CTFR 18/822,933 CTFR 85801 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Applicant’s arguments/amendments filed Mar. 13, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 2. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 3. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Narla et al. (11,201,496) (“Narla”) . Regarding claim 19 , Narla discloses a method of forming a power supply system (for example - Fig.2A, please refer to the whole reference for detailed ), the method comprising: positioning an input disconnect (222 in Fig.2A) in a housing (housing of 210 in Fig.2A is shown in Fig.38A; column 3, line 24-28), the input disconnect (222) configured to receive electrical power from a power meter (282) and to provide the electrical power to a plurality of parallel downstream branches (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) in the housing; and positioning an auxiliary disconnect (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) in the housing, the auxiliary disconnect configured to selectively receive electrical power from the input disconnect through an auxiliary outlet branch (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) of the plurality of parallel downstream branches and to selectively provide the electrical power to an auxiliary device (backup load(s) (272)) that is external to the housing (according to Fig.1, where a backup load (172) is external to the housing (housing of 110 in Fig.1 is shown in Fig.38A; column 3, line 24-28); and positioning a main electrical output (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) in the housing configured to receive electrical power from the input disconnect through a main outlet branch (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) of the plurality of parallel downstream branches and to provide the electrical power to a main disconnect panel (270) that is external to the housing . PNG media_image1.png 723 905 media_image1.png Greyscale Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 5. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narla et al. (11,201,496) (“Narla”) in view of Cooper (10,840,735) . Regarding claim 20 , Narla discloses positioning an electrical monitoring device (240s) in the housing, the electrical monitoring device including a main current sensor (please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) for sensing electrical current getting into a main disconnect panel (270) through the input disconnect and an auxiliary current sensor (please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) for sensing electrical current passing from the auxiliary disconnect to an auxiliary device (please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below). PNG media_image1.png 723 905 media_image1.png Greyscale Narla doesn’t explicitly disclose a main current sensor for sensing electrical current passing from the input disconnect to the main disconnect panel . Basically, Narla discloses the position of the main current sensor is being placed before the input disconnect instead of the position of the main current sensor is being placed after the input disconnect. Cooper discloses an example of a main current sensor (23a in Fig.4) is being placed after the input disconnect (15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narla with the teaching of Cooper to provide the main current sensor is being placed after the input disconnect. The suggestion/motivation would have been to detect current at a desired position . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim s 1-5 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narla et al. (11,201,496) (“Narla”) in view of Ramachandran et al. (2017/0214225) (hereinafter “Ramachandran”) . Regarding claim 1 , Narla discloses an electrical power supply system (for example - Fig.2A, please refer to the whole reference for detailed ), comprising: a housing (housing of 210 in Fig.2A is shown in Fig.38A; column 3, line 24-28) separate from a meter (282); an input disconnect (222) in the housing configured to receive electrical power from the meter socket and to provide the electrical power to a plurality of parallel downstream branches (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) in the housing; an auxiliary disconnect (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) in the housing configured to receive electrical power from the input disconnect through an auxiliary outlet branch (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) of the plurality of parallel downstream branches and to provide the electrical power to an auxiliary device (corresponding one of backup loads (272)) that is external to the housing (according to Fig.1, where a backup load (172 in Fig.1) is external to the housing (housing of 110 in Fig.1 is shown in Fig.38A; column 3, line 24-28)); and a main electrical output (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) in the housing configured to receive electrical power from the input disconnect through a main outlet branch (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) of the plurality of parallel downstream branches and to provide the electrical power to a disconnect panel (270), that is external to the housing. PNG media_image1.png 723 905 media_image1.png Greyscale Narla doesn’t explicitly disclose the meter includes a meter socket. Ramachandran discloses an example of a meter includes a meter socket (102 in Fig.1 includes a meter socket shown as 400 in Fig.4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narla with the teaching of Ramachandran to provide the meter socket. