DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent No. 10,380,988 B1 to Valeri et al. (hereinafter “Valeri”) on view of U.S Pub. No. 2022/0230618 A1 to SAKAMOTO.
Regarding claim 1, Valeri teaches a motor vehicle (please see Figs. 1 and 2), comprising:
a body comprising a chassis and a plurality of walls, the walls delimiting a passenger compartment to accommodate one or more passengers (column 3, lines 6-15; FIGS. 1 and 2. Vehicle 10 includes a body 20 having a plurality of body components 23. Body components 23 may include a first roof support 28 and a second roof support 30);
at least one actuator applied to a corresponding wall between said walls and controllable through a control input signal to transmit a vibration corresponding to the control input signal to the corresponding wall, thereby producing a corresponding sound inside the passenger compartment (column 3, lines 34-67; First and second excitation devices 44 and 46 may take the form of electrically operated shakers (not separately labeled) that form part of a noise cancellation system 60 depicted in FIG. 3. The term “electrically operated shaker” should be understood to describe a tactile transducer or vibration exciter that may introduce a force into an element).
Valeri does not explicitly teach an error sensor configured to detect a quantity indicative of a residual sound produced by a superposition of said sound with an interior noise inside the passenger compartment and to generate a related error signal; and a control unit coupled to the error sensor to receive the error signal, configured to execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to minimize or reduce the residual sound, and further configured to control the actuator with the determined control input signal.
In the same field of endeavor, SAKAMOTO teaches an error sensor configured to detect a quantity indicative of a residual sound produced by a superposition of said sound with an interior noise inside the passenger compartment and to generate a related error signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14); and a control unit coupled to the error sensor to receive the error signal, configured to execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to minimize or reduce the residual sound, and further configured to control the actuator with the determined control input signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0030]- [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Valeri’s teaching with a feature of an error sensor configured to detect a quantity indicative of a residual sound produced by a superposition of said sound with an interior noise inside the passenger compartment and to generate a related error signal; and a control unit coupled to the error sensor to receive the error signal, configured to execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to minimize or reduce the residual sound, and further configured to control the actuator with the determined control input signal as taught by SAKAMOTO in order to provide an active noise control device and a vehicle which can reduce noise suitably (paragraph [0005], SAKAMOTO).
Regarding claim 2, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the actuator is arranged at the corresponding wall and is configured to transmit the vibration directly to the corresponding wall (column 3, lines 34-67; First and second excitation devices 44 and 46 may take the form of electrically operated shakers (not separately labeled) that form part of a noise cancellation system 60 depicted in FIG. 3. The term “electrically operated shaker” should be understood to describe a tactile transducer or vibration exciter that may introduce a force into an element).
Regarding claim 3, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the corresponding wall has a respective inner surface directly facing the passenger compartment or covered with a motor vehicle interior trim layer (column 3, lines 48-67; Noise cancellation system 60 may output a noise cancellation signal through one or more of first and second excitation devices 44 and 46 and/or other noise cancellation devices 90 such as vehicle mounted speakers).
Regarding claim 4, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the corresponding wall has an outer surface directly exposed on the outside of the motor vehicle or covered with a further trim layer directly exposed on the outside of the motor vehicle (column 3, lines 6-34; a vehicle, in accordance with an aspect of an exemplary embodiment, is indicated generally at 10 in FIGS. 1 and 2. Vehicle 10 includes a body 20 having a plurality of body components 23. Body components 23 may include a first roof support 28 and a second roof support 30. First and second roof supports 28 and 30 may retain a roof panel 34).
Regarding claim 5, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 4, wherein the further trin layer comprises a layer of paint (column 3, lines 6-15; A vehicle, in accordance with an aspect of an exemplary embodiment, is indicated generally at 10 in FIGS. 1 and 2. Vehicle 10 includes a body 20 having a plurality of body components 23. Body components 23 may include a first roof support 28 and a second roof support 30. First and second roof supports 28 and 30 may retain a roof panel 34. Specifically, roof panel 34 may be supported by, and connected to, first and second roof supports 28 and 30. Body components 23 may include fenders, quarter panels, floor panels, lift gates, hoods, trunk lids, door panels and the like).
Regarding claim 6, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 4, wherein the corresponding wall is a single panel with a thickness extending from the inner surface to the outer surface (column 3, lines 6-34; a first excitation device 44 is mounted to first roof support 28 and a second excitation device 46 is mounted to second roof support 30. The number, location, and arrangement of excitation devices may vary and could depend upon various factors such as vehicle geometry, structural characteristics of vehicle components/panels, and the like. For example, first and second excitation devices may be mounted directly to roof panel 34).
Regarding claim 7, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the corresponding wall comprises a window of the motor vehicle (column 3, lines 6-34; a first excitation device 44 is mounted to first roof support 28 and a second excitation device 46 is mounted to second roof support 30. The number, location, and arrangement of excitation devices may vary and could depend upon various factors such as vehicle geometry, structural characteristics of vehicle components/panels, and the like. For example, first and second excitation devices may be mounted directly to roof panel 34).
