DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/3/24, 2/24/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is unclear as to whether or not some type of analytical structure is required since there is not a limitation that recites structure capable of performing the supposed purpose of the analyzer device (analysis). Specifically, the preamble recites an analyzer, but no claims or limitations are directed towards any type of analytical unit, detector, or sensor that would perform analysis, and there is no device capable of analysis (sensor, detector, etc…) recited in the body of the claim. Therefore, it is unclear to a potential infringer whether or not an analytical structure is required. Because analysis appears to be the purpose of the device, then it is unclear what structure is capable of performing the analysis since no analysis structure is positively recited in the claim body. It is unclear if an analytical structure is or is not required, and there is some ambiguity to a potential infringer as to what structure applicants are intending to impart on the analysis device in the preamble. The examiner suggests that some type of structure capable of performing the purpose of the device (analysis) be recited in the claim body.
Claims 2-15 are rejected based on further claim dependency.
As to claim 7, it is unclear how the transfer mechanism adsorbs an upper surface. What is this upper surface? Is this an upper surface of the adapter or the reagent carrier? Also, how does adsorption take place? A transfer mechanism can transfer things, but it is unclear how it can adsorb anything. Further, it is unclear what “adsorb” is defining given the claim limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand what is being recited or what is intending to be defined. Claim 8 is similarly rejected.
With respect to claim 13, it is unclear what a transport tool or shuttle are attempting to describe and also unclear how the transport tool transfers reagent containers. In the specification in [59], and also in claim 1, the reagent containers are transferred by the adapter and the transport tool is transporting samples. What is the transport tool and what does the tool do? Is the tool just a rack/adapter for samples? It is unclear based on the disclosure whether there is a difference between the transport tool and the adapter since the both are recited in the claim as transporting reagent containers, and also unclear whether the tool and adapter could be the same structures since they appear to perform the same function.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required. 40
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al (US 20260259237; hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
As to claim 1, Yamamoto teaches an automatic analyzing apparatus (Yamamoto; Fig. 2-5) comprising: an adapter attachable to a reagent container; an input unit configured to receive an adapter-attached reagent container, the adapter-attached reagent container being the reagent container to which the adapter is attached; a reagent storage configured to store the adapter-attached reagent container; and a transfer mechanism configured to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage using the adapter (Yamamoto teaches an analyzer with an adapter 231 which has a handle 231_2 which interacts with a transfer mechanism 212 and is moved from an input unit to a reagent storage unit; [40, 64-69, 89-90], Fig. 2-5).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “attachable to…”, “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
As to claim 16, Yamamoto teaches an adapter (Yamamoto; Fig. 2-5) attachable to a reagent container, the adapter being used by being incorporated into an automatic analyzing apparatus including an input unit configured to receive the reagent container, a reagent storage configured to store the reagent container, and a transfer mechanism configured to transfer the reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage, the adapter comprising: a held portion held by the transfer mechanism, wherein the adapter is attached to the reagent container in such a manner that the transfer mechanism can hold the reagent container using the held portion and transfer the reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage (Yamamoto teaches an analyzer with an adapter 231 which has a handle 231_2 which interacts with a transfer mechanism 212 and is moved from an input unit to a reagent storage unit; [40, 64-69, 89-90], Fig. 2-5).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “attachable to…”, “being used…”, “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Gomm et al (US 20100111765; hereinafter “Gomm”; already of record).
As to claim 1, Gomm teaches an automatic analyzing apparatus (Gomm; Title, [47]) comprising: an adapter attachable to a reagent container (Gomm teaches an adapter 40; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 87]); an input unit configured to receive an adapter-attached reagent container, the adapter-attached reagent container being the reagent container to which the adapter is attached (Gomm teaches an input 30; Fig. 1, 5, [49]); a reagent storage configured to store the adapter-attached reagent container (Gomm teaches a reagent storage 34; Fig. 1, 5, 6, [52]); and a transfer mechanism configured to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage using the adapter (Gomm teaches a transfer device 38; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]). The examiner notes that many of the functional limitations do not add further structure beyond that of a capability and the prior art discloses the recited structure.
