DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received September 3rd, 2024. Claims 1-20 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Application 18/822,881 is Continuation of PCT/CN2022/078990 03/03/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi et al. (US 2018/0041857) in view of KR 102297199 in view of Tsuda et al. (US 2019/0159053)
Regarding claim 1, 8, 14, Ouchi et al. discloses a method, comprising: transmitting a setup request only in layer 1 (L1) (paragraph 0184 [ L1 to transmit an RRC connection request]); and transmitting a setup complete message only in the L1 (paragraph 0184 [ L1 transmits, to the base station device, the RRC connection setup complete]).
Ouchi et al. does not explicitly disclose receiving a connection setup message only in L1.
However, KR 102297199 discloses receiving a connection setup message only in L1 (page 9 [an RRC message (RRC Connection reconfiguration, RRC Connection Setup), transmitted as a PHY message]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize an RRC Connection Setup message could be sent via a PHY message to send a configuration change.
The references as combined above do not explicitly disclose the connection setup message comprising parameters for at least one of radio bearer configuration, master cell group configuration, cell selection configuration, cell reselection configuration, or measurement configuration.
However, Tsuda et al. discloses the connection setup message comprising parameters for at least one of radio bearer configuration, master cell group configuration, cell selection configuration, cell reselection configuration, or measurement configuration (paragraph 0085 [connection setup message comprising “Reporting Configurations” 120 defines criteria that are used by a UE to trigger the transmission of a measurement report]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the connection setup message could include reporting configurations that trigger a measurement report. The motivation for this is to setup when the UE should measure and send a report.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-13, 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The references as combined above do not disclose or make obvious:
Claims 2, 9, 15 wherein receiving the connection setup message comprises: receiving a first stage downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel that schedules a first resource in a physical downlink shared channel; receiving a second stage DCI in the first resource that schedules a second resource in the physical downlink shared channel; and receiving L1 data for connection setup in the second resource.
Claims 3, 10, 16 transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission on a random access channel (RACH) resource associated with L1 setup; and receiving with a random access response; and wherein transmitting the setup request only in L1 uses resources scheduled in the random access response.
Claims 4, 11, 17 wherein: a first set of RACH resources is associated with L1 setup, and a second set of RACH resources is associated with radio resource control (RRC) setup; and the RACH resource associated with L1 setup belongs to the first set of RACH resources associated with L1 setup.
Claims 5, 18 receiving signaling indicating the first set of RACH resources and the second set of RACH resources.
Claims 6, 12, 19 receiving L1 data for reconfiguration only in L1, the L1 data for reconfiguration comprising at least one updated parameter.
Claims 7, 13, 20 wherein receiving the L1 data for reconfiguration only in L1 comprises: receiving another first stage DCI on a physical downlink control channel that schedules a third resource in a physical downlink shared channel; receiving another second stage DCI in the third resource that schedules a fourth resource in the physical downlink shared channel, wherein another second stage DCI indicates that the fourth resource contains the L1 data for reconfiguration; and receiving the L1 data for reconfiguration in the fourth resource in the physical downlink shared channel.
Closest Relevant Prior Art.
Lee et al. (US 2016/0323916) discloses the UE PDCP/RLC/MAC/L1 layer transmits an RRC connection request message including a UE ID (identifier) to the eNB based on the initial UL grant information. The eNB can transmit an RRC connection setup message to the UE PDCP/RLC/MAC/L1 layer. The UE PDCP/RLC/MAC/L1 layer delivers the RRC connection setup message to a UE RRC layer and the UE RRC layer performs SRB1 setup. Subsequently, the UE RRC layer transmits an RRC connection setup complete message to the UE PDCP/RLC/MAC/L1 layer and the UE PDCP/RLC/MAC/L1 layer delivers the RRC connection setup complete message to the eNB (paragraph 0091).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465