Cells”) as evidenced by Zubair et al. (“Improvement of solution based conjugate polymer organic light emitting diode by ZnO-graphene quantum dots”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell (see [0103-0106]) comprising:
a conductive substrate (see ITO/Glass in fig. 5c or ITO substrate in “Experimental Section”),
a core functional layer comprising a perovskite light absorption layer (see PEDOT:PSS/Perovskite/PCBM/BCP in fig. 5c and “Experimental Section”), and
a top electrode (see Ag electrode in fig. 5c or silver electrode described in “Experimental Section”);
wherein the perovskite light-absorption layer of PEA2MA9Pb10I31, NEA2MA9Pb10I31 (see fig. 6) in the core functional layer is a 3D/2D mixed perovskite film with larger conjugated molecules.
PEA2MA9Pb10I31 includes a 2D perovskite material PEA2PbI4 and nine (9) 3D perovskite material MAPbI3 (or 9 MAPbI3 or MA9Pb9I27), wherein the 2D perovskite material having a structure of PEA2PbI4 which contains organic spacer cation with larger conjugated molecular bonds, e.g. PEA.
Similarly, NEA2MA9Pb10I31 includes a 2D perovskite material NEA2PbI4 and nine (9) 3D perovskite material MAPbI3 (or 9 MAPbI3 or MA9Pb9I27), wherein the 2D perovskite material having a structure of NEA2PbI4 which contains organic spacer cation with larger conjugated molecular bonds, e.g. NEA.
Zhou et al. shows the 2D perovskite (or the perovskite with TBA, e.g. PEA or NEA) is evenly distributed on a surface and a grain boundary of the 3D perovskite material (or the Pb-I octahedral with MA) in the figs in abstract, figs. 1 and 3-4.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Zhou et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell as in claim 1 above, and teaches the core functional layer is an inverted arrangement structure of a hole transport layer (PEDOT-PSS), a perovskite light absorption layer (perovskite), and an electron transport layer (C60) from bottom to top.
Regarding claim 3, Zhou et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell as in claim 2 above, wherein Zhu et al. disclose a choice of arrangement order of the core functional layer (or inverted structure). The reference is deemed to be anticipatory for the instant claim since the instant claim recites the other choice of arrangement order. Moreover, the arrangement order of the core functional layer in the instant claim can be achieved by flipping the solar cell of Zhu et al.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell as in claim 1 above, and teaches the electron transport layer is of C60 and the hole transport layer of PEDOT:PSS (see fig. 5c and Experimental Section). C60 has valence band between -3.9eV and -8.0eV, particularly in view of Applicant’s disclosure (see paragraph [0012-0013] of Applicant’s specification). PEDOT:PSS has a conduction band of -5.1 eV (see fig. 7 of evidentiary reference to Zubair et al.). -5.1eV is right within the claimed range of between -4.0eV and -6.0 eV.
Regarding claims 7 and 11, Zhou et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell as in claims 3 and 4, and teaches the 3D perovskite material to be MAPbI3 (see claim 1 above). MAPbI3 has formula ABX3 with A is MA, B is Pb, and X is I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 2020/0090876)
Regarding claim 1, Zhu et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell (see [0103-0106]) comprising:
a conductive substrate (see ITO substrate, [0106]),
a core functional layer comprising a perovskite light absorption layer (see PTAA/perovskite/C60), and
a top electrode (see Ag electrode or ZTO layer, [0106]);
wherein the perovskite light-absorption layer (or the perovskite) in the core functional layer is a 3D/2D mixed perovskite film with larger conjugated molecules (PEA – see 2D/3D mixed perovskite in [0104]) such that the 2D perovskite material contains organic spacer cation (PEA).
Zhu et al. discloses mixing 2D-3D material precursors (see [0104]), and the 2D material (230) is evenly distributed on a surface and a grain boundary (250) of the 3D perovskite material (240, see fig. 2B, and also see fig. 14A).
