CTNF 18/822,840 CTNF 95999 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the European Union on 9/8/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP 23196261.4 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Please note a failed attempt was made through the priority document exchange program. Information Disclosure Statement Applicant’s information disclosure statement filed 9/4/2024 has been considered and is included in the file. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 5 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 5, line 1, “wherein the two beam sections” should be changed to --wherein the at least two beam sections--. In claim 13, line 1, “wherein a one of the” should be changed to --where the --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites the limitation “a compartment comprising: a structure… wherein the structure is attached to the compartment” in lines 1-4. The structure is recited as an element of the compartment, but then later the two are being attached to each other. It appears the applicant is trying to claim the system of the compartment and structure together. Claim 19 is rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-10, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Butukuri et al. (US 11584441) . Regarding claim 1, Butukuri et al. discloses a structure (106, 206, 506, 706, 806, 906, 1006, 1106) comprising: a first attachment component (112, 212, 512) configured for attaching the structure to a front compartment structure of a compartment of a vehicle (suspension system of vehicle, col. 4, lines 41-44) such that the compartment is separated into a first compartment (102, 202) and a second compartment (104, 204); a second attachment component (128, 228) configured for attaching a climate control system (126, 226) to the structure such that the climate control system is located in the first compartment when the structure is attached to the front compartment structure (suspension system of vehicle, col. 4, lines 41-44); and a sealing component (236) configured for sealing off the first compartment of the compartment in an air-flow restricting manner against the second compartment when the structure is attached to the front compartment structure (col. 7, lines 16-45 teach a seal, gasket, etc. surrounding the structure); and wherein the structure is for noise, vibration, and harshness reduction inside the compartment (col. 5, lines 56-60). Regarding claim 2, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the structure further comprising a panel section (108, 208, 508, 708, 808, 908, 1008, 1108) and at least one beam section extending along a side of the panel section (110, 210, 510, 710, 810, 910, 1010, 1110, 114, 214, 514, 714, 814, 914, 1014, 1114). Regarding claim 3, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 2, and discloses wherein the panel section is thinner than the at least one beam section in a direction of extension of the panel section that is perpendicular to the direction of extension of the at least one beam section along the side of the panel section (Fig. 5B). Regarding claim 4, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 2, and discloses wherein the structure further comprises at least two beam sections ((110, 114), (210, 214), (510, 514), (710, 714), (810, 814), (910, 914), (1010, 1014), (1110, 1114)). Regarding claim 5, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 4, and discloses wherein the two beam sections extend along opposite sides of the panel section (Fig. 5A shows (510) on opposite sides of the panel section (508). Regarding claim 6, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 2, and discloses wherein the first attachment component (112, 212, 512) is arranged on the panel section (208),(508) and at least one of the at least one beam section ((210), (510), Fig. 6). Regarding claim 7, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 2, and discloses wherein the second attachment component (128, 228) is arranged on the panel section and at least one of the at least one beam section (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 8, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 2, and discloses wherein the sealing component (236) is arranged at least at opposite sides of the panel section (Fig. 4, col. 7, lines 16-45 teach a seal, gasket, etc. surrounding the structure). Regarding claim 9, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the sealing component (236) is configured as at least one sealing strip (Fig. 4, col. 7, lines 16-45 teach a seal, gasket, etc. surrounding the structure would act as strip). Regarding claim 10, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 4, and disclose the structure further comprising at least one depressed portion (Fig. 6, (512)), the at least one depressed portion being depressed relative to a thereto adjacent portion of the structure and having a face configured for arrangement at a counter face of the front compartment structure (Fig. 6 shows (512) which includes a depressed portion and is where the structure would be coupled to the suspension system of the vehicle). Regarding claim 12, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 1, and discloses the structure further comprising: a climate control structure, wherein the climate control structure comprises the climate control system, and wherein the climate control system is attached to the structure (col. 5, lines 32-39, Figs. 1-2 show the climate control system attached to the structure, the climate control structure would include all of the fans, vents, sensors, etc. within a housing). Regarding claim 14, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 5, and discloses wherein the opposite sides of the panel section are long sides of the panel section (Fig. 4). Regarding claim 15, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 8, and