DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 9 recites “arranged tangentially to the blower rotor is connected;”, should read – arranged tangentially to the blower rotor –.
Claim 2, line 1 recites “wherein one or more corrugations is arranged in”, should read – wherein one or more corrugations are arranged in –.
Claim 3, lines 1-2 recite “wherein the one or more corrugations arranged in the side wall of the housing is oriented radially”, should read – wherein the one or more corrugations arranged in the side wall of the housing are oriented radially—.
Claim 4, line 1 recites “wherein the one or more corrugations is shaped”, should read – wherein the one or more corrugations are shaped --.
Claim 5 and claim 7, line 1 recites “wherein the one or more corrugation”, should read – wherein the one or more corrugations –.
Claim 5, line 4 recites “wherein the leading area enclosing a greater angle”, should read – wherein the leading area encloses a greater angle –.
Claim 6, lines 1-2 recite “wherein the one or more corrugations arranged in the outlet channel is orientated transversely”, should read – wherein the one or more corrugations arranged in the outlet channel are orientated transversely –.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wold et al. (US 10694678 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Wold et al. teaches a blower assembly [129] for a cleaning device [126] of a combine harvester [100], comprising:
a blower rotor (rotor of fan [206], see Fig. 3) configured to be rotated by a drive (see Col. 4, lines 9-15) about a rotation axis [242]; and
a housing [204] enclosing the blower rotor, the housing comprising two side walls ([250]; one shown but another is inherently present on the other side of the housing, see Col. 5, lines 29-31) oriented at least approximately radially to the axis of rotation (see Fig. 6), where each of the side walls has a central air inlet opening ([208], see Col. 4, lines 9-15) arranged axially to the blower rotor (see Fig. 3);
wherein the housing comprises an outer wall (see below) extending in the circumferential direction of the blower rotor;
wherein the outer wall comprises at least one outlet opening (see below) to which an outlet channel [232 and 234] is arranged tangentially to the blower rotor (see Fig. 3) is connected;
wherein the housing comprises at least one corrugation ([237]; the corrugations form ridges whereas the space between the corrugations forms grooves, see below) or rib.
Examiner’s Note: examiner is interpreting the term “corrugation” by the definition ‘to form or shape into wrinkles or folds or alternating ridges and grooves’ as provided by Merriam-Webster (see attached NPL for ‘corrugate’). As seen in the annotated drawing above, the corrugation of Wold et al. is material shaped outwards from the side wall of the housing, disturbing the smooth surface of the sidewall, and thereby forming alternating ridges and grooves. This configuration is similar to Applicant’s Fig. 3 in which the corrugation [88] forms the ridge and the groove is the sidewall adjacent the corrugation.
Regarding claim 2, Wold et al. teaches wherein one or more corrugations [237] is arranged in a side wall ([250], see Fig. 5) of the housing [204] or a side wall (see wall of outlet channel having the corrugations in Fig. 5) of the outlet channel [232 and 234].
Regarding claim 3, Wold et al. teaches wherein the one or more corrugations [237] arranged in the side wall ([250], see Fig. 5) of the housing [204] is oriented radially (see Fig. 3) to the blower rotor (rotor of fan [206], see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Wold et al. teaches wherein the one or more corrugations [237] is shaped outwards (extend outwards from housing, see Fig. 4) in relation to the housing [204].
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Wold et al. teaches wherein the one or more corrugation [237] comprises a leading area (see below) with respect to the air flow (see below), a trailing area (see below; area at the end of the corrugation) and an intermediate area (see below) extending parallel to the adjacent side wall [250] of the housing [204];
wherein the leading area enclosing a greater angle (see below; leading area is angled with the curve of the side wall and in relation to the rest of the corrugation, see Fig. 5) with the side wall than the trailing area (trailing area is not angled; therefore, the leading area encloses a greater angle).
Regarding claim 6, Wold et al. teaches wherein the one or more corrugations [237] arranged in the outlet channel [232 and 234] is oriented transversely to the longitudinal direction (see below) of the outlet channel.
