DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-13, 15-16, 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US 7,881,035).
Regarding Claim 1, Takahashi discloses a device (Figures 1-12), comprising:
a first switching device (19, Figure 6) configured for coupling between a first end of a coil and a first potential node (19 coupling a first end of coil 20 and VB, Figure 6);
a second switching device (23, Figure 6) configured for coupling between a second end of the coil and a second potential node (23 coupling a second end of 20 and GND, Figure 6);
a zener diode (22, Figure 6) coupled across the second switching device (22 coupled across 23, Figure 6); and
a third switching device(21, Figure 6) coupled to the first and second switching devices (21 coupled to 19 and 23, Figure 6), wherein the first, second, and third switching devices and the zener diode are configured to control current to the coil in a plurality of modes for controlling a position of a mechanically biased contactor to selectively electrically connect terminals (Figure 6, Abstract, controlling current in coil 20 to control contactor in a fuel pump device, Column 6, lines 29-Column 7, line 46).
Regarding Claim 2, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 1, wherein the first switching device comprises a high side device and the second switching device comprises a low side device (19 comprises a high side device/coupled to VB and 23 comprises a low side device/coupled to GND, Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 1, wherein the device is configured to make a first series circuit path though the first switching device, the coil, and the second switching device (19, 20, 23 coupled in series forming a first series circuit path, Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 5, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 4, wherein the device is configured to make a second series circuit path though the first switching device, the coil, and the zener diode (19, 20, 22 coupled in series forming a second series circuit path, Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 5, wherein the device is configured to make a third series circuit path though the first switching device and the third switching device (19, 21 coupled in series forming a third series circuit path, Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 7, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 1, wherein the device is configured to make a first circuit loop with the second switching device and the zener diode (23, 22 parallel connected forming a circuit loop, Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 8, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 7, wherein the device is configured to make a second circuit loop with the coil, the third switching device and the second switching device (20, 23 coupled in parallel with 21 forming a second circuit loop, Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 1, wherein the plurality of modes include drive (Column 6, lines 40-60), recirculate (Column 6, line 61-Column 7, line 3), and drop out (Column 7, lines 4-18).
Regarding Claim 10, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 9, wherein the drive mode is configured to move the contactor to connect the terminals (Column 6, lines 40-60).
Regarding Claim 11, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 10, wherein the recirculate mode is configured to maintain the contactor in position to connect the terminals (Column 6, line 61-Column 7, line 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 11, wherein the drop out mode is configured to enable the zener diode to rapidly de-energize the coil current for disconnecting the terminals (Column 7, lines 4-18, “….This large voltage developed on the opposite ends of Zener diode 22 cannot be consumed by the flywheel diode 21 due to the existence of the Zener diode 22 but can be completely consumed by the Zener diode. Because of this, it is possible to further shorten the fall time of electric current as compared with the conventional circuit configuration shown in FIG. 1….”).
Regarding Claim 13, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 1, wherein the device is configured so that the coil is not connected to the first or second potential nodes (coil 20 connected to a terminal of 19 and to a terminal of 23, not connected to Vb and GND, Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 15, Takahashi discloses a method (Figures 1-12, Abstract), comprising:
coupling, in a gate driver device, a first switching device between a first terminal for a first end of a coil and a first potential node (coupling 19 between a first end of 20 and VB, Figure 6);
coupling a second switching device between a second terminal for a second end of the coil and a second potential node (coupling 23 between a second end of coil 20 and GND, Figure 6);
coupling a zener diode across the second switching device (coupling 22 across 23, Figure 6); and
coupling a third switching device to the first and second switching devices (coupling 21 to 19 and 23, Figure 6), wherein the first, second, and third switching devices and the zener diode are configured to control current to the coil in a plurality of modes for controlling a position of a mechanically biased contactor to selectively electrically connect terminals (Figure 6, Abstract, controlling current in a plurality of modes for controlling current through coil 20 to control contactor in a fuel pump device, Column 6, lines 29-Column 7, line 46).
