DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of EP20155499.5 filed 02/04/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/3/3034, 11/1/2024 and 1/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,774,570. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
(US 18/823145)
Patent
(US 11774570)
Claim analogy
1. A method for operating an angle resolving radar device for automotive applications, the method comprising:
routing at least a first antenna signal and a second antenna signal
between a radar circuit and an antenna device of the radar device,
wherein the first antenna signal and the second antenna signal
are routed between the radar circuit and the antenna device via a common signal port of the radar circuit;
transducing, with a first antenna of the antenna device, between the first antenna signal and a first radiation field, the first radiation field having a first phase center, the first antenna comprising a first set of antenna elements;
transducing, with a second antenna of the antenna device, between the second antenna signal and a second radiation field, the second radiation field having a second phase center, wherein a location of the second phase center is shifted with respect to a location of the first phase center,
the second antenna comprising a second set of antenna elements,
the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements sharing one or more common antenna elements;
and
constructing, with a signal processing device of the radar device, at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array using the location of the first phase center of the first radiation field as a first antenna position and the location of the second phase center of the second radiation field as a second antenna position.
1. A method for operating an angle resolving radar device for automotive applications, the method comprising:
routing at least a first antenna signal, a second antenna signal, and a third antenna signal
between a radar circuit and an antenna device of the radar device,
wherein the first antenna signal, the second antenna signal, and the third antenna signal
are routed between the radar circuit and the antenna device via a common signal port of the radar circuit;
transducing, with a first antenna of the antenna device, between the first antenna signal and a first radiation field, the first radiation field having a first phase center, the first antenna comprising a first set of antenna elements and one or more common antenna elements, the first antenna signal being routed between the common signal port and the first set of antenna elements and the one or more common antenna elements;
transducing, with a second antenna of the antenna device, between the second antenna signal and a second radiation field, the second radiation field having a second phase center, wherein a location of the second phase center is shifted with respect to a location of the first phase center,
the second antenna comprising a second set of antenna elements and the one or more common antenna elements,
the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements sharing the one or more common antenna elements,
the second antenna signal being routed between the common signal port and the second set of antenna elements and the one or more common antenna elements but not between the common signal port and the first set of antenna elements; transducing, with a third antenna of the antenna device, between the third antenna signal and a third radiation field, the third radiation field having a third phase center, wherein a location of the third phase center is shifted with respect to the location of the first phase center and the location of the second phase center, the third antenna comprising the first set of antenna elements, the second set of antenna elements, and the one or more common antenna elements, wherein the first set of antenna elements, the second set of antenna elements, and the one or more common antenna elements being coupled to the common signal port, the third antenna signal being routed between the common signal port and the first set of antenna elements, the second set of antenna elements, and the one or more common antenna elements;
and
constructing, with a signal processing device of the radar device, at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array using the location of the first phase center of the first radiation field as a first antenna position, the location of the second phase center of the second radiation field as a second antenna position, and the location of the third phase center of the third radiation field as a third antenna position.
Claim 1 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 1 of patent
(US 11774570).
4. The method according to claim 3,
wherein the second antenna signal is routed to the second antenna element via at least one frequency filter that is coupled between the first and second antenna element.
3. The method according to claim 1,
wherein the second antenna signal is routed to the second antenna element via at least one frequency filter that is coupled between the first antenna and the second antenna element.
Claim 4 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 3 of patent
(US 11774570).
The method according to claim 2,
wherein the first and second antenna element are coupled to the common signal port
via a switching device that selectively couples or decouples one of the first antenna element and the second antenna element to or from the common signal port.
4. The method according to claim 1,
wherein the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements are coupled to the common signal port
via a switching device that selectively couples or decouples one of the first set of antenna element elements and the second set of antenna elements to or from the common signal port.
Claim 6 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 4 of patent
(US 11774570).
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein constructing the at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array comprises constructing, using the first antenna position, a first angle resolving antenna array that resolves targets along a first direction and constructing, using the second antenna position, a second angle resolving antenna array that resolves targets along a second direction.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein constructing the at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array comprises constructing, using the first antenna position, a first angle resolving antenna array that resolves targets along a first direction and constructing, using the second antenna position, a second angle resolving antenna array that resolves targets along a second direction.
Claim 6 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 5 of patent
(US 11774570).