Regarding claim 10, Wold et al. teaches wherein the housing [204] is formed of plastic (see Col. 4, lines 21-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wold et al. (US 10694678 B2) in view of Duquesne et al. (US 11272668 B2).
Regarding claims 8, Wold et al. discloses the blower assembly as applied above, but fails to disclose wherein the at least one rib is located at an end of the outlet channel and extends between a lower wall and an upper wall of the outlet channel.
Duquesne et al. discloses a similar blower assembly [200] wherein the housing [214] comprises at least one rib ([230 and 232]; see Col. 3, lines 16-22) and wherein the at least one rib is located at an end (see below) of the outlet channel [216] and extends between a lower wall (see below) and an upper wall (see below) of the outlet channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one rib of Duquesne et al. on the housing of Wold et al. in order for the ribs to form a throat within the outlet channel to decrease the volume of air flowing through the outlet channel while increasing the air pressure and speed (see Duquesne et al. Col. 3, lines 9-15).
Regarding claims 9, Duquesne et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the rib [230 and 232] is configured to support a lower and upper part (see above) of the outlet channel [216] against warping (prevents warping by forming a throat, maintaining the shape of the channel, see Fig. 2, Col. 2, lines 62-67 and Col. 3, lines 1-3 and lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 11, Wold et al. teaches a combine harvester [100], comprising:
a chassis [112];
a cleaning device [126] comprising an upper chaffer [127], a lower sieve [128], and a blower assembly [129], the blowing assembly actuating the upper chaffer and lower sieve (through the two outlet channel’s [232 and 234]);
wherein, the blower assembly comprises:
a blower rotor (rotor of fan [206], see Fig. 3) configured to be rotated by a drive (see Col. 4, lines 9-15) about a rotation axis [242]; and
a housing [204] enclosing the blower rotor, the housing comprising side walls ([250]; one shown but another is inherently present on the other side of the housing, see Col. 5, lines 29-31) oriented at least approximately radially to the axis of rotation (see Fig. 6), where each of the side walls has a central air inlet opening ([208], see Col. 4, lines 9-15) arranged axially to the blower rotor (see Fig. 3);
wherein the housing comprises an outer wall (see below) extending in the circumferential direction of the blower rotor;
wherein the outer wall comprises at least one outlet opening (see below) to which an outlet channel [232 and 234] is arranged tangentially to the blower rotor (see Fig. 3) is connected;
wherein the housing comprises a corrugation ([237]; the corrugation forms a ridge whereas the space between the corrugation forms a groove, see below) or rib.
But Wold et al. fails to disclose an upper sieve.
Duquesne et al. discloses a similar combine harvester [20] comprising a cleaning device [38] comprising an upper sieve [44], a lower sieve [48], and a blower assembly [200], the blowing assembly actuating the upper sieve and lower sieve (actuates by two outlet channels [216 and 218], see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the upper chaffer of Wold et al. with the upper sieve of Duquesne et al. since both are parts of the cleaning system separating the grain from the MOG; therefore, yielding the same predictable result.
Examiner’s Note: examiner is interpreting the term “corrugation” by the definition ‘to form or shape into wrinkles or folds or alternating ridges and grooves’ as provided by Merriam-Webster (see attached NPL for ‘corrugate’). As seen in the annotated drawing above, the corrugation of Wold et al. is material shaped outwards from the side wall of the housing, disturbing the smooth surface of the sidewall, and thereby forming alternating ridges and grooves. This configuration is similar to Applicant’s Fig. 3 in which the corrugation [88] forms the ridge and the groove is the sidewall adjacent the corrugation.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Wold et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the corrugation [237] is arranged in a side wall ([250], see Fig. 5) of the housing [204] or a side wall (see wall of outlet channel having the corrugations in Fig. 5) of the outlet channel [232 and 234].
Regarding claim 13, Wold et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the corrugation [237] arranged in the side wall ([250], see Fig. 5) of the housing [204] is oriented radially (see Fig. 3) to the blower rotor (rotor of fan [206], see Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Wold et al. teaches wherein the one or more corrugation [237] comprises a leading area (see below) with respect to the air flow (see below), a trailing area (see below; area at the end of the corrugation) and an intermediate area (see below) extending parallel to the adjacent side wall [250] of the housing [204];
wherein the leading area enclosing a greater angle (see below; leading area is angled with the curve of the side wall and in relation to the rest of the corrugation, see Fig. 5) with the side wall than the trailing area (trailing area is not angled; therefore, the leading area encloses a greater angle).
