DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 4/6/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-6 and 9-14 remain pending in the present application.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 depends from claim 2 which has been canceled. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 12 to depend from claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bizouard US 2024/0253491 (hereinafter Bizouard) in view of Langtry US 8272108 (hereinafter Langtry).
Re. Cl. 1, Bizouard discloses: A holder (Fig. 25), comprising: a cord (102, Fig. 7), two half bodies (see annotated figure 26), which, in an assembled state, form an overall hollow body (see Fig. 24-26) including: one holding section (170, Fig. 25) for receiving, guiding and/or holding at least one elongated object (see 150, Fig. 25); and one fastening section (2602, Fig. 27) having a cord holder being of a self-fixing configuration (2606, Fig. 27; Paragraph 0224, “wire clamp”), said cord holder configured to self-fix said cord disposed in said one fastening section with a clamping action by an imposition of a load (Paragraph 0224, the wire clamp as discussed would function in the manner claimed since a wire clamp would need to self-fix by action of a load, holding the wire within the clmap).
Re. Cl. 10, Bizouard discloses: each of said half bodies has an axially extending (see annotated figure 26, shown as being joined together using fasteners), semicircular longitudinal opening formed therein in said one holding section (see Fig. 24-26, as having 150 pass through), wherein, in the assembled state of said half bodies, each said axially extending, semicircular longitudinal opening forms a holding opening for the at least one elongated object to be held (see Fig. 24-26).
Re. Cl. 11, Bizouard discloses: said self-fixing configuration is a self-clamping configuration (Paragraph 0224, clamping configuration with “wire clamp”).
Re. Cl. 12, Bizouard discloses: said cord holder is configured to self-fix said cord by fixing said cord with a clamping action (Paragraph 0224, clamping configuration with “wire clamp”).
Re. Cls. 1, 4-6, 9 and 11-12, Bizouard does not disclose at least two clamping bodies disposed in said fastening section and including a fixed first clamping body and a movable or loosely placed second clamping body, wherein said second clamping body is placed in a loop of said cord, wherein said cord is guided without knots in a meandering way around said at least two clamping bodies, and wherein with an imposition of the load on said cord tightens said loop and moves said second clamping body in a direction toward said fixed first clamping body with a result that said cord is fixed with a clamping action (Cl. 1), at least one of said half bodies contains, in said fastening section, said at least two clamping bodies, which are configured, when the load is imposed, to fix said cord between said at least two clamping bodies with [[a]]the clamping action and/or to fix said cord in a fixed position on said at least two clamping bodies (Cl. 4), said first clamping body is disposed in a fixed location in said fastening section (Cl. 5), said fixed first clamping body is configured as a cord guiding body (Cl. 6), said clamping bodies are formed in said one fastening section and disposed relative to one another such that said cord is guided in said meandering way around said at least two clamping bodies (Cl. 9), said self-fixing configuration is a self-clamping configuration (Cl. 11) or said cord holder is configured to self-fix said cord by fixing said cord with a clamping action (Cl. 12). Langtry discloses a cord holder (Fig. 2) in the form of self-fixing configuration (see Fig. 2 between 30, 20 and 22) which includes at least two clamping bodies (20 and 30, Fig. 2) disposed in said fastening section (see Fig. 2) and including a fixed first clamping body (20, Fig. 2) and a movable or loosely placed second clamping body (30, Fig. 2), wherein said second clamping body is placed in a loop of said cord (see Fig. 5b, loop around 30), wherein said cord is guided without knots in a meandering way around said at least two clamping bodies (see Fig. 5a-b), and wherein with an imposition of the load on said cord tightens said loop and moves said second clamping body in a direction toward said fixed first clamping body with a result that said cord is fixed with a clamping action (see Fig. 5a-b, a load acting to pull 30 towards 20, thus creating the configuration of Fig. 5a);, said first clamping body is disposed in a fixed location in said fastening section (see Fig. 5a-b); said fixed first clamping body is configured as a cord guiding body (see Fig. 5a-b, guiding 60 as shown); said clamping bodies are formed in said one fastening section and disposed relative to one another such that said cord is guided in said meandering way around said at least two clamping bodies (see Fig. 5a-b); said self-fixing configuration is a self-clamping configuration (see Fig. 5a, self clamping between 20 and 30); said cord holder is configured to self-fix said cord by fixing said cord with a clamping action (see Fig. 5a, between 20 and 30).
It would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire clamp of Bizouard to include the clamping bodies of Langtry with reasonable expectation of success since Langtry states that such a modification binding the strap/cord so that it will not slip through (Col. 5, Lines 38-43). Such a modification would provide a secure connection and be prevented from failure due to not allowing the cord to slip through.
Re. Cl. 4, the combination of Bizouard in view of Langtry would disclose at least one of said half bodies contains, in said fastening section said at least two clamping bodies (see Fig. 26 in Bizouard, by having the half bodies containing wire receiver 2604 which includes the “wire clamp” as discussed in Paragraph 0224, modifying the wire clamp to include the clamping bodies as disclosed would likewise have the clamping bodies disposed therein), which are configured, when the load is imposed, to fix said cord between said at least two clamping bodies with the clamping action and/or to fix said cord in a fixed position on said at least two clamping bodies (see Fig. 5a-b in Langtry).
Re. Cl. 13, Bizouard in view of Langtry discloses: A charging column for an electric vehicle (100, Fig. 1), the charging column comprising: a charging cable (150, Fig. 1); a cord hanger configuration (192, Fig. 1); and at least one said holder according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein said charging cable is disposed partially in said one holding section of said at least one holder (see Fig. 1), and a free end of said cord in said at least one holder is secured on said cord hanger arrangement (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 14, Bizouard in view of Langtry discloses: said cord hanger configuration has at least one joint or hinge (see Fig. 3-5; 302), which are configured to extend said cord hanger configuration in response to a pulling force acting on the charging cable (Paragraph 0082, the drum retrieves and extends the cord 102 to lift a portion of the charging cable 150).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 9-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Else US 4614007, Lee US 2024/0301972, and Rishel US 2602206 disclose other known holder arrangements presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632