7. The method according to claim 6, wherein the first direction is parallel to the second direction.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the first direction is parallel to the second direction.
Claim 7 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 6 of patent
(US 11774570).
8. The method according to claim 6, wherein the first direction is different from and orthogonal to the second direction.
7. The method according to claim 5, wherein the first direction is different from and orthogonal to the second direction.
Claim 8 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 7 of patent
(US 11774570).
9. The method according to claim 8, wherein:
the first direction is an azimuthal direction with respect to a ground surface navigated by a vehicle comprising the radar device; and the second direction is an elevation direction with respect to the ground surface.
8. The method according to claim 5, wherein
the first direction is an azimuthal direction with respect to a ground surface navigated by a vehicle comprising the radar device, wherein the second direction is an elevation direction with respect to the ground surface.
Claim 9 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 8 of patent
(US 11774570).
10. The method according to claim 6, wherein:
the first antenna array is constructed from the first antenna position and at least one additional first antenna position; the second antenna array is constructed from the second antenna position and
at least one additional second antenna position; the additional first antenna position is defined by an additional first phase center of an additional first radiation field and the additional second antenna position is defined by an additional second phase center of an additional second radiation field;
the additional second phase center is positioned at a different location on the antenna device than the additional first phase center;
the antenna device transduces between an additional first antenna signal and the additional first radiation field and between an additional second antenna signal and the additional second radiation field; and
the additional first antenna signal and the additional second antenna signal are both routed via an additional common signal port between the radar circuit and the antenna device.
9. The method according to claim 5, wherein
the first antenna array is constructed from the first antenna position and at least one additional first antenna position, wherein the second antenna array is constructed from the second antenna position and
at least one additional second antenna position, wherein the additional first antenna position is defined by an additional first phase center of an additional first radiation field and the additional second antenna position is defined by an additional second phase center of an additional second radiation field, wherein the additional second phase center is positioned at a different location on the antenna device than the additional first phase center,
wherein the antenna device transduces between an additional first antenna signal and the additional first radiation field and between an additional second antenna signal and the additional second radiation field, wherein
the additional first antenna signal and the additional second antenna signal are both routed via an additional common signal port between the radar circuit and the antenna device.
Claim 10 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 9 of patent
(US 11774570).
11. The method according to claim 10, wherein:
the first direction is different from and orthogonal to the second direction;
the first phase center and the second phase center are shifted with respect to each other along the second direction; the additional first phase center and the additional second phase center are shifted with respect to each other along the second direction; and
the first phase center and the additional first phase center are located at the same position along the second direction and are shifted with respect to each other along the first direction.
10. The method according to claim 9, wherein
the first direction is different from and orthogonal to the second direction, wherein
the first phase center and the second phase center are shifted with respect to each other along the second direction, wherein the additional first phase center and the additional second phase center are shifted with respect to each other along the second direction, wherein the first phase center and the additional first phase center are located at the same position along the second direction and are shifted with respect to each other along the first direction.
Claim 11 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 10 of patent
(US 11774570).
12. The method according to claim 11, wherein
the second phase center is shifted from the first phase center along the second direction in the opposite sense than the additional second phase center is shifted from the additional first phase center.
11. The method according to claim 10, wherein
the second phase center is shifted from the first phase center along the second direction in the opposite sense than the additional second phase center is shifted from the additional first phase center.
Claim 12 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 11 of patent
(US 11774570).
13. The method according to claim 10, wherein:
the first direction is different from and orthogonal to the second direction; the first direction is an azimuthal direction with respect to a ground surface navigated by a vehicle comprising the radar device;
the second direction is an elevation direction with respect to the ground surface;
the first phase center and the second phase center are shifted with respect to each other along the second direction;
the additional first phase center and the additional second phase center are shifted with respect to each other along the second direction; and
the first phase center and the additional first phase center are located at the same position along the second direction and are shifted with respect to each other along the first direction.
12. The method according to claim 9, wherein
the first direction is different from and orthogonal to the second direction, wherein the first direction is an azimuthal direction with respect to a ground surface navigated by a vehicle comprising the radar device, wherein
the second direction is an elevation direction with respect to the ground surface, wherein
the first phase center and the second phase center are shifted with respect to each other along the second direction, wherein the additional first phase center and the additional second phase center are shifted with respect to each other along the second direction, wherein the first phase center and the additional first phase center are located at the same position along the second direction and are shifted with respect to each other along the first direction.