Zhu et al. teaches the second portion (or the 2D perovskite material) of the perovskite (or the 3D/2D mixed perovskite) comprising A”2B(X1-eX”e) with 0≤e ≤ 1 with A” to be a monovalent cation, B is a divalent cation, and each of X and X” is monovalent anions (see example 1 or [0120]); and using PEA as the monovalent cation, Pb as the divalent cation, and I as the monovalent anions in forming the perovskite solar cell ([0103-0106]). As such, Zhu et al. taches the 2D perovskite material contains organic spacer cation with larger conjugated molecular bonds, e.g. PEA, and having a structure of PEA2PbI4. Therefore, the reference is deemed to be anticipatory.
Alternatively, Zhu et al. discloses forming the 2D perovskite material having a structure A”2B(X1-eX”e) with 0≤e ≤ 1 by using PEA, I, and Pb, but does not explicitly disclose the 2D perovskite material to have structure of PEA2PbI4. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the PEA2PbI4 as the 2D perovskite material, because Zhu et al. explicitly teaches forming the 2D perovskite material structure A”2B(X1-eX”e) with 0≤e ≤ 1 using A” of PEA, B of Pb, and X of I and e=0.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Zhu et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell as in claim 1 above, and teaches the core functional layer is a inverted arrangement structure of a hole transport layer (PTAA), a perovskite light absorption layer (perovskite), and an electron transport layer (C60).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell as in claim 2 above, wherein Zhu et al. disclose a choice of arrangement order of the core functional layer (or inverted structure). The reference is deemed to be anticipatory for the instant claim since the instant claim recites the other choice of arrangement order. Moreover, the arrangement order of the core functional layer in the instant claim can be achieved by flipping the solar cell of Zhu et al.
Regarding claim 5, Zhu et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell as in claim 1 above, and teaches the electron transport layer is of C60 and the hole transport layer of PTAA (see [0106]). C60 has valence band between -3.9eV and -8.0eV and PTAA has a conduction band between -4.0 eV and -6.0eV, particularly in view of Applicant’s disclosure (see paragraph [0012-0013] of Applicant’s specification).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Zhu et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell as in claims 3 and 4 above, and teaches the 2D perovskite structure is described to be (A’)m(A)n-1BnX3n+1 which is reduced to A’mBX4 ([0068]) with A’ being PEA (see [0106], also see [0071]), B being lead (Pb) and X being iodine (I), bromine (Br), chlorine (Cl) or fluorine (F, see [0064]), and more specifically (PEA)2PbI4 (see fig. 19).
Regarding claims 7 and 11, Zhu et al. discloses a 3D/2D hybrid perovskite solar cell as in claims 3 and 4, and teaches the 3D perovskite having formula ABX3 (see [0063]) and more specifically FAMACsPbIBr (see [0104]), which includes A to be Cs, MA, FA; B to be Pb, and X to be I and Br.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. or Zhu et al. as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Snaith et al. (US 2015/0249170).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou et al. or Zhu et al. discloses a perovskite solar cell as in claim 2 above, and teaches the core functional layer is arranged in an inverted structure (or a choice of claim 2).
Zhou et al. or Zhu et al. does not teach the other choice of the core functional layer that is a formal structure having an arrangement order of an electron transport layer, the perovskite light-absorption layer, and a hole transport layer from bottom to top.
Snaith et al. shows a formal structure arrangement order of the perovskite solar cell to be an electron transport layer (or n-type semiconductor or TiO2), a perovskite light absorption layer (or perovskite), and a hole transport layer (or p-type semiconductor or spiro-OMeTAD) from bottom to top (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell of Zhou et al. or Zhu et al. by rearranging the core functional layer to have an arrangement order of an electron transport layer, the perovskite light-absorption layer, and a hole transport layer from bottom to top as taught by Snaith et al.; because such modification is a mere rearrangement of the system parts that would not modify the operation of the system, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues PEA, PyBA, or NEA is not used in Grancini, and PyBA or NEA is not used in Zhu et al.
However, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. See the rejection above.
It is noticed that Zhu teaches using PEA in the 2D perovskite material and claim 1 recites “the 2D perovskite material is a 2D halide perovskite, a structure of which is one selected from PEA2PbI4, PyBA2PbI4, and NEA2PbI4” (emphasis added). Zhu is not relied upon for teaching PyBA2PbI4, and NEA2PbI4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726