Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/3/24, 5/27/25 and 4/14/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, United States Patent Publication 20180181164, in view of Oh et al., United States Patent Publication 2017/0285933 (hereinafter “Oh”).
Claim 1:
Chen discloses:
An electronic device comprising:
a first housing (see paragraphs [0031]). Chen teaches a first housing;
a second housing disposed to be movable with respect to the first housing and overlapping at least a portion of the first housing (see paragraphs [0031]). Chen teaches a second housing for a second overlapping display device;
at least one motor configured to move the first housing or the second housing (see paragraph [0061]). Chen teaches a motor to move the first housing or second housing;
memory storing one or more computer programs; one or more processors disposed inside the first housing or the second housing and communicatively coupled to the at least one motor and the memory (see paragraph [0061]). Chen teaches controllers and memory to process the moving of the flexible displays; and
a flexible display at least partially mounted on a surface of the second housing and at least partially exposed to an outside of the electronic device, wherein a portion of the flexible display is inserted into or drawn out of the first housing according to driving of the motor (see paragraphs [0061]). Miller teaches a slidable display connected to a first and second housing that can be either slid open or close;
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display, on the flexible display, a first screen including at least one text input field in a state in which a portion of the second housing is inserted in the first housing (see paragraph [0063]). Chen teaches displaying a first content containing user input,
obtain a first user input to the at least one text input field (see paragraph [0063]). Chen teaches obtaining a user input,
Chen fails to expressly disclose an input field and a virtual keyboard.
Oh discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display, on the flexible display, a first screen including at least one text input field in a state in which a portion of the second housing is inserted in the first housing (see paragraph [0010]). Oh teaches to display a first content containing an input field region and a virtual keypad on the first content on the first display,
obtain a first user input to the at least one text input field (see paragraph [0010]). Oh teaches obtaining a user input into the input field,
display, on the flexible display, a second screen including at least one virtual keypad based on obtaining the first user input, wherein the at least one virtual keypad overlaps a portion of the at least one text input field (see paragraph [0010]). Oh teaches controlling a screen to exhibit a screen layered below while increasing the transparency of the displayed virtual keypad when a touch input exceeding a reference pressure is applied to the virtual keypad., and
display, on the flexible display, a third screen different from the second screen, based on the at least one virtual keypad overlapping the portion of the at least one text input field (see paragraph [0010]). Oh teaches displaying a screen with increase transparency based on the virtual keyboard overlapping the input field.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Miller to include changing the display of the virtual keyboard based on the user’s input for the purpose of being user friendly on foldable device, as taught by Oh.
Claim 2:
Chen fails to expressly disclose overlaying the virtual keyboard to receive input.
Oh discloses:
wherein the third screen includes a screen in which a transparency of the at least one virtual keypad is changed based on a second user input to the at least one virtual keypad. (see paragraph [0122]). Oh teaches hen a touch input exceeding a reference pressure is applied to the displayed virtual keypad, the controller of the mobile terminal can control a screen to exhibit a screen layered below, for example, the hidden partial image of the first content, while increasing the transparency of the displayed virtual keypad.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to include changing the display of the virtual keyboard based on the user’s input for the purpose of being user friendly on foldable device, as taught by Oh.
Claim 3:
Chen fails to expressly disclose overlaying the virtual keyboard to receive input.
Oh discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to re-change the transparency from a first transparency to a second transparency, when the second user input is released, wherein the first transparency is a changed transparency based on the second user input, and wherein the second transparency is a transparency before the change based on the second user input. (see paragraph [0133]). Oh teaches Here, the transparency of the virtual keypad can vary in proportion to a touch level of the touch input. For example, as increasing a touch level of the touch input applied to the virtual keypad in FIG. 2, an image layered below will be more clearly displayed while increasing the transparency of the virtual keypad (including the virtual keypad temporarily disappearing). The transparency changes based on the sensed touch of the virtual keyboard.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to include changing the display of the virtual keyboard based on the user’s input for the purpose of being user friendly on foldable device, as taught by Oh.
Claim 4:
Chen fails to expressly disclose previewing a character being input into the field.
Oh discloses:
wherein the third screen includes a preview window including at least one character to be entered to the at least one text input field based on a third user input to the at least one virtual keypad (see figure 2, 3 and paragraph [0131]-[0133]). Oh teaches an e-mail compose screen and a virtual keypad for entering e-mail content are displayed on the display unit. when a touch input exceeding a reference pressure is applied thereto, the remaining portion of the e-mail compose screen that is hidden by the virtual keypad, namely, an image layered below, appears. Here, the transparency of the virtual keypad can vary in proportion to a touch level of the touch input.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by to include changing the display of the virtual keyboard based on the user’s input for the Chen purpose of being user friendly on foldable device, as taught by Oh.
