DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This is a Non-Final Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. §101
35 U.S.C. §101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 11 , specifically claim 1 recites “encoding, using a linear block encoder, an input data vector obtained based on the input data to generate an encoded input vector”. This limitation encompasses applying an encoding matrix to an input vector through arithmetic operations. Paragraph 258 in specification discloses the encoding operation as multiplication of an input vector by an encoding matrix. For a small vector, the operation can practically be performed using pen and paper. For example, applying linear encoding rules that calculate the sum and difference of the two input values in the vector (2, 1) produces the encoded vector (3,1). Neither claim imposes a vector size, numerical precision or processing rate requirements that exclude such manually executable operation. Accordingly, the underlying encoding operation falls within the mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2A, prong two, claim(s) 1 and 11 recites the additional elements of “generating an inference request for a deep neural network (DNN), the inference request comprising input data for the DNN; transmitting the inference request to a computing system that hosts the DNN, the inference request including the encoded input vector; and receiving an inference response from the computing system hosting the DNN, the inference response comprising a certified inference data vector generated by the DNN based on the input data.”
Claim 11 recites corresponding operations, with the received inference vector generated based on “the input data obtained”, and additionally specifies a processor coupled with a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions. The additional elements utilize a remote DNN environment without specifying a technical interaction that improves the functioning of the computer, communication system or DNN. They do not establish a particular machine or transformation that meaningfully applies the exception beyond information processing and data outputting. Furthermore, The certification in the limitations is recited as a required characteristic of the received result, without specifying a certification operation or a technical relationship though which the input encoding enables certification. The claims thus require the result of certification without claiming a particular mechanism for accomplishing it. Hence the additional elements as a whole do not recite any specific improvement to computer technology, a particular machine implementing the process in a non-generic manner, a transformation of an article to a different state or thing, or any other meaningful limitation that applies the abstract idea in a manger that imposes a meaningful limit on the claim. Instead, the additional element simply applies the abstract idea using generic data processing operations, which amounts to implementing the mental processes using a computer environment.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims, 1, and 11 at step 2B, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As explained with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements as recited in step 2A prong 2 recite conventional computer executing routine data manipulation and outputting in a DNN environment. No elements individually or in combination adds “significantly more” than the abstract idea hence are no more than well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions that merely apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. When viewed as an ordered combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not add significantly more than the abstract idea itself. According, claim 1 is ineligible under 101.
With respect to independent claims 6 and 16 , specifically claim 6 recites “encoding, using a linear block encoder, the input data vector to obtain an actual encoded input vector; obtaining a trustworthiness score representative of a comparison between the estimated encoded input vector and the actual encoded input vector; and responsive to determining that the trustworthiness score exceeds a threshold”. This limitation encompasses applying an encoding matrix to an input vector through arithmetic operations. Paragraph 258 in specification discloses the encoding operation as multiplication of an input vector by an encoding matrix. For a small vector, the operation can practically be performed using pen and paper. For example, applying linear encoding rules that calculate the sum and difference of the two input values in the vector (2, 1) produces the encoded vector (3,1). Neither claim imposes a vector size, numerical precision or processing rate requirements that exclude such manually executable operation. Furthermore, a user can easily compare two different vectors and determine whether a score exceeds a threshold based on observation/evaluation. Accordingly, the underlying encoding operation falls within the mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2A, prong two, claim(s) 6 and 11 recites the additional elements of “radio access network (RAN) node; receiving an inference request for a deep neural network (DNN) from an electronic device, the inference request including an input data vector; transmitting the inference request to a computing system that hosts the DNN; receiving an inference response from the computing system, the inference response including an output data vector generated by the DNN based on the input data vector; obtaining, based on the output data vector, an estimated encoded input vector; transmitting the output data vector to the electronic device.”
Claim 16 recites additional elements “apparatus, at least one processor coupled with non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, when the instructions executed by a computer, cause the apparatus to perform operations”. The additional elements are considered individually and in combination are elements merely invoking a generic computer environment (processor, database, memory) and basic data-gathering or outputting functions (MPEP 21.96.05(f)) hence reciting insignificant extra solution activities.
