DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2-3 both recite several method steps of using the device such as the “head body swings around the housing, under the action of the external force and decompress when the external force is removed” and “wherein the elastic piece allows 360 degrees rotation and tilting”. A claim in which both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, see also MPEP 2173.05(p).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maurin et al. (US 2016/0058155 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maurin discloses an applicator for applying a liquid (container 100 with dispensing tip, Abstract and Figure 1) comprising: a housing having a liquid inlet end configured to be connected to a liquid storage bottle (inlet opening 230 connected to a bottle 200 for containing the liquid product, Paragraph 0042 and Figure 1); a first liquid discharge channel in the housing (cavity defined by the dispensing actuator 300, Paragraph 0053); a liquid discharge head body having a second liquid discharge channel (dispensing tip 400 comprising a dispensing orifice 412, Paragraph 0047 and Figure 1c); a drain pipe to connect the first liquid discharge channel with the second liquid discharge channel (a draining tube member 900 may be coupled to the dispensing tip 400, Figure 9 and Paragraph 0063); and an elastic piece positioned between the housing and the liquid discharge head body (a flexible actuator 300 positioned between bottle 200 and dispensing body 400, Figure 2), the elastic piece compress or decompress under an action of an external force (user applies pressure to the compressible actuator 300 results in liquid product flowing from the cavity defined by the dispensing actuator 300 and into the dispensing tip 400 and out the dispensing nozzle, Paragraph 0053 and Figures 1a-c).
Regarding claim 4, Maurin further discloses wherein an inner side wall of the housing extends inward to form a resisting seat (see lower collar 306 formed on the inner side wall of the housing, Paragraph 0057 and Figures 3-5), the resisting seat is positioned between a first step portion of the liquid discharge head body and a second step portion of the elastic piece (see collar 306 positioned between a first stepped portion of the dispensing tip 400 and a second stepped portion of the actuator 300, Figures 3-5).
Regarding claim 5, Maurin further discloses wherein a first end of the liquid discharge head body has an insert plate that inserts into a slot provided on the elastic piece (an upper collar 405 is provided to secure the flexible actuator 300 with the dispensing tip 400, Paragraph 0056 and Figures 3-5).
Regarding claim 6, Maurin further discloses wherein the insert plate comprises a limiting clamping groove for fitting with a limiting protrusion provided on an inner side wall of the housing (see the upper collar 405 functioning as a limiting groove with a corresponding protrusion provided on the inner side wall of the bottle 200 housing, Figures 3-5).
Regarding claim 8, Maurin further discloses wherein the housing further comprises a bracket for supporting the elastic piece (see upper collar 405 and lower collar 408 forming a bracket for supporting the actuator 300, Figures 3-5).
Claim(s) 10, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Apodaca et al. (US 2011/0190672 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Apodaca discloses an applicator for applying a liquid (an applicator system providing massaging while applying product to a body, Abstract and Figure 1), comprising: a housing (housing 106, Figure 1 and Paragraph 0016) having a liquid inlet end configured to be connected to a liquid storage bottle (delivery tube 502 connected to liquid reservoir 503, Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0024-0025); a first liquid discharge channel in the housing (see delivery tube 502 and its associated outlets within the housing 106, Figure 1); a liquid discharge head body (liquid discharge head body 114, Paragraph 0016 and Figure 1) having a second liquid discharge channel connected to the first liquid discharge channel (see second liquid discharge channel terminating at opening 508 and connected with delivery tube 502, Figures 5-6 and Paragraph 0025); wherein the liquid discharge head body comprising: a massage head body having a first through hole formed in centre of the massage head body (a vibrating mechanism 206 may be housed in the tip 114, therefore comprising a first through hole formed in the center, Figures 3-5 and Paragraph 0020); a first plate having at least one stimulation element arranged in the massage head body (see vibrating mechanism 206 comprising a vibration generator 310, Paragraph 0021 and Figure 3), the first plate has a second through hole in centre in a position corresponding to the first through hole (see vibrating mechanism 206 comprising a through hole formed in coupling 308 in the center corresponding to the center of the tip 114, Figure 3 and Paragraph 0021); a connecting guide rod that passes through the first through hole and the second through hole (see rod coupling 308, Figure 3); and wherein the connecting guide rod has a liquid outlet hole (coupling 308 is connected to the dispensing tip 114 such that the coupling comprises a liquid outlet hole, Paragraph 0022 and Figure 4a).
Regarding claim 13, Apodaca further teaches wherein the at least one stimulation element is selected from a group consisting of Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs), lasers, heating elements (thermal tip 114 may be heated or cooled, Figure 1 and Paragraph 0016), cooling elements (thermal tip 114 may be heated or cooled, Figure 1 and Paragraph 0016), vibration elements (vibration mechanism, Paragraph 0013), electrodes, micro-current element and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 19, Apodaca further teaches a top portion connected to the massage head body the top portion has a housing for accommodating a main circuit board and a battery (a top battery and electronics compartment 410, Paragraph 0023 and Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurin et al. (US 2016/0058155 A1) in view of Wilcox et al. (US 2014/0323993 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Maurin teaches the applicator of claim 1, however is silent wherein the elastic piece compresses when the liquid discharge head body swings around the housing, under the action of the external force and decompress when the external force is removed.
