DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (01/27/2026) with respect to the art rejection of at least independent claims 1, 8 and 15 (amended on 01/27/206) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
The previously cited references to Ma et al. (U.S. 2024/0324018) and Singh et al. (U.S. 2019/0097712) are relied upon to reject (at least) amended claims 1, 8 and 15.
Claim Objections
Claims 22, 24-26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22, line 3 the recited “the PSS being generated” should be “the PSS generated”.
Claims 24, 25 and 26, respective line 2 the “of the selection beam index” should be “of the selected beam index”, claims 1, 8 and 15 previously claim “a selected beam index”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 12, 14-15, 19, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Ma et al. (U.S. 2024/0324018) in view of Singh et al. (U.S.
2019/0097712).
With respect to claim 1, Ma et al. disclose:
obtaining location coordinates for the device ([0074] “the UE may determine distances from a position of the UE (e.g., a latitude and longitude of the UE)…”. The UE performs obtaining of the position of the UE (e.g. a latitude and longitude of the UE)); determining, based on the location coordinates for the device, a selected beam index ([0074] “…the beam selection may be based at least in part on the proximity of the UE to the global position of the second beam.”…step 704 “…the UE may select the second beam…”, from among a plurality of beam indices (the second beam is selected from “the first plurality of beams and/or the second plurality of beams”. Also refer to Fig. 5 the first plurality of beams are for example the narrow beams in 504 and the second plurality of beams are the narrow beams in 506 [0072]). Regarding the claimed beam index and beam indices, it is understood that the selected second beam has an associated identifier (index) and that the first and/or second plurality of beams have respective identifiers (or indices)); and transmitting, based on the selected beam index, a random access preamble (Fig. 7, step 706 in response to the selected beam (second beam) index. [0079] In a four-step random access procedure “…the UE may transmit a message…including a preamble on a PRACH via the second beam”. The second beam (corresponds to the selected beam index selected according to [0074]). Alternatively, in a two-step RA procedure (706), the selected beam is used to transmit a message including a preamble on PRACH …via the second beam).
Ma et al. do not disclose: the determining the selected beam index comprising: determining, based on the location coordinates for the device, a beam-group index among a plurality of beam-group indices, a number of a group of beam indices corresponding to the beam-group index is greater than 1 and less than the number of beams corresponding to the plurality of beam indices, and determining the selected beam index from the group of beam indices corresponding to the beam-group index.
Implementing transmit beam selection based on location information, Singh et al. disclose: determining a selected beam index comprising: determining, based on location for the device ([0101], [0112] “compiles location-beam direction data based on suitable beam directions found at each of one or more locations to form a beam-finding map …to look up suitable beam directions corresponding to the current location…”, Fig. 10, [0016], [0115] portions which describes UE maintaining a location-beam direction associations for multiple base stations), [0116],[0123] “location…two-dimensional location (e.g. latitude/longitude…), [0126],[0131], [0134] performed by a UE and [0139]), a beam-group index among a plurality of beam-group indices (refer to at least [0112] refer to the suitable beam directions found at each location to form a beam-finding map, the example of the beam-finding map of Fig. 10 applied to making a beam-finding map of a UE, [0126]. The UE performs the determining a beam-group index (the index or identifier or the prioritized group of beam directions) based on its current location [0126], [0139], out of a plurality of beam-group indices (corresponding to other locations e.g. out of the N locations and respective groups (lists) of beam directions e.g. Fig. 10, [0112], [0116], [0126])), a number of a group of beam indices corresponding to the beam-group index is greater than 1 and less than the number of beams corresponding to the plurality of beam indices (e.g. according to the associations of Fig. 10 and the other cited paragraphs, a number (quantity) of beam indices (1…P or 3…Q, or 5…R) of a beam group (or list) is greater than 1 ([0116], [0112], [0126]) and less than the total beam directions (indices)), and determining the selected beam index from the group of beam indices corresponding to the beam-group index (an optimal or sufficient beam [0086], lines 1-4 of [0110], lines 1-6 of [0111], [0139], determined from the prioritized beam directions (beams) from the list or group of prioritized beam directions corresponding to the current location of the UE, also [0136]-[0139]) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ma et al. based on the teachings of Singh et al. to perform the determining of the selected beam index by determining, based on the location coordinates for the device, a beam-group index (of a list or group of prioritized beam directions) among a plurality of beam-group indices (indices of lists or groups of prioritized beam directions for other locations of the UE), a number of a group of beam indices corresponding to the beam group-index is greater than 1 and less than a number of beams corresponding to the plurality of beam indices (the number of beams in the list or group of the prioritized beam directions for the current UE location), and determining the selected beam index from the group of beam indices correspond to the beam-group index (the optimal or sufficient beam direction selected out of the list or group of prioritized beams for the current UE location, [0086], [0136]-[0138]-[0139]) instead on determining the selected beam index based on a shortest distance between the UE and positions of the first and second plurality of second beams, so that a sufficient or optimal beam direction is determined using a beam-finding map and used for uplink transmission (transmission of the random access preamble of Ma et al.) and additionally the beam-finding map data of the UE of modified Ma et al. is shared with other devices to disseminate mutual benefit from the collectively-gathered location-beam direction determinations (Singh et al., refer to at least, [0086], [0112], [0118], [0139]).