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “attachable to…”, “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
As to claim 2, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the adapter includes a handle portion, and the transfer mechanism is further configured to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage using the handle portion (Gomm teaches an adapter 40 with a handle 88; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 71, 72, 87]. Gomm teaches a transfer device 38; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 3, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the handle portion is provided on a side surface of the adapter, and the transfer mechanism is further configured to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage by hooking and holding the adapter onto the handle portion (Gomm teaches an adapter 40 with a handle 88 on the side surface; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 71, 72, 87]. Gomm teaches a transfer device 38; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 4, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the transfer mechanism is further configured to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage by lifting up or sliding the adapter-attached reagent container using the adapter (The examiner notes that the recited limitations are directed towards function/intended use. Gomm teaches a transfer device 38 which lifts; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 5, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the adapter includes a protrusion provided to protrude from an upper surface facing a surface on which the adapter-attached reagent container is placed, and the transfer mechanism is further configured to grip the protrusion and holds the adapter to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage (Gomm teaches an adapter 40 with a handle 88, the entirety of the vertical protrusion protrudes upwards from an upwards facing surface; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 71, 72, 87]. Gomm teaches a transfer device 38 which grips the protrusion; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 6, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the transfer mechanism is further configured to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage by lifting up or sliding the adapter (Gomm teaches an adapter 40 with a handle 88, the entirety of the vertical protrusion protrudes upwards from an upwards facing surface; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 71, 72, 87]. Gomm teaches a transfer device 38 which lifts; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 7, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transfer mechanism is further configured to adsorb an upper surface facing a surface on which the adapter-attached reagent container is placed and hold the adapter-attached reagent container to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage (In as much as claimed and as best understood, Gomm teaches the transfer mechanism structure which attaches to and moves/lifts the adapter; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 8, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the transfer mechanism is further configured to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage by lifting up or sliding the adapter-attached reagent container (In as much as claimed and as best understood, Gomm teaches the transfer mechanism structure which attaches to and moves/lifts the adapter; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 9, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transfer mechanism is further configured to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage by sliding the adapter-attached reagent container using a conveyor (Gomm teaches that the adapter slides in figure 9b/9c; [89-90]. Further, Gomm teaches that any suitable transfer device can move the adapter; [79]).
As to claim 10, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transfer mechanism is further configured to transfer the adapter-attached reagent container from the reagent storage to the input unit using the adapter (Gomm; [91]).
As to claim 11, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least one side surface of the reagent container comprises a code associated with information on a reagent, the adapter includes an opening on at least one side surface, and the opening is located at a position corresponding to the code of the reagent container in a state where the reagent container is attached to the adapter (The examiner notes that the reagent container is not positively recited and therefore does not further limit the apparatus structure. Gomm teaches a side opening on the adapter between the end/side walls, where the opening enables the reagent barcodes to be read; Fig. 3, 5, [72, 74, 75, 76]).
As to claim 12, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the transfer mechanism includes a code reader for reading the code (Gomm teaches reader 46 which is interpreted as part of the transfer mechanism; Fig. 1, 5, [50]. Gomm teaches a side opening on the adapter between the end/side walls, where the opening enables the reagent barcodes to be read; Fig. 3, 5, [72, 74, 75, 76]).
As to claim 13, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the input unit is further configured to receive a transport tool that transports a plurality of reagent containers, and the transfer mechanism is further configured to transfer the transport tool from the input unit to a transport tool shuttle for transporting the transport tool to an arbitrary position (In as much as claimed and as best understood, the examiner notes that the transport tool and transport tool shuttle are not positively recited and do not further limit the device. Gomm teaches an input that receives various adapters which are then transferred via the transfer mechanism. Gomm also teaches tool 42 which includes containers and is received in the input unit; Fig. 5. Gomm teaches the transfer mechanism transporting the tool 42 and also another suitable transfer device; Fig. 5, 9, [55, 71, 79]).
As to claim 14, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reagent container comprises a general-purpose reagent bottle (The reagent container is not positively recited and therefore the contents do not further limit the apparatus structure. Gomm; [49], Fig. 5).