The additional elements utilize a remote DNN environment without specifying a technical interaction that improves the functioning of the computer, communication system or DNN. Hence the additional elements as a whole do not recite any specific improvement to computer technology, a particular machine implementing the process in a non-generic manner, a transformation of an article to a different state or thing, or any other meaningful limitation that applies the abstract idea in a manger that imposes a meaningful limit on the claim. Instead, the additional element simply applies the abstract idea using generic data processing operations, such as mere data manipulation and outputting, which amounts to implementing the mental processes using a computer environment.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims, 6 and 16 at step 2B do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As explained with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements as recited in step 2A prong 2 recite conventional computer executing routine data manipulation and outputting in a DNN environment. No elements individually or in combination adds “significantly more” than the abstract idea hence are no more than well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions that merely apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. When viewed as an ordered combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not add significantly more than the abstract idea itself. According, claim 6 is ineligible under 101.
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15 and 17-20 are dependent claims and do not recite any additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Specifically,
Claim 2. With respect to step 2A prong 2 “ transmitting a request to initialize coded transmission for inference.” recites additional elements of insignificant extra solution activity. With respect to step 2B the recited insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality which are well-understood, routine and conventional as data outputting (transmitting or receiving data).
Claim 3. With respect to step 2A prong 2 “receiving, responsive to the transmitting the request to initialize the coded transmission for inference, a linear block encoding matrix.” recites additional elements of insignificant extra solution activity. With respect to step 2B the recited insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality which are well-understood, routine and conventional as data outputting (transmitting or receiving data).
Claim 4. With respect to step 2A prong 2 “receiving, responsive to the transmitting the request to initialize the coded transmission for inference, an inferred data vector decoding matrix.” recites additional elements of insignificant extra solution activity. With respect to step 2B the recited insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality which are well-understood, routine and conventional as data outputting (transmitting or receiving data).
Claim 5. With respect to step 2A prong 1 “decoding, using an output data vector decoding matrix, the encoded output data vector to obtain a decoded output data vector.” recites abstract idea of mental steps (observation & evaluation). For example, a decoding matrix can map encoded values (u,v) to decoded values (u-v, v), an evaluation that can practically be performed mentally or with help of pen and paper.
Claim 7. With respect to step 2A prong 1 “wherein the trustworthiness score comprises a squared difference between the estimated encoded input vector and the actual encoded input vector.” recites abstract idea of mental steps (observation & evaluation), a person can choose or determine algorithms based on search goals.
Claim 8. With respect to step 2A prong 2 “transmitting the inference request to an inference neural network, wherein the inference neural network is configured to approximate a non-linear function.” recites additional elements of insignificant extra solution activity. With respect to step 2B the recited insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality which are well-understood, routine and conventional as data outputting (transmitting or receiving data).
Claim 9. With respect to step 2A prong 2 “providing the output data vector to a certification neural network, where the certification neural network has been trained to output the estimated encoded input vector responsive to receiving the output data vector received as output of the non-linear function.” recites additional elements of insignificant extra solution activity. With respect to step 2B the recited insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality which are well-understood, routine and conventional as data outputting (transmitting or receiving data).
Claim 10. With respect to step 2A prong 2 “receiving, from a provider of the inference neural network, a linear block encoding matrix.” recites additional elements of insignificant extra solution activity. With respect to step 2B the recited insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality which are well-understood, routine and conventional as data outputting (transmitting or receiving data).
Claims 11-15 is similar to claims 1-5 hence rejected similarly.
Claims 16-20 is similar to claims 6-10 hence rejected similarly.
In view of compact prosecution, if claims 1 and 11 were further amended to incorporate clarification based on paragraphs 258-265 in specification which describes coded communications, certification and protection against counterfeit-model training might overcome the abstract idea.
