DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The following features are not shown:
Claim 15 (p. 3, lines 15-19): “each of the radiator, the transmission line and the signal pad overlaps at least one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element in the thickness direction”. By definition (e.g. Meriam-Webster dictionary) to “overlap” means to “extend over or past and cover a part of”. According to the definition of the term overlap and the drawings (e.g., Figs. 6 and 7), the overlap between the radiator, the transmission line and the signal pad and at least one of the first conductive element (232 – Fig. 6) and the second conductive element (234 – Fig. 6) occurs in the 2nd and the 3rd directions, not in the thickness direction (1st direction).
Therefore, the above features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification in several instances (e.g., [0072, 0119, 0165]) recites overlap in the 1st direction between different features of the antenna structure and/or the image display device. According to the definition of the term overlap and the figures referred to in these instances no overlap in the 1st direction occurs between the recited features.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 (line 14): “a radiator a transmission line and a signal pad” should be amended to “a radiator, a transmission line and a signal pad”;
Claim 19 (line 21): “SUS plate” should be amended to “stainless steel plate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites: “the second conductive element includes a heat dissipation sheet, a digitizer, an electromagnetic wave shielding layer, a pressure sensor, a fingerprint sensor or a SUS plate of the image display device.” It is not clear whether the second conductive element includes each of the recited components, a combination of the recited components, or only a single one of the recited components. For examination purposes, this limitation is interpreted as “the second conductive element includes one of: a heat dissipation sheet, a digitizer, an electromagnetic wave shielding layer, a pressure sensor, a fingerprint sensor, or a SUS plate of the image display device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200112793 A, hereinafter Kim) in view of Choudhury (US 20090322643 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim (Figs. 1-3) discloses an antenna structure comprising:
a dielectric layer (120);
an antenna unit (130) disposed on the dielectric layer, the antenna unit comprising a radiator (132 – Figs. 1, 3), a signal pad (136 – Figs. 1, 3) and a transmission line (134 – Fig. 1) connecting the radiator and the signal pad to each other; and
a ground (110 – Figs. 2, 3) separated from the antenna unit in a thickness direction (1st direction) with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween.
Kim does not disclose at least one of a shortest distance between the ground and the radiator in the thickness direction, a shortest distance between the ground and the transmission line in the thickness direction, and a shortest distance between the ground and the signal pad in the thickness direction is different.
Choudhury (Fig. 5) teaches an antenna structure comprising a radiator (510), a signal pad (430), a transmission line (470) connecting the radiator and the signal pad to each other, and a ground (475), wherein the shortest distance between the ground and the radiator in the thickness direction, the shortest distance between the ground and the transmission line in the thickness direction, and the shortest distance between the ground and the signal pad in the thickness direction are different.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim so that at least one of a shortest distance between the ground and the radiator in the thickness direction, a shortest distance between the ground and the transmission line in the thickness direction, and a shortest distance between the ground and the signal pad in the thickness direction is different. This modification would provide a low cost and compact antenna structure enabling more efficient form factor design of access point or consumer electronic and handheld devices while providing increased operability in a variety of applications (see Choudhury, [0013], lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Kim teaches the antenna structure of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Kim does not teach explicitly the limitation wherein the shortest distance between the ground and the transmission line is greater than the shortest distance between the ground and the radiator.
However, Choudhury (Fig. 5) teaches the shortest distance between the ground (475) and the transmission line (470) is greater than the shortest distance between the ground (475) and the radiator (510).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim so that the shortest distance between the ground and the transmission line is greater than the shortest distance between the ground and the radiator. This modification would provide a low cost and compact antenna structure enabling more efficient form factor design of access point or consumer electronic and handheld devices while providing increased operability in a variety of applications (see Choudhury, [0013], lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Kim teaches the antenna structure of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Kim does not teach explicitly the limitation wherein the shortest distance between the ground and the transmission line is greater than the shortest distance between the ground and the signal pad.
