DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 11-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by van der Pol (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0361096 A1, hereinafter “van der Pol”).
van der Pol discloses, regarding claim 1, a method of pre-assembling an orthopedic fixation assembly (see Fig. 4a-e) comprising: providing a tulip head (20) having two arms (see annotated Fig. 2 below) defining a rod slot therebetween (see annotated Fig. 2 below), the tulip head having a bore (22) extending therethrough (see Fig. 2); providing a bone fastener (10, see Fig. 7) including a screw head (12) receivable in the tulip head (see para. [0078]) and a shaft (14) configured for engaging bone (see para. [0082]); placing the screw head in the bore (see para. [0071]); placing into the tulip head a saddle (31b) having an upper surface (e.g. upper surface of 30, see Fig. 3) defining a rod seat (39) in a first position with the rod seat offset relative to the rod slot (see Figs. 4a-b, see paras. [0074]-[0075]); rotating the placed saddle into a second position with the rod seat aligned with the rod slot (see Figs. 4c-d, see paras. [0076]-[0077]) in order to lock the saddle to the tulip head so as to allow a rod to be positioned through the rod slot and over the rod seat (see para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 2, wherein rotating includes rotating the saddle by 90° about a central longitudinal axis (“L”) of the tulip head from the first position to the second position (see Figs. 4a-d, see paras. [0074]-[0077], see also para. [0071] and Figs. 1a-b, note that the channel of the tulip is rotated 90° from the arms of the tulip).
Regarding claim 3, wherein an outer surface (e.g. outer surface of 37) of the saddle and the groove are elliptically shaped (see Figs. 2-3, note outer surface of saddle is elongated via 37 and the inner surface tulip is elongated via 24 transverse to “L” to form an elliptical shape), thereby preventing the saddle from rotating out of alignment (see para. [0077] “rotationally fixed”).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the saddle includes a pair of wings (37) extending outwardly from opposite sides of the saddle (see Fig. 3), wherein rotating includes rotating the placed saddle such that the wings are received in an internal groove (24a, see Fig. 2) in the tulip head (see para. [0077]).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the bore of the tulip head defines an internal taper (see annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein the screw head is prevented from disengaging from the tulip head by the internal taper (via DImin and 32, see Fig. 8, see also paras. [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the rotating includes rotating the placed saddle such that a clamp (31a) coupled to the saddle clamps the placed screw head to lock the screw head to the tulip head (see paras. [0078], see also para. [0082], “screw head 12 to be inseparably connected to receiving region 32 of saddle 30 when saddle 30 is in locked position 23b”).
Regarding claim 8, wherein placing the screw head in the bore includes placing the screw head such that a retainer ring (32) received in a groove (see annotated Fig. 2 above) of the bore applies pressure against the screw head to retain the screw head in the tulip head (see para. [0078]).
van der Pol discloses, regarding claim 11, a method of pre-assembling an orthopedic fixation assembly (see Fig. 4a-e) comprising: providing a tulip head (20) having a central longitudinal axis (“L”), a tulip base (see annotated Fig. 2 above) and two arms (see annotated Fig. 2 above) extending upwardly from the tulip base and defining a rod slot therebetween (see annotated Fig. 2 above), the tulip base having a bore (22) extending therethrough about the vertical longitudinal axis (see Fig. 2); providing a polyaxial bone fastener (10, see Fig. 7) including a spherical screw head (12) receivable in the tulip head (see para. [0078]) and a shaft (14) configured for engaging bone (see para. [0082]); placing the spherical screw head in the bore (see para. [0071]); placing downwardly into the tulip head a saddle (31b) having an upper surface (e.g. upper surface of 30, see Fig. 3) defining a rod seat (39) in a first position with the rod seat offset relative to the rod slot (see Figs. 4a-b, see paras. [0074]-[0075]); rotating the placed saddle into a second position about the central longitudinal axis with the rod seat aligned with the rod slot (see Figs. 4c-d, see paras. [0076]-[0077]) in order to lock the saddle to the tulip head so as to allow a rod to be positioned through the rod slot and over the rod seat (see para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 12, wherein rotating includes rotating the saddle by 90° about a central longitudinal axis (“L”) of the tulip head from the first position to the second position (see Figs. 4a-d, see paras. [0074]-[0077], see also para. [0071] and Figs. 1a-b, note that the channel of the tulip is rotated 90° from the arms of the tulip).