As to claim 15, Gomm teaches the automatic analyzing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transfer mechanism includes an arm that locks with the adapter, and a positioner that transports the adapter-attached reagent container (Gomm teaches a transfer device 38 that includes an arm that connects to adapter and also a position that provides movement; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 16, Gomm teaches an adapter (Gomm teaches an adapter 40; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 87]) attachable to a reagent container, the adapter being used by being incorporated into an automatic analyzing apparatus including an input unit configured to receive the reagent container, a reagent storage configured to store the reagent container, and a transfer mechanism configured to transfer the reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage, the adapter comprising: a held portion held by the transfer mechanism (Gomm teaches an adapter 40 with a handle 88 and attached to a reagent container; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 71, 72, 87].), wherein the adapter is attached to the reagent container in such a manner that the transfer mechanism can hold the reagent container using the held portion and transfer the reagent container from the input unit to the reagent storage (Although functional, Gomm teaches a transfer device 38; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]. Gomm teaches a reagent storage 34; Fig. 1, 5, 6, [52]. Gomm teaches an input 30; Fig. 1, 5, [49]). The examiner notes that many of the functional limitations do not add further structure beyond that of a capability and the prior art discloses the recited structure.
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “attachable to…”, “being used…”, “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
As to claim 17, Gomm teaches the adapter according to claim 16, wherein the held portion comprises a handle portion, and an adapter-attached reagent container is transferred from the input unit to the reagent storage using the handle portion by the transfer mechanism, the adapter-attached reagent container being the reagent container to which the adapter is attached (Gomm teaches an adapter 40 with a handle 88; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 71, 72, 87]. Gomm teaches a transfer device 38; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 18, Gomm teaches the adapter according to claim 17, wherein the handle portion is provided on a side surface of the adapter, and the adapter-attached reagent container is transferred from the input unit to the reagent storage by the transfer mechanism holding the adapter by locking with the handle portion (Gomm teaches an adapter 40 with a handle 88 on the side surface; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 71, 72, 87]. Gomm teaches a transfer device 38; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 19, Gomm teaches the adapter according to claim 16, wherein the held portion comprises a protrusion, the protrusion is provided to protrude from an upper surface facing a surface on which the adapter-attached reagent container is placed, and the adapter-attached reagent container is transferred from the input unit to the reagent storage by the transfer mechanism gripping the protrusion and holding the adapter (Gomm teaches an adapter 40 with a handle 88, the entirety of the vertical protrusion protrudes upwards from an upwards facing surface; Fig. 1-3, 5, 6, 10, [49, 71, 72, 87]. Gomm teaches a transfer device 38 which grips the protrusion; Fig. 5, 9, [50, 52, 72, 83, 89]).
As to claim 20, Gomm teaches the adapter according to claim 16, wherein the adapter includes an opening on at least one side surface, and the opening is located at a position corresponding to a code associated with information on a reagent added to the reagent container in a state where the reagent container is attached to the adapter (The examiner notes that the reagent container is not positively recited and therefore does not further limit the apparatus structure. Gomm teaches a side opening on the adapter between the end/side walls, where the opening enables the reagent barcodes to be read; Fig. 3, 5, [72, 74, 75, 76]).
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include;
Raicu et al (US 20180156831; hereinafter “Raicu”; already of record) teaches an adapter with a handle, and where barcode information is read; Fig. 3, [98, 130, 132, 1138, 141, 149, 150-153, 209]. Raicu also teaches transporting to a tool shuttle; Fig. 42-49, [138, 207, 210].
Brisebat et al (US 20150111198; hereinafter “Brisebat”; already of record) teaches an analyzer (fig. 1, [11, 84-85]) with an adapter 22 (fig. 1-3, [103]), an input unit 20 (fig. 1, [103]), a reagent storage 40/48 (fig. 1, [105, 107]), a transfer mechanism 70 (fig. 1-3, [121, 126-129]), where the protrusion is on the upper surface (fig. 1, [121, 126-129]).
Koch et al (US 5578272; hereinafter “Koch”; already of record) teaches an analyzer (fig. 11, col 4 line 31-37) with an adapter 11/12 (Fig. 1, 11, col. 2 line 66-col. 3 line 1, col. 4 line 31-37), an input unit 61/63 (Fig. 11, col 4 line 63-col. 5 line 2, col. 5 line 19-22), a reagent storage 62 (fig. 11, col. 4 line 38-42), a transfer mechanism 66/73/63 (fig. 1, col. 4 line 42-48, col. 5 line 19-27), where the transfer mechanism includes a conveyor 63 (Fig. 1, column 4 lines 42-48 and col. 5 line 19-27).
Schacher et al (US 20100132484; hereinafter “Schacher”) teaches a barcode on transport handler 117; [142, 143, 148], Fig. 3.
Sato et al (US 20090004057; hereinafter “Sato”) teaches an opening to allow reader to read barcode; Fig. 6, [27, 63].
Conclusion
/Benjamin R Whatley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798