Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 21, 22, 24, 31, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robillard (US 2020/0331405 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Robillard discloses a storage system for a recreational vehicle (recreational vehicle not being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for”), the recreational vehicle comprising: a frame; a cowling connected to the frame; a straddle seat connected to the frame; a first wheel well located forward of the straddle seat; a second wheel well located rearward from the straddle seat; and a steering assembly located forward of the straddle seat, the steering assembly comprising a steering console (see Figures – though recreational vehicle still not being claimed in combination due to the functional preamble language “for”), the storage system comprising: a drop-down space (97 in Figure 8 or 1098a in Figure 17) defined by a plurality of walls and a floor (see Figures 8 and 17), wherein the floor is configured to be located forward of a steering shaft of the vehicle and below an uppermost surface of the straddle seat of the vehicle (steering shaft and vehicle not being claimed in combination and there is no structure in Robillard that would physically prevent a user from choosing to install the drop down space in the front of a vehicle as functionally claimed); and at least one coupling mechanism (200 in Figure 8 or 1200 in Figure 17) configured to releasably couple a first accessory thereto (first accessory not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “configured to”), wherein: the plurality of walls defining the drop-down space comprises a rear wall (see Figures 8 and 17) configured to be (i.e. capable of being) located vertically below and lonqitudinally adjacent the steering console of the vehicle; and the at least one coupling mechanism is located in the drop-down space (see Figures 8 and 17).
Regarding claim 21, Robillard discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of walls defining the drop-down space comprises: a first side wall, and a second side wall facing the first side wall (see Figures 8 and 17); and the first side wall and the second side wall are configured to be (i.e. capable of being) located laterally outwards from the steering console.
Regarding claim 22, Robillard discloses the storage system of claim 1, further comprising an adaptor (100 or 1023) attachable to at least one of the cowling and the frame of the vehicle (cowling and frame still not being claimed in combination).
Regarding claim 24, Robillard discloses the storage system of claim 22, wherein the adaptor (1023) is configured to surround a periphery of the drop-down space above the plurality of walls (see Figure 17).
Regarding claim 31, Robillard discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of walls comprises a front wall (see Figures 8 and 17) configured to be (i.e. capable of being) aligned with front lights of the vehicle in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 34, Robillard discloses a storage system for a recreational vehicle (recreational vehicle not being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for”), the recreational vehicle comprising: a frame; a cowling connected to the frame a straddle seat connected to the frame; a first wheel well located forward from the straddle seat; a second wheel well located rearward from the straddle seat; and a steering assembly located forward from the straddle seat, the steering assembly comprising a steering console (see Figures – though recreational vehicle still not being claimed in combination due to the functional preamble language “for”), the storage system comprising: a drop-down space (97 in Figure 8 or 1098a in Figure 17) defined by a plurality of walls and a floor (see Figures 8 and 17), wherein the floor is configured to be located forward of a steering shaft of the vehicle and below an uppermost surface of the straddle seat of the vehicle (straddle seat still not being claimed in combination due to the functional langue “configured to be located”); an adaptor (100 or 1023) attachable to at least one of the cowling and the frame of the vehicle; at least one coupling mechanism (200 in Figure 8 or 1200 in Figure 17) configured to releasably couple a first accessory thereto (first accessory not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “configured to”); wherein the at least one coupling mechanism is located on one of the adaptor and the drop-down space (in the drop down space, see Figures 8 and 17).
Regarding claim 35, Robillard discloses the storage system of claim 34, wherein the adaptor (1023) is configured to surround a periphery of the drop-down space above the plurality of walls (see Figure 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 23, 32, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robillard et al. (US 2020/0331405 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Robillard discloses the storage system of claim 22, but fails to disclose wherein the vehicle comprises the plurality of walls and the floor defining the drop-down space. This claim now requires the vehicle in combination, which does place the claimed drop-down space at the front of the vehicle, such that the capability of the Robillard rear drop-down space being used at the front of a different vehicle no longer satisfies the claim language. Robillard does disclose a second storage container (100) similarly secured at the front of the vehicle with a second storage space (96a) but the second storage container is secured atop a frame member (20c/20d) instead of to a second coupling mechanism within the second drop-down space. It is also not clear if the second storage space (96a) has walls and a floor or not. Figure 8 shows only the frame view with the body of the vehicle missing (where the walls and floor may exist) and Figure 1 shows the front end of the vehicle body but the storage space (96a) isn’t visible. Assuming there are no walls and floor in the front storage receptacle, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have duplicated the design of the rear receptacle (97) and provided the front receptacle (96a) with side walls and a floor and to have placed the second coupling mechanism within the front receptacle. The result of this modification is still a Robillard vehicle having front and rear storage spaces and storage containers secured using Robillard’s own designs. By having the same design as the rear receptacle, a user could use the front receptacle, now with walls and a floor, to store items even without the second storage container attached thereto.