discloses wherein the sealing component (236) is arranged on a flat surface of the panel section (Fig. 4). Regarding claim 16, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 10, and discloses wherein the depressed portion is arranged at the panel section (Fig. 6). Regarding claim 17, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 10, and discloses wherein the depressed portion is arranged between the two beam sections (Fig. 6). Regarding claim 18, Butukuri et al. discloses a compartment comprising: a structure (106, 206, 506, 706, 806, 906, 1006, 1106): and a sealing component (236); wherein the structure is attached to the compartment (suspension system of vehicle, col. 4, lines 41-44) such that the compartment is separated into a first compartment (102, 202) and a second compartment (128, 228); wherein a climate control system (126, 226) is attached to the structure such that the climate control system is located in the first compartment when the structure is attached to the compartment (suspension system of vehicle, col. 4, lines 41-44); and wherein the sealing component seals off the first compartment of the compartment in an air-flow restricting manner against the second compartment (col. 7, lines 16-45 teach a seal, gasket, etc. surrounding the structure). Regarding claim 19, Butukuri et al. discloses the compartment of claim 18, and discloses wherein the compartment is a front compartment structure of a vehicle (Figs. 1 and 4). Regarding claim 20, Butukuri et al. discloses a method comprising: assembling a climate control structure by attaching a climate control system (126, 226) to a structure (106, 206, 506, 706, 806, 906, 1006, 1106), wherein the climate control structure comprises the climate control system; inserting the assembled climate control structure into a compartment (by connection to a suspension system of vehicle, col. 4, lines 41-44); and attaching the assembled climate control structure to a compartment structure of a vehicle (by connection to a suspension system of vehicle, col. 4, lines 41-44), wherein the structure separates the compartment structure into a first compartment (102, 202) and a second compartment (128, 228), and wherein the climate control system is located in the first compartment (suspension system of vehicle, col. 4, lines 41-44); and sealing, the first compartment of the compartment in an air-flow restricting manner against the second compartment (col. 7, lines 16-45 teach a seal, gasket, etc. surrounding the structure) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butukuri et al. (US 11584441) in view of Maier (US 2018/0065684) . Regarding claim 11, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 1, and discloses the structure being made from aluminum (col.3, lines 3-14). Butukuri et al. does not explicitly disclose the structure is designed as an extrusion part. Maier, like Butkuri et al, teaches a structure (114) and further teaches the structure is designed as an extrusion part (paragraph [0034] teaches an aluminum extruded beam/panel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Butukuri et al. to be designed as an extrusion part as taught by Maier, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure maximum strength and ease of forming any ribs (Maier: paragraph [0034]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butukuri et al. (US 11584441) in view of Seksaria et al. (US 5931520) . Regarding claim 13, Butukuri et al. discloses the structure of claim 1. However, Butukuri et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein a one of the first attachment component comprises at least one of a through-hole, a threaded hole, a bushing, a screw, and a bolt, and the second attachment component comprises one of a through-hole, a threaded hole, a bushing, a screw, and a bolt. Seksaria et al., like Butukuri et al., teaches a structure and further teaches the first attachment component comprises at least one of a through-hole, a threaded hole, a bushing, a screw, and a bolt, and the second attachment component comprises one of a through-hole, a threaded hole, a bushing, a screw, and a bolt (col. 6, lines 34-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Butukuri et al. to use bolts as a mechanical fastener as taught by Seksaria et al. Using a known technique of bolts as mechanical fasteners would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, since they would have recognized that applying the known technique of Seksaria et al. would yield predictable results for securing the structure to the front compartment structure and for attaching a climate control system . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Seksaria et al. (US 2003/0085592) teaches a front compartment aluminum structure. Eckert et al. (US 2019/0210422) teaches a structure separating a compartment into a first compartment and a second compartment. Shikata et al. (US 6705672) teaches a structure with a climate control system attached. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CARLY W. LYNCH whose telephone number is (571)272-5552. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8:30am-5:30pm, Eastern Time, alternate Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Peter M Poon can be reached at 571-272-6891. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/822,840 Page 2 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/822,840 Page 3 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/822,840 Page 4 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/822,840 Page 5 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/822,840 Page 6 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/822,840 Page 7 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/822,840 Page 8 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/822,840 Page 9 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/822,840 Page 10 Art Unit: 3643