35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-12, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schiefelbein et al 10,938,165.
Regarding claim 1, Schiefelbein et al (Figure 3) discloses an electric connector 18b, comprising: at least one pressure sensitive surface 32; and at least one pressure sensor 15f adapted to detect a pressure acting on the at least one pressure sensitive surface and to output a signal in response to the detection of pressure acting on the at least one pressure sensitive surface.
Regarding claim 2, Schiefelbein et al discloses at least one locking feature 33 movable between a release position and a securing position and adapted to secure an element 13a to the electric connector 18b, the at least one pressure sensitive surface 32 is located on the at least one locking feature.
Regarding claim 3, Schiefelbein et al discloses the at least one locking feature 33 includes an actuation surface adapted for manual interaction, the at least one pressure sensitive surface is at least partially arranged on the or formed by the actuation surface.
Regarding claim 8, Schiefelbein et al discloses a housing 13b; and an expansion module 13a removably mounted in the housing.
Regarding claim 10, Schiefelbein et al discloses a mating face (on which 15d is seated) facing a mating connector 13a in a mating direction, wherein the pressure sensitive surface 32 forms at least part of the mating face.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Schiefelbein et al is applied as above.
Regarding claim 14, Schiefelbein et al discloses a system, comprising: an electric device (unnumbered); an electric connector 18b adapted to mate with a mating connector 13a and electrically coupled to the electric device, including: at least one pressure sensitive surface 32; and at least one pressure sensor 15f adapted to detect a pressure acting on the at least one pressure sensitive surface and to output a signal in response to the detection of pressure acting on the at least one pressure sensitive surface; and a detection unit (column 5, line 5) adapted to be activated by a received signal at a predetermined threshold value.
Regarding claim 15, Schiefelbein et al discloses a control unit (inherent), the detection unit adapted to send an output signal to the control unit.
Regarding claim 16, Schiefelbein et al (column 5, lines 53-54) discloses the control unit is adapted to interrupt a supply of electric power through the electric connector 18b when being activated by the output signal.
Regarding claim 20, Schiefelbein et al (column 5, last two lines) discloses an evaluation unit adapted to count a number of times the detection unit is activated.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 4, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiefelbein et al as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Zhu et al 7789667.
Zhu et al (front page) discloses at least one elastically compressible intermediate element 14 being a seal, and to provide Schiefelbein et al with same thus would have been obvious, to at least partially press against the at least one pressure sensitive surface (upon which 15d is mounted) at least in a compressed state.
Claim(s) 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiefelbein et al as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of CN 107710523.
CN ‘523 (claim 14 thereof) discloses the control unit is adapted to activate an alarm unit to emit an optical and/or acoustic warning signal at a first predetermined threshold value, and to provide Schiefelbein et al with same thus would have been obvious, to determine threshold values.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 5, 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the pressure sensor being at least partially embedded in the at least one elastically compressible intermediate element; nor the pressure sensor being arranged on the expansion module; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim and any intervening claims.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834