The steps of claim 8 are rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 1 above. Regarding the claimed “at least one processor coupled with a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, when the instructions executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations including:”, refer to Ma et al. Fig. 12 [0024], [0109]-[0110], refer to processor 1204 and computer-readable medium/memory 1212 [0196] in particular the third to last sentence “non-transitory computer readable media”).
The steps of claim 15 are rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding the claimed “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, when the instructions executed by an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:” refer to at least lines 1-3 of [0191], [0194], [0196] third to last sentence and [0197]).
With respect to claim 5, modified Ma et al. disclose: wherein the determining the beam-group index comprises: selecting the beam-group index from a table (Singh et al. [0112] approximate middle “beam-finding map may be stored in any suitable data-structure format (...table…) and beam-finding map examples of Fig.9B and Fig. 10) that maps location coordinate ranges (location grids of Fig. 9B corresponding to location coordinate ranges [0109], [0123]) to the plurality of beam-group indices (Fig. 10, locations (location grids) mapped to corresponding location coordinate ranges).
Claims 12, 19 are rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
With respect to claim 7, modified Ma et al. disclose: (using) a table that maps location coordinate ranges to the plurality of beam indices (Singh et al., Fig. 9B, Fig. 10, [0112], [0123] refer to the disclosed grid element, also [0109] the location coordinate ranges are mapped to prioritized beam groups (or lists) which in turn are mapped to the plurality of beam indices)
In the same field of endeavor, Singh et al. disclose: receiving a positioning broadcast channel that includes a table that maps location coordinate ranges to the plurality of beam indices ( [0095] approximate middle “…The location indication may provide a two-dimensional location (e.g., latitude/longitude or some equivalent indicator such as a grid element index)”, [0127] discloses “…the UL beam-finding map may be sent via unicast transmissions to the one or more UEs; it may be broadcast using a broadcast channel (BCH)”. Also refer to [0129] step 1210 based on the beam-finding map).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ma et al. based on the cited teachings of Singh et al. to receive a positioning broadcast channel (e.g. BCH) to receive the UL-beam-finding map (e.g. Fig. 9B, Fig. 10) to implement distribution of UL-beam finding maps to UEs served by a base station (enB) from a centralized data store of the enB (Singh et al. [0127]).
Claim 14 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
With respect to claim 24, modified Ma et al. disclose: wherein the random access preamble includes at least one of: at least one of an indication of the selection beam index or an indication of the beam-group index, or a sequence generated based upon at least one of the selected beam index (Ma et al. refer to at least step 706 and [0066], [0079] at least the last sentence, also approximate middle of related [0083] and [0106]. Refer to the transmitted MSG1 (sequence) or transmitted MSGA (sequence) generated based upon the selected narrow beam (having a corresponding beam index). [0058]-[0059], [0079] describe related random access procedures) or the beam-group index.
Claims 25-26 are rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 24 above.
6. Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Ma et al. (U.S. 2024/0324018) in view of Singh et al. (U.S. 2019/0097712),
and further in view of JP 4731000 B2.
With respect to claim 2, modified Ma et al., Singh et al. do not disclose: further comprising: prior to the obtaining the location coordinates for the device, receiving a positioning reference signal.
Implementing position determination, JP 4731000 B2 discloses: prior to obtaining location coordinates for a device, receiving a positioning reference signal (translation [0089], actual position information specified by a latitude and longitude. First sentence of [0090], first two sentences of [0091] refer to the disclosed determining of position after a position reference signal is received (or receiving a position reference signal prior to obtaining the location coordinates (actual position information in terms of latitude and longitude).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device (UE) of Ma et al. based on the cited teachings of JP 4731000 B2 to: prior to obtaining the location coordinates for the device, receiving a positioning reference signal (receiving a position reference signal from a plurality of artificial satellites) and measure its own position based on the received positioning reference signal to implement a known and suitable technique to obtain the predictable result of determining position information (JP 4731000 B2, [009], first sentence of [0090], first two sentences of [0091]).
With respect to claim 3, modified Ma et al. discloses: wherein the obtaining the location coordinates is based on the positioning reference signal (refer above to the rejection of claim 2).
Claims 9-10, 16-17 are rejected based on the rationale used to reject claims 2-3 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
SOPHIA VLAHOS
Examiner
Art Unit 2633
/SOPHIA VLAHOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633 03/24/2026