DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/6/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11, 13, 14, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, US 20120229515 in view of Gross et al., US 2018/0317300
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses an electrical power control device, comprising: a main circuit board assembly (fig. 3; control board 302), comprising: one or more auxiliary electrical connectors (fig. 3; board 302 connected to multiple components and therefore has connectors); and one or more auxiliary circuit board assemblies respectively connected to the one or more auxiliary electrical connectors (Fig. 3; relay board 313), each of the one or more auxiliary circuit board assemblies comprising: an auxiliary relay configured to open or close an auxiliary power line for powering an auxiliary device (Fig. 3; “Relay”); and an auxiliary power sensor configured to sense at least one electrical characteristic of the auxiliary power line (Fig. 3; voltage and current sensors 320, 318); and a data collection and control module configured to: receive a signal from the auxiliary power sensor of each respective one or more auxiliary circuit board assemblies (fig. 3; cpu 304 receives signal form relay board).
Cao is silent in a main power electrical connection configured to convey power to a disconnect panel; and the data collection and control module configured to: based on a received signal, control an operation of an auxiliary relay to supply or interrupt power to an auxiliary device. Gross teaches a main power electrical connection configured to convey power to a disconnect panel (Fig. 1; line power 107 to lighting relay panel 110 ); and the data collection and control module configured to: based on a received signal, control an operation of an auxiliary relay to supply or interrupt power to an auxiliary device (¶[0040]; Fig. 4; signal received from relay sense circuit 430 to microcontroller 410 used to control operation of relay and deliver power to lighting units). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Gross into Cao for the benefit of managing power to multiple components under high voltage conditions.
Regarding claim 2, Cao discloses wherein the one or more auxiliary electrical connectors comprises between two and twelve electrical connectors (Fig. 2a-2b; ¶[0014]; multiple relay boards which comprise multiple connectors).
Regarding claim 3, Cao discloses wherein the one or more auxiliary electrical connectors comprises between two and six auxiliary electrical connectors (Fig. 2a-2b; ¶[0014]; multiple relay boards which comprise multiple connectors).
Regarding claim 4, Cao discloses wherein the data collection and control module of the main circuit board assembly comprises one or more microprocessors (Fig. 2; cpu 304).
Regarding claim 5, Cao discloses wherein the one or more microprocessors is operably connected to, through the one or more auxiliary electrical connectors, the auxiliary power sensor of each of the one or more auxiliary circuit board assemblies to receive information indicative of the at least one electrical characteristic from the auxiliary power sensor (Fig. 3; 320, 318 to cpu 304).
Regarding claim 11, Cao discloses wherein the data collection and control module comprises a communication module for communicating information based on the at least one electrical power characteristic of the auxiliary power line to a user device (Fig. 3;¶[0014]; usb or ethernet 308).
Regarding claim 13, Cao discloses an electrical power monitoring device, comprising: a main circuit board assembly (fig. 3; control board 302), comprising: one or more auxiliary electrical connectors (fig. 3; board 302 connected to multiple components and therefore has connectors); and one or more auxiliary circuit board assemblies respectively connected to the one or more auxiliary electrical connectors (Fig. 3; relay board 313), each of the one or more auxiliary circuit board assemblies comprising: an auxiliary relay configured to open or close an auxiliary power line for powering an auxiliary device (Fig. 3; “Relay”); an auxiliary power sensor configured to sense at least one electrical power characteristic of the auxiliary power line (Fig. 3; voltage and current sensors 320, 318); and an auxiliary data collection and control module operably connected to the auxiliary power sensor for collecting and processing data from the auxiliary power sensor (Fig. 3; Relay board cpu 312) and a data collection and control module configured to: receive a signal from the auxiliary power sensor of each respective one or more auxiliary circuit board assemblies (fig. 3; cpu 304 receives signal form relay board).
Cao is silent in a main power electrical connection configured to convey power to a disconnect panel; and the data collection and control module configured to: based on a received signal, control an operation of an auxiliary relay to supply or interrupt power to an auxiliary device. Gross teaches a main power electrical connection configured to convey power to a disconnect panel (Fig. 1; line power 107 to lighting relay panel 110 ); and the data collection and control module configured to: based on a received signal, control an operation of an auxiliary relay to supply or interrupt power to an auxiliary device (¶[0040]; Fig. 4; signal received from relay sense circuit 430 to microcontroller 410 used to control operation of relay and deliver power to lighting units). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Gross into Cao for the benefit of managing power to multiple components under high voltage conditions.
Regarding claim 14, Cao discloses wherein the one or more auxiliary electrical connectors comprises two or more auxiliary electrical connectors (Fig. 2a-2b; ¶[0014]; multiple relay boards which comprise multiple connectors).
Regarding claim 17, Cao discloses wherein each auxiliary data collection and control module comprises an auxiliary microprocessor (Fig. 3; cpu 304).
Regarding claim 18, Cao discloses wherein each auxiliary power sensor comprises an electrical current sensor (Fig. 3; 318).
Regarding claim 19, Cao discloses a method of forming an electrical monitoring device, the method comprising: operably coupling an auxiliary relay and an auxiliary sensor to an auxiliary circuit board to form an auxiliary circuit board assembly (Fig. 3; relay board 313; “Relay”; voltage and current sensors 320, 318), the auxiliary relay configured to open or close an auxiliary power line for powering an auxiliary device (Fig. 3; “relay” is connected to “AC power lines”) and the auxiliary sensor configured to sense at least one electrical characteristic of the auxiliary power line (Fig. 3; voltage and current sensors 320, 318); operably coupling the auxiliary circuit board assembly to an auxiliary electrical connector of two or more auxiliary electrical connectors of a main circuit board assembly (fig. 3; control board 302 connected to relay board 313; control board 302 maybe connected to multiple relay boards and therefore comprise multiple connectors); and operably coupling the auxiliary sensor to a data collection and control module (Fig. 3; cpu 304, communication circuit 308 to data bus to sensors 320, 318); receiving, by the data collection and control module, a signal from the auxiliary sensor (fig. 3; cpu 304 receives signal form relay board).
