DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive and only recites a generic title. The title would need to provide an indication or description as to at the very least some of the details of the actual claimed invention and the functionalities being performed.
A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed as is required by MPEP 606.01.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention Group l corresponding to claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 07/01/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/01/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOO et al. (US Patent Publication 2009/0167499 herein after referenced as Koo) in view of FUJISHIRO et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0302181 herein after referenced as Fuji).
Regarding claim 1, Koo discloses:
A communication control method in a wireless communication system, the communication control method comprising: (Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system (i.e. reads on in a wireless communication system) including a base station to select (i.e. reads on communication control method) one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit the selected one to the mobile terminal such that the mobile terminal receives an RFID from a tag using the selected one of the channel and/or time allocations; Koo, [0005] discloses An RFID system, one of systems employing radio-frequency identification technology, includes a tag e.g. electronic tag or transponder having peculiar identification information, and an RFID reader e.g. reader or interrogator or radio frequency identification reader capable of reading information of the tag using wireless communication. The RFID systems can be divided into mutual induction and electromagnetic wave types in accordance with a pattern of mutual communication between a tag and a reader, active and passive types in accordance with whether a tag is powered up by itself, or long-wave, medium-wave, short-wave, ultrashort-wave, and microwave types in accordance with frequency).
transmitting, by a network node, a first radio resource used for communication between a user equipment and a wireless tag to the user equipment; (Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system including a base station (i.e. reads on by a network node) to select one of channel (i.e. reads on a first radio resource) and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit (i.e. reads on transmitting) the selected one to the mobile terminal (i.e. reads on to the user equipment) such that the mobile terminal receives (i.e. reads on communication between) an RFID from a tag (i.e. reads on a wireless tag) using the selected one of the channel (i.e. reads on used for) and/or time allocations; Koo, Fig. 3 & [0055] discloses The base station 115 allocates a predetermined RFID channel to the mobile terminal 112 and transmits information of the allocated channel to the mobile terminal 112 in operation 312. The mobile terminal 112 transmits the command CMD1 to access the RFID tag 111, by way of the allocated RFID channel in operation 314. The RFID tag 111 transmits a tag identification tad ID, i.e., the responding signal RES1, in response to the command CMD1 in operation 316 and Fig. 3 shows the base station transmitting the available channel allocation to the portable terminal at step 312 and the portable terminal transmitting the CMD1 to the RFID tag at step 314; Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system including a base station to select one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit the selected one to the mobile terminal such that the mobile terminal receives an RFID from a tag using the selected one of the channel and/or time allocations; Koo, [0048]-[0049] discloses The base station 115 wirelessly communicates with the mobile terminals 112, 113, and 114 locating in a first area 110. The base station 124 wirelessly communicates with the mobile terminals 122 and 124 locating in a second area 120. The mobile terminals 112, 113, 114, 122, and 123 each include RFID readers to perform the RFID reader function, that is, to conduct RFID communication with the tags 111 and 121 and discloses The mobile terminal having the RFID reader may be one of various kinds of handheld terminals such as personal digital assistant PDA, notebook computer, portable credit-card inquiry terminal, and so on).
and performing, by the user equipment, the communication with the wireless tag by using the first radio resource, (Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system including a base station to select one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit the selected one to the mobile terminal such that the mobile terminal (i.e. reads on by the user equipment) receives (i.e. reads on performing the communication with) an RFID from a tag (i.e. reads on the wireless tag) using the selected one of the channel (i.e. reads on by using the first radio resource) and/or time allocations; Koo, Fig. 3 & [0055] discloses The base station 115 allocates a predetermined RFID channel to the mobile terminal 112 and transmits information of the allocated channel to the mobile terminal 112 in operation 312. The mobile terminal 112 transmits the command CMD1 to access the RFID tag 111, by way of the allocated RFID channel in operation 314. The RFID tag 111 transmits a tag identification tad ID, i.e., the responding signal RES1, in response to the command CMD1 in operation 316).
(Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system including a base station (i.e. reads on the network node) to select one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit (i.e. reads on the communication between) the selected one to the mobile terminal (i.e. reads on the user equipment) such that the mobile terminal receives an RFID from a tag using the selected one of the channel and/or time allocations; Koo, Fig. 3 & [0055] discloses the mobile terminal 112 transmits an RFID channel request signal to request an RFID channel from the base station 115 in order to access the RFID tag 111 in operation 310. The base station 115 allocates a predetermined RFID channel to the mobile terminal 112 and transmits information of the allocated channel to the mobile terminal 112 in operation 312).
Koo discloses a mobile terminal communicates with a base station and the mobile terminal also communicates with another device using a channel resource but fails to explicitly recite that the channel resource utilized in communicating with the base station is different from the channel resource utilized in communicating with another device and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the first radio resource is a radio resource different from a second radio resource used for the communication between the network node and the user equipment.”
In a related field of endeavor, Fuji discloses:
wherein the first radio resource is a radio resource different from a second radio resource used for the communication between the network node and the user equipment (Fuji, [0077] discloses at least part of an uplink frequency band assigned to the mobile communication system is used for D2D communication. In addition, to avoid interference between D2D communication and cellular communication, in the uplink frequency band assigned to the mobile communication system, a radio resource e.g. D2D radio resource (i.e. reads on wherein the first radio resource is a radio resource different from) assignable to D2D communication is secured separately from a radio resource (i.e. reads on a second radio resource) assignable to cellular uplink communication (i.e. reads on used for the communication between the network node and the user equipment); Fuji, [0082] discloses a second control signal e.g. an uplink control signal transmitted from the UE 100 to the eNB 200; Fuji, [0074]-[0076] discloses The mobile communication system according to the embodiment supports D2D communication, which is direct terminal-to-terminal communication e.g. UE-to-UE communication. The description will now be given based on the comparison between D2D communication and cellular communication, which is normal communication of the mobile communication system and discloses The cellular communication is a communication mode in which a data path passes through a cellular communication network and discloses In contrast, D2D communication is a communication mode in which a data path set between UEs does not pass through a network. A plurality of UEs 100 located close to each other directly transmits and receives user data with low transmission power; Fuji, [0155] discloses a radio resource assignable to D2D communication may be secured in a specific frequency band other than the uplink frequency band).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Koo to incorporate the teachings of Fuji for the purpose of providing the system with a means to improve communication quality of service by avoiding interference between device to device D2D communication and cellular communication (Fuji, [0077]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (i.e. Koo, [0074]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device communicating with the cellular network and communicating with another device as taught by Koo) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device communicating with the cellular network and communicating with another device, wherein the resources utilized in the communication with the cellular network is different than the resources utilized in communication with another device to avoid interference as taught by Fuji) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device communicating with the cellular network and communicating with another device (i.e. as taught by both Koo & Fuji) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 4, Koo in view of Fuji discloses:
The communication control method according to claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1).
requesting, by the user equipment, an allocation of the first radio resource from the network node, wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting, by the network node, the first radio resource to the user equipment in response to the requesting (Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system including a base station to select one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit the selected one to the mobile terminal such that the mobile terminal receives an RFID from a tag using the selected one of the channel and/or time allocations; Koo, Fig. 3 & [0055] discloses the mobile terminal 112 transmits an RFID channel request signal to request an RFID channel from the base station 115 in order to access the RFID tag 111 in operation 310. The base station 115 allocates a predetermined RFID channel to the mobile terminal 112 and transmits information of the allocated channel to the mobile terminal 112 in operation 312).
