DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘outer skirt,’ ‘leaflet structure,’ ‘annular frame’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levi et al. (US 2012/0123529A1, “Levi”) in view of Carlson et al. (US 2008/0228028A1, “Carlson”).
Regarding claims 1-15 and 18-20, Levi discloses a prosthetic valve that includes an annular frame (12; Fig. 1) that is capable of radially collapsing and expandable between a radially collapsed configuration and a radially expanded configuration. A leaflet structure (14; [0009,0011, 0020]) is positioned within the frame and secured thereto [0097, 0099]. An outer skirt (18) is positioned around an outer surface of the frame. The outer skirt includes an inflow edge and an outflow edge [0016]. The outer skirt is formed of woven (interlaced) PET (polyethylene terephthalate) material [0084] between the inflow and outflow edges (Fig. 41). Levi discloses that the inner skirt is formed multiple rows of woven yarns. A weave is known to be formed of interlaced yarns from first and second sets. However, Levi does not disclose that one or more of the multiple rows include groups of floating yarns.
In the same field of endeavor, woven material for implants [0044, 0045], Carlson teaches a woven fabric that includes shape memory strands and textile strands (non-shape memory material). The woven fabric may include fibers (strands, fibers) made of self-expandable shape memory material, e.g. nitinol [0040], that extend in the axial direction [0029, 0032-0036, 0039-0040]. The textile strands may include PET (polyethylene terephthalate;[0037] ) and extend perpendicular to the shape memory strands. The woven fabric includes multiple rows of first and second sets of interlaced yarns [0020]. The multiple rows include groups of floating yarns [0034]. The first rows of the multiple rows include a first set of interlaced yarns and alternate with second rows including a second set of interlaced yarns (Figs. 3). The first rows include a groups of floating yarns, e.g. over-27/under-3 configuration [0031, 0034], wherein the groups of floating yarns include at least two, five, and eight adjacent floating yarns within a same row. Each row formed by the first set of interlaced yarns may have a satin weave pattern or a plain weave [0027]. The first set of interlaced yarns include warp yarns made of non-shape memory material and weft yarns made of shape memory material [0051], wherein each group of floating yarns includes eight adjacent floating yarns between outwardly exposed weft yarns made of the shape memory material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the fabric of outer skirt of Levi with the woven fabric of Carlson including groups of floating yarns in satin or plan weave patterns, as taught by Carlson, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one biocompatible material for another for the predictable result of maintaining low porosity, providing desirable shape memory characteristics and distributing stress across the fabric. With this modification, the weave pattern includes yarns that extend in a circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Levi and Carlson discloses that the outer skirt includes an inflow edge secured to the frame at a first location and an outflow edge secured to the frame at a second location, wherein the plurality of rows is arrayed from the inflow edge to the outflow edge [0016; Levi].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Levi and Carlson discloses that the frame defines an axial direction extending between an inflow end and an outflow end of the frame, wherein the floating yarns extend in the axial direction. It is noted that Carlson teaches that the woven fabric includes shape memory element strands aligned in a first direction and textile strands aligned in a second direction [0007], thus the floating yarns may extend in the axial direction when the warp fibers are aligned in the axial direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schmitt (US 5,178,630) discloses groups of floating yarns within a woven pattern.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771