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a meter socket to mount the meter as taught by Ramachandran. Regarding claim 2 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 1 above. Narla discloses an auxiliary electrical output (auxiliary electrical output for backup load 172 in Fig.1) configured to receive electrical power from the auxiliary disconnect (please refer to claim 1 above) and to provide the electrical power to the auxiliary device (auxiliary device connected to the auxiliary disconnect, for example 172 in Fig.1; one of 272s in Fig.2A). Note : Ramachandran also discloses an auxiliary electrical output (auxiliary electrical output of 300 which is connected to 302 and/or 304 in Fig.3) configured to receive electrical power from the auxiliary disconnect (auxiliary disconnect connected to 302 or 304 in Fig.3; according to ¶ 19, there have disconnect switches that allow disconnection of each external power source/l oad ) and to provide the electrical power to the auxiliary device (302 and/or 304). Regarding claim 3 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claims 1 and 2 above. Narla discloses an electrical monitoring device (240s in Fig.2A) in the housing, the electrical monitoring device configured to sense electrical current passing through at least one of the main electrical output or the auxiliary electrical output (240 which is used to sense electrical current to 272 in Fig.2A; please refer to at least column 12, line 55-58 and column 16, line 65 to column 17, line 3). Regarding claim 4 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claims 1-3 above. Narla discloses the electrical monitoring device (240s in Fig.2A) comprises at least one of: an input current sensor (please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) coupled to the input disconnect (please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) to sense electrical current passing into the housing; a main current sensor coupled to the main electrical output to sense electrical current passing through the main electrical output; or an auxiliary current sensor (please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) coupled to the auxiliary electrical output (for example - auxiliary electrical output connected to 172 in Fig.1) to sense electrical current passing through the auxiliary electrical output. PNG media_image1.png 723 905 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 5 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claims 1-4 above. Narla discloses the main electrical output (main electrical output from 210 which is connected to 270 in Fig.2A) comprises a main conductor (main conductor is used to connect 210 and 270) and the auxiliary electrical output (auxiliary electrical output from 210) comprises an auxiliary conductor (auxiliary electrical conductor connected to the auxiliary electrical output in Figs.1 and 2). Regarding claim 9 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 1 above. Narla discloses the auxiliary device (170 in Fig.1) comprises one or more of: an electric vehicle charging station; an electric vehicle; a pump; an air conditioning unit; a heater; or a refrigerator (please refer to at least column 11, line 52-65). Regarding claim 10 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 1 above. Narla discloses the disconnect panel (270) comprises one or more of: a residential breaker panel; a commercial breaker panel; a fuse box; a fusible switch box; or a protective relay panel (please refer to at least column 12, line 11-13 and column 29, line 21-26). Regarding claim 11 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 1 above. Narla discloses the input disconnect comprises an input breaker; and the auxiliary disconnect comprises an auxiliary breaker (please refer to at least column 29, line 21-26 for using switch or breaker). Regarding claim 12 , Narla discloses an electrical power supply system (for example - Fig.2A, please refer to the whole reference for detailed ), comprising: a power meter (282); a housing (housing of 210 in Fig.2A is shown in Fig.38A; column 3, line 24-28) separate from the power meter ; an input disconnect (222) in the housing configured to receive electrical power from the power meter and to provide the electrical power to a plurality of parallel downstream branches (please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) in the housing; an inlet branch (please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) in the housing for providing the electrical power from the power meter (282) to the input disconnect; a main outlet branch (a main outlet branch connected to 270; please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below; where Fig.33 shows similarly as a main outlet branch which includes a branch connected to 3381 and 3372) of the plurality of parallel downstream branches in the housing for selectively transmitting (using breaker connected between 3328 and 3372) electrical power from the input disconnect (222 in Fig.2A; 3322 and 3328 in Fig.33) to a main