Regarding claim 13, wherein an outer surface (e.g. outer surface of 37) of the saddle and the groove are elliptically shaped (see Figs. 2-3, note outer surface of saddle is elongated via 37 and the inner surface tulip is elongated via 24 transverse to “L” to form an elliptical shape), thereby preventing the saddle from rotating out of alignment (see para. [0077] “rotationally fixed”).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the saddle includes a pair of wings (37) extending outwardly from opposite sides of the saddle (see Fig. 3), wherein rotating includes rotating the placed saddle such that the wings are received in an internal groove (24a, see Fig. 2) in the tulip head (see para. [0077]).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the bore of the tulip head defines an internal taper (see annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein the screw head is prevented from disengaging from the tulip head by the internal taper (via DImin and 32, see Fig. 8, see also paras. [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the rotating includes rotating the placed saddle such that a clamp (32) coupled to the saddle clamps the placed screw head to lock the screw head to the tulip head (see paras. [0078], see also para. [0082], “screw head 12 to be inseparably connected to receiving region 32 of saddle 30 when saddle 30 is in locked position 23b”).
Regarding claim 18, wherein placing the screw head in the bore includes placing the screw head such that a retainer ring (32) received in a groove of the bore see annotated Fig. 2 above) applies pressure against the screw head to retain the screw head in the tulip head (see para. [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van der Pol, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and in view of May (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0193062 A1, hereinafter “May”).
van der Pol discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, as previously set forth above. van der Pol further discloses, regarding claims 4 and 14, wherein the saddle includes a through bore (see annotated Fig. 5 above). van der Pol fails to disclose, regarding claims 4 and 14, and a pair of engagement recesses in the upper surface of the saddle on opposite sides of the through bore, wherein rotating includes: engaging the engagement recesses with an assembly tool; and rotating the engaged assembly tool to facilitate rotation of the saddle.
May discloses an orthopedic fixation device / method (see Fig. 3) with a tulip head (14) and a saddle (44), wherein the saddle includes a pair of engagement recesses in the upper surface (76, see Fig. 3) on opposite side of the through bore (see Fig. 4), wherein rotating includes engaging the engagement recesses with an assembly tool (see para. [0037]), and rotating the engaged assembly tool facilitates rotation of the saddle (see para. [0037]) in order to enable a mating engagement with a surgical instrument such as a driver to facilitate rotation of the saddle (see para. [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the saddle in van der Pol to include a pair of engagement recesses in the upper surface on opposite side of the through bore, wherein rotating includes engaging the engagement recesses with an assembly tool, and rotating the engaged assembly tool facilitates rotation of the saddle in view of May in order to enable a mating engagement with a surgical instrument such as a driver to facilitate rotation of the saddle.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van der Pol, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and in view of Biedermann et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0338721 A1, hereinafter “Biedermann”).
van der Pol discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, as previously set forth above except, regarding claims 9 and 19, wherein the retainer ring is a clip; and regarding claims 10 and 20, wherein the retainer ring is a split ring.
Biedermann discloses an orthopedic fixation device / method (see Fig. 1) with a tulip head (5) and a saddle (61) and a retaining ring (66), wherein the retainer ring is a clip (71); and wherein the retainer ring is a split ring (71, see para. [0047]) in order to create a ring-shaped portion extending from the bottom of the head receiving portion (see para. [0046]) that enables the retaining ring to elastically expand and contract for receiving and locking around the head of the bone anchor (see paras. [0054]-[0055]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify retaining ring in van der Pol to be a clip / a split ring in view of Biedermann in order to create a ring-shaped portion extending from the bottom of the head receiving portion that enables the retaining ring to elastically expand and contract for receiving and locking around the head of the bone anchor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/M.C.G/ Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773