DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwoczek, EP 3200429 A1 (hereinafter Kwoczek).
Regarding claim 1, Kwoczek discloses an information processing device that is installed in a vehicle (disclosed is a network access point that is installed in a vehicle, according to Abstract), the information processing device comprising:
a first communication module for performing communication with a cellular communication network (the vehicle’s network access point accesses a cellular network, according to page 5 lines 17-37); a second communication module for performing communication among vehicles (the vehicle’s network access point communicates with other vehicles, according to page 5 lines 17-37); and
a control unit (the vehicle’s network access point comprises a processor, such as a CPU, according to page 5 lines 39-48) that executes
receiving, from one or more other vehicles via the second communication module, communication state data relating to a state of communication with the cellular communication network (the vehicle receives, from another vehicle, information about the current and/or future state of the cellular network, according to page 5 lines 17-37), and
determining whether a failure is occurring on the cellular communication network, based on a state of communication via the first communication module, and the communication state data (based on both information from the cellular network and the information about the current and/or future state of the cellular network received from the other vehicle, the vehicle detects a failure of the cellular network for a particular area, according to page 5 lines 17-37).
Regarding claim 2, Kwoczek discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit stores the communication state data received from the other vehicles in a storage unit, and when an abnormality occurs in communication via the first communication module, performs determination based on the communication state data that is stored (information on the current and/or future state of the cellular network that is passed from one vehicle to another vehicle via car-to-car communication is stored by the receiving vehicle in order to facilitate an appropriate response from said receiving vehicle to a determined cellular network issue, such as a low data rate or a failure, according to page 5 lines 17-37).
Regarding claim 3, Kwoczek discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when an abnormality occurs in communication via the first communication module, the control unit generates the communication state data and broadcasts the communication state data via the second communication module (when the vehicle detects a failure of the cellular network, then said vehicle passes this information on to other vehicles via car-to-car communication, according to page 5 lines 17-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwoczek as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Eglip et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0303794 (hereinafter Eglip).
Regarding claim 4, Kwoczek discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Kwoczek does not expressly disclose that the control unit calculates a proportion of a plurality of the other vehicles that is currently not performing normal communication with the cellular communication network, based on the communication state data received from the other vehicles, and determines that a failure is occurring on the cellular communication network, when the proportion exceeds a predetermined value.
Eglip discloses that the control unit calculates a proportion of a plurality of the other vehicles that is currently not performing normal communication with the cellular communication network, based on the communication state data received from the other vehicles (an FH (failure handling) module [“control unit”] calculates the percentage of UEs (whereby UEs may be autonomous vehicles, according to [0037]) whose profile registration requests experience failures during a time period, according to [0026]), and
determines that a failure is occurring on the cellular communication network, when the proportion exceeds a predetermined value (the FH module determines that there’s a persistent failure for a 4G or 5G network based on the aforementioned percentage crossing a threshold, according to [0025]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwoczek with Eglip such that the control unit calculates a proportion of a plurality of the other vehicles that is currently not performing normal communication with the cellular communication network, based on the communication state data received from the other vehicles, and determines that a failure is occurring on the cellular communication network, when the proportion exceeds a predetermined value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate effective failure handling in a cellular network (Eglip: [0011]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Kwoczek discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Kwoczek discloses that the control unit determines that a failure is occurring on the cellular communication network, when an own vehicle is in a service range of the cellular communication network (the vehicle’s network access point determines that there’s a cellular network failure based on said network access point’s access to said cellular network [“in a service range of the cellular communication network”], according to page 5 lines 17-37).
Kwoczek does not expressly disclose that the control unit calculates a proportion of a plurality of the other vehicles that is currently not performing normal communication with the cellular communication network, based on the communication state data received from the other vehicles, and determines that a failure is occurring on the cellular communication network, when the proportion exceeds a predetermined value.
Eglip discloses that the control unit calculates a proportion of a plurality of the other vehicles that is currently not performing normal communication with the cellular communication network, based on the communication state data received from the other vehicles (an FH module calculates the percentage of UEs (whereby UEs may be autonomous vehicles, according to [0037]) whose profile registration requests experience failures during a time period, according to [0026]), and
determines that a failure is occurring on the cellular communication network, when the proportion exceeds a predetermined value (the FH module determines that there’s a persistent failure for a 4G or 5G network based on the aforementioned percentage crossing a threshold, according to [0025]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwoczek with Eglip such that the control unit calculates a proportion of a plurality of the other vehicles that is currently not performing normal communication with the cellular communication network, based on the communication state data received from the other vehicles, and determines that a failure is occurring on the cellular communication network, when the proportion exceeds a predetermined value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate effective failure handling in a cellular network (Eglip: [0011]-[0012]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645