Response to Amendment
Applicant’s 7-7-2026 Amendment was received. Claims 1 and 4 were amended. Claims 5-6 and 25 were cancelled. New Claim 26 was presented. Claims 2-3 and 7-23 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 4, and 26 are examined in this action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: plurality of grabber elements; and the grabber elements comprise one or more first grabber elements and one or more second grabber elements, in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 2516296 A to Wraith.
In re Claim 1, Wraith an underwater tool (see Wraith, abstract) comprising
a grabber arrangement (see Figs. 1-7, gripping leg #16/gripping leg #16) and a cutter arrangement (see Figs. 1-7, diamond wire #14 its associated structure, wherein the grabber arrangement comprises:
a plurality of grabber elements (see Figs. 1-7, gripping leg #16/gripping leg #16); and the grabber elements comprise one or more first grabber elements (see Figs. 1-7, “right hand” gripping leg #16; see also annotated Fig. 1, below) and one or more second grabber elements (see Figs. 1-7, “left hand” gripping leg #16; see also annotated Fig. 1, below),
the one or more first grabber elements and the one or more second grabber elements being pivotably attached to a body of the tool (see Figs. 1/7), wherein
when in an open disposition the one or more first grabber elements are disposed on a first side of the tool and the one or more second grabber elements are disposed on a second side of the tool (see annotated Fig. 1, below), and
when in a closed disposition a distal end of each of the one or more first grabber elements is disposed on the second side of the tool and a distal end of each of the one or more second grabber elements is disposed on the first side of the tool (see Fig. 7; see also annotated Fig. 7, below).
In re Claim 4, Wraith teaches a tool according to claim 1, wherein:
the first grabber element(s) is/are connected to the body of the tool on a first side of the tool (see annotated Fig. 1, showing the first grabber connected to the body of the tool on the first side), and/or
the second grabber element(s) is/are connected to the body of the tool on a second side of the tool (see annotated Fig. 1, showing the second grabber connected to the body of the tool on the second side), and/or
the first grabber elements and the second grabber elements comprise arms or fingers (each of the first and second grabber elements are in the form of arms or fingers – see Figs. 1-7, #16/16 in view of Applicant’s disclosure), and/or
the/each first grabber elements and the/each second grabber elements is claw shaped (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the first and second grabber elements #16/#16 are claw shaped in view of Applicant’s disclosure); and/or
the/each first grabber elements and the/each second grabber elements is curved or arcuate in shape (see Figs. 1/7, each grabber element has a curve shape along it “outer” perimeter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2516296 A to Wraith in view of US 7,311,126 to Sharp.
If it is argued that Wraith does not teach the grabber elements as curved or arcuate in shape, Claim 4 is rejected in view of Sharp.
In re Claim 4, Wraith teaches a tool according to claim 1, wherein:
the first grabber element(s) is/are connected to the body of the tool on a first side of the tool (see annotated Fig. 1, showing the first grabber connected to the body of the tool on the first side), and/or
the second grabber element(s) is/are connected to the body of the tool on a second side of the tool (see annotated Fig. 1, showing the second grabber connected to the body of the tool on the second side), and/or
the first grabber elements and the second grabber elements comprise arms or fingers (each of the first and second grabber elements are in the form of arms or fingers – see Figs. 1-7, #16/16 in view of Applicant’s disclosure), and/or
the/each first grabber elements and the/each second grabber elements is claw shaped (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the first and second grabber elements #16/#16 are claw shaped in view of Applicant’s disclosure).
If it is argued that Wraith does not teach the/each first grabber elements and the/each second grabber elements is curved or arcuate in shape, the examiner notes that Sharp teaches grabber elements that are curved or arcuate shape (see Sharp, Fig. 1, #3/4).
In the same field of invention, assemblies with cutting tools that grasp elongated workpieces, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to change the shape of the first grabber element and the second grabber element in order to grasp a different shaped workpiece. Changes in shape are within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). Here, changing the surfaces of the arms to better correspond to the different shape workpieces that are intended to be grasped is within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 26, modified Wraith, in re Claim 4, teaches wherein where the/each first grabber elements and the/each second grabber elements is curved or arcuate in shape (see Sharp, Fig. 1, #3/#4 in view of Wraith Figs. 1 and 7):
a concave surface of each grabber element faces or is faceable towards a centre line of the tool, and a convex surface of each grabber element faces or is faceable away from a/the centre line of the tool (see Sharp, Fig. 1, #3/#4 in view of Wraith Figs. 1 and 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, and 26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724