DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 8/13/2026, which are in response to USPTO Office Action mailed 5/14/2026. Applicant’s arguments have been considered with the results that follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/07/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEAHY, JR. et al. (US PGPUB No. 2020/0019285; Pub. Date: Jan. 16, 2020) in view of Aguilar et al. (US PGPUB No. 2023/0101112; Pub. Date: Mar. 30, 2023).
Regarding independent claim 1,
LEAHY, JR discloses a method of searching a set of collected conveyance readings of a utility, comprising steps of: retrieving at least one generated map from a generated maps server; See Paragraph [0083], (Disclosing an improved map interface that displays updatable geographic information that enables users to request one or more data products for a geospatial asset. The system comprises a data-request manger 206 configured to retrieve requested geofences from database 130 in response to a data request 708. The retrieved region may be displayed on a user interface screen that allows a user to view items of interest such as public roads, utility lines, wind farms, etc., i.e. retrieving at least one generated map from a generated maps server;)
retrieving a set of breadcrumbs from a processed files server, See Paragraph [0083], (Data-request manager 206 retrieves geofences from database 130 based on geospatial assets associated with a user and corresponding to respective regions on a map that are of interest to the user, i.e. retrieving a set of breadcrumbs from a processed files server,)
accessing a querying server that provides a set of conveyance parameters; See FIG. 5A & Paragraph [0068], (FIG. 5A illustrates a graphical user interface comprising a search field 506 that allows a user to locate an area of interest (AOI) based on inputting text such as physical coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude), a landmark, or a place name (e.g., a city, a town, a county, a state, a country, etc.), i.e. accessing a querying server that provides a set of conveyance parameters (e.g. the user input parameters are used to retrieve geographical asset data form a database, Note [0049]).
inputting at least one conveyance parameter into the set of conveyance parameters of the querying server; See Paragraphs [0067]-[0068], (A user may provide input to a map-provider interface 220 such as input to a search field 506 and/or selection of a geospatial asset. The map-provider may then display the region associated with the user selections, i.e. inputting at least one conveyance parameter into the set of conveyance parameters of the querying server.)
outputting one or more breadcrumbs of the set of breadcrumbs based on the at least one conveyance parameter inputted into the querying server. See Paragraph [0068], (User input to the search field allows a user to locate a requested AOI. Map 502A may then display the requested region, including geospatial assets within said area.) See Paragraph [0083], (The visualized region associated with the data request allows users to view items of interest such as public roads, utility lines, wind farms, etc., i.e. outputting one or more breadcrumbs of the set of breadcrumbs (e.g. geographical assets within an area of interest are labelled on the displayed map) based on the at least one conveyance parameter inputted into the querying server (e.g. the displayed map corresponds to the user search inputs).)
LEAHY, JR does not disclose the step of wherein each of the set of breadcrumbs is based on a utility conveyance reading measured by a utility detector moved along a surveyed line or a surveyed pipeline of the utility at a predetermined position along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline
and a geolocation reading measured by a global positioning system (GPS) at a predetermined sampling rate to develop a utility survey record,
wherein the utility detector is configured to detect and measure a presence of the utility conveyance in real-time as the utility detector traverses along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline;
Aguilar discloses the step of wherein each of the set of breadcrumbs is based on a utility conveyance reading measured by a utility detector moved along a surveyed line or a surveyed pipeline of the utility at a predetermined position along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline, See Paragraph [0086], (Disclosing a system for enabling fault detection and condition assessment of underground stormwater and sewer pipes. FIG. 1 illustrates a pipe inspection robot 170 fitted with a camera 171 and other sensors including positioning sensors for recording a chainage measurement. Note [0076] wherein the system may process video frames obtained by the robot, wherein the video frames are associated with GPS position data. The pipe inspection robot may move forward and backward along a pipe to determine pipe conditions.)
