DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/822921. Claims 1-10, 17-24 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first and second sides" in line 21 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 17-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,104,695. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the elements in the present set of claims are claimed in the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ECK (2018/0238430) in view of AITCIN (2014/0349792), BOUFFARD (9,057,432), and JOSS (6,309,317).
Regarding Claim 1, ECK teaches A CVT primary clutch for an engine of a vehicle, the clutch (100) comprising: a center post [0021] for mounting to an output end of an engine (302) crankshaft [0025]; a stationary sheave (102a) to be attached to the center post [0021]; a moveable sheave (150) for moving axially along the center post toward and away from the stationary sheave (102a) in response to engine RPM; and a face plate (Fig. 3) to be fastened onto the moveable sheave (150) for protecting internal components of the clutch (100); a spider portion (158) mounted onto the center post [0021] within an interior of the moveable sheave (150): and at least two shift arms (158a-c) and ramps (152) coupling the moveable sheave (150) with the spider portion, the shift arms (158a-c) each including a roller (Fig. 2) configured to ride on the corresponding ramp (152) coupled to the moveable sheave (150) with the roller configured to push against the ramp (152) when centrifugal force causes the multiple shift arm to be pushed away from the center post [0021] and the shift arms and the rollers and the ramps configured to push the moveable sheave (150) toward the stationary sheave (102a) in response to engine RPM.
ECK does not teach the shift arms each including opposing exterior surfaces each configured to receive additional weights secured to the opposing exterior surfaces of the shift arm by a thru bolt to affect the engine RPM at which the moveable sheave begins to move toward the stationary sheave, the ramps each supported in the moveable sheave by a quick shift bolt directly mounted within the moveable sheave, the first and second sides may be selected to contact the rollers and affect the engine RPM when the moveable sheave begins to move toward the stationary sheave.
JOSS teaches the shift arms (30) each including opposing exterior surfaces each configured to receive additional weights (40) secured to the opposing exterior surfaces of the shift arm by a thru bolt to affect the engine RPM at which the moveable sheave begins to move toward the stationary sheave
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the transmission in ECK to have the ramp changing system in JOSS to help change the shifting properties of the transmission.
AITCIN teaches the ramps each supported in the moveable sheave by a quick shift bolt (230) directly mounted within the moveable sheave,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the transmission in ECK to have the ramp changing system in AITCIN to further help change the shifting properties of the transmission as the rotation speed of the pulley increases.
BOUFFARD teaches the first (226) and second (228) sides may be selected to contact the rollers and affect the engine RPM when the moveable sheave begins to move toward the stationary sheave (Col. 7 lines 59 – Col. 8 line 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the transmission in ECK to have the ramp changing system in BOUFFARD to further help change the shifting properties of the transmission as the moveable sheave gets closer to the stationary sheave.
Regarding Claim 2, ECK as modified teaches wherein the face plate (Fig. 3) may be implemented with any of various decorations, colors, diagrams, words, numbers, and the like (claim 2, label 182).
Regarding Claim 3, ECK as modified teaches wherein the face plate (Fig. 3) includes multiple openings (181, fig. 4) configured to provide easy access to internal components comprising the clutch (100).
Regarding Claim 4, ECK as modified teaches wherein the openings (181, fig. 4) facilitate quickly and easily performing adjustments to the performance of the clutch (100).
Regarding Claim 6, ECK as modified teaches wherein a roller bearing (120) may be mounted onto the center post [0021] and disposed between the stationary sheave (102a) and the moveable sheave (150).
Regarding Claim 7, ECK as modified teaches wherein the roller bearing (120) is configured to provide a stationary surface for a belt [0005] to reside on during engine idling.
Regarding Claim 8, ECK as modified teaches wherein the roller bearing (120) reduces belt friction and overall clutch temperature while increasing longevity of the belt [0005].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ECK (2018/0238430) in view of AITCIN (2014/0349792), BOUFFARD (9,057,432), and JOSS (6,309,317) and further in view of OKESON (2018/0363748).
Regarding Claim 5, ECK as modified does not teach wherein multiple fan blades may be disposed on an inner surface of the face plate and configured to provide cooling to the components comprising the clutch. OKESON teaches wherein multiple fan blades may be disposed on an inner surface of the face plate and configured to provide cooling to the components comprising the clutch (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the transmission in ECK as modified to have the fan in OKESON to help circulate air for cooling the transmission.
Conclusion
HENRY Y. LIU
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/HENRY Y LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654