Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "58" and "100" have both been used to designate busbars. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities and it is suggested that the following claim amendments be made:
Claim 1 line 3: a plurality of battery cells disposed along an array axis
Claim 1 line 4: each of the battery cells of the plurality of battery cells
Claim 6 line 1: the at least one tab terminal extends between the fingers of the plurality of fingers
Claim 11 line 3-4: thermal event proximate the container assembly, wherein the container assembly is disposed between the plurality of battery cells and the frame.
Claim 17 line 1: A
Claim 17 line 3: a plurality of battery cells disposed along an array axis
Claim 17 line 4: each of the battery cells of the plurality of battery cells
Claim 17 line 8: each container assembly of the plurality of container assemblies holding a mixture of agents
Claim 17 lines 8-9: each container assembly of the plurality of container assemblies
Claim 17 lines 9-10: in response to a thermal event proximate
Claim 17 line 13: extending between the container assemblies of the plurality of container assemblies, through a slot in the one or more busbar shields
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Birkholz (US 2021/0167472 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Birkholz teaches a battery pack assembly (Birkholz title) comprising:
an enclosure assembly that provides an interior area (530, 512, and 513 Birkholz Fig. 7)
a plurality of battery cells (10, Birkholz Fig. 3) disposed along an array axis and disposed within the interior area (Birkholz Fig. 7)
each of the plurality of battery cells including at least one tab terminal that projects outward from the array axis (12i, 12ii Birkholz Fig. 2)
a frame providing at least one slot that receives a portion of the at least one tab terminal (annotated Birkholz Fig. 5a shown below, slot is space between two parts of the frame)
at least one busbar secured to the frame (220, Birkholz Fig. 5b)
a busbar shield between at least one cell and at least one busbar within a battery pack (annotated Birkholz Fig. 5a shown below)
Regarding claim 2, Birkholz teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Birkholz further teaches the frame being between the at least one busbar and the busbar shield (annotated Birkholz Fig. 5a shown above).
Regarding claim 3, Birkholz teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Birkholz further teaches the busbar shield being secured directly to the frame (annotated Birkholz Fig. 5a shown above).
Regarding claim 4, Birkholz teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Birkholz further teaches the busbar shield including a plurality of fingers (annotated Birkholz Fig. 5a shown above).
Regarding claim 5, Birkholz teaches all features of claims 1 and 4, as described above. Birkholz further teaches the plurality of fingers being a plurality of tapered fingers (annotated Birkholz Fig. 5a shown above).
Regarding claim 6, Birkholz teaches all features of claims 1 and 4, as described above. Birkholz further teaches the at least one tab terminal extending between the plurality of fingers (Birkholz Fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 7, Birkholz teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Birkholz further teaches the busbar shield including three fingers (Birkholz Fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 9, Birkholz teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Birkholz further teaches the busbar shield being provided by a sheet of material having at least one shield slot (Birkholz Fig. 5a), the at least one tab terminal extending through the shield slot (Birkholz Fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 10, Birkholz teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Birkholz further teaches the at least one tab terminal being secured to the at least one busbar (Birkholz Fig. 6c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birkholz in view of Tang (US 2021/0351480 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Birkholz teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Birkholz is silent to the material of the busbar shield and thus does not teach the busbar shield being ceramic wool, mica, fiberglass, or some combination of these.
Tang teaches a battery pack (Tang title) including battery cells and connecting pieces that connect battery cells (Tang [59]). Tang further teaches the addition of a protective layers that include protective portions on the connecting pieces in order to protect the connecting pieces from being fused at high temperature and prevent the connecting pieces from contacting metal particles that are emitted from battery cells during thermal runaway, thus preventing the battery cells from short circuiting and preventing “the battery module form generating a chain thermal runaway” (Tang [60-61]). Tang teaches that mica is a suitable material for the protective portions (Tang [69]).
Since Tang teaches that it is desirable to have layers in contact with components that connect battery cells (busbars, connecting pieces) be made of mica, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the busbar shield of Birkholz be made of mica in order to obtain the predictable result of a busbar shield that is capable of protecting the busbars during thermal runaway and improve the safety performance of the battery pack.