and a geolocation reading measured by a global positioning system (GPS) at a predetermined sampling rate to develop a utility survey record, See Paragraph [0086], (FIG. 1 illustrates a pipe inspection robot 170 fitted with a camera 171 and other sensors including positioning sensors for recording a chainage measurement. Note [0205]-[0210] wherein GPS or local triangulation algorithms may be used to determine position data.) See Paragraph [0262], (The system may analyze pipe characteristics such as a water level by sampling video frames. Note [0022] wherein frame data is associated with positional data, wherein positional data is obtained using GPS/local triangulation, i.e. a geolocation reading measured by a global positioning system (GPS) at a predetermined sampling rate to develop a utility survey record (e.g. robot 170 may gather positional data and video frames to assess pipe conditions).)
wherein the utility detector is configured to detect and measure a presence of the utility conveyance in real-time as the utility detector traverses along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline; See Paragraph [0262], (The system may analyze pipe characteristics such as a water level by sampling video frames. Note [0022] wherein frame data is associated with positional data, wherein positional data is obtained using GPS/local triangulation.) See Paragraph [0086], (Pipe inspection robot 170 can move forward and backwards through a pipe to capture video data 172 within said pipe to assess pipe conditions, i.e. wherein the utility detector is configured to detect and measure a presence of the utility conveyance in real-time as the utility detector traverses along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline;)
LEAHY, JR and Aguilar are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, utility data measurement systems. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of LEAHY, JR to include the mobile robot for measuring pipe conditions as disclosed by Aguilar. Paragraph [0099] of Aguilar discloses that the system may upload videos recorded by the pipe inspection robot that may be broken down into frames that may be samples at a variety of sampling rates. The system may select lower sampling rates which reduce the amount of processing required and improves time efficiency.
Regarding dependent claim 8,
As discussed above with claim 1, LEAHY, JR-Aguilar discloses all of the limitations.
LEAHY, JR further discloses the step wherein the step of inputting the at least one conveyance parameter into the set of conveyance parameters of the querying server further comprises: inputting a name of an inspector or a reference area. See Paragraph [0068], (User input to the search field allows a user to locate a requested AOI. Map 502A may then display the requested region, including geospatial assets within said AOI, i.e. wherein the step of inputting the at least one conveyance parameter into the set of conveyance parameters of the querying server further comprises: inputting a name of an inspector or a reference area (e.g. the user inputs for locating an AOI comprise text I such as coordinates, a landmark, a place name, etc., i.e. a reference area).)
Regarding independent claim 9
,
LEAHY, JR discloses a computer program product installed on a mobile device and including one or more non-transitory machine-readable mediums encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a process to search a set of collected conveyance readings of a surveyed utility line, the instructions comprising: retrieve at least one generated map from a generated maps server; See Paragraph [0083], (Disclosing an improved map interface that displays updatable geographic information that enables users to request one or more data products for a geospatial asset. The system comprises a data-request manger 206 configured to retrieve requested geofences from database 130 in response to a data request 708. The retrieved region may be displayed on a user interface screen that allows a user to view items of interest such as public roads, utility lines, wind farms, etc., i.e. cause a process to search a set of collected conveyance readings of a surveyed utility line, the instructions comprising: retrieve at least one generated map from a generated maps server;)
retrieve a set of breadcrumbs from a processed files server, See Paragraph [0075], (Data request generator 205 may be configured to retrieve data products available for a requested geospatial asset.) See Paragraph [0086], (Data-supplier server 146 is configured to generate data products associated with geographical assets, i.e. retrieve a set of breadcrumbs from a processed files server;)
access a querying server that provides a set of conveyance parameters; See FIG. 5A & Paragraph [0068], (FIG. 5A illustrates a graphical user interface comprising a search field 506 that allows a user to locate an area of interest (AOI) based on inputting text such as physical coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude), a landmark, or a place name (e.g., a city, a town, a county, a state, a country, etc.), i.e. access a querying server that provides a set of conveyance parameters (e.g. the user input parameters are used to retrieve geographical asset data form a database, Note [0049]).