disconnect panel (270 in Fig.2A or 3372 in Fig.33) that is external to the housing; an auxiliary outlet branch (please refer to Narl’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) of the plurality of parallel downstream branches in the housing for selectively transmitting (using breakers or switches connected to the backup load(s) (272)) electrical power from the input disconnect to an auxiliary device (corresponding one of backup loads (272)) that is external to the housing (according to Fig.1, where a backup load (172 in Fig.1) is external to the housing (housing of 110 in Fig.1 is shown in Fig.38A; column 3, line 24-28)); and at least one auxiliary disconnect (breaker or switch connected to 272 in Fig.2A) in the housing and coupled to the auxiliary outlet branch, the at least one auxiliary disconnect configured to selectively transmit electrical power respectively to at least one auxiliary device (backup load(s) (272)). PNG media_image1.png 723 905 media_image1.png Greyscale Narla doesn’t explicitly disclose a meter socket including a socket for connecting a power meter. Ramachandran discloses an example of a meter socket including a socket for connecting a power meter (Fig.4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narla with the teaching of Ramachandran to provide a meter socket including a socket for connecting a power meter. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a meter socket to mount the meter as taught by Ramachandran. Regarding claim 13 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 12 above. Narla discloses the input disconnect (222) comprises at least one of: an input fuse; an input breaker; an input fusible switch; or an input protective relay (please refer to at least column 12, line 11-13 and column 29, line 21-26). Regarding claim 14 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 12 above. Narla discloses the at least one auxiliary disconnect (breaker or switch connected to 272 in Fig.2A) comprises at least one of: an auxiliary fuse; an auxiliary breaker; an auxiliary fusible switch; or an auxiliary protective relay (please refer to at least column 12, line 11-13 and column 29, line 21-26) . 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narla et al. (11,201,496) (“Narla”) in view of Ramachandran et al. (2017/0214225) (hereinafter “Ramachandran”) and Cooper (10,840,735) . Regarding claim 6 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claims 1 and 2 above. Narla discloses a splitter that splits a conductive path from the input disconnect into the main electrical output and the auxiliary electrical output. PNG media_image2.png 534 816 media_image2.png Greyscale Narla doesn’t explicitly disclose at least one auxiliary lug to splits the conductive path. Cooper discloses at least one auxiliary lug (at least one auxiliary lug connected between 12 and 96a/98a in Fig.20) to splits the conductive path (conductive path connected to 12; column 77, line 66 to column 78, line 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narla in view of Ramachandran with the teaching of Cooper to use at least one auxiliary lug to split the conductive path taught by Narla. The suggestion/motivation would have been to support that lugs are used to connect and split the conductive paths . 07-21-aia AIA 9. Claim s 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narla et al. (11,201,496) (“Narla”) in view of Ramachandran et al. (2017/0214225) (hereinafter “Ramachandran”) and Thornton et al. (2020/0136385) (“Thornton”) . Regarding claim 7 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 1 above. Narla discloses a grid (280 in Fig.2A) and a PV power system (260 in Fig.2A) are two of the power sources. Narla doesn’t explicitly disclose a neutral lug in the housing, the neutral lug configured to be coupled to a neutral wire. Thornton discloses a neutral lug (50 in Fig.7) in the housing (12 in Fig.7), the neutral lug configured to be coupled to a neutral wire (¶ 50). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narla in view of Ramachandran with the teaching of Thornton to provide a neutral lug in the housing, the neutral lug configured to be coupled to a neutral wire. The suggestion/motivation would have been to carry combine a grid power and a solar power as taught by Thornton’s ¶ 50. Regarding claim 8 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 1 above. Narla discloses a grid (280 in Fig.2A) and a PV power system (260 in Fig.2A) are two of the power sources. Narla doesn’t explicitly disclose a ground lug in the housing, the ground lug configured to be coupled to a ground wire. Thornton discloses a ground lug (50 in Fig.7) in the housing (12 in Fig.7), the ground lug configured to be coupled to a ground wire (¶ 50 states power lug 50 connects to earth ground). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narla in view of Ramachandran with the teaching of Thornton to provide a ground lug in the housing, the ground lug configured to be coupled to a ground wire. The suggestion/motivation would have been to carry combine a grid power and a solar power as taught by Thornton’s ¶ 50 . 