Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perkins (US11,691,570)..
Interpretative note 1. Boom is defined as “a long more or less horizontal supporting arm or brace.” (BOOM Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster) In other words, anything that comprises an arm that extends can be a boom.
With respect to claim 1, Perkins discloses-
a first roof rail 302 including a first boom passage (indicated generally as the passage of crossbar 304 through rail 302; C10/L45-55);
a second roof rail 302 including a second boom passage and structured to be mounted opposite a first roof rail;
a boom housing 304 structured to connect first and second boom passages; and
a boom 306, 306 structured to be [telescopically] positionable in a housing so as to be deployable from a housing along a side of a vehicle, through any of first and second boom passages.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins in view of Dumond (US 4,226,331).
Perkins does not disclose a first boom support post and a booms supporting element. Dumond discloses a boom 14, 27 and further discloses a first boom support post 52 (FIG. 2: the figures include two elements labeled #52; this rejection is citing the element #52 that connects #48 to #14) structured to be connected to a first roof rail in a support configuration at connection plates 49. Dumon also discloses a boom supporting element 48. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Perkins to include a boom support post and a boom supporting element, as taught by Dumond, such that a “tripoidal” support is provided providing additional support to a hoist when in a position extending substantially horizontal as shown in FIG. 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 7, 8 & 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652