DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/26 have been fully considered but they are moot due to new ground rejection shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (US 20230354169 A1) in view of Horrell (US 20180247239 A1).
For claim 1, Jia discloses a method of end-to-end (E2E) network resource planning in a cellular network ([0014] “t can be possible to define end-to-end network slicing, wherein one or more CN slice(s) is intelligently paired with one of more RAN slice(s) to adaptively define an end-to-end network-on-demand for services employing differing application(s) and/or service(s), business agreement(s), etc.”), the method comprising:
identifying a plurality of network elements in the cellular network, wherein the plurality of network elements comprises a first network element in a base station, a second network element in a transport, a third network element in a core network, and a fourth network element in a cloud-computing platform, and wherein each network element of the plurality of network elements is a functional entity using network resources in the cellular network (“[0014] As mentioned, modern networks, e.g., 5G, 6G, etc., can be highly resource intensive in terms of handling mobile-to-mobile (M2M), ‘internet of things’ (IoT), augmented/virtual reality (AR/VR), telehealth, targeted mobile advertising, connected cars, and other applications/services/technologies. … support for device types and device dependent capabilities, scalability for various device densities, etc., to provide consistent end user quality for a given use in a heterogeneous networking environment. …network slicing concepts can enable use of standardized network elements and functions in a manner that can be dynamically re-configurable within a network operator architecture to be able to create and deliver a given mobility service. Logically slicing a core network into multiple virtual networks, hereinafter referred to as core network (CN) slice(s), can enable designation of and/or optimization of the CN slice to meet dynamically changing demands on the CN. .… it can be possible to define end-to-end network slicing, wherein one or more CN slice(s) is intelligently paired with one of more RAN slice(s) to adaptively define an end-to-end network-on-demand for services employing differing application(s) and/or service(s), business agreement(s), etc.”, “[0018] … Moreover, as network functions transform from a physical to a virtual domain, e.g., in a cloud centric environment, etc., this transformation can open up innovative opportunities to be able to design fully programmable mobile networks …” and “[0032] … portions of the communications framework, e.g., RAN, transport, core, applications, virtualized functions, etc., can feed analytics data to a master analytics engine, e.g., MAE 110, 210, 310, etc. The MAE can enable design of a slice, e.g., having specific capabilities and associated metrics derived from policy driven rules, etc. …”; note that a M2M network, such as 5G or 6G networks includes RAN includes a base station and suggests a first network element/slice of BS; IoT refers the Internet protocols IPv4 and Ipv6 that reads on a second network element/slice transport (see [0050] of the specification); CN slicing reads on third network element/slice of CN) network element/slice; and a cloud and virtual network slice suggests a 4th network element/slice associated with a cloud-computing network);
identifying, for each network element of the plurality of network elements, a capacity metric, of a plurality of capacity metrics, associated with respective network element of the plurality of network elements (“[0032] … portions of the communications framework, e.g., RAN, transport, core, applications, virtualized functions, etc., can feed analytics data to a master analytics engine, e.g., MAE 110, 210, 310, etc. The MAE can enable design of a slice, e.g., having specific capabilities and associated metrics derived from policy driven rules, etc. …”; note that each network slice/element has a specific capabilities and metrics from policy driven rules);
determining, for each network element of the plurality of network elements, a threshold criterion of the capacity metric for a respective network element of the plurality of network elements (“[0042] … In an aspect, the traffic analytic data can reflect a performance characteristic that can be altered, for example by moving traffic onto network slice of a modified group of network slices. As an example, network analytic data can indicate that a RAN network slice performance is approaching a threshold limit due to an amount of traffic employing the RAN network slice. Accordingly, deploying a new RAN network slice that is designed to accommodate more traffic can allow use of the new RAN network slice to alleviate or avoid performance degradation by continuing to use the prior RAN network slice with increased traffic. …”; note that the exemplified technique for RAN can be applied to each of other network elements).