Claim 13 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 12 of patent
(US 11774570).
14. The method according to claim 13, wherein
the second phase center is shifted from the first phase center along the second direction in the opposite sense than the additional second phase center is shifted from the additional first phase center.
13. The method according to claim 12, wherein
the second phase center is shifted from the first phase center along the second direction in the opposite sense than the additional second phase center is shifted from the additional first phase center.
Claim 14 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 13 of patent
(US 11774570).
15. An angle resolving radar device for automotive applications, the radar device comprising:
a radar circuit for transceiving antenna signals; an antenna device connected to the radar circuit via a common signal port of the radar circuit,
the radar circuit and the antenna device being configured to:
route at least a first antenna signal and a second antenna signal between the radar circuit and the antenna device,
the first antenna signal and the second antenna signal being routed between the radar circuit and the antenna device via the common signal port;
transduce, with a first antenna of the antenna device, between the first antenna signal and a first radiation field, the first radiation field having a first phase center,
the first antenna comprising a first set of antenna elements; and transduce, with a second antenna of the antenna device, between the second antenna signal and a second radiation field, the second radiation field having a second phase center, a location of the second phase center being shifted with respect to a location of the first phase center, the second antenna comprising a second set of antenna elements, the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements sharing one or more common antenna elements; and a signal processing unit configured to construct at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array using the location of the first phase center of the first radiation field as a first antenna position and the location of the second phase center of the second radiation field as a second antenna position.
14. An angle resolving radar device for automotive applications, the radar device comprising:
a radar circuit for transceiving antenna signals; an antenna device connected to the radar circuit via a common signal port of the radar circuit,
the radar circuit and the antenna device being configured to:
route at least a first antenna signal, a second antenna signal, and a third antenna signal between the radar circuit and the antenna device,
the first antenna signal, the second antenna signal, and the third antenna signal being routed between the radar circuit and the antenna device via the common signal port; transduce, with a first antenna of the antenna device, between the first antenna signal and a first radiation field, the first radiation field having a first phase center,
the first antenna comprising a first set of antenna elements and one or more common antenna elements, the first antenna signal being routed between the common signal port and the first set of antenna elements and the one or more common antenna elements; and transduce, with a second antenna of the antenna device, between the second antenna signal and a second radiation field, the second radiation field having a second phase center, a location of the second phase center being shifted with respect to a location of the first phase center, the second antenna comprising a second set of antenna elements and the one or more common antenna elements, the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements sharing the one or more common antenna elements, the second antenna signal being routed between the common signal port and the second set of antenna elements and the one or more common antenna elements but not between the common signal port and the first set of antenna elements; transduce, with a third antenna of the antenna device, between the third antenna signal and a third radiation field, the third radiation field having a third phase center, wherein a location of the third phase center is shifted with respect to the location of the first phase center and the location of the second phase center, the third antenna comprising the first set of antenna elements, the second set of antenna elements, and the one or more common antenna elements, wherein the first set of antenna elements, the second set of antenna elements, and the one or more common antenna elements being coupled to the common signal port, the third antenna signal being routed between the common signal port and the first set of antenna elements, the second set of antenna elements, and the one or more common antenna elements; and a signal processing unit configured to construct at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array using the location of the first phase center of the first radiation field as a first antenna position [[and]] the location of the second phase center of the second radiation field as a second antenna position, and the location of the third phase center of the third radiation field as a third antenna position.
Claim 15 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 14 of patent
(US 11774570).
16. A system comprising a vehicle with an angle resolving radar device for automotive applications, the radar device of the vehicle comprising: a radar circuit for transceiving antenna signals; an antenna device connected to the radar circuit via a common signal port of the radar circuit, the radar circuit and the antenna device being configured to: route at least a first antenna signal and a second antenna signal between the radar circuit and the antenna device, the first antenna signal and the second antenna signal being routed between the radar circuit and the antenna device via the common signal port; transduce, with a first antenna of the antenna device, between the first antenna signal and a first radiation field,
the first radiation field having a first phase center, the first antenna comprising
a first set of antenna elements;
and
transduce, with a second antenna of the antenna device, between the second antenna signal and a second radiation field, the second radiation field having a second phase center, a location of the second phase center being shifted with respect to a location of the first phase center,
the second antenna comprising a second set of antenna elements, the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements sharing one or more common antenna elements;
and
a signal processing unit configured to construct at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array using the location of the first phase center of the first radiation field as a first antenna position and the location of the second phase center of the second radiation field as a second antenna position.