Specifically, if the receiving limitation in claims 1 and 11, was amended to recite
“receiving, from the computer system via a radio access network (RAN) node through which the inference request is transmitted, an inference response comprising an encoded output data vector representing an inference result generated by the DNN based on the input data, wherein the RAN node stores the encoded input vector, applies a class-specific reverse certification DNN to the encoded output data vector to generate an estimated encoded input vector and forwards the encoded output data vector to the electronic device only upon determining that a squared difference between the estimated encoded input vector and the stored encoded input vector is below a threshold; and
decoding, using an output data vector decoding matrix, the encoded output data vector to obtain the certified inference data vector.”
For claims 6 and 16, In view of compact prosecution, if claim were further amended to incorporate clarification based on paragraphs 177, 178, 180 and 182 in specification
“wherein the RAN node receives, from the computing system, a token indication associated with the electronic device and uses the token indication to select a stored pair comprising a linear block encoding matrix specific to the electronic device and corresponding parameters of certification DNN;
wherein the encoding uses the selected linear block encoding matrix; and
wherein obtaining the estimated encoded input vector comprises providing the output data vector to the certification DNN configured with the selected parameters, the certification DNN having been trained, using outputs of the DNN for training input vectors, to minimize squared error between estimated encoded input vectors and the training input vectors encoded using the selected linear block encoding matrix.
This adds a concrete verification mechanism tied to the requesting device. Claim 16 would require “wherein the apparatus is a radio access network (RAN) node, and the operations further comprise”
These would overcome the abstract idea and move the application towards allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karame et al. (US 2021/0112038) in view of Hashemi et al. (Darknight – NPL) further in view of Liu et al. (US 2020/0110993 – IDS)
1. Karame teaches, A method performed at an electronic device, the method comprising (Fig 1-2, Paragraph 41, Karame):
generating an inference request for a deep neural network (DNN), the inference request comprising input data for the DNN (Fig 4, Paragraphs 54 & 62 – teaches mode f can include an neural network such as DNN and client 120 can issue classification requests through the secure communication channel established with the enclave 320, the request’s input as “a classification query x (i.e., source data), Karame);
transmitting the inference request to a computing system that hosts the DNN (Figs 1-2, fig 4; Paragraph 42, 54 & 62 – teaches the client transmits the classification request to host 110. The hosting computing system includes its trusted and untrusted processing components, Karame); and
receiving an inference response from the computing system hosting the DNN (Fig 4, Paragraph 63 – teaches the client receives the host’s classification result in response to its request, Karame).
Karame does not explicitly teach,
encoding, using a linear block encoder, an input data vector obtained based on the input data to generate an encoded input vector;
the inference request including the encoded input vector; and
the inference response comprising a certified inference data vector generated by the DNN based on the input data.
However, Hashemi teaches,
encoding, using a linear block encoder, an input data vector obtained based on the input data to generate an encoded input vector (Fig. 1, Section 3.2 & 3.3 & EQ. 1 – teaches Darknight uses matrix masking to linearly combine the inputs and add a random noise to them. Eq (1) and section 3.2 expressly calls the combined input “coded inputs”, - thus disclosing the client performs the data-only linear combination portion of Eq. (1). The input block represented as a vector and it coded outputs as an encoded vector (therefore Linear block encoder), Hashemi);
the inference request including the encoded input vector (Fig 1:1, Section 3.2 – teaches a batch of training/inference input data set is encrypted by the client using a mutually agreed keys with SGX and sent to the server. Fig 1:3 and Section 3.3, Eq. (1) supplies the separate input combination operation, Hashemi).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify Karame’s inference system by performing the data only linear combination portion of Hashemi’s matrix masking operation at the client and including the resulting encoded input vector in the inference request. Hashemi identifies limited SGX resources and explains that its binding operations are substantially less complex than DNN computation (Sections 3.2-3.3). Performing this preprocessing at the client, where the input data already reside, would reduce the enclave’s share of the input coding workload without requiring the client to possess the DNN’s model weights. The corresponding coefficients could be supplied through Karame’s secure channel (Paragraph 61), while the host retains random masking, unbinding, and nonlinear processing. A reasonable expectation of success follows because the host’s addition of the masking term to the client computed linear combination produces the same code input defined by Hashemi’s Equation (1), preserving the subsequent decoding and DNN processing.