Cao is silent in operably coupling a disconnect line to a main electrical power connection of a main circuit board assembly; and controlling, by the data collection and control module within the main circuit board assembly, a power supply to the auxiliary device by causing actuation of the auxiliary relay. Gross teaches coupling a disconnect line to a main electrical power connection of a main circuit board assembly (Fig. 1; line power 107 to lighting relay panel 110 ); and controlling, by the data collection and control module within a main circuit board assembly, a power supply to the auxiliary device by causing actuation of the auxiliary relay (¶[0040]; Fig. 4; signal received from relay sense circuit 430 to microcontroller 410 used to control operation of relay and deliver power to lighting units). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Gross into Cao for the benefit of managing power to multiple components under high voltage conditions.
Regarding claim 20, Cao discloses wherein operably coupling the auxiliary sensor to the data collection and control module comprises at least one of: operably coupling the auxiliary sensor to a main microprocessor of the main circuit board assembly (fig. 3; cpu 304); or operably coupling the auxiliary sensor to an auxiliary microprocessor of the auxiliary circuit board assembly (Fig. 3; IC 316 or CPU 312).
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, US 20120229515 in view of Gross et al., US 2018/0317300 in view of Chan et al., US 20170288456
Regarding claim 6, Cao teaches wherein the one or more microprocessors is operably connected to, through the one or more auxiliary electrical connectors, the auxiliary relay of each of the one or more auxiliary circuit board assemblies (fig. 3). Cao is silent in the microprocessor connected to control an open or closed state of the auxiliary relay. Chan teaches a microprocessor connected to control an open or closed state of a relay (Fig. 1; main pcb 101 controls operation of relay 107 in relay pcb 102). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Chan into Cao for the benefit of preventing damage to the power line and load by disconnecting power supply.
Claim(s) 7, 9-10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, US 20120229515 in view of Gross et al., US 2018/0317300 in view of Minich et al., US 20190227105
Regarding claim 7, Cao is silent in wherein each of the one or more auxiliary circuit board assemblies further comprises an analog-to-digital converter to convert analog data from the auxiliary power sensor to digital data. Minich teaches wherein a circuit assembly comprises an analog to digital converter to convert analog data from an auxiliary power sensor to digital data (Fig.2; current sensor 154a/b to adc 168). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Minich into Cao for the benefit of digitizing the signal data.
Regarding claim 9, Cao is silent in wherein the main circuit board assembly further comprises a main power sensor configured to sense at least one electrical power characteristic of a main power line for transmitting power to a disconnect panel. Minich teaches a main circuit board assembly further comprises a main power sensor configured to sense at least one electrical power characteristic of a main power line for transmitting power to a disconnect panel (Fig. 2; current sensor 154a/b on a main board 250 for sensing power characteristic related to a service panel; See ¶[0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Minich into Cao for the benefit of detecting faults and/or preventing damage related to the power line by providing redundant circuit systems.
Regarding claim 10, Cao teaches wherein each of the auxiliary power sensor comprises a current sensor (Fig. 3; current sensor 318). Cao is silent in a main power sensor comprises an electrical current sensor. Minich teaches a main power sensor comprises an electrical current sensor (Fig. 2; 154a/b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Minich into Cao for the benefit of detecting faults and/or preventing damage related to the power line by providing redundant circuit systems.
Regarding claim 15, Cao is silent in wherein the main circuit board assembly further comprises a main power sensor configured to sense at least one electrical power characteristic of a main power line for transmission of power to a disconnect panel. Minich teaches a main circuit board assembly further comprises a main power sensor configured to sense at least one electrical power characteristic of a main power line for transmitting power to a disconnect panel (Fig. 2; current sensor 154a/b on a main board 250 for sensing power characteristic related to a service panel; See ¶[0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Minich into Cao for the benefit of detecting faults and/or preventing damage related to the power line by providing redundant circuit systems.
Regarding claim 16, Cao teaches wherein the main circuit board assembly further comprises a main data collection and control module operably but is silent in the control module connected to the main power sensor for collecting and processing data from the main power sensor. Minich teaches control module connected to the main power sensor for collecting and processing data from the main power sensor (Fig. 2; 154a/b to control device 180). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Minich into Cao for the benefit of detecting faults and/or preventing damage related to the power line by providing redundant circuit systems.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, US 20120229515 in view of Gross et al., US 2018/0317300 in view of Keith, US 20190137306
Regarding claim 8, Cao is silent in wherein the one or more auxiliary electrical connectors comprises one or more auxiliary ribbon cable connectors. Keith teaches wherein the one or more auxiliary electrical connectors comprises one or more auxiliary ribbon cable connectors (Fig. 6-7; ribbon cable 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Keith into Cao since the substitution would produce the predictable result of connecting multiple components.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, US 20120229515 in view of Gross et al., US 2018/0317300 in view of Hughes, US 20140277800
Regarding claim 12, Cao is silent in wherein the auxiliary device comprises one or more of: an electric vehicle charging station; an electric vehicle; a pump; an air conditioning unit; a heater; or a refrigerator. Hughes teaches wherein an electrical load comprises one or more of; : an electric vehicle charging station; an electric vehicle; a pump; an air conditioning unit; a heater; or a refrigerator (¶[0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Hughes into Cao since the substitution would produce the predictable result of distributing power to the electrical load.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858