Regarding claim 5, Koo discloses:
A user equipment in a wireless communication system, the user equipment comprising receiver circuitry and processing circuitry operatively associated with the transceiver circuitry and configured to execute processing of: (Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system (i.e. reads on in a wireless communication system) including a base station to select one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal (i.e. reads on user equipment) and to transmit the selected one to the mobile terminal such that the mobile terminal receives an RFID from a tag using the selected one of the channel and/or time allocations; Koo, [0005] discloses An RFID system, one of systems employing radio-frequency identification technology, includes a tag e.g. electronic tag or transponder having peculiar identification information, and an RFID reader e.g. reader or interrogator or radio frequency identification reader capable of reading information of the tag using wireless communication. The RFID systems can be divided into mutual induction and electromagnetic wave types in accordance with a pattern of mutual communication between a tag and a reader, active and passive types in accordance with whether a tag is powered up by itself, or long-wave, medium-wave, short-wave, ultrashort-wave, and microwave types in accordance with frequency; Koo, [0049] discloses The mobile terminal having the RFID reader may be one of various kinds of handheld terminals such as personal digital assistant PDA, notebook computer, portable credit-card inquiry terminal, and so on; Koo, Fig. 5 & [0066] discloses the mobile terminal 500 includes an output unit 510, a memory 520, a controller 530, and an interface 550. The output unit 510 outputs data to correspond to data received from an external device through the interface unit 550 or processed in the controller 530. … The interface unit 550 may include a receiver and/or a transmitter to receive data from and/or transmit data to an external device through a wireless communication line).
receiving, from a network node, a first radio resource used for communication between a user equipment and a wireless tag; (Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system including a base station (i.e. reads on from a network node) to select one of channel (i.e. reads on a first radio resource) and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit (i.e. reads on receiving) the selected one to the mobile terminal (i.e. reads on a user equipment) such that the mobile terminal receives (i.e. reads on communication between) an RFID from a tag (i.e. reads on a wireless tag) using the selected one of the channel (i.e. reads on used for) and/or time allocations; Koo, Fig. 3 & [0055] discloses The base station 115 allocates a predetermined RFID channel to the mobile terminal 112 and transmits information of the allocated channel to the mobile terminal 112 in operation 312. The mobile terminal 112 transmits the command CMD1 to access the RFID tag 111, by way of the allocated RFID channel in operation 314. The RFID tag 111 transmits a tag identification tad ID, i.e., the responding signal RES1, in response to the command CMD1 in operation 316 and Fig. 3 shows the base station transmitting the available channel allocation to the portable terminal at step 312 and the portable terminal transmitting the CMD1 to the RFID tag at step 314; Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system including a base station to select one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit the selected one to the mobile terminal such that the mobile terminal receives an RFID from a tag using the selected one of the channel and/or time allocations; Koo, [0048]-[0049] discloses The base station 115 wirelessly communicates with the mobile terminals 112, 113, and 114 locating in a first area 110. The base station 124 wirelessly communicates with the mobile terminals 122 and 124 locating in a second area 120. The mobile terminals 112, 113, 114, 122, and 123 each include RFID readers to perform the RFID reader function, that is, to conduct RFID communication with the tags 111 and 121 and discloses The mobile terminal having the RFID reader may be one of various kinds of handheld terminals such as personal digital assistant PDA, notebook computer, portable credit-card inquiry terminal, and so on).
and performing the communication with the wireless tag by using the first radio resource, (Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system including a base station to select one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit the selected one to the mobile terminal such that the mobile terminal receives (i.e. reads on performing the communication with) an RFID from a tag (i.e. reads on the wireless tag) using the selected one of the channel (i.e. reads on by using the first radio resource) and/or time allocations; Koo, Fig. 3 & [0055] discloses The base station 115 allocates a predetermined RFID channel to the mobile terminal 112 and transmits information of the allocated channel to the mobile terminal 112 in operation 312. The mobile terminal 112 transmits the command CMD1 to access the RFID tag 111, by way of the allocated RFID channel in operation 314. The RFID tag 111 transmits a tag identification tad ID, i.e., the responding signal RES1, in response to the command CMD1 in operation 316).
(Koo, [0030] discloses there is also provided an RFID system including a base station (i.e. reads on the network node) to select one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit (i.e. reads on the communication between) the selected one to the mobile terminal (i.e. reads on the user equipment) such that the mobile terminal receives an RFID from a tag using the selected one of the channel and/or time allocations; Koo, Fig. 3 & [0055] discloses the mobile terminal 112 transmits an RFID channel request signal to request an RFID channel from the base station 115 in order to access the RFID tag 111 in operation 310. The base station 115 allocates a predetermined RFID channel to the mobile terminal 112 and transmits information of the allocated channel to the mobile terminal 112 in operation 312).
