DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 9/3/2024
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/3/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singman et al. (US 2019/0058740) in view of Rosenberg et al. (US 2017/0293954).
Regarding claim 1, Singman discloses a method for managing an application, comprising:
receiving a request for associating a target application with a target platform (Singman discloses receiving a request (dataset) to associate a communication feature (application) with a website or content platform; see [0053-0054] “a first dataset 408 is sent from the second entity device 406 and received by the web communication service portal 122. The first dataset 408 includes any data that is sent together or separately to the web communication service portal 122 for use by the web communication feature creation service 404. The first dataset 408 includes information 410 that is used to customize the web communication feature. Such information 410 may include a set of destination addresses for the agents of the second entity to which a user should be connected, or a terminating destination address for the second entity” and [0057] “the code piece 414 may include machine readable instructions that when executed, cause the system executing the code to establish communication between a user and a communication destination specified in the code”); and
associating the target application with the target platform (Singman discloses associating the application (code piece for automated agent) with the platform in response to the received request; see [0056-0057] “With the information 410 received in the first data set 408, the web communication feature creation service 404 may create a piece of code 414, alternatively referred to as a code piece 414. The code piece 414 may then be sent in a second dataset 412 from the web communication service portal 122 to the second entity device 406. The second entity may then use that code piece 414 for integration with secondary content. The code piece 414 may include machine readable instructions that when executed, cause the system executing the code to establish communication between a user and a communication destination specified in the code. In some examples, the code may include a Universal Resource Locator (URL) to resources associated with the web communication service (e.g., 124, FIG. 1).”), to cause the target application to be configured to:
obtain an interaction content of the target platform (Singman discloses the application obtaining interaction content (messages) from the platform; see [0019] “forward a first message from the user web application to the automated agent server” and [0023] “The automated agent is configured to analyze messages sent to it by a user (i.e., customer)” and [0024] “At some point during the conversation with the automated agent, it may be determined that the conversation should be transferred to a live agent. For example, the automated agent may receive a message for which it cannot adequately respond”);
generate a response content for the interaction content (Singman discloses generating response content; see [0019] “forward a response to the first message from the automated agent server to the user web application” and [0023] “the automated agent may apply various computing functions to such messages in order to facilitate a response. The automated agent may be, for example, an artificial intelligence designed to mimic human conversation” and [0024] “any useful information regarding the user's conversation with the automated agent can be passed to the live agent. This information may include a recording of the user's conversation with the automated agent”); and
trigger providing the response content to the target platform (Singman discloses triggering provision of the response back to the platform; see [0019] “forward a response to the first message from the automated agent server to the user web application” and [0024] “The information may also include any resources that were provided to the user by the automated agent. For example, the automated agent may provide various links to fill out online forms or use other web resources”).
However, the prior art does not explicitly disclose in response to the request being authenticated, associating the target application with the target platform. Rosenberg in the field of the same endeavor discloses techniques for a messaging agent platform. In particular, Rosenberg teaches the following:
in response to the request being authenticated, associating the target application with the target platform (Rosenberg discloses authenticating and associating a messaging application (bot) with a platform in response to a request; see [0063] “An application may be assigned a secure token that may be used for authentication and the secure reception and sending of information with the messaging system 140” and [0130] “The consumer-to-business service 110 may receive an application registration package in association with the commerce messaging application 593. The consumer-to-business service 110 may register the commerce messaging application 593 for access to a commerce intermediary server in response to the application registration package” and [0041] “businesses may be required to submit an application that outlines their intended integration with the messaging system prior to being authorized to use the messaging system”. In summary, the registration packet (request) is authenticated via secure token and approval process, leading to registration/association of the bot application with the messaging platform for secure interaction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to modify the prior art with the teaching of Rosenberg to incorporate techniques for a messaging agent platform. One would have been motivated because the predictably of the combination enhances security during the association of applications with platforms, as the prior art address analogous automated interaction handling in web-based messaging environments.
Regarding claim 2, Singman-Rosenberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the request for associating the target application with the target platform comprises:
presenting a set of candidate platforms (Rosenberg [0142] “The messaging client may display a user-to-commerce discovery interface on the client device, the user-to-commerce discovery interface comprising a plurality of suggested user-to-commerce options. This plurality of suggested user-to-commerce options may be selected according to one or more of profile information for the user account and promotional consideration information for one or more commerce entities”); and
obtaining the request for associating the target application with the target platform based on a selection of the target platform from the set of candidate platforms (Rosenberg [0145] “The messaging client may receive a user interface selection of a user-to-commerce message thread on a client device 120, the user-to-commerce message thread associated with a commerce entity with a messaging system 140. The messaging client may display a user-to-commerce message thread interface for the user-to-commerce message thread in response to the user interface selection”).
