Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer et al US 2017/0063404 A1 in view of Hou et al US 10469316 B2.
4. Consider claim 1. Langer et al teaches a radio frequency multiplexer (fig 5) comprising: a common signal node (port C) to receive and/or transmit radio frequency signals; a first signal processing component (110) configured to pass frequencies in a first band and to reject frequencies in a second band; a second signal processing (112) component configured to pass frequencies in the second band and to reject frequencies in the first band; and a coupling circuit (108 in conjunction with 106) coupled to the common signal node (port C) and the first and second signal processing components (110, 112), the coupling circuit being configured to couple the first signal processing component and the second signal processing component to the common signal node coupled with one another in a first mode (reads on carrier aggregation mode) of operation (from 0062 as well as Fig 6…the filters 110, 112, or 512 can be dynamically connected together…), and to couple only the second signal processing component to the common signal node in a second mode (reads on non-carrier aggregation mode) of operation with the second signal processing component being coupled with the first signal processing component between the first signal processing component and the common signal node. Langer et al fails to teach the first signal processing component and the second signal processing component connected in parallel with one another in the first mode and the second signal processing component being coupled in series with the first signal processing component in the second mode. However, Hou et al from the same field of endeavor teaches (figs 7a-7e) a multiplex with a carrier aggregation mode and non-aggregation mode (bypass) which includes first (724) and second processing (726) components using switches that connects them in series (105, fig 7D) and indicates that parallel connection of the processing components (115) would be optimal depending on usage. It would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts (filters and multiple switches) to substitute the teachings of Hou et al in Langer et al in order to save circuit elements and thus decrease manufacturing costs. Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 with the additional third processing component being read on 728 in fig 7D of Hou et al with the connections stated being rearranged for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1, since Hou et al allows for such combinations.
5. Regarding claims 2 and 12. Hou et al (fig 7D) teaches a phase shifting component (19) coupled in series between the first signal processing component and the second signal processing component.
6. Regarding claims 3. Hou et al teaches that all of figures 7A-7E represent triplexers that cover and include the ranges (43, 46) of the different bands claimed. The specific bands for each processing component would have been obvious, before the effective date depending on the system design and filters chosen.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4-10 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4 and 13. The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious wherein the coupling circuit includes: a first switch coupled in series between the common signal node and the first signal processing component, the first switch being closed in the first mode of operation and open in the second mode of operation; and a second switch coupled in series between the common signal node and the second signal processing component, the second switch being closed in the second mode of operation. Dependent claims 5-10 and 14-20 are objected to as allowable since they depend upon claim 4 and 11 respectively.
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al US 10979088 B2 teaches a front end architecture for selectively adding an external carrier aggregation band. A switch element can connect a radio frequency signal path to an antenna path through a frequency domain multiplexer, such as a diplexer, in a first mode. The switch element can connect the radio frequency path to the antenna path and bypass the frequency domain multiplexer in a second mode. The frequency domain multiplexer can be external to a front-end module that include the radio frequency signal path. In the first mode, a front end system can support carrier aggregation with a band associated with circuitry implemented external to the front end module.
Pehlke US 12107618 B2 teaches a switching circuit can include a first cellular filter, a second cellular filter, a first Wi-Fi filter, a second Wi-Fi filter and a plurality of switches. The first cellular filter can filter a first cellular frequency band. The second cellular filter can filter a second cellular frequency band. The first Wi-Fi filter can filter a first Wi-Fi frequency band. The first Wi-Fi frequency band is positioned between the first and the second cellular frequency bands. The second Wi-Fi filter can filter a second Wi-Fi frequency band. The second Wi-Fi frequency band is positioned between the second cellular frequency band and the first Wi-Fi frequency band. A plurality of switches can route signal from an antenna through the first cellular filter and the second Wi-Fi filter or route the signal from the antenna through the second cellular filter and the first Wi-Fi filter.
Hitoshi JP-6322174-B2 teaches (fig 1) a system 500 including a module 100 according to the first embodiment. As shown in FIG. 1, the system 500 includes a module 100, a first antenna 80, a second antenna 82, and an integrated circuit 84. In the following, a circuit connected to the first antenna 80 is referred to as a first transmission / reception circuit 10, and a circuit connected to the second antenna 82 is referred to as a second transmission / reception circuit 50. The first transmission / reception circuit 10 includes a diplexer 12, duplexers 14a and 14b, power amplifiers (PA) 20a and 20b, and low noise amplifiers (LNA) 22a and 22b. The diplexer 12 and the duplexers 14 and 14 b are mounted on the module 100. The PAs 20a and 20b and the LNAs 22a and 22b are mounted on the integrated circuit 84.
Conclusion
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646