However, Choudhury (Fig. 5) teaches the shortest distance between the ground (475) and the transmission line (470) is greater than the shortest distance between the ground (475) and the signal pad (430).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim so that the shortest distance between the ground and the transmission line is greater than the shortest distance between the ground and the signal pad. This modification would provide a low cost and compact antenna structure enabling more efficient form factor design of access point or consumer electronic and handheld devices while providing increased operability in a variety of applications (see Choudhury, [0013], lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Kim teaches the antenna structure of claim 1 as addressed above.
Further, Kim (Figs. 1, 2) teaches the radiator (132 – Fig. 1), the transmission line (134 – Fig. 1) and the signal pad (136 – Fig. 1) are disposed at the same level on the dielectric layer.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Kim as applied to claim 1 in view of Sakaida et al. (US 20230187837 A1, hereinafter Sakaida).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Kim teaches the antenna structure of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Kim does not teach the limitation wherein the ground comprises a first ground layer and a second ground layer disposed at different levels, and the first ground layer is closer to the antenna unit than the second ground layer.
Sakaida (Fig. 2) teaches an antenna structure comprising a radiator (121), a transmission line (310) connected to the radiator, and a ground (GND1 and GND2), wherein the ground comprises a first ground layer (GND2) and a second ground layer (GND1) disposed at different levels, and the first ground layer is closer to antenna unit (the antenna unit comprises the radiator (121) and the transmission line (310)) than the second ground layer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim so that the ground comprises a first ground layer and a second ground layer disposed at different levels, and the first ground layer is closer to the antenna unit than the second ground layer. This modification would provide an antenna structure with a decreased thickness, while preserving good antenna characteristics (see Sakaida, [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Kim teaches the antenna structure of claim 5 as addressed above.
The modified Kim does not teach explicitly the limitation wherein the antenna unit includes a solid portion having a solid structure and a mesh portion having a mesh structure.
However, in another embodiment, Kim (Kim-English Translation, p. 9, par. 8) teaches the antenna unit (130) includes a solid portion (inherent – the portion of the antenna unit which is different from the mesh portion is a solid portion; the solid portion comprises the transmission line (134) and the signal pad (136)) having a solid structure (inherent) and a mesh portion (132) having a mesh structure (inherent).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim so that the antenna unit includes a solid portion having a solid structure and a mesh portion having a mesh structure. This modification would improve the transmittance of the antenna structure (i.e., the transmittance of light, so that the antenna structure is less visible to an observer; see Kim-English Translation, p. 9, par. 8).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Kim teaches the antenna structure of claim 6 as addressed above.
The modified Kim does not teach explicitly the limitation wherein the solid portion includes an overlap region that overlaps the first ground layer and a non-overlap region that does not overlap the first ground layer.
However, Kim (Figs. 1-3) teaches the solid portion (transmission line (124) and signal pad (136)) includes an overlap region (136) that overlaps a ground layer (240) and a non-overlap region (134) that does not overlap the said ground layer (240).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim so that the solid portion includes an overlap region that overlaps the first ground layer and a non-overlap region that does not overlap the first ground layer. This modification would suppress noise generated from the power supply and, thus, improve the radiation efficiency and reliability of the antenna structure (see Kim-English Translation, p. 6, par. 13).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Kim teaches the antenna structure of claim 7 as addressed above.
The modified Kim does not teach explicitly the limitation wherein the non-overlap region includes the transmission line, and the overlap region includes at least a portion of the signal pad.
However, Kim (Figs. 1-3) teaches a non-overlap region and an overlap region between the antenna unit (130) and a ground layer (240), wherein the non-overlap region includes the transmission line (134) and the overlap region includes the signal pad (136).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim so that the non-overlap region includes the transmission line, and the overlap region includes at least a portion of the signal pad. This modification would suppress noise generated from the power supply and, thus, improve the radiation efficiency and reliability of the antenna structure (see Kim-English Translation, p. 6, par. 13).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Sakaida.
Regarding claim 9, Kim (Figs. 1-3) discloses an antenna structure comprising:
a dielectric layer (120);
an antenna unit (130) disposed on the dielectric layer;
a first ground layer disposed (110 – Figs. 2, 3) under the dielectric layer and separated from the antenna unit with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween.