Claim 5-6:
Chen fails to expressly disclose previewing a character being input into the field.
Oh discloses:
wherein the third screen includes a guide message indicating that a specified screen including the at least one text input field overlapped by the at least one virtual keypad is scrollable based on a fourth user input to at least one object included in the at least one keypad; when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to scroll the specified screen including the at least one text input field overlapped by the at least one virtual keypad based on the fourth user input to the at least one object (see figure 4B, 5 and paragraph [0146], [0148]). Oh teaches an indicator that a screen and a text field overlapped by the virtual keyboard is scrolled based on a particular gesture.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to include changing the display of the virtual keyboard based on the user’s input for the purpose of being user friendly on foldable device, as taught by Oh.
Claims 11-15:
Although these Claims non-transitory computer-readable storage media claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the device of Claims 1-5, respectively.
Claims 7-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Oh, in further view of Zhang et al., United States Patent Publication 20210405692 (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Claim 7:
Chen and Oh fails to expressly disclose moving the screen so that the virtual keyboard doesn’t overlap.
Zhang discloses:
wherein the third screen includes an extend guide message indicating that the second housing is able to be moved in the second direction so that the at least one text input field overlapped by the at least one keypad is appeared (see paragraph [0052]). Zhang teaches an indication that will display the content on the display without the virtual keyboard when the physical keyboard is open.
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen and Oh to include moving the housing to display the content and input field for the purpose of better visibility of data on mobile device, as taught by Zhang.
Claim 8:
Chen discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to control the motor to move the second housing in the second direction based on a fifth user input to the extend guide message (see paragraph [0063]). Chen teaches a preset program indicating the second housing to be moved to expand the display to a second display.
Claim 9:
Chen and Oh fails to expressly disclose moving the screen so that the virtual keyboard doesn’t overlap.
Zhang discloses:
wherein the third screen includes an indicator indicating that the second housing is able to be moved in the second direction so that the at least one text input field overlapped by the at least one keypad is appeared (see paragraph [0052]). Zhang teaches causing the an indication that will display the content on the display without the virtual keyboard when the physical keyboard is open.
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen and Oh to include moving the housing to display the content and input field for the purpose of better visibility of data on mobile device, as taught by Zhang.
Claim 10:
Chen discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to control the motor to move the second housing in the second direction according to a predesignated distance or a maximum distance to which the second housing is movable upon receiving a sixth user input to the indicator (see paragraph [0063]). Chen teaches a preset program indicating the second housing to be moved to extend the display to a second display at a preset distance based on the trigger.
Claim 16:
Chen discloses:
detecting a movement of the second housing in the second direction in a state in which the third screen is displayed (see paragraph [0063]). Chen teaches a preset program indicating the second housing to be moved to expand the display to a second display.
Chen fails to expressly disclose an input field and a virtual keyboard.
Oh discloses:
display, on the flexible display, a first screen including at least one text input field in a state in which a portion of the second housing is inserted in the first housing (see paragraph [0010]). Oh teaches to display a first content containing an input field region and a virtual keypad on the first content on the first display,
obtain a first user input to the at least one text input field (see paragraph [0010]). Oh teaches obtaining a user input into the input field,
display, on the flexible display, a second screen including at least one virtual keypad based on obtaining the first user input, wherein the at least one virtual keypad overlaps a portion of the at least one text input field (see paragraph [0010]). Oh teaches controlling a screen to exhibit a screen layered below while increasing the transparency of the displayed virtual keypad when a touch input exceeding a reference pressure is applied to the virtual keypad., and
display, on the flexible display, a third screen different from the second screen, based on the at least one virtual keypad overlapping the portion of the at least one text input field (see paragraph [0010]). Oh teaches displaying a screen with increase transparency based on the virtual keyboard overlapping the input field.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Miller to include changing the display of the virtual keyboard based on the user’s input for the purpose of being user friendly on foldable device, as taught by Oh.
Zhang discloses:
displaying, on the flexible display, a fourth screen including the at least one virtual keypad based on detecting the movement of the second housing in the second direction, wherein the at least one virtual keypad displayed on the fourth screen may not overlap the at least one text input field (see paragraph [0052]). Zhang teaches displaying a virtual keyboard on the display and detecting that the physical keyboard is opened so that the content on the screen include a text input field can appear without being overlapped by the virtual keyboard.
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen and Oh to include moving the housing to display the content and input field for the purpose of better visibility of data on mobile device, as taught by Zhang.
Claims 17-20:
Although these Claims are method claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the device of Claims 2-5, respectively.
Pertinent Art
20170097689 – displayed physical keyboard and virtual keyboard but didn’t have multiple displays.
20150067573 – transparency adjustments of virtual keyboard but lacked multiple displays
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 9/2/26