15. A system comprising a vehicle with an angle resolving radar device for automotive applications, the radar device of the vehicle comprising: a radar circuit for transceiving antenna signals; an antenna device connected to the radar circuit via a common signal port of the radar circuit, the radar circuit and the antenna device being configured to: route at least a first antenna signal, a second antenna signal, and a third antenna signal between the radar circuit and the antenna device, the first antenna signal, the second antenna signal, and the third antenna signal being routed between the radar circuit and the antenna device via the common signal port; transduce, with a first antenna of the antenna device, between the first antenna signal and a first radiation field,
the first radiation field having a first phase center, the first antenna comprising
a first set of antenna elements and one or more common antenna elements, the first antenna signal being routed between the common signal port and the first set of antenna elements and the one or more common antenna elements;
and
transduce, with a second antenna of the antenna device, between the second antenna signal and a second radiation field, the second radiation field having a second phase center, a location of the second phase center being shifted with respect to a location of the first phase center,
the second antenna comprising a second set of antenna elements and the one or more common antenna elements, the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements sharing the one or more common antenna elements, the second antenna signal being routed between the common signal port and the second set of antenna elements and the one or more common antenna elements but not between the common signal port and the first set of antenna elements; transduce, with a third antenna of the antenna device, between the third antenna signal and a third radiation field, the third radiation field having a third phase center, wherein a location of the third phase center is shifted with respect to the location of the first phase center and the location of the second phase center, the third antenna comprising the first set of antenna elements, the second set of antenna elements, and the one or more common antenna elements, wherein the first set of antenna elements, the second set of antenna elements, and the one or more common antenna elements being coupled to the common signal port, the third antenna signal being routed between the common signal port and the first set of antenna elements, the second set of antenna elements, and the one or more common antenna elements;
and
a signal processing unit configured to construct at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array using the location of the first phase center of the first radiation field as a first antenna position, the location of the second phase center of the second radiation field as a second antenna position,
and
the location of the third phase center of the third radiation field as a third antenna position.
Claim 16 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 15 of patent
(US 11774570).
19. The system according to claim 18, wherein
the second antenna signal is routed to the second antenna element via at least one frequency filter that is coupled between the first and second antenna element.
17. The system according to claim 16, wherein
the second antenna signal is routed to the second antenna element via at least one frequency filter that is coupled between the first antenna and the second antenna element.
Claim 19 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 17 of patent
(US 11774570).
20. The system according to claim 17, wherein
the first and second antenna element are coupled to the common signal port
via a switching device that selectively couples or decouples one of the first antenna element and the second antenna element to or from the common signal port.
18. The system according to claim 16, wherein
the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements are coupled to the common signal port
via a switching device that selectively couples or decouples one of the first set of antenna element elements and the second set of antenna element elements to or from the common signal port.
Claim 20 of the current application (US 18/823145) is anticipated by Claim 18 of patent
(US 11774570).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1, 5-8, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 2011/0163909 A1), in view of Alland et al. (US 9,869,762 B1), and further in view of Iwasa et al. (US 2019/0285738 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong (‘909) discloses “a method for operating an angle resolving radar device for automotive applications (Figures 1-3: 100 “integrated radar apparatus”; paragraph 12: provide an antenna structure, which makes it possible to attain the angle resolution with the high definition, to decrease the size of the radar and the number of devices, and to intellectualize the long and min range radar function and the short range radar function, and an integrated radar apparatus, which makes it possible to efficiently perform the signal transmission/ reception for the long and mid-range radar function and the short range radar function using the above antenna structure), the method comprising:
