DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (10,314,183) in further view of Visser (8,654,519).
Regarding Claim 1: Heo teaches a display device comprising: an organic light emitting display OLED (col. 4 lines 36-42); a winder (143) that winds the OLED from one end of the OLED (fig. 7); a constant force spring (316) that applies a winding force of the OLED to the winder (through 278); strips (made up of 15c shown in fig. 36) each disposed on a corresponding edge of the OLED (fig. 36) in a direction in which the OLED extends and is unwound (fig. 36), the strips being rollable around the winder together with the OLED (fig. 7) and maintaining the OLED straight when the OLED is unwound (fig. 36); and a fixing mechanism (a combination of 191, 137, 73, 234a, and 234b) configured to release the OLED when the OLED is pulled out in a direction along a winding direction of the OLED around the winder (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23) and fix the OLED so that the OLED is not wound (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23) when the OLED is pulled out in a direction along an unwinding direction of the OLED around the winder (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23), but lacks a specific teaching of each of the strips having an arc-shaped cross section.
Visser teaches a wind up (fig. 1b) flexible display device (fig. 2) including a plurality of strips (figs. 1a-2) wherein each of the strips having an arc-shaped cross section (fig. 1a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Heo by having each of the strips having an arc-shaped cross section as disclosed by Visser in order to allow for a more smooth and seamless transition of the display device into the housing during the winding process while in turn still holding the structural integrity of the display decreasing chances of damage to the overall device.
Regarding Claim 2: Heo teaches of the fixing mechanism includes: a guide bar (234a) that traverses an entire width of the OLED along an outer face of the OLED that is wound around the winder (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23); and a stop roller (191) that traverses the entire width of the OLED along an inner face of the OLED that is wound around the winder (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23), wherein the stop roller and the guide bar are adjacent to and parallel to each other (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23), and are elastically biased together (through 179) in the unwinding direction of the OLED (shown through 179 in figs. 25-26).
Regarding Claim 4: Heo teaches a cover (30) that keeps a winding space for the OLED between the winder and the cover (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23), the cover having a slit (opening where the display exits the cover shown in figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23), through which the OLED is unwound (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23), wherein the fixing mechanism includes an end of the slit in the unwinding direction of the OLED around the winder (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23).
Regarding Claim 5: Heo teaches the OLED is attached to a first sheet (73), a second sheet (75) is disposed at an unwinding end of the OLED to extend the first sheet (fig. 10), and the second sheet comes with a pull-out bar (167) to let a user unwind the OLED (figs. 7, 13-15, and 21-23), but lacks a specific teaching of the second sheet being harder than the first sheet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Heo by having the second sheet being harder than the first sheet in order to allow for a stronger and more sturdy material for the user to grab on to while extending the display apparatus as this can be accomplished merely by choosing the proper material for the intended purpose wherein it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a mattery of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (10,314,183) in view of Visser (8,654,519) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Lee (9,900,977).
Regarding Claim 3: Heo lacks a specific teaching of the stop roller has a surface, the surface including a rubber material.
Lee teaches the stop roller has a surface, the surface including a rubber material (col. 6 lines 52-57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Heo by having the stop roller has a surface, the surface including a rubber material as disclosed by Lee in order to allow for a better control of the display while in motion which in turn will decrease the potential damage to display or support components of the display which would require repair or replacement of the components to the apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The current prior art in the notice of references PTO-892 but not relied upon above either all or partly relates to an electronic device including a flexible display device that winds on a spring related winding portion.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841