DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment/argument have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in addition of Inoue US 11,206,007.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,188. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent ‘188 claims an acoustic wave device comprising: a quartz substrate including a first surface being a minus surface; a piezoelectric plate formed from LiTaO.sub.3 or LiNbO.sub.3 and including a first surface configured to support a surface acoustic wave and a second surface in direct engagement with the first surface of the quartz substrate, the second surface being a minus surface; and an interdigital transducer electrode formed on the first surface of the piezoelectric plate; a method for fabricating the acoustic wave device; and a radio frequency filter comprising input and output nodes, acoustic wave device between the input and output nodes.
Claims 23, 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,188 in view of Inoue US 11,206,007. Patent ‘188 discloses a method for fabricating an acoustic wave device; and a radio frequency filter comprising input and output nodes, the acoustic wave device between the input and output nodes; and the acoustic wave device comprising: a quartz substrate including a first surface; a piezoelectric plate formed from LiTaO.sub.3 or LiNbO.sub.3 and including a first surface configured to support a surface acoustic wave and a second surface in direct engagement with the first surface of the quartz substrate, the second surface being a minus surface; and an interdigital transducer electrode formed on the first surface of the piezoelectric plate; but does not disclose the first surface of the quartz substrate being a minus surface.
Inoue discloses an acoustic wave device comprising a quartz substrate; a piezoelectric plate; an interdigital transducer electrode; wherein the quartz substrate has corresponding Euler angles (e.g., Col. 13 lines 15-18, etc.; Figs. 6, 10, 11A, etc.), which resulted a first surface being a minus surface (see Applicant’s Table 1, Fig. 6B).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the quartz substrate with the Euler Angles as in Inoue. The modification would have been obvious because improvements for K2, Q, TCF, and delta TCF parameters can be provided (Col. 11 lines 55-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 23, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe US 9,431,996 in view of Inoue US 11,206,007.
1. Watanabe discloses an acoustic wave device (Fig. 1A, etc.) comprising:
a quartz substrate (2; Col. 7 lines 14-24) including a first (top) surface;
a piezoelectric plate formed from LiTaO.sub.3 or LiNbO.sub.3 (5; Col. 9 lines 5-12) and including a first (top) surface configured to support a surface acoustic wave and a second (bottom) surface in engagement with the first surface of the quartz substrate, the second surface being a minus surface (Col. 9 line 7, the Euler angle of the piezoelectric layer gives the minus bottom surface, see Applicant’s Table 1); and
an interdigital transducer electrode (6) formed on the first surface of the piezoelectric plate.
Watanabe does not explicitly disclose the first surface of the quartz substrate being a minus surface.
Inoue discloses an acoustic wave device comprising a quartz substrate; a piezoelectric plate; an interdigital transducer electrode; wherein the quartz substrate has corresponding Euler angles (e.g., Col. 13 lines 15-18, etc.; Figs. 6, 10, 11A, etc.), which resulted a first surface being a minus surface (see Applicant’s Table 1).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the quartz substrate with the Euler Angles as in Inoue. The modification would have been obvious because improvements for K2, Q, TCF, and delta TCF parameters can be provided (Col. 11 lines 55-58).
23. Watanabe discloses a method for fabricating (realized by) an acoustic wave device (Fig. 1A, etc.), the method comprising:
forming or providing a quartz substrate (2; Col. 7 lines 14-24) having a first (top) surface;
forming or providing a piezoelectric plate with LiTaO.sub.3 or LiNbO.sub.3 (5; Col. 9 lines 5-12) to include a first (top) surface configured to support a surface acoustic wave and a second (bottom) surface being a minus surface (Col. 9 line 7, the Euler angle of the piezoelectric layer gives the minus bottom surface, see Applicant’s Table 1); and
coupling the piezoelectric plate with the quartz substrate such that the minus surface of the piezoelectric plate engages the first surface of the quartz substrate (see Fig. 1A).
Watanabe does not explicitly disclose the first surface of the quartz substrate being a minus surface.
Inoue discloses an acoustic wave device comprising a quartz substrate; a piezoelectric plate; an interdigital transducer electrode; wherein the quartz substrate has corresponding Euler angles (e.g., Col. 13 lines 15-18, etc.; Figs. 6, 10, 11A, etc.), which resulted a first surface being a minus surface (see Applicant’s Table 1).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the quartz substrate with the Euler Angles as in Inoue. The modification would have been obvious because improvements for K2, Q, TCF, and delta TCF parameters can be provided (Col. 11 lines 55-58).
40. Watanabe discloses a radio-frequency filter (Fig. 1A, etc.; Col. 1 lines 7-8, Col. 9 lines 20-31) comprising:
an input node for receiving a signal (inherent to the filter);
an output node for providing a filtered signal (inherent to the filter); and
an acoustic wave device implemented to be electrically between the input node and the output node to generate the filtered signal (Col. 9 lines 20-31; e.g., ladder filter), the acoustic wave device including a quartz substrate (2; Col. 7 lines 14-24) with a first (top) surface, and a piezoelectric plate formed from LiTaO.sub.3 or LiNbO.sub.3 (5; Col. 9 lines 5-12) and having a first (top) surface configured to support a surface acoustic wave and a second (bottom) surface in engagement with the first surface of the quartz substrate, the second surface being a minus surface (Col. 9 line 7, the Euler angle of the piezoelectric layer gives the minus bottom surface, see Applicant’s Table 1), the acoustic wave device further including an interdigital transducer electrode (6) formed on the first surface of the piezoelectric plate.
Watanabe does not explicitly disclose the first surface of the quartz substrate being a minus surface.
Inoue discloses an acoustic wave device comprising a quartz substrate; a piezoelectric plate; an interdigital transducer electrode; wherein the quartz substrate has corresponding Euler angles (e.g., Col. 13 lines 15-18, etc.; Figs. 6, 10, 11A, etc.), which resulted a first surface being a minus surface (see Applicant’s Table 1).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the quartz substrate with the Euler Angles as in Inoue. The modification would have been obvious because improvements for K2, Q, TCF, and delta TCF parameters can be provided (Col. 11 lines 55-58).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843