Regarding claim 32, Robillard discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein: the drop-down space is a first drop-down space; the at least one coupling mechanism is a first at least one coupling mechanism. Robillard fails to disclose the storage system further comprises: a second drop-down space defined by a second plurality of walls, a second floor, and at least one second coupling mechanism configured to releasably couple a second accessory thereto; the second floor is configured to be located rearward of the straddle seat and below an uppermost surface of the straddle seat of the vehicle (saddle seat and vehicle still not being claimed in combination); and the at least one second coupling mechanism is located in the second drop-down space. Robillard does disclose a second storage container (100) similarly secured at the front of the vehicle with a second storage space (96a) but the second storage container is secured atop a frame member (20c/20d) instead of to a second coupling mechanism within a second drop-down space It is also not clear if the second storage space (96a) has walls and a floor or not. Figure 8 shows only the frame view with the body of the vehicle missing (where the walls and floor may exist) and Figure 1 shows the front end of the vehicle body but the storage space (96a) isn’t visible. Assuming there are no walls and floor in the front storage receptacle, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have duplicated the design of the rear receptacle (97) and provided the front receptacle (96a) with side walls and a floor and to have placed the second coupling mechanism within the front receptacle. The result of this modification is still a Robillard vehicle having front and rear storage spaces and storage containers secured using Robillard’s own designs. By having the same design as the rear receptacle, a user could use the front receptacle, now with walls and a floor, to store items even without the second storage container attached thereto.
Regarding claim 33, Robillard as modified above to satisfy claims 23 and 32 would include an all-terrain vehicle comprising the storage system of claim 1.
7. Claims 29, 30, 38, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robillard et al. (US 2020/0331405 A1) in view of Labbe et al. (US 2017/0174145 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Robillard discloses the storage system of claim 22, wherein: the first accessory is a first storage device. Robillard fails to disclose the storage system further comprises the first storage device and a second storage device; the first storage device is configured to occupy at least part of the drop-down space when the first accessory is coupled to the at least one coupling mechanism of the storage system; and the second storage device is releasably connectable with the vehicle atop the first storage device. Labbe teaches that it was already known in the art to stack a second storage device (100) on top of a first storage device (200). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have stacked a second storage container on top of the Robillard first storage container in the manner taught by Labbe, the motivation being to allow the user to transport more gear.
Regarding claim 30, Robillard as modified above would include the storage system of claim 29, wherein: the second storage device is releasably connectable to at least one of the first storage device and the adapter (to the first storage device, as taught by Labbe); the second storage device is configured to conceal (at least from top view) the first storage device with the first storage device coupled to the at least one coupling mechanism and the second storage device releasably connected with at least one of the first storage device and the adapter.
Regarding claim 38, Robillard as modified above would include a storage system for a recreational vehicle (recreational vehicle not being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for”), the recreational vehicle comprising: a frame; a cowling connected to the frame a straddle seat connected to the frame; a first wheel well located forward from the straddle seat; a second wheel well located rearward from the straddle seat; and a steering assembly located forward from the straddle seat, the steering assembly comprising a steering console (see Figures – though recreational vehicle still not being claimed in combination due to the functional preamble language “for”), the storage system comprising: a drop-down space (97a in Figure 8 or 1098a in Figure 17) defined by a plurality of walls and a floor (see Figures 8 and 17), wherein the floor is configured to be (i.e. capable of being) located forward of a steering shaft of the vehicle and below an uppermost surface of the straddle seat of the vehicle; a first storage device (400); at least one coupling mechanism (200 in Figure 8 or 1200 in Figure 17) configured to releasably couple the first storage device thereto; wherein: the at least one coupling mechanism is located in the drop-down space (see Figures 8 and 17); the first storage device is configured to occupy at least part of the drop-down space when a first accessory is coupled to the at least one coupling mechanism of the storage system (see Figures 8 and 17). Robillard fails to disclose a second storage device releasably connectable with the vehicle atop the first storage device. Labbe teaches that it was already known in the art to stack a second storage device (100) on top of a first storage device (200). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have stacked a second storage container on top of the Robillard first storage container in the manner taught by Labbe, the motivation being to allow the user to transport more gear. This second storage device would be connected to the vehicle as claimed through the first storage device.
Regarding claim 39, Robillard as modified above would include the storage system of claim 38, wherein the second storage device is configured to conceal the first storage device (at least from top view) when the first accessory is coupled to the at least one coupling mechanism of the storage system and the second storage device is connected with the vehicle atop the first storage device.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 25-28, 36, and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments filed 6/30/26 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the most recent claim amendments.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 8/27/26