routing at least a first antenna signal and a second antenna signal between a radar circuit and an antenna device of the radar device (paragraph 46: Figure 5: if both the transmitting unit 210 and the receiving unit 220 included in the transceiver unit 120 controls the transmitting antenna and the receiving antennas according to the way of controlling the antenna, such as the way of switching, the integrated radar apparatus may be embodied as illustrated in FIG. 5 by including a transmitting terminal switch 510 at the transmitting unit 210 and a receiving terminal switch 520 at the receiving unit 220 in the transceiver unit 120; paragraph 86),
wherein the first antenna signal and the second antenna signal are routed between the radar circuit and the antenna device via a common signal port of the radar circuit (Figure 5: see port between 211 “oscillating unit” and 510 “transmitting terminal switch” or port between 221 “low-noise amplifying/mixing unit” and 520 “receiving terminal switch”; paragraph 47: because the transmitting unit 210 switches to an antenna of the plurality of long and mid-range transmitting antennas (Tx1, Tx2) and the one or more short range transmitting antennas (tx1) through the transmitting terminal switch 510, and then transmits the long and mid-range signal or the short range signal through the selected one of the transmitting antennas (Tx1, Tx2, tx1), the oscillating unit 211 in the transmitting unit 210 only needs to generate the long and mid-range signals or the short range signals to be transmitted through the selected one of the transmitting antennas (Tx1, Tx2, tx1)…the oscillating unit 211 needs only a single channel; paragraph 48: because the receiving unit 220 switches to an antenna of the plurality of long and mid-range receiving antennas (Rx1, Rx2, Rx3, Rx4) and the one or more short range receiving antennas (rx1, rx2) through the receiving terminal switch 520, and then receives the long and mid-range range echo signal or the short range echo signal through the selected one of the receiving antennas (Rx1, Rx2, Rx3, Rx4, rx1, rx2), the low noise amplifying/mixing unit 221 included in receiving unit 220 only needs to perform the functions of low-noise amplifying and mixing for the long and mid-range echo signals or the short range echo signals, which are received through the selected one of the receiving antennas (Rx1, Rx2, Rx3, Rx4, rx1, rx2). Accordingly, the low-noise amplifying/mixing unit 221 needs only a single channel);
transducing, with a first antenna of the antenna device, between the first antenna signal and a first radiation field, the first radiation field; transducing, with a second antenna of the antenna device, between the second antenna signal and a second radiation field (Figure 5: Tx1, Tx2 “transmitting antennas”; paragraph 47: because the transmitting unit 210 switches to an antenna of the plurality of long and mid-range transmitting antennas (Tx1, Tx2) and the one or more short range transmitting antennas (tx1) through the transmitting terminal switch 510, and then transmits the long and mid-range signal or the short range signal through the selected one of the transmitting antennas (Tx1, Tx2, tx1), the oscillating unit 211 in the transmitting unit 210 only needs to generate the long and mid-range signals or the short range signals to be transmitted through the selected one of the transmitting antennas (Tx1, Tx2, tx1). Accordingly, the oscillating unit 211 needs only a single channel).”
constructing, with a signal processing device of the radar device, at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array using the location of first radiation field as a first antenna position and the location of the second radiation field as a second antenna position (paragraph 82: the integrated radar apparatus 100 according to the embodiment of the present invention adopts the angle estimation algorithm, such as LMS, RLS, MUSIC and ESPRIT to thereby improve the physical angle resolution of the antenna...when the angle estimation algorithm is adopted, however, the physical limitation is overcome, and thus it is possible to improve the angle resolution as illustrated in FIG. 10b and thus to discern the long and mid-range target (and the short range target)...accordingly, the integrated radar apparatus 100 according to the embodiment of the present invention may further include an angle resolution controller for controlling the angle resolution in order to make it possible to discern one or more of the long and mid-range targets and the short range targets located at a certain angle by means of the angle estimation algorithm).”
Jeong (‘909) does not explicitly disclose that the first radiation field having “a first phase center”; the second radiation field having “a second phase center, wherein a location of the second phase center is shifted with respect to a location of the first phase center”, constructing angle resolving virtual antenna array using the location of “the first phase center” of the first radiation field and the location “of the second phase center” of the second radiation field.