Claims 11, 14-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birkholz in view of Na (US 2024/0405327 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Birkholz teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Birkholz does not teach a container assembly holding a mixture of agents.
Na teaches a battery pack assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells, wherein tabs protrude outward from opposite side of each of the battery cells and extend through slots of a frame, as taught by Fig. 6a of Birkholz (Na Fig. 2).
Na further teaches the battery pack assembly (Na Fig. 8) comprising a container assembly that holds a mixture of agents (270, Na Fig. 8), the container assembly configured to release the mixture of agents in response to a thermal event proximate the container assembly (Na [157-158]), the container assembly disposed between a plurality of battery cells and a frame (Na Fig. 8). Na further teaches the container assembly being located between electrode tabs, in addition to being between a plurality of battery cells and a frame that secures busbars (Na [117], the container assembly 270 is in the insertion space 288 (Na Fig. 8)).
Na teaches that the container assembly (insertion member) prevents heat propagation during a thermal runaway occurrence (Na [96]) and includes refractory particles that have flame retardancy (Na [166]).
Since Birkholz and Na both teach battery packs, as described above, and Na teaches that it is desirable to add a container assembly including a mixture of agents to a battery pack to prevent heat propagation during thermal runaway, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the container assembly of Na that is disposed between the plurality of battery cells and the frame to the battery pack of Birkholz in order to prevent heat propagation during thermal runaway.
Regarding claim 14, Birkholz in view of Na teaches all features of claims 1 and 11, as described above. Modified Birkholz further teaches the busbar shield being between the container assembly and the frame (Na Fig. 8 and Birkholz Fig. 5a and 6a; when the container assembly is added to Birkholz, the resulting configuration is the busbar shield being between the container assembly and the frame).
Regarding claim 15, Birkholz in view of Na teaches all features of claims 1 and 11, as described above. Modified Birkholz further teaches the agents being configured, when released from the container assembly, to block a transfer of thermal energy (Na [134]).
Regarding claim 17, Birkholz teaches a battery pack assembly, comprising:
an enclosure assembly that provides an interior area (530, 512, and 513 Birkholz Fig. 7);
a plurality of battery cells (10, Birkholz Fig. 3) disposed along a array axis and disposed within the interior area (Birkholz Fig. 7), each of the plurality of battery cells including at least one tab terminal that projects outward from the array axis (12i, 12ii Birkholz Fig. 2);
a busbar module having a frame (annotated Birkholz Fig. 5a) and a plurality of busbars mounted to the frame (220, Birkholz Fig. 5b);
and one or more busbar shields (annotated Birkholz Fig. 5a shown below), the at least one tab terminal extending through a slot in the busbar shield (Birkholz Fig. 6b), and through a slot in the frame to connect to at least one of the busbars within the plurality of busbars (Birkholz Fig. 6b)
Birkholz does not teach a plurality of container assemblies.
Na teaches a battery pack assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells, wherein tabs protrude outward from opposite side of each of the battery cells and extend through slots of a frame, as taught by Fig. 6a of Birkholz (Na Fig. 2).
Na further teaches the battery pack assembly (Na Fig. 8) comprising a plurality of container assemblies that hold a mixture of agents (270, Na Fig. 8), the container assemblies are configured to release the mixture of agents in response to a thermal event proximate the container assembly (Na [157-158]), the container assemblies disposed between a plurality of battery cells and a frame (Na Fig. 8). Na further teaches the container assemblies being located between electrode tabs, in addition to being between a plurality of battery cells and a frame that secures busbars (Na [117], the container assembly 270 is in the insertion space 288 (Na Fig. 8)).
Na teaches that the container assemblies (insertion member) prevent heat propagation during a thermal runaway occurrence (Na [96]) and include refractory particles that have flame retardancy (Na [166]).
Since Birkholz and Na both teach battery packs, as described above, and Na teaches that it is desirable to add a container assemblies including a mixture of agents to a battery pack to prevent heat propagation during thermal runaway, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the container assemblies of Na that are disposed between the plurality of battery cells and the frame to the battery pack of Birkholz in order to prevent heat propagation during thermal runaway.