Regarding claim 8, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the corresponding wall comprises a non-transparent contour band perimeterally contouring the window (column 3, lines 6-34; a first excitation device 44 is mounted to first roof support 28 and a second excitation device 46 is mounted to second roof support 30. The number, location, and arrangement of excitation devices may vary and could depend upon various factors such as vehicle geometry, structural characteristics of vehicle components/panels, and the like. For example, first and second excitation devices may be mounted directly to roof panel 34).
Regarding claim 9, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 8, wherein the actuator is applied at the contour band (column 3, lines 6-34; a first excitation device 44 is mounted to first roof support 28 and a second excitation device 46 is mounted to second roof support 30. The number, location, and arrangement of excitation devices may vary and could depend upon various factors such as vehicle geometry, structural characteristics of vehicle components/panels, and the like. For example, first and second excitation devices may be mounted directly to roof panel 34).
Regarding claim 10, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the window comprises a hidden portion arranged within an inner volume of the body, the inner volume being invisible from the outside of the motor vehicle, and wherein the actuator is applied at the hidden portion (column 3, lines 6-34; a first excitation device 44 is mounted to first roof support 28 and a second excitation device 46 is mounted to second roof support 30. The number, location, and arrangement of excitation devices may vary and could depend upon various factors such as vehicle geometry, structural characteristics of vehicle components/panels, and the like. For example, first and second excitation devices may be mounted directly to roof panel 34).
Regarding claim 11, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising at least one transducer configured to detect a quantity indicative of an acceleration or deformation of a component of the motor vehicle and to generate a related reference signal (column 3, line 48 through column 4, line 14; noise cancellation system 60 may receive inputs from microphones and/or accelerometers 74 arranged about vehicle 10, from speed and/or torque sensors 79 and/or from other vehicle based sensors 84. Noise cancellation system 60 may output a noise cancellation signal through one or more of first and second excitation devices 44 and 46 and/or other noise cancellation devices 90 such as vehicle mounted speakers. In general, as will be detailed herein, first and second excitation devices 44 and 46 are activated when a noise cancellation system 60 determines that a desired noise cancellation signal is below a threshold capable of being emitted from standard vehicle speakers).
Valeri does not explicitly teach the control unit being coupled to the transducer to receive the reference signal, and wherein the active noise cancellation algorithm comprises an adaptive filter configured to output the control input signal as a function of the reference signal and of the error signal.
In the same field of endeavor, SAKAMOTO teaches the control unit being coupled to the transducer to receive the reference signal, and wherein the active noise cancellation algorithm comprises an adaptive filter configured to output the control input signal as a function of the reference signal and of the error signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14); and a control unit coupled to the error sensor to receive the error signal, configured to execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to minimize or reduce the residual sound, and further configured to control the actuator with the determined control input signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0030]- [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Valeri’s teaching with a feature of the control unit being coupled to the transducer to receive the reference signal, and wherein the active noise cancellation algorithm comprises an adaptive filter configured to output the control input signal as a function of the reference signal and of the error signal as taught by SAKAMOTO in order to provide an active noise control device and a vehicle which can reduce noise suitably (paragraph [0005], SAKAMOTO).
Regarding claim 12, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the transducer is coupled to the corresponding wall so as to detect said quantity, whereby the quantity is indicative of the acceleration of the corresponding wall or the deformation of the corresponding wall (column 3, lines 6-34; a first excitation device 44 is mounted to first roof support 28 and a second excitation device 46 is mounted to second roof support 30. The number, location, and arrangement of excitation devices may vary and could depend upon various factors such as vehicle geometry, structural characteristics of vehicle components/panels, and the like. For example, first and second excitation devices may be mounted directly to roof panel 34).
Regarding claim 13, Valeri teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the control unit comprises a model for determining an estimate of said interior noise as a function of the control input signal and of the error signal at a current instant, and is configured to estimate a reference signal for the current instant defined by said estimate by means of said model (column 3, line 48 through column 4, line 14; noise cancellation system 60 may receive inputs from microphones and/or accelerometers 74 arranged about vehicle 10, from speed and/or torque sensors 79 and/or from other vehicle based sensors 84. Noise cancellation system 60 may output a noise cancellation signal through one or more of first and second excitation devices 44 and 46 and/or other noise cancellation devices 90 such as vehicle mounted speakers. In general, as will be detailed herein, first and second excitation devices 44 and 46 are activated when a noise cancellation system 60 determines that a desired noise cancellation signal is below a threshold capable of being emitted from standard vehicle speakers).
Valeri does not explicitly teach the control unit being coupled to the transducer to receive the reference signal, and wherein the active noise cancellation algorithm comprises an adaptive filter configured to output the control input signal as a function of the reference signal and of the error signal.