Alland et al. (‘762) is directed to radar systems for vehicles. Alland et al. (‘762) teaches that the first radiation field having “a first phase center”; the second radiation field having “a second phase center” (figure 3: 302 "receive antennas", 304 "transmit antennas"; column 1 line 65-column 2 line 6: a plurality of transmitters and a plurality of receivers, and a plurality of receive and transmit antennas arranged according to MIMO antenna topologies that comprise transmit and receive antennas with uniform spacing of virtual phase centers as well as sparse array configurations with non-uniform spacing of the virtual phase centers in both horizontal and vertical dimensions; column 4, lines 63-66: an exemplary MIMO radar system is illustrated in FIG. 3 with multiple transmitters 306 connected to multiple transmit antennas 304 and multiple receivers 308 connected to multiple receive antennas 302);
a location of the second phase center is shifted with respect to a location of the first phase center (figure 5A; column 6, lines 41-43: the symbols “X” in FIG. 5A represent the positions of the phase centers of the respective transmit and receive antennas...the antennas themselves may consist of single or multiple radiators depending on the required gain and beam width of the particular MIMO antennas. FIG. 8 illustrates an exemplary antenna 810 consisting of three linear arrays of radiators that are arranged as vertical columns of radiators 820. Each of the three vertical columns of radiators consist of three individual radiators 830 connected by feed lines 840. The three vertical columns of radiators are combined into a single antenna port using a three-way power combiner 850...the phase center 860 of the example antenna is indicated by the symbol “X”)”,
constructing angle resolving virtual antenna array using the location of “the first phase center” of the first radiation field and the location of the second phase center” of the second radiation field (figures 5A and 5B; column 6, lines 11-19: The MIMO virtual array 540 formed by the antenna configuration of FIG. 5A is illustrated in FIG. 5B. Two uniform virtual linear receive arrays 550, 560 are synthesized, one disposed horizontally (550) with 2N.sub.H virtual antennas spaced by Δ.sub.H and one disposed vertically (560) with 2N.sub.V virtual antennas spaced by Δ.sub.V, the number of virtual receive antennas being twice the number of antennas in the corresponding real receive array of FIG. 5A)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jeong (‘909) with the teaching of Alland et al. (‘762) for achieving better performance in a radar system in determining the angles of an object/target (Alland et al. (‘762)– column 1 lines 33-38). In addition, both prior art references, (Jeong (‘909) and Alland et al. (‘762)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, achieving high angular resolution with multiple antenna configuration capability, used in vehicular radar system.
Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762) does not explicitly disclose “the first antenna comprising a first set of antenna elements”, “the second antenna comprising a second set of antenna elements, the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements sharing one or more common antenna elements.”
Iwasa et al. (‘738) is directed to radar systems for vehicles. Iwasa et al. (‘738) teaches “the first antenna comprising a first set of antenna elements”, “the second antenna comprising a second set of antenna elements, the first set of antenna elements and the second set of antenna elements sharing one or more common antenna elements (paragraph 231: one of the transmitting array antenna and the receiving array antenna includes a first antenna group and a second antenna group…the first antenna group includes one or more first antenna elements of which the phase centers of the antenna elements are laid out at each first layout spacing following a first axis direction, and a shared antenna element…the second antenna group includes a plurality of second antenna elements and the one shared antenna element, and the phase centers of the antenna elements are laid out in two columns at each second layout spacing following a second axis direction that is different from the first axis direction…the phase centers of the antenna elements included in each of the two columns differ from each other regarding position in the second axis direction; paragraph 240: one of the transmitting array antenna and the receiving array antenna includes a first antenna group and a second antenna group…the first antenna group is one shared antenna element, or includes one or more first antenna elements of which the phase center of the antenna elements are arrayed following a first axis direction and the one shared antenna element…the second antenna group includes a plurality of second antenna elements and the one shared antenna element, with the position of phase centers of the antenna elements differing from each other in a second axis direction that differs from the first axis direction…at least one phase center of the plurality of second antenna elements and the phase center of the one shared antenna element have the same position in the first axis direction, and are laid out in one column or more at each second layout spacing in the second axis direction)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762) with the teaching of Iwasa et al. (‘738) for achieving better performance in a radar system in determining object/target position (Iwasa et al. (‘738) – paragraph 8). In addition, both prior art references, (Jeong (‘909), Alland et al. (‘762) and Iwasa et al. (‘738)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, achieving high resolution with multiple antenna configuration capability, used in vehicular radar system.