Jia is silent on: predicting, for each network element of the plurality of network elements, a timepoint of a breakage associated with the network element, wherein the breakage occurs responsive to a corresponding capacity metric associated with the network element satisfying a corresponding threshold criterion determined for the network element.
Horrell, in the same field of endeavor of wireless network, discloses predicting a failure/breakage timepoint of a network element, wherein the failure/breakage occurs responsive to a corresponding capacity metric associated with the network element based on a threshold criterion determined for the network element (“[0067] … the asset's local analytics device may begin a process of iteratively expanding the first base region sequentially in time (e.g., on a timepoint-by-timepoint basis) and determining whether an approximation function (e.g., a linear function, quadratic, etc.) can be applied to the expanded first base region that satisfies the error tolerance condition until the base region gets expanded to a “failure” timepoint where the approximation function no longer satisfies the error tolerance condition. …”). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the technique of Horrell above to the cellular network including a plurality of network elements by Jia to yield a predictable result of predicting a timepoint of failure/breakage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Jia and Horrell for the benefit of predicting timepoints of failure/breakage of network elements ([0067] of Horrell).
Independent claim 9 is rejected because it is a generic computing system that performs the method of claim 1 and has the subject matter as claim 1.
Independent claim 17 is rejected because it is a non-transitory, computer-readable storage media encoded instructions for performing the method of claim 1 and has the subject matter as claim 1.
As to claims 2, 10 and 18, Jia in view of Horrell discloses claims 1, 9 and 17, Jia further discloses: wherein the plurality of network elements comprise at least one of: a first set of network elements including the first network element in one or more base stations including the base station, a second set of network elements including the second network element in one or more transports including the transport, a third set of network elements including the third network element in one or more core networks, or a fourth set of network elements in one or more cloud-computing platforms including the cloud-computing platform (“[0014] As mentioned, modern networks, e.g., 5G, 6G, etc., can be highly resource intensive in terms of handling mobile-to-mobile (M2M), ‘internet of things’ (IoT), augmented/virtual reality (AR/VR), telehealth, targeted mobile advertising, connected cars, and other applications/services/technologies. … support for device types and device dependent capabilities, scalability for various device densities, etc., to provide consistent end user quality for a given use in a heterogeneous networking environment. …network slicing concepts can enable use of standardized network elements and functions in a manner that can be dynamically re-configurable within a network operator architecture to be able to create and deliver a given mobility service. Logically slicing a core network into multiple virtual networks, hereinafter referred to as core network (CN) slice(s), can enable designation of and/or optimization of the CN slice to meet dynamically changing demands on the CN. .… it can be possible to define end-to-end network slicing, wherein one or more CN slice(s) is intelligently paired with one of more RAN slice(s) to adaptively define an end-to-end network-on-demand for services employing differing application(s) and/or service(s), business agreement(s), etc.” “[0018] … Moreover, as network functions transform from a physical to a virtual domain, e.g., in a cloud centric environment, etc., this transformation can open up innovative opportunities to be able to design fully programmable mobile networks …” and “[0032] … portions of the communications framework, e.g., RAN, transport, core, applications, virtualized functions, etc., can feed analytics data to a master analytics engine, e.g., MAE 110, 210, 310, etc. The MAE can enable design of a slice, e.g., having specific capabilities and associated metrics derived from policy driven rules, etc. …”; note that a M2M network, such as 5G or 6G networks includes RAN includes a base station and suggests a first network element/slice of BS; IoT refers the Internet protocols IPv4 and Ipv6 that reads on a second network element/slice transport (see [0050] of the specification); CN slicing reads on third network element/slice of CN) network element/slice; and a cloud and virtual network slice suggests a 4th network element/slice associated with a cloud-computing network).