This modification of Birkholz thus results in the busbar shields being disposed alongside the plurality of container assemblies between the busbar module and the plurality of battery cells and the at least one tab terminal extending between the plurality of container assembles.
Regarding claim 18, Birkholz in view of Na teaches all features of claim 17, as described above. Modified Birkholz further teaches the busbar shields being between the plurality of container assemblies and the frame (Na Fig. 8 and Birkholz Fig. 5a and 6a; when the container assemblies are added to Birkholz, the resulting configuration is the busbar shields being between the container assemblies and the frame).
Regarding claim 19, Birkholz in view of Na teaches all features of claim 17, as described above. Modified Birkholz further teaches the busbar shields being secured to the frame (annotated Birkholz Fig. 5a shown above).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birkholz in view of Na, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and in further view of Dong (US 2024/0429518 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Birkholz in view of Na teaches all features of claims 1 and 11, as described above. Birkholz further teaches the battery pack being used in a vehicle (Birkholz Fig. 1). Modified Birkholz does not expressly teach the busbar shield being secured directly to the container assembly.
Dong teaches a battery pack that is used in an electric vehicle, as taught by Birkholz. Dong further teaches that “vehicle vibration and/or impact loads experienced during driving of the vehicle can cause undesirable relative movements of components in a battery pack” (Dong [20]) and that it is known to use glue to “inhibit movements between adjacent components” in a battery pack ([21]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have secured the container assembly to the busbar shield with glue in order to prevent movement of the container assembly in the battery pack.
Regarding claim 13, Birkholz in view of Na and Dong teaches all features of claims 1, 11, and 12, as described above. It is noted that the busbar shield being “configured to wrap around the container assembly during installation of the container assembly within the battery pack” does not impart any structural requirements on the final structure of the battery pack. Rather, the claim requires the presence of the busbar shield and the container assembly within the battery pack. Therefore, the structural requirements of claim 13 are met by modified Birkholz.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birkholz in view of Na, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and in further view of Iwamoto (US 2011/0165454 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Birkholz in view of Na teaches all features of claims 1 and 11, as described above. Na teaches that it is suitable for the container assemblies to include aluminum hydroxide or magnesium hydroxide (Na [149]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include aluminum hydroxide or magnesium hydroxide in the container assembly of modified Birkholz.
Modified Birkholz does not teach the mixture of agents comprising sodium silicate.
Iwamoto teaches a battery pack with a layer that responds to an increased temperature of the battery pack and provides a heat insulating effect (Iwamoto abstract). Iwamoto teaches that it is desirable to use sodium silicate with aluminum hydroxide or magnesium hydroxide (Iwamoto [41]).
Since modified Birkholz and Iwamoto both teach including materials that are responsive to a thermal event in a battery, modified Birkholz teaches that it is suitable for the container assemblies to include aluminum hydroxide or magnesium hydroxide, and Iwamoto teaches that it is desirable to use sodium silicate with aluminum hydroxide or magnesium hydroxide, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add sodium silicate to the container assembly of modified Birkholz in order to obtain the predictable result of a container assembly containing materials that result in a thermally insulative effect in the case of a thermal event such as thermal runaway.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/935,965 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1 and 2, claims 1-3 of 18/935,965 claim a battery pack assembly, comprising: an enclosure assembly that provides an interior area; a plurality of battery cells disposed along a array axis and disposed within the interior area; each of the plurality of battery cells including at least one tab terminal that projects outward from the array axis; a frame providing at least one slot that receives a portion of the at least one tab terminal; at least one busbar secured to the frame; and a busbar shield between at least one cell and at least one busbar within a battery pack, wherein the frame is between the at least one busbar and the busbar shield.
Regarding claim 3, claim 4 of 18/935,965 claims the busbar shield being secured directly to the frame.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mabrey (US 2022/0021074 A1): appears to disclose busbar shields made of a fire-resistant material that are installed over busbars (Mabrey [56]).
/J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789