Regarding Claim 5, which is dependent on claim 2, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) discloses the method of claim 2. Jeong (‘909) further discloses “the first and second antenna element are coupled to the common signal port via a switching device that selectively couples or decouples one of the first antenna element and the second antenna element to or from the common signal port (paragraph 47: because the transmitting unit 210 switches to an antenna of the plurality of long and mid-range transmitting antennas (Tx1, Tx2) and the one or more short range transmitting antennas (tx1) through the transmitting terminal switch 510, and then transmits the long and mid-range signal or the short range signal through the selected one of the transmitting antennas (Tx1, Tx2, tx1), the oscillating unit 211 in the transmitting unit 210 only needs to generate the long and mid-range signals or the short range signals to be transmitted through the selected one of the transmitting antennas (Tx1, Tx2, tx1)…the oscillating unit 211 needs only a single channel; paragraph 48: because the receiving unit 220 switches to an antenna of the plurality of long and mid-range receiving antennas (Rx1, Rx2, Rx3, Rx4) and the one or more short range receiving antennas (rx1, rx2) through the receiving terminal switch 520, and then receives the long and mid-range range echo signal or the short range echo signal through the selected one of the receiving antennas (Rx1, Rx2, Rx3, Rx4, rx1, rx2), the low noise amplifying/mixing unit 221 included in receiving unit 220 only needs to perform the functions of low-noise amplifying and mixing for the long and mid-range echo signals or the short range echo signals, which are received through the selected one of the receiving antennas (Rx1, Rx2, Rx3, Rx4, rx1, rx2). Accordingly, the low-noise amplifying/mixing unit 221 needs only a single channel).”
Regarding Claim 6, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) discloses the method of claim 1. Jeong (‘909) further discloses “constructing the at least one angle resolving virtual antenna array comprises constructing, using the first antenna position, a first angle resolving antenna array that resolves targets along a first direction and constructing, using the second antenna position, a second angle resolving antenna array that resolves targets along a second direction (Figure 4(a); Figure 5: Tx1 together with the reception antennas from a first angle resolving antenna array and Tx2 together with the reception antennas from a second angle resolving antenna array...both arrays resolve targets along the horizontal direction; paragraph 49: the generated long and mid-range signal is transmitted through the first selected long and mid-range transmitting antenna (Tx1) of the long and mid-range antennas (Tx1, Tx2)...the long and mid-range echo signal generated by reflecting the transmitted long and mid-range signals on the long and mid-range targets is received through the selected receiving antenna, while each of four long and mid-range receiving antennas (Rx1, Rx2, Rx3, Rx4) are sequentially selected per a channel with a time delay there-between)”.
Regarding Claim 7, which is dependent on claim 6, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) discloses the method of claim 6. Jeong (‘909) further discloses “the first direction is parallel to the second direction (Figure 4(b); Figure 5: Tx1 together with the reception antennas from a first angle resolving antenna array and Tx2 together with the reception antennas from a second angle resolving antenna array...both arrays resolve targets along the horizontal direction)”.
Regarding Claim 8, which is dependent on claim 6, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) discloses the method of claim 6. Jeong (‘909) further discloses “the first direction is different from, for example orthogonal to, the second direction (Figure 4(b))”.
Regarding independent claim 15, which is a corresponding device claim of independent method claim 1, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 16, which is a corresponding system claim of independent method claim 1, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, which is dependent on claim 17, and which is a corresponding system claim of method claim 5, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 5.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 2011/0163909 A1)/Alland et al. (US 9,869,762 B1)/ Iwasa et al. (US 2019/0285738 A1), in view of Smith et al. (US 9,395,727 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) discloses the method of claim 8.
Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) does not explicitly disclose “the second antenna includes all of the first set of antenna elements as the one or more common antenna elements.”
Smith et al. (‘727) relates to a radio detection and ranging (radar) system. Topak (‘924) teaches “the second antenna includes all of the first set of antenna elements as the one or more common antenna elements (column 17 lines 9-19: by overlapping the sub-arrays in the antenna array 420, the phase center points of neighboring sub-arrays can be closer together than the sub-array widths…in the example overlapping arrangement shown in FIG. 4B, the phase center points of neighboring sub-arrays are separated by approximately one-half the sub-array width…thus, the overlapping arrangement allows the apertures of each sub-array to spatially overlap with one another, because neighboring ones of the sub-arrays may include common antenna elements in their respective sub-arrays).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) with the teaching of Smith et al. (‘727) for improved radiation pattern (Smith et al. (‘727) – column 1 lines 40-53). In addition, all prior art references, (Jeong (‘909), Alland et al. (‘762), Iwasa et al. (‘738), Smith et al. (‘727)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, utilizing multiple antenna configuration capability in radar system.