Kim does not disclose a second ground layer disposed under the first ground layer, wherein a partial area of the antenna unit overlaps the second ground layer and does not overlap the first ground layer.
Sakaida (Fig. 2) teaches an antenna structure (120) comprising a first ground layer (GND2) and a second ground layer (GND, wherein a partial area (121) of an antenna unit (the antenna unit comprises the radiator (121) and the transmission line (310)) overlaps the second ground layer and does not overlap the first ground layer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim by adding a second ground layer disposed under the first ground layer, wherein a partial area of the antenna unit overlaps the second ground layer and does not overlap the first ground layer. This modification would provide an antenna structure with a decreased thickness, while preserving good antenna characteristics (see Sakaida, [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Kim teaches the antenna structure of claim 9 as addressed above.
Further, Kim (Figs. 1-3) teaches the antenna unit (130) comprises a radiator (132 – Figs. 1, 3), a signal pad (136 – Figs. 1, 3) and a transmission line (134 – Fig. 1) connecting the radiator and the signal pad to each other.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh et al. (KR 20220087006 A, hereinafter Huh) in view of Choudhury.
Regarding claim 13, Huh (Figs. 3, 4) discloses an image display device (200 – Fig. 4) comprising:
a display panel (210 – Fig. 4) comprising a dielectric layer (211 – Fig. 4) and a conductive element (240 – Fig. 4); and
an antenna unit (120) disposed on the display panel and separated from the conductive element in a thickness direction with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween, the antenna unit comprising a radiator (122 – Fig. 3), a transmission line (124 – Fig. 3) and a signal pad (126 – Fig. 3).
Huh does not disclose the limitation wherein at least one of a first shortest distance between the conductive element and the radiator in the thickness direction, a second shortest distance between the conductive element and the transmission line in the thickness direction, and a third shortest distance between the conductive element and the signal pad in the thickness direction is different.
Choudhury (Fig. 5) teaches an antenna structure comprising a radiator (510), a signal pad (430), a transmission line (470) connecting the radiator and the signal pad to each other, and a conductive element (475), a first shortest distance between the conductive element and the radiator in the thickness direction, a second shortest distance between the conductive element and the transmission line in the thickness direction, and a third shortest distance between the conductive element and the signal pad in the thickness direction are different (regarding the first shortest distance, the second shortest distance, and the third shortest distance, see annotated Fig. 5 in Choudhury below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim so that at least one of a first shortest distance between the conductive element and the radiator in the thickness direction, a second shortest distance between the conductive element and the transmission line in the thickness direction, and a third shortest distance between the conductive element and the signal pad in the thickness direction is different. This modification would provide a low cost and compact antenna structure enabling more efficient form factor design of access point or consumer electronic and handheld devices while providing increased operability in a variety of applications (see Choudhury, [0013], lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Huh teaches the image display device of claim 13 as addressed above.
The modified Huh does not teach explicitly the limitation wherein the second shortest distance is the largest of the first to third shortest distances.
However, Choudhury (Fig. 5) teaches the second shortest distance is the largest of the first to third shortest distances (regarding the first to third shortest distances, see annotated Fig. 5 in Choudhury above).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim so that teaches the second shortest distance is the largest of the first to third shortest distances. This modification would provide a low cost and compact antenna structure enabling more efficient form factor design of access point or consumer electronic and handheld devices while providing increased operability in a variety of applications (see Choudhury, [0013], lines 5-12).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Huh as applied to claim 13 in view of Campero et al. (US 20090295645 A1, hereinafter Campero).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Huh teaches the image display device of claim 13 as addressed above.
The modified Huh does not teach the limitation wherein the conductive element comprises a first conductive element and a second conductive element disposed at different levels, wherein each of the radiator, the transmission line and the signal pad overlaps at least one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element in the thickness direction.