07-21-aia AIA 10. Claim s 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narla et al. (11,201,496) (“Narla”) in view of Ramachandran et al. (2017/0214225) (hereinafter “Ramachandran”) and Cooper (10,840,735) . Regarding claim 15 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 12 above. Narla discloses an electrical monitoring device (240 in Fig.2A) in the housing (housing of 210), the electrical monitoring device comprising: at least one input current sensor (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) configured to sense electrical current passing from the power meter (282) to the input disconnect (222) along the inlet branch (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below); electrical current passing to the main disconnect panel (270) from the input disconnect (222) along the main outlet branch (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below); and at least one auxiliary current sensor (please refer to Narla’s Fig.2A with the Examiner’s notes below) configured to sense electrical current passing to the at least one auxiliary device (272) from the at least one auxiliary disconnect (breaker connected to the auxiliary current sensor below) through the auxiliary outlet branch. PNG media_image1.png 723 905 media_image1.png Greyscale Narla doesn’t disclose the meter socket and at least one main current sensor configured to sense electrical current passing to the main disconnect panel from the input disconnect along the main outlet branch. As explained above, Ramachandran discloses the meter socket (Fig.4). Cooper discloses an example of at least one main current sensor (23a in Fig.4) configured to sense electrical current passing from an input disconnect (15) along a main outlet branch (main outlet branch between 15 and 22a). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narla in view of Ramachandran with the teaching of Cooper to provide at least one main current sensor configured to sense electrical current passing to the main disconnect panel from the input disconnect along the main outlet branch. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a meter socket to mount the meter as taught by Ramachandran and to monitor the current flow along the path over the load changes as taught by Cooper. Regarding claim 16 , Narla in view of Ramachandran and Cooper is used to reject claims 12 and 15 above. Narla discloses a communication module (2330 and 2332 in Fig.23) for communicating information (between 2392 and 2390) based on signals from the at least one input current sensor, at least one main current sensor, and at least one auxiliary current sensor to a user device (2392; column 31, line 1 to column 32, line 17). Regarding claim 17 , Narla in view of Ramachandran and Cooper is used to reject claims 12, 15 and 16 above. Narla discloses the at least one auxiliary disconnect comprises at two or more auxiliary disconnects configured to selectively transmit electrical power respectively to two or more auxiliary devices (Fig.2A) . 07-21-aia AIA 11. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narla et al. (11,201,496) (“Narla”) in view of Ramachandran et al. (2017/0214225) (hereinafter “Ramachandran”) and Miller (2020/0153208) . Regarding claim 18 , Narla in view of Ramachandran is used to reject claim 12 above. Narla discloses the housing (housing of 210 in Fig.2A and Fig.16) can be mounted on a wall of a building (column 23, line 55-59) and the power meter (282) as explained in claim 12 above. Narla doesn’t explicitly disclose the housing is mounted adjacent to and along a same wall as the meter socket. Ramachandran discloses the meter socket (Fig.4) as explained in claim 12 above. Miller discloses the meter socket can be mounted inside or exterior wall of a building (¶ 55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narla in view of Ramachandran with the teaching of Miller to provide the housing is mounted adjacent to and along a same wall as the meter socket. The suggestion/motivation would have been to place the power meter and the housing on the wall of a building as supported by Narla and Miller. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RICHARD TAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7455. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:30am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Menatoallah Youssef can be reached on 571-270-3684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Richard Tan/Primary Examiner 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 2 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 3 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 4 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 5 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 6 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 7 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 8 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 9 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 10 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 11 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 12 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 13 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 14 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 15 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 16 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 17 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 18 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/822,933 Page 19 Art Unit: 2836