input at least one conveyance parameter into the set of conveyance parameters of the querying server; See Paragraphs [0067]-[0068], (A user may provide input to a map-provider interface 220 such as input to a search field 506 and/or selection of a geospatial asset. The map-provider may then display the region associated with the user selections, i.e. input at least one conveyance parameter into the set of conveyance parameters of the querying server.)
and output one or more breadcrumbs of the set of breadcrumbs based on the at least one conveyance parameter inputted into the querying server. See Paragraph [0068], (User input to the search field allows a user to locate a requested AOI. Map 502A may then display the requested region, including geospatial assets within said area.) See Paragraph [0083], (The visualized region associated with the data request allows users to view items of interest such as public roads, utility lines, wind farms, etc., i.e. output one or more breadcrumbs of the set of breadcrumbs (e.g. geographical assets within an area of interest are labelled on the displayed map) based on the at least one conveyance parameter inputted into the querying server (e.g. the displayed map corresponds to the user search inputs).)
LEAHY, JR does not disclose the step of wherein each of the set of breadcrumbs is based on a utility conveyance reading measured by a utility detector moved along a surveyed line or a surveyed pipeline of the utility at a predetermined position along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline
and a geolocation reading measured by a global positioning system (GPS) at a predetermined sampling rate to develop a utility survey record,
wherein the utility detector is configured to detect and measure a presence of the utility conveyance in real-time as the utility detector traverses along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline;
Aguilar discloses the step wherein each of the set of breadcrumbs is based on a utility conveyance reading measured by a utility detector moved along a surveyed line or a surveyed pipeline of the utility at a predetermined position along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline, See Paragraph [0086], (Disclosing a system for enabling fault detection and condition assessment of underground stormwater and sewer pipes. FIG. 1 illustrates a pipe inspection robot 170 fitted with a camera 171 and other sensors including positioning sensors for recording a chainage measurement. Note [0076] wherein the system may process video frames obtained by the robot, wherein the video frames are associated with GPS position data. The pipe inspection robot may move forward and backward along a pipe to determine pipe conditions.)
and a geolocation reading measured by a global positioning system (GPS) at a predetermined sampling rate to develop a utility survey record, See Paragraph [0086], (FIG. 1 illustrates a pipe inspection robot 170 fitted with a camera 171 and other sensors including positioning sensors for recording a chainage measurement. Note [0205]-[0210] wherein GPS or local triangulation algorithms may be used to determine position data.) See Paragraph [0262], (The system may analyze pipe characteristics such as a water level by sampling video frames. Note [0022] wherein frame data is associated with positional data, wherein positional data is obtained using GPS/local triangulation, i.e. a geolocation reading measured by a global positioning system (GPS) at a predetermined sampling rate to develop a utility survey record (e.g. robot 170 may gather positional data and video frames to assess pipe conditions).)
wherein the utility detector is configured to detect and measure a presence of the utility conveyance in real-time as the utility detector traverses along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline; See Paragraph [0262], (The system may analyze pipe characteristics such as a water level by sampling video frames. Note [0022] wherein frame data is associated with positional data, wherein positional data is obtained using GPS/local triangulation.) See Paragraph [0086], (Pipe inspection robot 170 can move forward and backwards through a pipe to capture video data 172 within said pipe to assess pipe conditions, i.e. wherein the utility detector is configured to detect and measure a presence of the utility conveyance in real-time as the utility detector traverses along the surveyed line or the surveyed pipeline;)
LEAHY, JR and Aguilar are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, utility data measurement systems. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of LEAHY, JR to include the mobile robot for measuring pipe conditions as disclosed by Aguilar. Paragraph [0099] of Aguilar discloses that the system may upload videos recorded by the pipe inspection robot that may be broken down into frames that may be samples at a variety of sampling rates. The system may select lower sampling rates which reduce the amount of processing required and improves time efficiency.