Claims 16, 18-27 recite the method corresponding to the device of Claims 2, 4-13 respectively. Therefore, Claims 16, 18-27 are rejected at least for the same reasons as for Claims 2, 4-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 7,881,035) in view of Shiomi (US 2022/0406542).
Regarding Claim 3, Takahashi discloses the device according to Claim 1, wherein the first, and second switching devices comprise FET devices (19 and 23 are MOSFET devices as shown in Figure 6, Column 6, lines 32-39). Takahashi does not specifically disclose the third switching device comprise FET device.
Shiomi discloses a device (Figures 1-3), comprising:
a first switching device (TR1, Figure 1) configured for coupling between a first end of a coil and a first potential node (TR1 coupling a first end of coil CO1 and first/positive potential node, Figure 1);
a second switching device (TR3, Figure 1) configured for coupling between a second end of the coil and a second potential node TR3 coupling a second end of CO1 and a second/negative potential node, Figure 1); and
a third switching device (comprising TR2, Figure 1) coupled to the first and second switching devices (TR2 coupled to TR1 and TR3, Figure 1), wherein the first, second, and third switching devices are configured to control current to the coil in a plurality of modes for controlling a position of a mechanically biased contactor to selectively electrically connect terminals (for controlling current to coil CO1 for controlling position of contactor F01, Figures 1-3, Figure 2, third graph shows current vs time curve), wherein the first, second and third switching devices comprise FET devices (Tr1, TR3 and TR2 are MOSFET devices as shown in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the device of Takahashi, the third switching device comprising an FET device similarly to the first and second and as taught by Shiomi, to a have controllable switching device to more accurately current through the coil and the switching modes.
Claim 17 recites the method corresponding to the device of Claim 3. Therefore, Claim 14 is rejected at least for the same reasons as for Claim 3.
Claims 14, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 7,881,035) in view of Yamazaki (US 6,923,163).
Regarding Claim 14, Takahashi does not specifically disclose the device according to Claim 1, wherein the first switching device is configured to operate in pulse width modulation mode.
Yamazaki discloses a device (Figures 1-16), comprising:
a first switching device (61, Figure 2) configured for coupling between a first end of a coil and a first potential node (61 coupling a first end of coil DCP, 2 and first potential node at drain terminal of 61, Figure 2);
a second switching device (31, Figure 2) configured for coupling between a second end of the coil and a second potential node (31 coupling a second end of DCP, 2 and a second potential node at source terminal of 31/ground, Figure 2); wherein the first switching device is configured to operate in pulse width modulation mode (Abstract, Figures 3, 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the first transistor in the device of Takahashi, in pulse width modulation mode as taught by Yamazaki, to easily adjust/control the duty cycle of the drive signal to control the driving current during different operating modes.
Claim 28 recites the method corresponding to the device of Claim 14. Therefore, Claim 28 is rejected at least for the same reasons as for Claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments toward solenoid coil 20 and the disclosed fuel pump circuit of Takahashi, examiner respectfully notes that Takahashi’s solenoid 20 in Figure 6 is schematically shown similarly to Figure 3 of the instant application. By energizing and de-energizing the solenoid, the contacts of the fuel pump are connected or disconnected Asayama (US 2020/0049117) shows solenoid 35, movable contact 41, 43 and fixed contact 36 in Figures 2-4 and the mechanical movement of 41, 43 described in Paragraphs 25-26.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jia et al. (US 2023/0040517) discloses a device in Figure 2, comprising: a first switching device (THi) configured for coupling between a first end of a coil and a first potential node (Thi coupling a first end of coil 120 and 105); a second switching device (TLi) configured for coupling between a second end of the coil and a second potential node (TLi coupling a second end of 120 and 115); a zener diode (VZi) coupled across the second switching device (VZi coupled across TLi).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 9/11/2026
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838