Regarding claim 3, Singman-Rosenberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the interaction content comprises at least one of: a comment content of the target platform; a private message content of the target platform; or a conversation message of the target platform (Singman [0023] “when customers first connect with an entity, they may communicate with an automated agent. The automated agent is configured to analyze messages sent to it by a user (i.e., customer). Then, the automated agent may apply various computing functions to such messages in order to facilitate a response. The automated agent may be, for example, an artificial intelligence designed to mimic human conversation. The automated agent may also be configured to learn from past experiences and update the functions it uses to formulate responses”).
Regarding claim 4, Singman-Rosenberg discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the conversation message comprises a message for a target account in a group chat conversation (Rosenberg [0146] “A user-to-user message thread may comprise one of a plurality of messages threads. A user-to-user message thread may be displayed with a user-to-user message thread interface, the user-to-user message thread interface organizing the messaging interaction between two or more users. A messaging client may receive a commerce interface control selection in the user-to-user message thread interface on a client device 120, the user-to-user message thread associated with a user-to-user message thread for a plurality of users with a messaging system 140. A commerce interface control selection may comprise a selection of a commerce entity with which to engage in a commerce interaction. The messaging client may display a commerce interface in association with the user-to-user message thread interface, the commerce interface comprising a plurality of commerce configuration options. The commerce interface being displayed in association with the user-to-user message thread interface may comprise at least a portion of the user-to-user message thread interface being visible during display of the commerce interface”), and
the target account is determined based on an authentication process of the request (Rosenberg [0143] “The consumer-to-business service 110 may send user credentials to a commerce entity in association with a user-to-commerce message, the user credentials included in a user-to-commerce message package 535. The user credentials may authenticate a user to the commerce application. In some cases, a user may be asked to enter their user credentials into a messaging client to empower the messaging client to use the user credentials to arrange for service with a business on behalf of the user. In some cases, however, the user credentials may be retrieved from a local application for the business. A commerce entity may be associated with a local application on the client device and the messaging client may retrieve the user credentials from the local application via deep-linking within the local application”).
Regarding claim 5, Singman-Rosenberg discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to receiving the request, presenting an authentication interface associated with the target platform (Rosenberg [0041] “businesses may be required to submit an application that outlines their intended integration with the messaging system prior to being authorized to use the messaging system” and [0043] “After a registration of a messaging bot, which may be performed using non-messaging semantics, the performance of the messaging bot itself by a business may be built on messaging interactions” and [0130] “The consumer-to-business service 110 may receive an application registration package in association with the commerce messaging application 593. The consumer-to-business service 110 may register the commerce messaging application 593 for access to a commerce intermediary server in response to the application registration package”); and
obtaining, via the authentication interface, at least one permission of the target platform for the target application to authenticate the request (Rosenberg [0063] “An application may be assigned a secure token that may be used for authentication and the secure reception and sending of information with the messaging system 140” and [0130] “The consumer-to-business service 110 may receive an application registration package in association with the commerce messaging application 593. The consumer-to-business service 110 may register the commerce messaging application 593 for access to a commerce intermediary server in response to the application registration package”).
Regarding claim 6, Singman-Rosenberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target application is configured to: obtain the interaction content of the target platform via a first interface of the target platform; or trigger providing the response content to the target platform via a second interface of the target platform (Singman [0083] “At step 1116, the automated agent responds by indicating it is ready to communicate with the user and passes any information needed to establish the communication session between the user web application 1102 and the automated agent 1106”).
Regarding claim 7, Singman-Rosenberg discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
presenting a first interface of the target application (Singman [0046] “Step 318, the user device 102 presents the user interface for the web communication feature to the user. Specifically, the user device 102 uses the code for the interface retrieved in steps 314 and 316” and [0052] “The web communication feature creation service 404 may provide a user interface to customers through, for example, a website. The user interface may provide the customer with the tools to create a customized web communication feature that connects users with the desired persons associated with the second entity”);
presenting, in the first interface, an access portal corresponding to the target platform (Rosenberg [0081] “The web page may comprise a messaging initiation control 305. Selection of the messaging initiation control 305 by a user may redirect a client device to a messaging client and specifically to a message thread with a messaging bot for the business in the messaging client” and [0047] “this web plugin my instantiate a message-initiation button that, when pressed, takes the activating user to a messaging client and directly to a message thread with the business, which may be an existing message thread or may be a new message thread created in response to the user activating the button”; in summary, the web page interface (first interface) presents a messaging initiation control/button (access portal) that corresponds to accessing the messaging system (target platform) for bot interactions); and
in response to a selection of the access portal, triggering presentation of a second interface of the target platform (Singman [0046] “At step 320 the user pushes a button indicating that the user wishes to contact the second entity” and [0057] “The code piece 414 may include machine readable instructions that when executed, cause the system executing the code to establish communication between a user and a communication destination specified in the code” and [0078] “The user web application 1102 may be, for example, a web browser with a WebRTC client or other real-time communication functionality. For example, a user may visit a website associated with a particular entity, or a website that hosts a web communication feature associated with the entity”; in summary, selecting the button in the interface triggers execution of code to establish and present a communication session (second interface) on the web platform).