Regarding dependent claim 16,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 8 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 17,
As discussed above with claim 1, LEAHY, JR-Aguilar discloses all of the limitations.
Aguilar further discloses the step wherein the utility for each of the set of collected conveyance readings is one of a gas utility, an electrical utility, and a water utility. See Paragraph [0076], (The system may process video frames obtained by the robot wherein the video frames are associated with GPS position data. The pipe inspection robot may move forward and backward along a pipe to determine pipe conditions, i.e. wherein the utility for each of the set of collected conveyance readings is one of a water utility.)
Regarding dependent claim 18,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 17 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 19,
As discussed above with claim 1, LEAHY, JR-Aguilar discloses all of the limitations.
Aguilar further discloses the step wherein the utility detector and the GPS are connected to and communicate with a mobile device that collects and outputs the utility conveyance reading and the geolocation reading in real time to a computer program product installed on the mobile device. See Paragraph [0086], (FIG. 1 illustrates a pipe inspection robot 170 fitted with a camera 171 and other sensors including positioning sensors for recording a chainage measurement. Note [0076] wherein the system may process video frames obtained by the robot wherein the video frames are associated with GPS position data. The pipe inspection robot may move forward and backward along a pipe to determine pipe conditions, i.e. wherein the utility detector and the GPS are connected to and communicate with a mobile device (e.g. robot 170 is capable of forward and backward movements through a pipe) that collects and outputs the utility conveyance reading (e.g. Note [0086] wherein robot 170 is equipped with sensors for gathering sensor data that is transmitted to pipe inspection system 173 via software) and the geolocation reading in real time to a computer program product installed on the mobile device (e.g. position sensors are installed on the robot).)
Regarding dependent claim 20,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 19 directed to a computer program product and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 2-4 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEAHY, JR. in view of Aguilar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Longley (US PGPUB No. 2024/0029537; Pub. Date: Jan. 25, 2024).
Regarding dependent claim 2,
As discussed above with claim 1, LEAHY, JR-Aguilar discloses all of the limitations.
LEAHY, JR-Aguilar does not disclose the step wherein the step of inputting the at least one conveyance parameter into the set of conveyance parameters of the querying server further comprises: inputting a first conveyance measurement threshold into the querying server that relates to a primary conveyance measurement threshold stored in a computer program product;
and inputting a second conveyance measurement threshold into the querying server that relates to the primary conveyance measurement threshold stored in the computer program product;
wherein the second conveyance measurement threshold is greater than the first conveyance measurement threshold.
Longley discloses the step wherein the step of inputting the at least one conveyance parameter into the set of conveyance parameters of the querying server further comprises: inputting a first conveyance measurement threshold into the querying server that relates to a primary conveyance measurement threshold stored in a computer program product; See Paragraph [0057]-[0058], (Disclosing a gas monitoring and alarm system including a monitor and sensor configured to sense a concentration of a gas in an area. The system comprises a primary monitor having a first alarm level indicator 114, second alarm level indicator 116, fault indicator 118, etc. The first alarm level may be adjustable to a first predefined concentration threshold, i.e. inputting a first conveyance measurement threshold into the querying server (e.g. the adjustment to the first alarm level to a first predefined concentration threshold) that relates to a primary conveyance measurement threshold stored in a computer program product (e.g. the first alarm level indicator is associated with a threshold).)
and inputting a second conveyance measurement threshold into the querying server that relates to the primary conveyance measurement threshold stored in the computer program product; See Paragraph [0116], (The second alarm level is adjustable to a second predefined concentration threshold, i.e. inputting a second conveyance measurement threshold into the querying server that relates to the primary conveyance measurement threshold stored in the computer program product (e.g. both the first and second alarm levels may be directed to gas concentration thresholds at different levels).)
wherein the second conveyance measurement threshold is greater than the first conveyance measurement threshold. See Paragraph [0116], (The first alarm level may be adjusted to a concentration of CO2 at 0.5%, while the second alarm level may be a concentration of CO2 at 1.5%, i.e. wherein the second conveyance measurement threshold is greater than the first conveyance measurement threshold.)