Campero (Fig. 2) teaches a conductive element (120 and 130) comprising a first conductive element (130) and a second conductive element (120) disposed at different levels, wherein a radiator (110) and a transmission line (regarding the transmission line, see annotated Fig. 2 in Campero below) overlap the second conductive element in a thickness direction. Since the radiator, the transmission line, and the second conductive element are disposed on the same level in the thickness direction, and these elements have non-zero thickness this implies that the radiator and the transmission line overlap the second conductive element in the thickness direction. It is also well-known in the art that a signal pad is a part of the feeding mechanism of an antenna radiator, wherein the signal pad may be disposed on the same level with the transmission line feeding the antenna radiator and, thus, may also overlap the second conductive element in the thickness direction.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huh so that the conductive element comprises a first conductive element and a second conductive element disposed at different levels, wherein each of the radiator, the transmission line and the signal pad overlaps at least one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element in the thickness direction. This modification would provide an antenna unit that is easily fed (see Campero, [0045], lines 47-50).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Huh teaches the image display device of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Huh does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the first conductive element does not overlap the radiator, the transmission line or the signal pad in the thickness direction.
Campero (Fig. 2) teaches the first conductive element (130) does not overlap the radiator (110) and the transmission line in the thickness direction (regarding the transmission line and the thickness direction, see annotated Fig. 2 in Campero above; since the first conductive element is disposed on a different level in the thickness direction in relation to the radiator and the transmission line, this implies that the first conductive element does not overlap the radiator and the transmission line in the thickness direction).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huh so that the first conductive element does not overlap the radiator, the transmission line or the signal pad in the thickness direction. This modification would provide an antenna unit that is easily fed (see Campero, [0045], lines 47-50).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Huh teaches the image display device of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Huh does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the first conductive element does not overlap the transmission line in the thickness direction, and the radiator and the signal pad are at least partially superimposed over the first conductive element in the thickness direction.
Campero (Fig. 2) teaches the first conductive element (130) does not overlap the transmission line in the thickness direction (regarding the transmission line and the thickness direction, see annotated Fig. 2 in Campero above; since the first conductive element is disposed on a different level in the thickness direction in relation to the transmission line, this implies that the first conductive element does the transmission line in the thickness direction), and the radiator (110) is at least partially superimposed over the first conductive element in the thickness direction. Further, it is well-known in the art that a signal pad is a part of the feeding mechanism of an antenna radiator, wherein the signal pad can be disposed on the same level with the transmission line feeding the antenna radiator and in close proximity to the radiator. Thus, the signal pad may also be at least partially superimposed over the first conductive element in the thickness direction.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huh so that the first conductive element does not overlap the transmission line in the thickness direction, and the radiator and the signal pad are at least partially superimposed over the first conductive element in the thickness direction. This modification would provide an antenna unit that is easily fed (see Campero, [0045], lines 47-50).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Huh teaches the image display device of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Huh does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the first conductive element serves as an electrode structure of a touch panel or an electrode structure of a display device.
However, Huh (Fig. 4; Huh-English Translation, p. 7, par. 14) teaches a conductive element (218) which serves as an electrode structure of a display device (200).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huh so that the first conductive element serves as an electrode structure of a display device. This modification would provide a display device having an antenna structure with excellent signal efficiency, radiation characteristics and high reliability (see Huh-English Translation, p. 8, par. 15).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Huh teaches the image display device of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Huh does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the second conductive element includes a heat dissipation sheet, a digitizer, an electromagnetic wave shielding layer, a pressure sensor, a fingerprint sensor or a SUS plate of the image display device.
However, Huh (Fig. 4; Huh-English Translation, p. 8, par. 6) teaches a conductive element (240) which includes a heat dissipation sheet, a digitizer, an electromagnetic wave shielding layer, a pressure sensor, or a fingerprint sensor of the image display device (200).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huh so that the second conductive element includes a heat dissipation sheet, a digitizer, an electromagnetic wave shielding layer, a pressure sensor, or a fingerprint sensor of the image display device. This modification would provide a display device comprising an antenna structure having a vertical radiation property with high efficiency and reliability (see Huh-English Translation, p. 8, par. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIN STOYTCHEV STOYTCHEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845