Regarding claim 17, which is a corresponding system claim of method claim 2, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738)/Smith et al. (‘727) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 2.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 2011/0163909 A1)/Alland et al. (US 9,869,762 B1)/ Iwasa et al. (US 2019/0285738 A1), in view of Topak (US 2017/0365924 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, which is dependent on claim 8, Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) discloses the method of claim 8.
Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) does not explicitly disclose “the first direction is an azimuthal direction with respect to a ground surface navigated by a vehicle comprising the radar device; and the second direction is an elevation direction with respect to the ground surface.”
Topak (‘924) relates to an antenna array used in radar system. Topak (‘924) teaches “the first direction is an azimuthal direction with respect to a ground surface navigated by a vehicle comprising the radar device; and the second direction is an elevation direction with respect to the ground surface (paragraph 35: x direction refers to azimuth and y direction refers to elevation, the antenna beam can be steered to multiple different directions. Using the disclosed cross-shaped array antenna configuration, the antenna beam can be tilted to many directions, in particular tilted up, down, right, left, upper right, down right, upper left, and down left).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jeong (‘909)/Alland et al. (‘762)/Iwasa et al. (‘738) with the teaching of Topak (‘924) using multi-model radar system for more efficient target detection (Topak (‘924)– 3). In addition, all prior art references, (Jeong (‘909), Alland et al. (‘762), Iwasa et al. (‘738) , Topak (‘924)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, utilizing multiple antenna configuration capability in radar system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject matter:
“the first antenna signal occupies a first frequency band and the second antenna signal occupies a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band; and the antenna device is configured as a frequency selective antenna device that transduces the first antenna signal occupying the first frequency band via the first antenna element, but not via the second antenna element and that transduces the second antenna signal occupying the second frequency band at least via the second antenna element.”
Claim 4 depend on claim 3, and therefore are also objected to be allowable.
Claims 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject matter:
“the first antenna array is constructed from the first antenna position and at least one additional first antenna position; the second antenna array is constructed from the second antenna position and at least one additional second antenna position; the additional first antenna position is defined by an additional first phase center of an additional first radiation field and the additional second antenna position is defined by an additional second phase center of an additional second radiation field; the additional second phase center is positioned at a different location on the antenna device than the additional first phase center; the antenna device transduces between an additional first antenna signal and the additional first radiation field and between an additional second antenna signal and the additional second radiation field; and the additional first antenna signal and the additional second antenna signal are both routed via an additional common signal port between the radar circuit and the antenna device.”
Claims 11-14 depend on claim 10, and therefore are also objected to be allowable.
Claims 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject matter:
“the first antenna signal occupies a first frequency band and the second antenna signal occupies a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band; and the antenna device is configured as a frequency selective antenna device that transduces the first antenna signal occupying the first frequency band via the first antenna element, but not via the second antenna element and that transduces the second antenna signal occupying the second frequency band at least via the second antenna element.”
Claim 19 depend on claim 18, and therefore are also objected to be allowable.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2020/0112086 A1) relates to an antenna device and a radar. Kim et al. (‘086) describes an antenna device including at least one first antenna arranged in one direction and configured to radiate a beam tilted at a first tilt angle...at least one second antenna arranged to be spaced apart from the first antenna and configured to radiate a beam tilted at a second tilt angle; an input/output terminal disposed such that any one of a transmission signal and a reception signal moves therethrough... a divider including a first port connected to the first antenna, a second port connected to the second antenna, and a third port connected to the input/output terminal, wherein the divider is disposed such that a signal transmitted to one of the first port and the second port is transmitted to a remaining one of the first and second port through a first path and a second path and the transmitted signal is isolated in the remaining port (paragraph 8).
Fang (US 2019/0386712 A1) describes a virtual antenna array in a MIMO configuration (paragraphs 5-7). Fang (‘712) describes that the multiple transmit antennas 102-106 and the physical receive array 108 synthesize a virtual antenna array 100 having N×M receive arrays, where N is the number of transmit antennas and M is the number of receiving elements. In one example, there are 72 virtual receiving elements for the 3 transmit antennas 102-106 and 24 radiating elements in the physical receive array 108, forming virtual receive arrays 112-114....the virtual receive arrays 112-114 are spaced by the same distance d.sub.12 between transmit antennas 102 and 104...the virtual antenna array 100 may be represented by complex manifold matrix 116...manifold matrix A 116 is a function of the geometry of the array, the carrier frequency and the Direction of Arrival (“DoA”) of the transmit antennas.
Contact Information
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648