LEAHY, JR; Aguilar and Longley are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, geographic monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of LEAHY, JR-Aguilar to include the method of managing gas concentration thresholds as disclosed by Longley. Paragraph [0116] of Longley discloses that the variety of alarm levels are fully customizable, which allows for detection of gas at varying concentrations with varying responses to said detection at each level.
Regarding dependent claim 3,
As discussed above with claim 2, LEAHY, JR-Aguilar-Longley discloses all of the limitations.
Longley further discloses the step wherein the first conveyance measurement threshold input into the querying server is less than the primary conveyance measurement threshold. See Paragraph [0058], (A factory default setting of a gas concentration of CO2 may be set at 1.5%. The first alarm level may be adjustable to a first predefined concentration threshold. Note [0116] wherein the first predefined concentration threshold may be set to 0.5%, which is less than the default value of 1.5%, i.e. wherein the first conveyance measurement threshold input into the querying server is less than the primary conveyance measurement threshold.)
LEAHY, JR; Aguilar and Longley are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, geographic monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of LEAHY, JR-Aguilar to include the method of managing gas concentration thresholds as disclosed by Longley. Paragraph [0116] of Longley discloses that the variety of alarm levels are fully customizable, which allows for detection of gas at varying concentrations with varying responses to said detection at each level.
Regarding dependent claim 4,
As discussed above with claim 2, LEAHY, JR-Aguilar-Longley discloses all of the limitations.
Longley further discloses the step wherein the first conveyance measurement threshold input into the querying server is equal to or greater than the primary conveyance measurement threshold. See Paragraph [0116], (Alarm level values are fully customizable in increments as small as 50 PPM. While the first alarm level may be adjusted to an example value of 0.5% via user input, one of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that the levels being "fully customizable" would allow for any input beyond the default value (e.g. such as the default value of 1.5% of [0058]). For example, a user may input a value of 2% for the first alarm level, i.e. wherein the first conveyance measurement threshold input into the querying server is equal to or greater than the primary conveyance measurement threshold.)
LEAHY, JR; Aguilar and Longley are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, geographic monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of LEAHY, JR-Aguilar to include the method of managing gas concentration thresholds as disclosed by Longley. Paragraph [0116] of Longley discloses that the variety of alarm levels are fully customizable, which allows for detection of gas at varying concentrations with varying responses to said detection at each level.
Regarding dependent claim 10,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 2 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 11,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 3 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 12,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 4 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEAHY, JR. in view of Aguilar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Perczynski et al. (US PGPUB No. 2010/0153348; Pub. Date; Jun. 17, 2010).
Regarding dependent claim 5,
As discussed above with claim 1, LEAHY, JR-Aguilar discloses all of the limitations.
LEAHY, JR-Aguilar does not disclose the step of updating at least one breadcrumb with corrected information by an update server of the computer program product when the at least one breadcrumb includes an error.
Perczynski discloses the step of updating at least one breadcrumb with corrected information by an update server of the computer program product when the at least one breadcrumb includes an error. See FIG. 9 & Paragraph [0050], (Disclosing a system for updating a geographic database. FIG. 9 illustrates a method for updating a geographic database and/or reporting discrepancies regarding geographic data. An end user of a navigation device may discover a discrepancy in geographic data and perform the method of FIG. 9 to correct the discrepancy, i.e. updating at least one breadcrumb with corrected information by an update server of the computer program product when the at least one breadcrumb includes an error.)
LEAHY, JR; Aguilar and Perczynski are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, geographic map systems. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of LEAHY, JR-Aguilar to include the method of updating geographic map data as disclosed by Perczynski. Paragraph [0057] of Perczynski discloses that users may provide map discrepancy information that is then reviewed by a map developer in order to ensure accuracy of the user corrections. This ensures that the geographic data may be improved over time with accurate information that confirms whether location data is accurate or not.