Koo discloses a mobile terminal communicates with a base station and the mobile terminal also communicates with another device using a channel resource but fails to explicitly recite that the channel resource utilized in communicating with the base station is different from the channel resource utilized in communicating with another device and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the first radio resource is a radio resource different from a second radio resource used for the communication between the network node and the user equipment.”
In a related field of endeavor, Fuji discloses:
wherein the first radio resource is a radio resource different from a second radio resource used for the communication between the network node and the user equipment (Fuji, [0077] discloses at least part of an uplink frequency band assigned to the mobile communication system is used for D2D communication. In addition, to avoid interference between D2D communication and cellular communication, in the uplink frequency band assigned to the mobile communication system, a radio resource e.g. D2D radio resource (i.e. reads on wherein the first radio resource is a radio resource different from) assignable to D2D communication is secured separately from a radio resource (i.e. reads on a second radio resource) assignable to cellular uplink communication (i.e. reads on used for the communication between the network node and the user equipment); Fuji, [0082] discloses a second control signal e.g. an uplink control signal transmitted from the UE 100 to the eNB 200; Fuji, [0074]-[0076] discloses The mobile communication system according to the embodiment supports D2D communication, which is direct terminal-to-terminal communication e.g. UE-to-UE communication. The description will now be given based on the comparison between D2D communication and cellular communication, which is normal communication of the mobile communication system and discloses The cellular communication is a communication mode in which a data path passes through a cellular communication network and discloses In contrast, D2D communication is a communication mode in which a data path set between UEs does not pass through a network. A plurality of UEs 100 located close to each other directly transmits and receives user data with low transmission power; Fuji, [0155] discloses a radio resource assignable to D2D communication may be secured in a specific frequency band other than the uplink frequency band).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Koo to incorporate the teachings of Fuji for the purpose of providing the system with a means to improve communication quality of service by avoiding interference between device to device D2D communication and cellular communication (Fuji, [0077]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (i.e. Koo, [0074]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device communicating with the cellular network and communicating with another device as taught by Koo) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device communicating with the cellular network and communicating with another device, wherein the resources utilized in the communication with the cellular network is different than the resources utilized in communication with another device to avoid interference as taught by Fuji) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device communicating with the cellular network and communicating with another device (i.e. as taught by both Koo & Fuji) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOO et al. (US Patent Publication 2009/0167499 herein after referenced as Koo) in view of FUJISHIRO et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0302181 herein after referenced as Fuji) and further in view of LIU et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0109449 herein after referenced as Liu).
Regarding claim 2, Koo in view of Fuji discloses:
The communication control method according to claim 1, wherein the transmitting comprises (see claim 1).
(Koo, [0023] discloses The communicating with the RFID tag may be carried out by one of frequency hopping and listen-before-talking schemes through the plural channels respective to the plural times; Koo, [0063] discloses The mobile terminals 112-114 are able to more lessen signal interference by using the FP or LBT function when the RFID channels are allocated thereto in pluralities. ... Differently, the LBT finds an available channel before transmitting data and activates communicate only when there is an empty channel, which is efficient in the condition of a narrow frequency band).
Koo in view of Fuji discloses performing listen before talk LBT to sense available channels but fails to explicitly recite receiving information indicating the LBT and therefore fails to disclose “transmitting, by the network node, information specifying whether carrier sensing is required for the communication”.