However, Wilcox teaches an applicator device (Abstract, Figure 1) comprising an elastic compressible piece (compressible bag configured to have pressure exerted on to therefore discharge the medicament, Paragraph 0105 and Figure 1) wherein when the compressible piece is compressed a liquid discharge head body swings around the housing under the action of the external force and decompress when the external force is removed (see applicator head 5 configured to rotate about housing 40, Paragraph 0210 and Figure 2a). The Examiner also notes this claim is directed towards a method step of an apparatus claim; therefore the limitation is considered to be met as long as the prior art is capable of preforming said method steps, see MPEP 2173.05 and 112b rejection presented above.
Regarding claim 3, Maurin teaches the applicator of claim 1, however is silent wherein the elastic piece allows 360 degree rotation of the liquid discharge head body and tilting the liquid discharge head body at an angle.
However, Wilcox teaches an applicator device (Abstract, Figure 1) comprising an elastic compressible piece (compressible bag configured to have pressure exerted on to therefore discharge the medicament, Paragraph 0105 and Figure 1) wherein the elastic piece allows 360 degree rotation of the liquid discharge head body and tilting the liquid discharge head body at an angle (see applicator head 5 configured to rotate about housing 40, as well as tilt at an angle, Paragraph 0210 and Figure 2a). The Examiner also notes this claim is directed towards a method step of an apparatus claim; therefore the limitation is considered to be met as long as the prior art is capable of preforming said method steps, see MPEP 2173.05 and 112b rejection presented above.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurin et al. (US 2016/0058155 A1) in view of Feng (US 2006/0235341 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Maurin teaches the applicator of claim 1, however is silent on further comprising a conductive needle installed on the liquid discharge head body and a charging unit for charging a battery.
However, Feng teaches an applicator device (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a conductive needle installed on a head body (a needle unit 141 projecting through conductive shell, Abstract and Figure 1) and a charging unit for charging a battery (battery and power components, Paragraph 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Maurin’s applicator device by including a conductive needle on the liquid discharging head body, as taught by Feng, as providing a conductive element may further enhance the therapeutic benefits produced by the device by adding modalities such as heat.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apodaca et al. (US 2011/0190672 A1) in view of Giraud et al. (US 2015/0305969 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Apodaca discloses an applicator for applying a liquid (an applicator system providing massaging while applying product to a body, Abstract and Figure 1), comprising: a housing (housing 106, Figure 1 and Paragraph 0016) having a liquid inlet end configured to be connected to a liquid storage bottle (delivery tube 502 connected to liquid reservoir 503, Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0024-0025); a first liquid discharge channel in the housing (see delivery tube 502 and its associated outlets within the housing 106, Figure 1); a liquid discharging head body (liquid discharge head body 114, Paragraph 0016 and Figure 1) having a second liquid discharge channel connected to the first liquid discharge channel (see second liquid discharge channel terminating at opening 508 and connected with delivery tube 502, Figures 5-6 and Paragraph 0025) a drain pipe to connect the first liquid discharge channel with the second liquid discharge channel (see the tube 502 running through the entirety of the housing, Figure 5).
However, Apodaca is silent wherein the liquid discharge head body is transparent and includes a luminescent filament in a hose that emits a color light.
However, Giraud teaches a device comprising an applicator for applying liquid comprising a liquid discharge head body (product dispensing system 77 disposed on the massaging head 147, Paragraph 0104 and Figures 21-22), wherein the liquid discharge head body is transparent and includes a luminescent filament in a hose that emits a color light (massaging head 147 may have a transparent surface 168 that allows the light emitted by a light diode 169 to thereby pass through, Paragraph 0116 and Figures 14, 17-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Apodaca’s applicator device by having the liquid discharging head be transparent and include a light source, as taught by Giraud, as including light emitting diodes in a skin-treating device may further enhance the therapeutic effects produced by the device, as the using of light emitting sources may stimulate the user’s skin cells in addition to the massaging effects and the liquid dispensed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11-12, and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 7, although Maurin teaches an elastic piece that allows the liquid discharge material to pass through, Maurin is silent on the elastic piece having a convex refuge and being provided with a boss. Regarding claims 11-12, although Apodaca teaches a locking mechanism integrated with the applicator body, Apodaca is silent wherein the applicator further comprises a locking piece to clamp the first plate with an inner side of the massage head body, the locking piece detachably connects with the connecting guide rod above the second through hole of the first plate and wherein the connecting guide rod has an annular guide groove and the locking piece comprises a snap ring that snuggly fits into the annular guide groove on the connecting guide rod. Regarding claims 14-18, although Apodaca teaches a massage head with a through hole in its center, Apodaca is silent wherein the massage head comprises a partition plate and the first through hole is at the centre of the partition plate and wherein the partition plate comprises a fourth through hole corresponding to the position of the at least one stimulation element on the first plate. Therefore, a radical modification of both Maurin’s and Apodaca’s applicator devices would be needed in order to achieve the structure that is recited by the above mentioned claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al. (US 2021/0401147 A1) and Zhou (US 2016/0331308 A1).
/SARAH B LEDERER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785