Regarding dependent claim 6,
As discussed above with claim 1, LEAHY, JR-Aguilar discloses all of the limitations.
LEAHY, JR-Aguilar does not disclose the step of updating the at least one segmented utility line with corrected information by a manual update tool of the computer program product.
Perczynski discloses the step of updating the at least one segmented utility line with corrected information by a manual update tool of the computer program product. See FIG. 9 & Paragraph [0050], (Disclosing a system for updating a geographic database. FIG. 9 illustrates a method for updating a geographic database and/or reporting discrepancies regarding geographic data. An end user of a navigation device may discover a discrepancy in geographic data and perform the method of FIG. 9 wherein the method comprises step 912 wherein a user may generate a report which leads to the system updating the geographic database at step 924 and subsequently, the updated geographic database is provided to users for further use at step 928, i.e. updating the at least one segmented utility line (e.g. updating a portion of a map corresponding to data of a geographic database) with corrected information by a manual update tool of the computer program product.)
LEAHY, JR; Aguilar and Perczynski are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, geographic map systems. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of LEAHY, JR-Aguilar to include the method of updating geographic map data as disclosed by Perczynski. Paragraph [0057] of Perczynski discloses that users may provide map discrepancy information that is then reviewed by a map developer in order to ensure accuracy of the user corrections. This ensures that the geographic data may be improved over time with accurate information that confirms whether location data is accurate or not.
Regarding dependent claim 13,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 5 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 14,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 6 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEAHY, JR in view of Aguilar and Perczynski as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Nielsen et al. (US PGPUB No. 2010/0205032; Pub. Date: Aug. 12, 2010).
Regarding dependent claim 7,
As discussed above with claim 6, LEAHY, JR-Aguilar-Perczynski discloses all of the limitations.
Perczynski further discloses the step of selecting a manual update reason from a plurality of manual update reasons when the at least one segmented utility line is complete. See Paragraphs [0040]-[0043], (Users may report perceived discrepancies via the user device such as by generating a report 108. The user device may indicate errors such as an incorrect street name or incorrect directions, i.e. selecting a manual update reason from a plurality of manual update reasons when the at least one segmented utility line is complete (e.g. the geographic information currently being presented is complete but may contain errors).)
LEAHY, JR-Aguilar-Perczynski does not disclose the step wherein the step of updating the at least one segmented utility line with the corrected information further includes: inputting whether the at least one segmented utility line is complete or un-complete;
Nielsen discloses the step wherein the step of updating the at least one segmented utility line with the corrected information further includes: inputting whether the at least one segmented utility line is complete or un-complete; See Paragraphs [0319] & [0324], (Disclosing a system for managing information relating to electronic records or logs relating to the workflow of a field technician. FIG. 13 illustrates a checklist process that may be performed by a local agent used by a locate technician. The method comprises step 1310 which may determine that a manual status update is desired. At step 1325, the process receives manual input from the locate technician. Note [0316] wherein the system is configured to allow the user to observe at least electric power lines, communication lines and water lines, i.e. wherein the step of updating the at least one segmented utility line with the corrected information further includes: inputting whether the at least one segmented utility line is complete or un-complete (e.g. by manually indicating the status).)
LEAHY, JR; Aguilar; Perczynski and Nielsen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, geographic map systems. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of LEAHY, JR-Aguilar-Perczynski to include the method of manually adjusting records relating to utility lines as disclosed by Nielsen. Paragraph [0341] of Nielsen discloses that the workflow systems provide systematic ways of guiding locate technicians with respect to the work scope and/or workflow of locate and/or marking operations, thereby improving quality and/or operating efficiency with respect to locate and/or marking operations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendment(s) to independent claims 1 and 9 have modified the claim scope and required further search and/or consideration of both the previously cited references and newly presented references in this Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FMMV/Examiner, Art Unit 2159 /MARC S SOMERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159