Regarding claim 15, Wold et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the corrugations [237] arranged in the outlet channel [232 and 234] is oriented transversely to the longitudinal direction (see below) of the outlet channel.
Regarding claim 16, Wold et al. discloses the blower assembly as applied above, but fails to disclose wherein the at least one rib is located at an end of the outlet channel and extends between a lower wall and an upper wall of the outlet channel.
Duquesne et al. discloses a similar blower assembly [200] wherein the housing [214] comprises at least one rib ([230 and 232]; see Col. 3, lines 16-22) and wherein the at least one rib is located at an end (see below) of the outlet channel [216] and extends between a lower wall (see below) and an upper wall (see below) of the outlet channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one rib of Duquesne et al. on the housing of Wold et al. in order for the ribs to form a throat within the outlet channel to decrease the volume of air flowing through the outlet channel while increasing the air pressure and speed (see Duquesne et al. Col. 3, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 17, Duquesne et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the rib [230 and 232] is configured to support a lower and upper part (see above) of the outlet channel [216] against warping (prevents warping by forming a throat, maintaining the shape of the channel, see Fig. 2, Col. 2, lines 62-67 and Col. 3, lines 1-3 and lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 18, Wold et al. teaches a combine harvester [100], comprising:
a chassis [112];
a cleaning device [126] comprising an upper chaffer [127], a lower sieve [128], and a blower assembly [129], the blowing assembly actuating the upper chaffer and lower sieve (through the two outlet channel’s [232 and 234]); and
a drive (see Col. 4, lines 9-15);
wherein, the blower assembly comprises:
a blower rotor (rotor of fan [206], see Fig. 3) configured to be rotated by a drive (see Col. 4, lines 9-15) about a rotation axis [242]; and
a housing [204] enclosing the blower rotor, the housing comprising side walls ([250]; one shown but another is inherently present on the other side of the housing, see Col. 5, lines 29-31) oriented at least approximately radially to the axis of rotation (see Fig. 6), where each of the side walls has a central air inlet opening ([208], see Col. 4, lines 9-15) arranged axially to the blower rotor (see Fig. 3);
wherein the housing comprises an outer wall (see below) extending in the circumferential direction of the blower rotor;
wherein the outer wall comprises at least one outlet opening (see below) to which an outlet channel [232 and 234] is arranged tangentially to the blower rotor (see Fig. 3) is connected;
wherein the housing comprises a corrugation ([237]; the corrugation forms a ridge whereas the space between the corrugation forms a groove, see below) or rib.
But Wold et al. fails to disclose an upper sieve.
Duquesne et al. discloses a similar combine harvester [20] comprising a cleaning device [38] comprising an upper sieve [44], a lower sieve [48], and a blower assembly [200], the blowing assembly actuating the upper sieve and lower sieve (actuates by two outlet channels [216 and 218], see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the upper chaffer of Wold et al. with the upper sieve of Duquesne et al. since both are parts of the cleaning system separating the grain from the MOG; therefore, yielding the same predictable result
Examiner’s Note: examiner is interpreting the term “corrugation” by the definition ‘to form or shape into wrinkles or folds or alternating ridges and grooves’ as provided by Merriam-Webster (see attached NPL for ‘corrugate’). As seen in the annotated drawing above, the corrugation of Wold et al. is material shaped outwards from the side wall of the housing, disturbing the smooth surface of the sidewall, and thereby forming alternating ridges and grooves. This configuration is similar to Applicant’s Fig. 3 in which the corrugation [88] forms the ridge and the groove is the sidewall adjacent the corrugation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for the full list of references.
Reference US 4303079 A discloses a similar blower assembly (see Fig. 1) for a combine harvester comprising of multiple outlet channels [10’ or 10’’].
/SUNNY D WEBB/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671