In a related field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
transmitting, by the network node, information specifying whether carrier sensing is required for the communication (Liu, [0061] discloses The configuration may include an indicator e.g., a bitmap indicating which frequencies the UE 115c may perform the LBT in the shared radio frequency band. In some aspects, the BS 105 may configure multiple UEs 115 with the same and/or different frequency ranges to perform an LBT; Liu, [0044] discloses the UE 115g e.g., a meter, a programmable logic controller, an IoT device, a robot, a vehicle, a smartphone, etc. may receive a configuration indicating a listen-before-talk LBT window from the BS 105. The configuration may indicate a start and/or an end associated with the LBT window. … The LBT window may be a time period in which the UE 115 may perform an LBT to gain a channel occupancy time COT in which the UE 115 may transmit data e.g., transmit data in a transport block to another UE e.g., the UE 115f. As a result of the UE 115 contending for the COT by performing one or more LBT(s) within an LBT window time period, the wireless network 100 may reduce control traffic and latency as compared to the UE 115 reporting a HARQ process to the BS 105 and requesting a DCI grant from the BS 105 each time an LBT is performed unsuccessfully; Liu, [0054] discloses The BS 105 may generate LBT window configurations for the UE 115a and/or the UE 115b based on the relative position of the UE 115a with respect to the UE 115b. For example, the BS 105 may generate configurations with overlapping e.g., common resources for the UE 115a and the UE 115b that are separated by a distance by which the transmissions of the UE 115a and/or the UE 115b are unlikely to interfere with one another. In some aspects, the BS 105 may generate configurations with non-overlapping e.g., separate resources for the UE 115a and the UE 115b when the UE 115a and the UE 115b are in close proximity to each other so that their respective transmissions do not interfere with one another; Liu, [0032] discloses A UE 115 may also be referred to as a terminal, a mobile station, a subscriber unit, a station, or the like. A UE 115 may be a cellular phone, a personal digital assistant PDA, a wireless modem, a wireless communication device, a handheld device, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, a cordless phone, a wireless local loop WLL station, or the like. … In some aspects, the UEs 115 that do not include UICCs may also be referred to as IoT devices or internet of everything IoE devices. … In FIG. 1, a lightning bolt e.g., communication links indicates wireless transmissions between a UE 115 and a serving BS 105, which is a BS designated to serve the UE 115 on the downlink DL and/or uplink UL, desired transmission between BSs 105, backhaul transmissions between BSs, or sidelink transmissions between UEs 115).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Koo in view of Fuji to incorporate the teachings of Liu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to indicate what frequency or channel (Liu, [0061]) and time period to perform a listen before talk procedure and thereby reduce control traffic and latency (Liu, [0044]) and increase quality of service by allocating resources that prevent interference (Liu, [0054]) for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (i.e. Koo, [0074]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving configuration information in order to communicate with another device and wherein the mobile device performs a listen before talk procedure as taught by Koo) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving configuration information in order to communicate with another device and wherein the mobile device performs a listen before talk procedure, wherein the configuration information indicates which frequency and time to perform the listen before talk procedure and wherein the configuration information indicates common or different resources according to the distance in order to prevent interference as taught by Liu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device receiving configuration information in order to communicate with another device and wherein the mobile device performs a listen before talk procedure (i.e. as taught by both Koo & Liu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 3, Koo in view of Fuji discloses:
The communication control method according to claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the transmitting transmits, by the network node, the first radio resource (Koo, [0056] discloses If there is a request for RFID channel by another mobile terminal e.g., 113, the base station 115 operates to allocate the mobile terminal 113 another RFID channel that is isolated, separated, or different from the previous RFID channel, which has been assigned to the mobile terminal 112, by a predetermined frequency. If the channels allocated to the mobile terminals 112 and 113 are sufficiently isolated from each other, it is able to prevent the command CMD1 of the mobile terminal 112 from overlapping with the responding signal RES2 of the tag 121, or the commands CMD1 and CMD2 of the mobile terminals 112 and 113 from overlapping with each other; Koo, [0030]-[0031] discloses an RFID system including a base station to select one of channel and/or time allocations according to a request of a mobile terminal and to transmit the selected one to the mobile terminal such that the mobile terminal receives an RFID from a tag using the selected one of the channel and/or time allocations and discloses The base station may select another one of the channel and/or time allocations according to another request of another mobile terminal and to transmit the selected another one to the another mobile terminal such that the another mobile terminal receives another RFID from another tag using the selected another one of the channel and/or time allocations).