In the same field of endeavor, SAKAMOTO teaches wherein the active noise cancellation algorithm comprises an adaptive filter configured to output the control input signal at an instant following the current instant as a function of the estimated reference signal and of the error signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14); and a control unit coupled to the error sensor to receive the error signal, configured to execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to minimize or reduce the residual sound, and further configured to control the actuator with the determined control input signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0030]- [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Valeri’s teaching with a feature of wherein the active noise cancellation algorithm comprises an adaptive filter configured to output the control input signal at an instant following the current instant as a function of the estimated reference signal and of the error signal as taught by SAKAMOTO in order to provide an active noise control device and a vehicle which can reduce noise suitably (paragraph [0005], SAKAMOTO).
Regarding claim 14, Valeri does not teach the motor vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the adaptive filter is a parametric function associating the reference signal with the control input signal and having variable parameters determined by the active noise cancellation algorithm by solving an optimization problem of an optimization function associated with the error signal.
In the same field of endeavor, SAKAMOTO teaches wherein the adaptive filter is a parametric function associating the reference signal with the control input signal and having variable parameters determined by the active noise cancellation algorithm by solving an optimization problem of an optimization function associated with the error signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14); and a control unit coupled to the error sensor to receive the error signal, configured to execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to minimize or reduce the residual sound, and further configured to control the actuator with the determined control input signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0030]- [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Valeri’s teaching with a feature of wherein the adaptive filter is a parametric function associating the reference signal with the control input signal and having variable parameters determined by the active noise cancellation algorithm by solving an optimization problem of an optimization function associated with the error signal as taught by SAKAMOTO in order to provide an active noise control device and a vehicle which can reduce noise suitably (paragraph [0005], SAKAMOTO).
Regarding claim 15, Valeri does not teach the motor vehicle according to claim 14, wherein the optimization comprises a minimization of the optimization function defining a cost function, the cost function being an expected value of a squared modulus of the error signal.
In the same field of endeavor, SAKAMOTO teaches wherein the optimization comprises a minimization of the optimization function defining a cost function, the cost function being an expected value of a squared modulus of the error signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14); and a control unit coupled to the error sensor to receive the error signal, configured to execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to minimize or reduce the residual sound, and further configured to control the actuator with the determined control input signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0030]- [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Valeri’s teaching with a feature of wherein the optimization comprises a minimization of the optimization function defining a cost function, the cost function being an expected value of a squared modulus of the error signal.as taught by SAKAMOTO in order to provide an active noise control device and a vehicle which can reduce noise suitably (paragraph [0005], SAKAMOTO).
Regarding claim 16, Valeri teaches a motor vehicle, comprising: a body, comprising: a chassis; a passenger compartment to accommodate one or more passengers; and a wall (column 3, lines 6-34; a first excitation device 44 is mounted to first roof support 28 and a second excitation device 46 is mounted to second roof support 30. The number, location, and arrangement of excitation devices may vary and could depend upon various factors such as vehicle geometry, structural characteristics of vehicle components/panels, and the like. For example, first and second excitation devices may be mounted directly to roof panel 34);
an actuator applied to the wall, wherein the actuator is controllable through a control input signal to transmit a vibration corresponding to the control input signal to the wall thereby producing a corresponding sound inside the passenger compartment (column 3, lines 34-67; First and second excitation devices 44 and 46 may take the form of electrically operated shakers (not separately labeled) that form part of a noise cancellation system 60 depicted in FIG. 3. The term “electrically operated shaker” should be understood to describe a tactile transducer or vibration exciter that may introduce a force into an element).
Valeri does not explicitly teach an error sensor configured to detect a quantity indicative of a residual sound produced by a superposition of said sound with an interior noise inside the passenger compartment and to generate a related error signal; and a control unit configured to: receive the error signal; execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to reduce the residual sound; and control the actuator with the determined control input signal.
In the same field of endeavor, SAKAMOTO teaches an error sensor configured to detect a quantity indicative of a residual sound produced by a superposition of said sound with an interior noise inside the passenger compartment and to generate a related error signal; and a control unit configured to: receive the error signal; execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to reduce the residual sound; and control the actuator with the determined control input signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14); and a control unit coupled to the error sensor to receive the error signal, configured to execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to minimize or reduce the residual sound, and further configured to control the actuator with the determined control input signal (paragraphs [0019]- [0020] and [0030]- [0031]; the microphone 20 that detects the residual noise due to interference between the noise and the canceling sound is provided in the vehicle compartment 14 (see FIG. 1). That is, the microphone 20 for detecting the error signal e is provided in the vehicle compartment 14).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Valeri’s teaching with a feature of an error sensor configured to detect a quantity indicative of a residual sound produced by a superposition of said sound with an interior noise inside the passenger compartment and to generate a related error signal; and a control unit configured to: receive the error signal; execute an active noise cancellation algorithm based on the error signal, so as to determine the control input signal adapted to reduce the residual sound; and control the actuator with the determined control input signal as taught by SAKAMOTO in order to provide an active noise control device and a vehicle which can reduce noise suitably (paragraph [0005], SAKAMOTO).
Conclusion
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694