However, Liu teaches,
the inference response comprising a certified inference data vector generated by the DNN based on the input data (Figs 1A-1C and 3, Paragraph 21 – teaches a match result may serve to authenticate the results of the system; Paragraph 22 - teaches the system can communicate signatures for matching and/or certification of authenticity as a result of the testing; Fig 1B, Paragraph 28 – teaches the output of output layer 154 may include an inference resulting from processing of the input by neural network 122; Paragraph 45 – teaches if the matching succeeds, then the deployed system DNN is determined as an authentic version of the DNN is determined as an authentic version of the DNN and the system is authenticated).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify the combination of Karame and Hashemi system to incorporate Liu’s signature based verification at the host and return the corresponding inference vector after successful authentication. Liu teaches augmenting a DNN with signature network and comparing its signature against an available original model signature generated from the same input to authenticate the inference results and deployed model (Fig 1A-1C and 3, Paragraphs 18-21 and 45). The motivation would have been to detect indications of model alteration and verify the authenticity of remote inference results before delivering them for client use. A reasonable expectation of success exists because Hashemi’s host recovers unblinded DNN values suitable for the signature network processing, while Karame already provides the host to client inference response path; verification would therefore precede transmission of the corresponding inference vector (Section 3.2-3.3, Hashemi; Paragraph 63, Karame).
2. The combination of Karame, Hashemi and Liu teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting a request to initialize coded transmission for inference (Fig 5:502-508, Paragraph 56 – teaches in response to modeling request (i.e. a deep learning request) from client 120, host 110 can initialize the computing infrastructure – discloses client transmitted request that triggers preparation of the inference infrastructure and establishment of a communication session before source-data transmission, this setup would additionally initiate the coded input transmission mode, Karame).
3. The combination of Karame, Hashemi and Liu teach, The method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving, responsive to the transmitting the request to initialize the coded transmission for inference (Fig 5:502-508, Paragraph 72 – teaches client 120 can establish a secure communication session with TEE 114 (e.g., with the first enclave 320) – discloses request-responsive preparation and establishment of a secure session , Karame), a linear block encoding matrix (Fig 1, Section 3.3, Eq. (1) – DarKnight uses matrix masking to linearly combine the input and add a random noise to them. The scalars are represented by matrix A, which are dynamically generated for each batch and securely stored inside SGX for unblinding, Hashemi).
4. The combination of Karame, Hashemi and Liu teach, The method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving, responsive to the transmitting the request to initialize the coded transmission for inference (Fig 5:502-508, Paragraph 72 – teaches client 120 can establish a secure communication session with TEE 114 (e.g., with the first enclave 320) – discloses request-responsive preparation and establishment of a secure session , Karame), an inferred data vector decoding matrix (Fig 1:6-7; Section 3.3 – teaches the K+1 outputs… returned the GPU must be unblinded to extract the original results (EQ. 2) expressly provides Y . The ellipsis omits the output-variable notation, Hashemi).
5. The combination of Karame, Hashemi and Liu teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the inference response includes an encoded output data vector, and the method further comprises (Fig 4 – host-to-client result path; Paragraph 20 – teaches The TEE can encrypt the classification in a manner only decipherable by the client (e.g., with a public key that the client supplies); Paragraph 23 – teaches each piece of data can be matrix (e.g., unidimensional matrix such as a vector); Paragraph 63 – teaches the second enclave obtains the classification result y = f(x) and sends it to the client through the secure channel – discloses the encrypted classification corresponds to an encoded output vector returned to the client, Karame):
decoding, using an output data vector decoding matrix, the encoded output data vector to obtain a decoded output data vector (Fig 1: 7, Session 3.2 – teaches SGX decodes the received computational outputs using DarKnight’s decoding strategy and then performs any non-linear operations within SGX; Session 3.3, Eq. (2): Y = Y*A^-1 - ).
Claims 11-15 is similar to claims 1-5 hence rejected similarly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-10 and 16-20 allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schneider et al. (US 2021/0397940) – teaches client side behavior classification, reputation management and authenticated neural network updates (Abstract, Fig 3-5).
/AMRESH SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159