Regarding claim 8, Singman-Rosenberg discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first interface comprises a conversation window with a virtual object, the virtual object corresponding to the target application (Singman discloses a web communication feature (first interface) that includes a conversational interaction with an automated agent (virtual object/target application); see [0023-0024] “when customers first connect with an entity, they may communicate with an automated agent. The automated agent is configured to analyze messages sent to it by a user (i.e., customer). Then, the automated agent may apply various computing functions to such messages in order to facilitate a response. The automated agent may be, for example, an artificial intelligence designed to mimic human conversation. The automated agent may also be configured to learn from past experiences and update the functions it uses to formulate responses. At some point during the conversation with the automated agent, it may be determined that the conversation should be transferred to a live agent.” and [0031] “The secondary content 106 includes a web communication feature 105 that when activated by a user, connects the user to an agent 116 of the second entity”), and
the method further comprises: in response to the target application being associated with a first account (Singman discloses initiating conversational actions in response to associating the automated agent application with a user account upon connection; see [0023] “when customers first connect with an entity, they may communicate with an automated agent” and [0038] “the secondary content 106 includes a web communication feature 105. When activated by the user, the web communication feature 105 may call on the web communication service 124 to establish a communication session between the user device 102 and an agent device 114a, 114b associated with the second entity” and [0035] “With such an environment, a user 101 may use his or her device 102 (e.g., a laptop computer, desktop computer, mobile phone, etc.) to access the first entity's website 104. While using the first entity's website, the user may notice the second entity's content 106 and wish to interact with the second entity. The user may then activate the web communication feature. Upon activation, the web communication service 124 sets up a communication session between the user's device 102 and one of the agent devices 114a, 114b of the second entity”),
presenting, in the conversation window, a set of historical interaction content and a set of corresponding historical response content of the target platform (Singman [0023-0024] “The automated agent may also be configured to learn from past experiences… In addition, any useful information regarding the user's conversation with the automated agent can be passed to the live agent. This information may include a recording of the user's conversation with the automated agent. The information may also include any resources that were provided to the user by the automated agent. For example, the automated agent may provide various links to fill out online forms or use other web resources. A list of the resources provided to the user by the automated agent may thus be given to the live agent.”),
the set of interaction content being sent by a second account corresponding to the first account in the target platform (Rosenberg [0044-0045] “empower the business to retrieve identifying information for the user—such as a phone number registered with the user's profile—that they may match against their own repository of customer information, thereby empowering the business to engage in a conversation with the user that incorporates the status that customer has already achieved with the business… The business may retrieve a phone number for the user and match this phone number against its own database of user information. If the user is an existing customer, the business may then be able to respond to the “get started” button with a personalized introduction for the user”), and
the set of historical response content being generated by the target application based on the set of interaction contents (Singman [0023-0024] “the automated agent may apply various computing functions to such messages in order to facilitate a response…The information may also include any resources that were provided to the user by the automated agent. For example, the automated agent may provide various links to fill out online forms or use other web resources”).
Regarding claim 9, Singman-Rosenberg discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving a query message via the conversation window (Singman [0023-0024] “The automated agent is configured to analyze messages sent to it by a user (i.e., customer)…For example, the automated agent may receive a message for which it cannot adequately respond”); and
displaying a response message in the conversation window, the response message being generated by the target application based on the query message and context information, the context information being associated with the set of historical interaction contents and/or the set of historical response contents (Singman discloses displaying generated responses in the conversation, using query and historical context; see [0023-0024] “the automated agent may apply various computing functions to such messages in order to facilitate a response. The automated agent may be, for example, an artificial intelligence designed to mimic human conversation. The automated agent may also be configured to learn from past experiences and update the functions it uses to formulate responses… This information may include a recording of the user's conversation with the automated agent. The information may also include any resources that were provided to the user by the automated agent. For example, the automated agent may provide various links to fill out online forms or use other web resources”).
Regarding claim(s) 10-18 and 19-20, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 1-9 and 1-2 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 10-18 and 19-20, is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 1-9 and 1-2 respectively.
Conclusion
For the reason above, claims 1-20 have been rejected and remain pending.
JIMMY H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/JIMMY H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451