Koo in view of Fuji discloses allocating wireless resources to different mobile devices but fails to explicitly recite that the allocation involves the use of a distance threshold and therefore fails to disclose “the first radio resource that is a radio resource identical to a third radio resource to the user equipment when a distance between the user equipment and a different user equipment is equal to or more than a threshold,” and “the first radio resource that is a radio resource different from the third radio resource to the user equipment when the distance between the user equipment and the different user equipment is less than the threshold”.
In a related field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
the first radio resource that is a radio resource identical to a third radio resource to the user equipment when a distance between the user equipment and a different user equipment is equal to or more than a threshold; the first radio resource that is a radio resource different from the third radio resource to the user equipment when the distance between the user equipment and the different user equipment is less than the threshold (Liu, [0054] discloses The BS 105 may generate LBT window configurations for the UE 115a and/or the UE 115b based on the relative position of the UE 115a with respect to the UE 115b. For example, the BS 105 may generate configurations with overlapping e.g., common resources for the UE 115a and the UE 115b that are separated by a distance by which the transmissions of the UE 115a and/or the UE 115b are unlikely to interfere with one another. In some aspects, the BS 105 may generate configurations with non-overlapping e.g., separate resources for the UE 115a and the UE 115b when the UE 115a and the UE 115b are in close proximity to each other so that their respective transmissions do not interfere with one another; Liu, [0061] discloses The configuration may include an indicator e.g., a bitmap indicating which frequencies the UE 115c may perform the LBT in the shared radio frequency band. In some aspects, the BS 105 may configure multiple UEs 115 with the same and/or different frequency ranges to perform an LBT; Liu, [0044] discloses the UE 115g e.g., a meter, a programmable logic controller, an IoT device, a robot, a vehicle, a smartphone, etc. may receive a configuration indicating a listen-before-talk LBT window from the BS 105. The configuration may indicate a start and/or an end associated with the LBT window. … The LBT window may be a time period in which the UE 115 may perform an LBT to gain a channel occupancy time COT in which the UE 115 may transmit data e.g., transmit data in a transport block to another UE e.g., the UE 115f. As a result of the UE 115 contending for the COT by performing one or more LBT(s) within an LBT window time period, the wireless network 100 may reduce control traffic and latency as compared to the UE 115 reporting a HARQ process to the BS 105 and requesting a DCI grant from the BS 105 each time an LBT is performed unsuccessfully; Liu, [0032] discloses A UE 115 may also be referred to as a terminal, a mobile station, a subscriber unit, a station, or the like. A UE 115 may be a cellular phone, a personal digital assistant PDA, a wireless modem, a wireless communication device, a handheld device, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, a cordless phone, a wireless local loop WLL station, or the like. … In some aspects, the UEs 115 that do not include UICCs may also be referred to as IoT devices or internet of everything IoE devices. … In FIG. 1, a lightning bolt e.g., communication links indicates wireless transmissions between a UE 115 and a serving BS 105, which is a BS designated to serve the UE 115 on the downlink DL and/or uplink UL, desired transmission between BSs 105, backhaul transmissions between BSs, or sidelink transmissions between UEs 115).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Koo in view of Fuji to incorporate the teachings of Liu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to indicate what frequency or channel (Liu, [0061]) and time period to perform a listen before talk procedure and thereby reduce control traffic and latency (Liu, [0044]) and increase quality of service by allocating resources that prevent interference (Liu, [0054]) for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (i.e. Koo, [0074]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving configuration information in order to communicate with another device and wherein the mobile device performs a listen before talk procedure as taught by Koo) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving configuration information in order to communicate with another device and wherein the mobile device performs a listen before talk procedure, wherein the configuration information indicates which frequency and time to perform the listen before talk procedure and wherein the configuration information indicates common or different resources according to the distance in order to prevent interference as taught by Liu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device receiving configuration information in order to communicate with another device and wherein the mobile device performs a listen before talk procedure (i.e. as taught by both Koo & Liu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645