As to claims 3 and 11, Jia in view of Horrell discloses claims 1 and 9, Jia further discloses: wherein the first network elements comprises at least one of: a radio unit (RU), a distributed unit (DU), a control plane centralized unit (CU-CP), a user plane centralized unit (CU-UP), a sector, or a cell site, wherein the second network elements comprises at least one of: an interface, or a communication link, wherein the third network elements comprises at least one network function, and wherein the fourth network elements comprises at least one cloud-native network function (p2, last para “… Taking the MSC group pool as an example, when a terminal enters the coverage area of a certain MSC pool, the radio access network (Radio Access Network, RAN) node will randomly allocate the terminal location update request to the pool in accordance with the principle of load balancing For a certain MSC, this MSC completes the location update process and subsequent traffic services. …”; note that it is well known in the art that RAN comprises DU-CP and CU-CP, and Examiner takes an official notice on this statement. For example, US 20200044943 A1 discloses it in [0088] “… RAN-CP (RAN control plane) including CU-CP (CU control plane) and DU-CP (DU control plane), …”).
As to claims 4, 12 and 19, Jia in view of Horrell discloses claims 1, 9 and 17, Jia further discloses: wherein the plurality of capacity metrics characterize: a type of traffic handled by a respective network element, a user service requirement associated with a respective network element, a quality of service (QoS) identifier associated with a respective network element, a key performance indicator (KPI) of an infrastructure resource associated with a respective network element, a status of a respective network element, a count of same-type network elements, and a count of another-type network elements served by a respective network element (“[0052] … These performance parameters, e.g., bandwidth, QoS, throughput, latency, services, virtual network functions (VNFs), etc., can be reflected in a slice of AP device computing resources, e.g., one or more AP slices. The slices can be determined therefore be based on device information, e.g., device type, device model, device ownership, device performance metrics (key performance indicators (KPIs), etc.), user preferences corresponding to the device and/or device environment, services to be implemented via the device, or any of many other pieces of device related information. …”).
As to claims 5 and 13, Jia in view of Horrell discloses claims 1 and 9, Jia further discloses: wherein the threshold criterion of the capacity metric for each network element of the plurality of network elements is determined using historical data or one or more capacity limits of the network element (“[0020] … analysis of information pertaining to the device/service using the spectrum, in addition to analysis of the AP slice(s), a BH slice(s), a RAN slice(s), a CN slice(s), etc., can therefore enable intelligent use of historical information to facilitate allocation of an end-to-end network slice combining one or more of the segment slices, …” in view of the parent claims).
As to claims 6, 14 and 20, Jia in view of Horrell discloses claims 1,9 and 17, Jia further discloses: wherein the timepoint of the breakage associated with each network element of the plurality of network elements is predicted according to historical data (“[0020] … analysis of information pertaining to the device/service using the spectrum, in addition to analysis of the AP slice(s), a BH slice(s), a RAN slice(s), a CN slice(s), etc., can therefore enable intelligent use of historical information to facilitate allocation of an end-to-end network slice combining one or more of the segment slices, …” in view of the parent claims).
As to claims 7 and 15, Jia in view of Horrell discloses claims 1 and 9, Jia further discloses:
wherein the timepoint of the breakage associated with each network element of the plurality of network elements is predicted using a machine learning model (“[0031] In some embodiments, an inference can be formed by a machine learning component, an artificial intelligence component, etc., which inference can be employed in determining, designating, sorting, ordering, ranking, etc., an AP, RAN, BH, CN, or combination slice(s).…” in view of the parent claims).
As to claims 8 and 16, Jia in view of Horrell discloses claims 1 and 9, Jia further discloses:
taking an action regarding a predicted timepoint of the breakage, wherein the action comprises adjusting at least one of: a capacity of memory, a capacity of storage, a number of central processing units (CPUs), or a bandwidth of network interconnection (“[0054] … Where there is a change in the demand on the AP computing resources, e.g., processors, memory, network, etc., for example due to a change in use or function of a UE, the AP slice can be adapted. …” in view of the parent claims).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462